The Official 2010 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
dcllee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any reason why black level is set to light, instead of dark. i just got the tv and i like all the info here, but wouldn't you want the black levels to be dark black?
dcllee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
gbmannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcllee View Post

any reason why black level is set to light, instead of dark. i just got the tv and i like all the info here, but wouldn't you want the black levels to be dark black?

Setting it to dark will crush the blacks, you don't want to do that.
gbmannc is offline  
post #63 of 5022 Old 03-14-2010, 10:24 PM
Member
 
zdr0114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But just getting ready to run the slides through for 100 hours. My problem is this, here are the default settings for running the slides:

Photo Settings

Picture:
Picture Mode: Photo
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 50
Color: 75
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Cool (Cool 2 on G20/25 and VT20/25 displays)
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Slideshow Settings
Display Interval: Slow

Where is says picture mode photo, the only options I have for picture mode in my menu are vivid, standard, custom, THX, Game. Nothing that says photo, so which picutre mode should I be running these slides in?

Thanks!
zdr0114 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 12:41 AM
Member
 
wunderhund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: People's Republic of San Francisco, California
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

TC-PxxG20/25 Reference Settings

Service Menu Offsets

WB-ADJ MENU
R-DRV: +5
G-DRV: -8
B-DRV: 0
R-CUT: -9
G-CUT: 0
B-CUT: +3

Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03.

D-Nice -- thanks for your expertise and the settings.

I have a 42G25 and attempted the SM offsets -- I only attempted to adjust the offsets in the Cinema>HD>Warm mode. I was unable to adjust +5 in "R-DRV" -- the setting would not go any higher than the original setting of "FF" -- the Vol + would not move the value up, Vol - only could move it down.

42G25 Cinema>HD>Warm
WB-ADJ MENU Original Values New Values
R-DRV: +5 FF
G-DRV: -8 FF F7
B-DRV: 0 8A 8A
R-CUT: -9 7E 75
G-CUT: 0 80 80
B-CUT: +3 83 86

In addition, the WB Method Select was already at 00.

Is it possible that the G20, which I believe you calibrated, has different original settings than the G25?

Note: I did download and install via VieraCast the first update for the G25, ver 1.060 (G25 PEAKS) before adjusting the offset values. Would that have altered the original base settings in the SM?

Thanks again for your time on the forum. Cheers.
wunderhund is offline  
post #65 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
smithsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone answer these questions:

Can I damage my display by using these photo settings for photo viewing?
Is it beneficial to run the Evangelo2 slides in between watching television and movies?
Will running the webapalooza images negatively affect my display? Are they somehow worse than the Evangelo2 slides?

Thanks very much,
SF
smithsfan is offline  
post #66 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 10:02 AM
Member
 
wunderhund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: People's Republic of San Francisco, California
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithsfan View Post

Can I damage my display by using these photo settings for photo viewing?

The photo mode "break-in" settings have a high contrast setting for using the "break-in" slides. You can do no damage to your tv unless you display the same image for hours and hours at a time when you risk "burn-in." After the 100 hours "break-in," adjust the contrast setting in the 'Photo' mode to your liking when you view photos. The "break-in" settings have an intentionally high contrast setting.

Quote:


Is it beneficial to run the Evangelo2 slides in between watching television and movies?

If you have run the break-in slides for 100 hours, there is no need to run any other slides.

Quote:


Will running the webapalooza images negatively affect my display? Are they somehow worse than the Evangelo2 slides?

See Answer #1 above.

Stop worrying -- enjoy your set.
wunderhund is offline  
post #67 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
smithsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much for your time. The question about running the slides in between normal viewing was because I owned my TV for two weeks before I even discovered the slides. I was just going to run the slides now and then to help break in the TV when I wasn't using it. Is that a good idea, or am I wasting my time?
smithsfan is offline  
post #68 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 05:06 PM
Member
 
new plasma guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whats the difference between pro settings and custom settings . thanks
new plasma guy is offline  
post #69 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wunderhund View Post

D-Nice -- thanks for your expertise and the settings.

I have a 42G25 and attempted the SM offsets -- I only attempted to adjust the offsets in the Cinema>HD>Warm mode. I was unable to adjust +5 in "R-DRV" -- the setting would not go any higher than the original setting of "FF" -- the Vol + would not move the value up, Vol - only could move it down.

