The Official 2010 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 5022 Old 03-11-2010, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatevs View Post

Just to be clear, you are recommending to not view anything else on the panel besides the break-in slides for the first 100 hours?

I have setup everything in accordance to your photo settings listed in post 1.

Correct
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 5022 Old 03-11-2010, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
tillots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excuse my ignorance, how do you access the 'service menu offsets'?
tillots is offline  
post #33 of 5022 Old 03-11-2010, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
qphillips06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tillots View Post

Excuse my ignorance, how do you access the 'service menu offsets'?

magic

#5 search result will tell you how
qphillips06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 5022 Old 03-11-2010, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
NewPlasmaUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CAn someone give me step by step instructions on what I need to do to get my settings right. I have had my tc-p50s2 for about 3 weeks now and want to get the best picture possible...Help please!!
NewPlasmaUser is offline  
post #35 of 5022 Old 03-11-2010, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jrobitaille23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

TC-PxxG20/25 Reference Settings

Picture:
Picture Mode: THX
Contrast: 56
Brightness: 59
Color: 49
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 10
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Service Menu Offsets

WB-ADJ MENU
R-DRV: +5
G-DRV: -8
B-DRV: 0
R-CUT: -9
G-CUT: 0
B-CUT: +3

Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03.



Picture:
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 87
Brightness: 68
Color: 33
Tint: -3
Sharpness: 11
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Pro Settings:
W/B High R: -2
W/B High B: +2
W/B Low R: +2
W/B Low B: -5
Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.2
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Note: These settings must be used with the offsets listed for THX mode!!!!

Calibration Report


Am I right in concluding that the S2 is the better option after seeing both the reports...or do I have no business thinking I know anything re: digital displays?
jrobitaille23 is offline  
post #36 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobitaille23 View Post

Am I right in concluding that the S2 is the better option after seeing both the reports...or do I have no business thinking I know anything re: digital displays?

The G20 is a better display
D-Nice is offline  
post #37 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Korvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

TC-PxxG20/25 Reference Settings

Picture:
Picture Mode: THX
Contrast: 56
Brightness: 59
Color: 49
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 10
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Service Menu Offsets

WB-ADJ MENU
R-DRV: +5
G-DRV: -8
B-DRV: 0
R-CUT: -9
G-CUT: 0
B-CUT: +3

Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03.



Picture:
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 87
Brightness: 68
Color: 33
Tint: -3
Sharpness: 11
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Pro Settings:
W/B High R: -2
W/B High B: +2
W/B Low R: +2
W/B Low B: -5
Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.2
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Note: These settings must be used with the offsets listed for THX mode!!!!

Calibration Report

sorry but the 2 different settings threw me off a bit... is the top one for the 20 and the bottom for the 25? or are they just 2 different options I can use on either the 20 or 25?

Thanks a lot!
Korvas is offline  
post #38 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 07:35 AM
Member
 
jedrgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^No... The custom mode should be "brighter" and so some may prefer to use it in daytime viewing.
jedrgy is offline  
post #39 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jackal2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D-Nice,
I either didn't see it or I missed it. I don't know how to do the calculations either. What are you getting for FtL in THX now?

TC-P50V10 Build Date: April 2009
A-Board replaced on 1/4/2010 w/1.24, updated to 1.28.
Current 0% IRE: 0.034FtL
My SM Factory Numbers
Putting the 50V10 downstairs. Bought a new Elite 101FD
jackal2001 is offline  
post #40 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2001 View Post

D-Nice,
I either didn't see it or I missed it. I don't know how to do the calculations either. What are you getting for FtL in THX now?

35fL
D-Nice is offline  
post #41 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2001 View Post

D-Nice,
I either didn't see it or I missed it. I don't know how to do the calculations either. What are you getting for FtL in THX now?

Did Joe B do your A Board replacement?
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #42 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 217
So the entry level S series has slightly better blacks than the G20/25? That's odd.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #43 of 5022 Old 03-12-2010, 07:39 PM
Member
 
alucard3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
D-nice
1st.thanks for informations
2nd.I want to know Which are Brighter in vivid mode?
G10 or G25
alucard3 is offline  
post #44 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 12:27 AM
Member
 
Korvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok noob question time...

how would one enter the service mode, and would changing the offsets void any type of warentee?
Korvas is offline  
post #45 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 02:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by JREwing View Post

D-Nice,

I see that you suggest to change the WB Method to 00 instead of 03. Can you expand on what this does exactly and if this is only for the S2?

This is the first I have seen that so I'm curious if this applies for the 12g panels as well? I own a 54V10 and I was recently entering offsets and mistakenly changed the WB method, I did correct it back to 03 but wasn't sure what effect this would have, if any.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

It allows one to calibrate Cool/Normal/Warm color temperatures independent of each other.

Yes.

I calibrated warm with method 03 and it didn´t change cool/normal values, maby that´s different with European models.
However it changed both SD and HD at same time.
Make73 is offline  
post #46 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 08:31 AM
Member
 
kcoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My G25 break in is complete and I want to apply D-Nice's settings and I have a few basic questions that I would appreciate some help with.

