The Official Samsung PNxxC6500, PNxxC7000, and PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 268 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 41Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8011 of 8186 Old 12-29-2014, 06:25 PM
Member
 
capitalpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaosic_lord View Post
I believe I have fixed the purple banding issue with my Samsung! Note this works for my 58 inch because that is the only USB file currently available.

Read over the "service bulletin"

I needed the previous post to get the USB file on a stick found here:



Then I needed to add the hex code into my harmony remote using this:


Instructions for applying hex code to Harmony remotes here: (But there are other ways with other remotes)

http____forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony-Remotes-Programming/Adding-Pronto-Hex-codes-myself/td-p/406224

Plug your USB stick into your TV's USB.
Enter Factory mode by using the TV remote and while powered off hit - MUTE, 1, 8, 2, POWER.
The factory menu pops up.
Hit the programmed hex code on your Harmony (or other programmable remote)
Screen will flash some solid colors on the screen.
Hit the programmed hex code a second time to escape the color flashing screens.
When the Factory menu comes back you find that there are new submenus that were not there before.
Enter Control/PDP Option
Turn Logic Connect to ON.
Scroll down to Logic USB D/L and right arrow to upgrade.
When the upgrade is complete the TV will turn off.
Best of Luck
This worked.... It actually did the trick. I used a Samsung Galaxy S4 tab - App - Power Universal Remote Control - full info here as described earlier in the thread:

http://wiki.samygo.tv/index.php5/How...%2B3SPEED_keys

and when I entered this key I saw options that I did not have before.

A huge thank you to everyone on this thread - I've been dealing with this for a couple of years now and I can't believe a software fix improved this - I don't think it's 100% gone but it's so faint that it would take alot to see it. I was about to buy a new tv, I'll be waiting on that purchase.
capitalpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8012 of 8186 Old 12-30-2014, 08:14 AM
Member
 
McGriddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by capitalpro View Post
This worked.... It actually did the trick. I used a Samsung Galaxy S4 tab - App - Power Universal Remote Control - full info here as described earlier in the thread:

http://wiki.samygo.tv/index.php5/How...%2B3SPEED_keys

and when I entered this key I saw options that I did not have before.

A huge thank you to everyone on this thread - I've been dealing with this for a couple of years now and I can't believe a software fix improved this - I don't think it's 100% gone but it's so faint that it would take alot to see it. I was about to buy a new tv, I'll be waiting on that purchase.
I'm glad the hex code method worked for you capitalpro! Enjoy the "new" TV again.
McGriddle is offline  
post #8013 of 8186 Old 12-30-2014, 09:56 AM
Member
 
wbertram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was just moving some stuff around the TV, and thought I would check for software updates. I had last checked several weeks ago and there were no software updates. Lo and behold, there was an update available. This was on a Model PN58C7000. The firmware upgraded from 001035 to 001037. This is the first upgrade since a few months after I received the set.

Have not yet had time to see if it fixes the purple banding.

Last edited by wbertram; 12-30-2014 at 10:02 AM.
wbertram is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8014 of 8186 Old 12-30-2014, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So it looks like there are 2 options to fix the pink banding.


1. Take off the back panel and adjust the voltage.


2. Download the logic.bin for your model, save to a thumb drive, go into the service menu, find hotel option, turn on hotel, click "clone tv to USB".


Correct?


Notes:
PN63C8000


Which above option is better? The voltage adjustment sounds safer to me.


Where did this logic.bin file come from? Samsung?


Also, I have never installed any updates to my C8000. I was never having any problems until recently. Should I download the latest updates first? I guess you go to Samsung to get these?


Thanks,
Dank

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8015 of 8186 Old 12-30-2014, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mmsean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just did my PN63C8000 with the file provided earlier. Found the .pdf here: pink_banding_July2013.pdf - http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...82001339,d.aWw

It's not completely gone but whew sooo much better! I have a Logitech Revue hooked up to it and it was really noticeable when I went to the Google Play store. Now, you barely can see it unless you're really looking for it.