42G25 Cinema>HD>Warm
WB-ADJ MENU Original Values New Values
R-DRV: +5 FF
G-DRV: -8 FF F7
B-DRV: 0 8A 8A
R-CUT: -9 7E 75
G-CUT: 0 80 80
B-CUT: +3 83 86

In addition, the WB Method Select was already at 00.

Is it possible that the G20, which I believe you calibrated, has different original settings than the G25?

Note: I did download and install via VieraCast the first update for the G25, ver 1.060 (G25 PEAKS) before adjusting the offset values. Would that have altered the original base settings in the SM?

Thanks again for your time on the forum. Cheers.


D-Nice may have a better solution but since your RDRV is maxed out, you could drop GDRV and BDRV by another 5 ticks. At least that would keep the drives in the same relationship.

In other words, the offsets would be:

RDRV = 0
GDRV = -13
BDRV = -5


That makes the absolute values:

RDRV = FF
GDRV = F2
BDRV = 85


Maybe the CUTs should be dropped another 5 ticks to keep all of the offsets by D-Nice in close relationship. I'm sure that he'll soon be around to help you out.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #70 of 5022 Old 03-15-2010, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Both THX and Custom mode settings have been updated for the G20/25. The previous values were incorrect. The new settings should work fine with your display
Quote:
Originally Posted by wunderhund View Post

D-Nice -- thanks for your expertise and the settings.

I have a 42G25 and attempted the SM offsets -- I only attempted to adjust the offsets in the Cinema>HD>Warm mode. I was unable to adjust +5 in "R-DRV" -- the setting would not go any higher than the original setting of "FF" -- the Vol + would not move the value up, Vol - only could move it down.

42G25 Cinema>HD>Warm
WB-ADJ MENU Original Values New Values
R-DRV: +5 FF
G-DRV: -8 FF F7
B-DRV: 0 8A 8A
R-CUT: -9 7E 75
G-CUT: 0 80 80
B-CUT: +3 83 86

In addition, the WB Method Select was already at 00.

Is it possible that the G20, which I believe you calibrated, has different original settings than the G25?

Note: I did download and install via VieraCast the first update for the G25, ver 1.060 (G25 PEAKS) before adjusting the offset values. Would that have altered the original base settings in the SM?

Thanks again for your time on the forum. Cheers.

D-Nice is offline  
post #71 of 5022 Old 03-16-2010, 12:19 AM
Newbie
 
dcllee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my tv says 006954:45 hours does that mean there's 6954 hours?! on my tv? I just got it on Saturday
dcllee is offline  
post #72 of 5022 Old 03-16-2010, 01:25 AM
Member
 
RedWindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithsfan View Post

Thanks very much for your time. The question about running the slides in between normal viewing was because I owned my TV for two weeks before I even discovered the slides. I was just going to run the slides now and then to help break in the TV when I wasn't using it. Is that a good idea, or am I wasting my time?

Same waters, different boat. Gonna get a g25 but I can't run 100 hours consecutively to break in with the slides. Is it even worth running the slides "inbetween" other ppl watching TV or movie? It wouldn't hurt and not ideal but would it be worth it even?
RedWindow is offline  
post #73 of 5022 Old 03-16-2010, 02:45 AM
Member
 
wunderhund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: People's Republic of San Francisco, California
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Both THX and Custom mode settings have been updated for the G20/25. The previous values were incorrect. The new settings should work fine with your display

D-Nice -- thanks for the corrected settings! WB looks good. THX flesh tones still a little green to me, so I've nudged the tint four clicks to the red. That may have more to do with the varying broadcast quality on cable, because it's less of an issue with Blu-Ray playback.

42G25 Cinema>HD>Warm
WB-ADJ MENU Original Values New Values
R-DRV: -1 FF FE
G-DRV: -8 FF F7
B-DRV: +4 8A 8E
R-CUT: -8 7E 76
G-CUT: 0 80 80
B-CUT: +3 83 86

Cheers.
wunderhund is offline  
post #74 of 5022 Old 03-16-2010, 04:12 AM
Member
 
anthead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

****UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE SHOULD THESE SETTINGS BE USED WITH ANY OTHER SOURCE MATERIAL BEYOND THE PANEL AGING THUMBDRIVE FILES****

Really quick question (sorry if its a stupid one)... I think it was asked before but does this mean that after you are done with the break in progress, you can no longer use those settings and have to either find a pro calibrator or use one of the discs??

