The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 49Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11221 of 11241 Old 03-15-2020, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoma M. View Post
I just picked up a Elite Pro 101fd which is Pioneers flagship Kuro model with 2500 original hours on it for $90 from a 80 year old man who had it in his bedroom and rarely used it. He just wanted it removed so he could put up some art. Hell of a score!

That is a score! I didn't do quite as well but am satisfied to have recently picked up a 6020 for $130, tax included, from a local second-hand store. Can't tell how many hours are on the panel but I see no red shift or any other problem.

Honestly, given how cheap OLEDs are getting, our "scores" are really just reasonable deals. I can't justify paying $200 for a 12 year old panel that could blow out at any moment when, before long, OLEDs will be approaching $500 and come with warranties. With the 2020 OLEDs almost here, and with three new competitors entering the market here in the U.S., there should be a lot of downward pressure on prices. Particularly if one is willing to pull the trigger at the right moment on a 2019 model. Or wait until Black Friday.

I doubt we'll be down to $500 by then or anywhere close. But I'll bet we'll be below $1,000. If one buys through Costco with the right credit card, there's at least a four-year warranty. Sometimes longer. Currently 7 years, though the prices on the 55 inch LG C9 are still around $1,350. No one with any sense is buying at that price though, with the CX about to emerge.
Parallax982 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11222 of 11241 Old 03-16-2020, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Williams View Post
Hi

my mates pdp-lx6090 has the magenta sparkle issue. Minly on the top 1/3 of the screen

I have a service remote. Could I have some help with which voltage changes can be made to minimise this issue.

Many thanks in advance

Mike
Lower both XSUSB and YSUSB by two to four ticks each... both are on the second page of the voltage adjustments

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11223 of 11241 Old 03-16-2020, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by First XBR View Post
Need red tint removal for 101fd & 151fd. Calibration for 65hx950 as well. Southern California. Thanks. If anyone does this or knows someone please message.
Your screen name looks familiar... I think I've worked on your Kuros before.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11224 of 11241 Old 03-16-2020, 10:43 PM
Member
 
First XBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Riverside
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You did. A 5020fd which I sold to a family member. I have a 101fd with only one hdmi working, marantz hdmi splitter fixed that. But the red tint needs a fix & 151fd has red tint and chip on the glass but you can’t see the chip. The red tint you can. Do you do calibration ? 65hx950 surely can be better than it is now.
First XBR is offline  
post #11225 of 11241 Old 03-17-2020, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by First XBR View Post
You did. A 5020fd which I sold to a family member. I have a 101fd with only one hdmi working, marantz hdmi splitter fixed that. But the red tint needs a fix & 151fd has red tint and chip on the glass but you can’t see the chip. The red tint you can. Do you do calibration ? 65hx950 surely can be better than it is now.
Check PMs.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11226 of 11241 Old 03-21-2020, 06:08 AM
Member
 
Skillet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Need Help With My PRO-151FD

I have a 151 that I just moved from my living room to my bedroom. During the transition time, it was unplugged for a couple weeks. Once I hooked it up in the bedroom and turned it on, I saw a message on the screen that said "Starting Up, Please Wait." It was in a gray box at the bottom center of the screen and had a yellow exclamation point in the box. The message disappeared after a minute or so, but I've noticed now that when I press the home key on the remote to bring up the menu options, most everything is grayed out (Channel, Favorites, Input, Home Media Gallery, HDMI control). "Setup" is not grayed out, but when I select that option, I only have access to Picture, Sound, Power Control, Sleep Timer, and Option. System Setup and Favorites Setup are both grayed out. If I move the cursor over one of the grayed out options, the message below says "Current status does not allow selection and adjustment."

The TV seems to still work fine with the exception of the "Starting Up, Please Wait." message being occasionally displayed upon turning the TV on and also sometimes when changing inputs, even after the TV has been on for a while. The blue light on the front is always solid when the 151 is on (no blinking). I've tried performing multiple resets (pulling power cord, holding on/standby button for 15 seconds after plugging back in, etc.), but nothing has changed. I thought maybe the firmware needed to be updated (unfortunately because most of my menu items are grayed out, I'm unable to see what version is currently loaded). I went ahead and downloaded the firmware from Pioneer's website and followed their update instructions. It seemed like it was working, but then I noticed the orange light was blinking twice during the process, which according to Pioneer's instructions means that the firmware that's currently on the TV is the same or newer than what I was trying to update it with.

I'm pretty much out of ideas at this point. Has anyone else had this problem? FYI, the only sources connected to it are my Directv receiver via HDMI 4 and my Roku Express via HDMI 5. I am using the optical digital out to feed my soundbar. There is no antenna hooked up to the 151 (nor was there one hooked up to it prior to moving it to the bedroom).