The only way that I can get to hotel mode is by
1- TV off, hit MUTE 182 ENTER
3- A menu will appear that says Hotel mode OFF
4- Turn Hotel Mode ON
5- Find the Clone the TV to USB and do it.
6- Make sure you have the USB Stick setup correctly with the right PDP_LOGIC folder structure and the Logic upgrade
7- Under PDP Options find LOGIC USB D/L
8 - Press the right arrow button.
WeeJavaDude likes this.
mmsean is offline  
post #8016 of 8186 Old 12-30-2014, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
DrewZee13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
THANK YOU!

Instructions in this forum and thread were perfect! Was able to download the file, saved it to a USB drive, and followed the service menu directions.

Updated the firmware on my PN58C8000 and it eliminated the pink banding. Did not tamper with Voltage.
mmsean likes this.
DrewZee13 is offline  
post #8017 of 8186 Old 01-03-2015, 05:40 AM
Member
 
smpte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbertram View Post
Was just moving some stuff around the TV, and thought I would check for software updates. I had last checked several weeks ago and there were no software updates. Lo and behold, there was an update available. This was on a Model PN58C7000. The firmware upgraded from 001035 to 001037. This is the first upgrade since a few months after I received the set.

Have not yet had time to see if it fixes the purple banding.
Anyone figure out what this update covers?
smpte is offline  
post #8018 of 8186 Old 01-03-2015, 08:23 AM
Member
 
wbertram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, the 001037 update certainly did not fix the purple banding
wbertram is online now  
post #8019 of 8186 Old 01-03-2015, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mmsean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I updated my firmware to 1037 as well
mmsean is offline  
post #8020 of 8186 Old 01-03-2015, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
orlsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smpte View Post
The hex code for the service IR code is:

0000 006D 0000 0022 00AC 00AB 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0689

Use the info button on the TV's remote and then hit the above service code.

Needless to say use this access at your own risk. Playing around in the service menu can do irreversible harm.
Is this the same service code for PN63C8000? Thank you in advance.
orlsparky is offline  
post #8021 of 8186 Old 01-04-2015, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan Driscoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another big "Thank you!" to this forum and more importantly, to the people here. I've had the purple/pink banding problem for about a year on my 4 year old PN58C6500 and it has been getting progressively worse. Installation of the LOGIC.bin file eliminated all of the purple/pink bands and because of the info posted here I was able to do it with the TV remote, no special remote required.

There is still some very slight banding in the same area, but it darker or less bright than the areas above and below. It is barely noticeable and I suspect that doing the Vs voltage adjustment would probably fix that.


Dan

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
--Benjamin Franklin
Dan Driscoll is offline  
post #8022 of 8186 Old 01-04-2015, 05:18 PM
Member
 
npc2396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
worked for me

Just did the logic update on my 63C8000 and my pink band is gone. I adjusted the voltage about 2.5 years ago but the haze started coming back in the last year. Hopefully this fix lasts longer.

To get into the service menu I hade to hit Mute, 182, Power. Enter did not work.

i did lose my custom color space settings so make note of them before doing the update.
npc2396 is offline  
post #8023 of 8186 Old 01-04-2015, 06:52 PM
EdS
Senior Member
 
EdS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Logic.bin fails to install

Thanks to everyone on the forum for their continued efforts on the pink banding issue.

Updated my firmware on by PN63C8000 a couple of days ago to the latest version (1037), today I tried the Logic.bin update and continued to receive a "fail to install" message after several attempts and trying FAT and FAT32 formats on the USB.

Had no issues accessing the service menu, went to the Hotel menu and cloned the TV to USB, then to the PDP menu and tried the Logic USB D/L, always with the same result, "Fail. "Looked like the TV was momentarily accessing the USB drive, then would receive the "Fail" message. Using a Win8 PC to download the Logic.bin file and format the USB stick, 1GB stick if that makes any difference.