Thanks!
anthead is offline  
post #75 of 5022 Old 03-16-2010, 05:13 AM
Member
 
GEE 04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthead View Post

Really quick question (sorry if its a stupid one)... I think it was asked before but does this mean that after you are done with the break in progress, you can no longer use those settings and have to either find a pro calibrator or use one of the discs??

Thanks!

No. It means you cannot use those settings with anything else but the break it images. meaning after you finish your breakin do not use those settings to watch anything else.


Edit: I would recommend getting your tv calibrated. the results after are great. IMO

PSN GEE04
GEE 04 is offline  
post #76 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
NOAMattD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthead View Post

Really quick question (sorry if its a stupid one)... I think it was asked before but does this mean that after you are done with the break in progress, you can no longer use those settings and have to either find a pro calibrator or use one of the discs??

Thanks!

It means that after you have run the break in procedure using the settings in the FIRST POST that you should change your settings to the ones listed for your TV, and never use the settings in the FIRST POST again.

D-Nice, thanks so much for posting your procedure and settings, I just put in an order for a 54G25 on Panasonic's EPP site. I do have ONE question, though this is really for anyone who can answer:

What setting should I use for my wife when I tell her we can't use our first HDTV to watch anything but colored slides for 100 hours? I'm thinking during a footrub, or maybe just shipping her off to her mother's for a week
NOAMattD is offline  
post #77 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 01:04 PM
Member
 
IceCold1906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice,

I know this may sound like stupid questions, but these are some of the concerns and questions people have asked throughout the thread that I hope you will clarify for all of us.

1. By "Reference Settings' you mean the settings that are used AFTER the break-in settings in your first post? For example, you run the break-in with the settings in the first post, then AFTER break-in you configure to the reference settings THX and Custom? You will also need to setup the SM for SD and HD separately, AFTER break-in.

2. It seems that the menu names are not consistent across all models, particularly 'Photo', and color temps. any clarification if you do not have one that you have mentioned.

3. In the service menu settings listed in the reference setting posts, are these actual values that you are targeting or # of clicks positive or negative?

Thank you for your help!
IceCold1906 is offline  
post #78 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 02:02 PM
Member
 
45rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOAMattD View Post

What setting should I use for my wife when I tell her we can't use our first HDTV to watch anything but colored slides for 100 hours? I'm thinking during a footrub, or maybe just shipping her off to her mother's for a week

Of course it depends on the hotness of your wife.
If your wife is SI Bikini model hot, then you can use the color slides as erotic mood lighting backdrop and keep her in bed for 100 hours.

If your wife is not hot, then your second choice is the correct answer.
45rpm is offline  
post #79 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 03:07 PM
Member
 
RedWindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceCold1906 View Post

D-Nice,

I know this may sound like stupid questions, but these are some of the concerns and questions people have asked throughout the thread that I hope you will clarify for all of us.

1. By "Reference Settings' you mean the settings that are used AFTER the break-in settings in your first post? For example, you run the break-in with the settings in the first post, then AFTER break-in you configure to the reference settings THX and Custom? You will also need to setup the SM for SD and HD separately, AFTER break-in.

2. It seems that the menu names are not consistent across all models, particularly 'Photo', and color temps. any clarification if you do not have one that you have mentioned.

3. In the service menu settings listed in the reference setting posts, are these actual values that you are targeting or # of clicks positive or negative?

Thank you for your help!

To add to this,

What if you cannot do 100 hours of consecutive break in time? Is it worth it to do the slides inbetween ppl watching TV? The photo settings should be separate from other settings, right?
RedWindow is offline  
post #80 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 03:26 PM
Member
 
IceCold1906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedWindow View Post

To add to this,

What if you cannot do 100 hours of consecutive break in time? Is it worth it to do the slides inbetween ppl watching TV? The photo settings should be separate from other settings, right?

My understand from his first post is that it is best to do this as consecutive as possible. The purpose of the break-in is to age the colors/phosphors evenly to alleviate drastic unpredictable changes during the life of the panel. (I may not have used the correct terms).

if you cannot run your tv 100 hours straight then from my understanding you could break up the time as long as when the panel is on within the first 100 hours you are only viewing the break-in slides. which implies, intermittent use of the TV for non break-in purposes within the first 100 hours will yield different results. how different, who knows.
IceCold1906 is offline  
post #81 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceCold1906 View Post

My understand from his first post is that it is best to do this as consecutive as possible. The purpose of the break-in is to age the colors/phosphors evenly to alleviate drastic unpredictable changes during the life of the panel. (I may not have used the correct terms).

if you cannot run your tv 100 hours straight then from my understanding you could break up the time as long as when the panel is on within the first 100 hours you are only viewing the break-in slides. which implies, intermittent use of the TV for non break-in purposes within the first 100 hours will yield different results. how different, who knows.