Thanks

Last edited by Skillet; 03-21-2020 at 07:14 AM.
Skillet is offline  
post #11227 of 11241 Old 03-22-2020, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Liked: 209
My KRP-600M has been turned off for about 6 months, while my appartment where it was in, was on sale. Now it is sold, and i moved the furniture etc and the tv to my new (temporary) house. Last weekend i installed it again. Everything seems fine, but i noticed that for some reason, the tv suddenly somtimes goes to standby on it's own... happened yesterday a few times, today again, after been on for almost 7 hours or so.

What could it be? Is it dying?
I noticed the remote that i never use but is lying around at the moment, has almost empty batteries, could it be it is sending IR rubbish for some reason? I removed the batteries now just in case.

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #11228 of 11241 Old 03-23-2020, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skillet View Post
I have a 151 that I just moved from my living room to my bedroom. During the transition time, it was unplugged for a couple weeks. Once I hooked it up in the bedroom and turned it on, I saw a message on the screen that said "Starting Up, Please Wait." It was in a gray box at the bottom center of the screen and had a yellow exclamation point in the box. The message disappeared after a minute or so, but I've noticed now that when I press the home key on the remote to bring up the menu options, most everything is grayed out (Channel, Favorites, Input, Home Media Gallery, HDMI control). "Setup" is not grayed out, but when I select that option, I only have access to Picture, Sound, Power Control, Sleep Timer, and Option. System Setup and Favorites Setup are both grayed out. If I move the cursor over one of the grayed out options, the message below says "Current status does not allow selection and adjustment."

The TV seems to still work fine with the exception of the "Starting Up, Please Wait." message being occasionally displayed upon turning the TV on and also sometimes when changing inputs, even after the TV has been on for a while. The blue light on the front is always solid when the 151 is on (no blinking). I've tried performing multiple resets (pulling power cord, holding on/standby button for 15 seconds after plugging back in, etc.), but nothing has changed. I thought maybe the firmware needed to be updated (unfortunately because most of my menu items are grayed out, I'm unable to see what version is currently loaded). I went ahead and downloaded the firmware from Pioneer's website and followed their update instructions. It seemed like it was working, but then I noticed the orange light was blinking twice during the process, which according to Pioneer's instructions means that the firmware that's currently on the TV is the same or newer than what I was trying to update it with.

I'm pretty much out of ideas at this point. Has anyone else had this problem? FYI, the only sources connected to it are my Directv receiver via HDMI 4 and my Roku Express via HDMI 5. I am using the optical digital out to feed my soundbar. There is no antenna hooked up to the 151 (nor was there one hooked up to it prior to moving it to the bedroom).

Thanks
The "Starting Up, Please Wait" message is completely normal on the 111fd and 151fd, as those models take a bit longer to boot up and initialize (probably due to the additional built in features like the tuner, sound, etc.). Wait approximately 30 seconds before pressing any button on the remote. The reason some items are grayed out is because they hadn't yet initialized when you hit the Home button on the remote. They should become visible after the unit properly boots up so long as you have a device connected and displaying content on the current HDMI input.

In short, my advice is to restart the TV, wait 30 seconds, switch to an input that has a device connected to it and displaying content and then and only then hit the Menu button on the remote. All options should be visible.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11229 of 11241 Old 03-23-2020, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Skillet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
The "Starting Up, Please Wait" message is completely normal on the 111fd and 151fd, as those models take a bit longer to boot up and initialize (probably due to the additional built in features like the tuner, sound, etc.). Wait approximately 30 seconds before pressing any button on the remote. The reason some items are grayed out is because they hadn't yet initialized when you hit the Home button on the remote. They should become visible after the unit properly boots up so long as you have a device connected and displaying content on the current HDMI input.

In short, my advice is to restart the TV, wait 30 seconds, switch to an input that has a device connected to it and displaying content and then and only then hit the Menu button on the remote. All options should be visible.
Thanks, but unfortunately I’ve tried that many times. The options are grayed out no matter how long I wait after startup. Also, the “starting up, please wait” message sometimes appears when changing inputs after the TV has been on for a while. It always goes away after a minute or so, but I don’t think it should be coming on at all after the TV has been running for more than a few minutes.

I’ve had a couple people suggest that there may be an issue with the TV’s main board. It doesn’t sound like it’s a complicated DIY fix to replace it, but I don’t think I’ll do that unless things get worse than they currently are. One tech recommended re-initializing the set to see if that corrected the problem, but said he was prohibited by Pioneer from telling me exactly how to do it. He said to download a copy of the service manual and it would explain it there. I found a service manual online, but it mainly details parts of the TV. I didn’t see anything that talked about how to initialize it. If anyone is able to walk me through that, I’d greatly appreciate it.
Skillet is offline  
post #11230 of 11241 Old 03-23-2020, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can someone help with another issue. I think this one is probably simple but I can't seem to figure it out.