1. My service menu does not show a THX picture mode, so I'm assuming it's called "Cinema" in the SM. Is that correct?

2. The SM color temp choices do not include a "Warm2," so I'm assuming I'm applying the offsets to "Warm." Is that correct?

3. I understand that I need to apply the offsets with both an HD and SD signal, but I'm not quite clear on what happens with the offsets between picture modes. If I apply the SM offsets above in THX mode, do those offsets then carry over to Custom mode or do I need to reapply them in Custom mode?

Thanks again for a great resource...
kcoakley is offline  
post #47 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
bigsugardaddy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice I screwed up the fine tune adjusting and went all the way down to the number 5 etc instead of just clicking it up 5 times. I only did it for the first 3 but it is all screwed up...what can I do?
bigsugardaddy1 is offline  
post #48 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Maby you should read at first A Calibration Guide by Mistah_g before do any changes to service menu.

You can´t get back your original SM values so it´s highly recommended that you write those up.
Make73 is offline  
post #49 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
bigsugardaddy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post

Maby you should read at first A Calibration Guide by Mistah_g before do any changes to service menu.

You can´t get back your original SM values so it´s highly recommended that you write those up.

So what can I do, can I copy some settings from another untouched screen or what should I do to get back the ones that I lost?
bigsugardaddy1 is offline  
post #50 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsugardaddy1 View Post

So what can I do, can I copy some settings from another untouched screen or what should I do to get back the ones that I lost?

That´s only option.
There´s not so much original values differences with same model/size of sets.
Make73 is offline  
post #51 of 5022 Old 03-13-2010, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
bigsugardaddy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if anyone is reading this, please pm me the settings on your service menu since anything will be better than what I have now..even if they are adjusted....
bigsugardaddy1 is offline  
post #52 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsugardaddy1 View Post

So if anyone is reading this, please pm me the settings on your service menu since anything will be better than what I have now..even if they are adjusted....

It would help if you tell your TV model, size and what color temp you changed...warm1 or warm2

Korvas wrote original values so problem is solved, right?
Make73 is offline  
post #53 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
bigsugardaddy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
50g25
bigsugardaddy1 is offline  
post #54 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
mgrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any word on vt20 calibration settings?
mgrass is offline  
post #55 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsugardaddy1 View Post

D-Nice I screwed up the fine tune adjusting and went all the way down to the number 5 etc instead of just clicking it up 5 times. I only did it for the first 3 but it is all screwed up...what can I do?

Check the values in SD mode they should be the same factory settings as HD mode. This of course will work only if you haven't changed your SD settings yet.
How many times does it have to be said to write down your settings before you do anything in the SM.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #56 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
smithsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"****UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE SHOULD THESE SETTINGS BE USED WITH ANY OTHER SOURCE MATERIAL BEYOND THE PANEL AGING THUMBDRIVE FILES****"

-Why? I mean to say, couldn't I use those settings for viewing photos? It's not going to negatively affect my display, will it? How about using the webapalooza image files? Is it okay to use those images with these Photo Settings? I really am trying to learn, please don't take this as me being difficult or, for lack of a better word, a jerk.

Your photo settings don't mention color management. Should that be on or off?

It it somewhat impractical for me to run these images for 100 hours prior to using the television for normal viewing. Do you recommend I run these images when the TV is not in use watching TV or movies? I would assume that doing that will be better than not running the images at all.

Thanks very much,
SF
smithsfan is offline  
post #57 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nicholc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: I've started an owners thread for VT20/25 owners by request:

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1235067
nicholc2 is offline  
post #58 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 05:31 PM
Member
 
new plasma guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can some one tell me how to enter the service menu on the g20 ?? thanks
new plasma guy is offline  
post #59 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithsfan View Post

"****UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE SHOULD THESE SETTINGS BE USED WITH ANY OTHER SOURCE MATERIAL BEYOND THE PANEL AGING THUMBDRIVE FILES****"

-Why? I mean to say, couldn't I use those settings for viewing photos? It's not going to negatively affect my display, will it? How about using the webapalooza image files? Is it okay to use those images with these Photo Settings? I really am trying to learn, please don't take this as me being difficult or, for lack of a better word, a jerk.

Your photo settings don't mention color management. Should that be on or off?

It it somewhat impractical for me to run these images for 100 hours prior to using the television for normal viewing. Do you recommend I run these images when the TV is not in use watching TV or movies? I would assume that doing that will be better than not running the images at all.

Thanks very much,
SF

My setting posts are literal. You do anything beyond what they say and you are on your own.

Any setting that is not listed should be left at its default.
D-Nice is offline  
post #60 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
whatevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am mid-way through the 100hr break-in slides and had a lot of questions on why D-Nice says this or that, and was getting a bit nervous about making SM changes.

I decided to start reading last years 12G Panasonic settings thread and have had most of my questions answered about how and more importantly why to use D-Nice's recommended settings.

I've only put about 10 hours of full screen viewing on my P50G25 before using the break-in slides and I hope my results are close to perfection.
whatevs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off