From a post by D-Nice on the previous page of this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post18296786

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #82 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 04:07 PM
Member
 
new plasma guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi , what do the service offsets do ? if i dont use them will it make a big difference . it looks complicated to do and to change . thanks
new plasma guy is offline  
post #83 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 04:58 PM
Member
 
tinate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just received my G20 today. I've been running the slides through an SD card. I glanced at the screen a bit ago and say what appeared to be a screen saver with 'VIEJA' on it. I pressed a button and it went away. Clearly I don't want this, but I can't find a way to turn it off. I researched a bit and found it's a measure to prevent IR in SD mode. I guess the pics from my SD card aren't considered HD? How can I prevent that screen saver from coming back?

Edit: I can't get it to come back up. Anyone know anything about this?
tinate is offline  
post #84 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 05:21 PM
Member
 
twkatadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice,

Just wanted to thank you for taking the time and effort to post these settings (and endure the onslaught of questions!) for all of us. Your have been a great resource for everyone on this forum, and I for one appreciate it and hope you continue.

Thanks!!

Tim
twkatadin is offline  
post #85 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 05:45 PM
Member
 
NikoDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D-Nice, do you know if the VT20 will also be affected byt the black level issue, or will the now phosphor help out and cover it? Seriously doubting to by a VT20 over a 5090h, just have to see how the gaming lag is going to be...
NikoDM is offline  
post #86 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
whatevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice,
So I finished my 100hr break-in with the slides and entered the service menu. I made changes to the "custom" picture mode for the WB-ADJ.

Is your THX recommendation to be made under the "cinema" picture mode? When I switched to the "cinema" picture mode, the WB-ADJ settings seemed to be at the new levels I had just set under custom.

Does this mean that the WB-ADJ changes only need to be made once for HD and once for SD?

What is the intended use of each mode (THX & Custom)? Is one for day and the other for night viewing?

Thank you for your help and the calibration settings. The picture is greatly improved from these changes.
whatevs is offline  
post #87 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
PioBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willamette Valley, Oregon
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 43
D-Nice, could you let us know what your findings are on ANSI contrast for the G20? Is it on par with the 9G kuros? I watched a good bit of Planet Earth inside BB the other day and the intrascene contrast looked amazing. (although I think the kuro processing still has the upper hand). How do you compare the 2010 pannies with the 9G Kuros as far as contrast up to this point?

thanks

"Reckon I get me some fried po'taters mmm hmmm"
PioBeer is offline  
post #88 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioBeer View Post

D-Nice, could you let us know what your findings are on ANSI contrast for the G20? Is it on par with the 9G kuros? I watched a good bit of Planet Earth inside BB the other day and the intrascene contrast looked amazing. (although I think the kuro processing still has the upper hand). How do you compare the 2010 pannies with the 9G Kuros as far as contrast up to this point?

thanks

The G20 is not in any way, shape or form a 9G Kuro except when it comes to color. It beats a 9G Elite/Signature/KRP Kuro when it comes to the dE of the blue color point (THX mode only). The other 5 color points equal the Kuros in accuracy.
D-Nice is offline  
post #89 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
There is only one set of WB Adj offsets listed in my G20/25 settings post. That is for the THX settings. It doesn't matter what the Video mode is while in the SM. The only thing that matters is the color temp, while in the SM, is set to Warm.

How and what you use the two video modes for is up to you. I only use THX on the G20 I have.
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatevs View Post

D-Nice,
So I finished my 100hr break-in with the slides and entered the service menu. I made changes to the "custom" picture mode for the WB-ADJ.

Is your THX recommendation to be made under the "cinema" picture mode? When I switched to the "cinema" picture mode, the WB-ADJ settings seemed to be at the new levels I had just set under custom.

Does this mean that the WB-ADJ changes only need to be made once for HD and once for SD?

What is the intended use of each mode (THX & Custom)? Is one for day and the other for night viewing?

Thank you for your help and the calibration settings. The picture is greatly improved from these changes.

D-Nice is offline  
post #90 of 5022 Old 03-17-2010, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikoDM View Post

D-Nice, do you know if the VT20 will also be affected byt the black level issue,

They will
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off