The TV is talking to me. Every time I hit a button, there's this monotonic robot voice describing what I'm doing. How did it get turned on and how do I turn it off? Probably hit a wrong button on the remote control but can't seem to figure it out. Thanks.
Parallax982 is offline  
post #11231 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skillet View Post
Thanks, but unfortunately I’ve tried that many times. The options are grayed out no matter how long I wait after startup. Also, the “starting up, please wait” message sometimes appears when changing inputs after the TV has been on for a while. It always goes away after a minute or so, but I don’t think it should be coming on at all after the TV has been running for more than a few minutes.

I’ve had a couple people suggest that there may be an issue with the TV’s main board. It doesn’t sound like it’s a complicated DIY fix to replace it, but I don’t think I’ll do that unless things get worse than they currently are. One tech recommended re-initializing the set to see if that corrected the problem, but said he was prohibited by Pioneer from telling me exactly how to do it. He said to download a copy of the service manual and it would explain it there. I found a service manual online, but it mainly details parts of the TV. I didn’t see anything that talked about how to initialize it. If anyone is able to walk me through that, I’d greatly appreciate it.
The service manual for the 111 and 151 is not nearly as informative as the 101fd/500M or the 5020/6020 one for that matter. I recommend downloading the 5020/6020 since those models are similar to the 151fd.

Do you have the necessary software/hardware to access the service menu?

None of my sets display the "starting up please wait" message when changing inputs, so that's definitely weird.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11232 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parallax982 View Post
Can someone help with another issue. I think this one is probably simple but I can't seem to figure it out.

The TV is talking to me. Every time I hit a button, there's this monotonic robot voice describing what I'm doing. How did it get turned on and how do I turn it off? Probably hit a wrong button on the remote control but can't seem to figure it out. Thanks.
You sure its the TV talking to you? lol
Bruce2019 likes this.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11233 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Skillet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
The service manual for the 111 and 151 is not nearly as informative as the 101fd/500M or the 5020/6020 one for that matter. I recommend downloading the 5020/6020 since those models are similar to the 151fd.

Do you have the necessary software/hardware to access the service menu?

None of my sets display the "starting up please wait" message when changing inputs, so that's definitely weird.
No hardware/software here. Do you have to have a special service remote or something along that line? I was hoping there was just a series of commands I could hit on the regular remote that would get me in to the service menu to reinitialize the set.
Skillet is offline  
post #11234 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
You sure its the TV talking to you? lol

Man, I got the notification that someone had responded and I thought it was to answer my question. Bummer!
Parallax982 is offline  
post #11235 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parallax982 View Post
Man, I got the notification that someone had responded and I thought it was to answer my question. Bummer!
Sorry but never heard of this issue, let alone knew this was a feature. What model Kuro do you have?

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11236 of 11241 Old 03-24-2020, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Sorry but never heard of this issue, let alone knew this was a feature. What model Kuro do you have?
I have the 6020. Thanks.
Parallax982 is offline  
post #11237 of 11241 Old 03-26-2020, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parallax982 View Post
I have the 6020. Thanks.
I went through all the settings on my 5020, user manual and remote buttons and can't find anything related to a voice feedback feature. Perhaps a nearby smart device is the culprit?

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11238 of 11241 Old 03-26-2020, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
I went through all the settings on my 5020, user manual and remote buttons and can't find anything related to a voice feedback feature. Perhaps a nearby smart device is the culprit?

Thank you! I so appreciate the effort! Went through my manual with the same result. Funny that this television that I love has turned into a big pain but I'm sure I'll get this figured out. Will post again when I do.
Parallax982 is offline  
post #11239 of 11241 Old 03-26-2020, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
I went through all the settings on my 5020, user manual and remote buttons and can't find anything related to a voice feedback feature. Perhaps a nearby smart device is the culprit?

Figured it out. Indeed, a smart device was the culprit. It was my Fire Stick. Once I began looking in that direction, was easy to resolve. Thanks for the suggestion!
makaveddie81 likes this.
Parallax982 is offline  
post #11240 of 11241 Old 03-26-2020, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parallax982 View Post
Figured it out. Indeed, a smart device was the culprit. It was my Fire Stick. Once I began looking in that direction, was easy to resolve. Thanks for the suggestion!
Good thing it wasn't voices in your head lol jk

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11241 of 11241 Old 03-26-2020, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Good thing it wasn't voices in your head lol jk
It has a decidedly different tone! :0)
Parallax982 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off