Any ideas, could it be a compatibility issue with the latest firmware version and the Logic.bin file? I did verify that the TV would create a folder with files in it after the "Clone TV to USB" step.

Thanks,
-Ed
EdS is offline  
post #8024 of 8186 Old 01-04-2015, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
mmsean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdS View Post
Thanks to everyone on the forum for their continued efforts on the pink banding issue.

Updated my firmware on by PN63C8000 a couple of days ago to the latest version (1037), today I tried the Logic.bin update and continued to receive a "fail to install" message after several attempts and trying FAT and FAT32 formats on the USB.

Had no issues accessing the service menu, went to the Hotel menu and cloned the TV to USB, then to the PDP menu and tried the Logic USB D/L, always with the same result, "Fail. "Looked like the TV was momentarily accessing the USB drive, then would receive the "Fail" message. Using a Win8 PC to download the Logic.bin file and format the USB stick, 1GB stick if that makes any difference.

Any ideas, could it be a compatibility issue with the latest firmware version and the Logic.bin file? I did verify that the TV would create a folder with files in it after the "Clone TV to USB" step.

Thanks,
-Ed
Did you have the logic bin file in the proper named folder?

PDP_LOGIC
mmsean is offline  
post #8025 of 8186 Old 01-05-2015, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 496
^ And also that same logic bin file MUST be named LOGIC.bin
The first time I tried and failed I left the file name as [3D58]LOGIC.bin
Changed it to LOGIC.bin inside the folder PDP_LOGIC all was fine.
Good luck

Benq HT3550/LG OLED65B6P /Panny UB820 4k Bluray/Apple TV 4k
Nvidia Shield/HDFury AVRkey/Samsung HW-K950 Soundbar
hobbs47 is offline  
post #8026 of 8186 Old 01-05-2015, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
pn63c8000 wont trun on

my TV just stopped working the other day. When I plug it in it just clicks 5 times and then the red LED on the front stays on and it wont respond to anything. I removed the back panel and unplugged the X and Y boards separately and together and still the same thing happens. When I unplugged the buffer board the TV would make the start up sound when I hit the power button so I thought that was the bad part and replaced it. Well it does the same thing after I put the new one in. Any ideas would be welcome.
mknnoyz is offline  
post #8027 of 8186 Old 01-05-2015, 06:01 PM
EdS
Senior Member
 
EdS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies, can confirm that I created the PDP_LOGIC folder, I tried both "LOGIC.bin" and "Logic.bin" filenames, same results each time.

I'm going to do a fresh download of the logic.bin file, and try formatting the USB on a Win-Vista machine, maybe the logic.bin file was corrupted when I first downloaded it.
EdS is offline  
post #8028 of 8186 Old 01-06-2015, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmsean View Post
I updated my firmware to 1037 as well


Where are you guys finding the 1037 firmware?


The Samsung site only has 1035

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8029 of 8186 Old 01-06-2015, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
mmsean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankfoot View Post
Where are you guys finding the 1037 firmware?


The Samsung site only has 1035
Auto update on the TV itself
mmsean is offline  
post #8030 of 8186 Old 01-06-2015, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Humm, I wonder why Samsung doesn't list this on their site. Any clues?

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8031 of 8186 Old 01-09-2015, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Smith 2 View Post
Here is the LOGIC.bin file for the PN63C7000YFXZA or PN63C8000YFXZA

http://www.mediafire.com/download/el...v8yb/LOGIC.bin


So people with the PN63C8000


Can you confirm this is the correct logic bin file?


Thanks,
Dank

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8032 of 8186 Old 01-09-2015, 02:19 PM
Member
 
McGriddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankfoot View Post
So people with the PN63C8000


Can you confirm this is the correct logic bin file?


Thanks,
Dank
Yes, that's the one I used for mine.
McGriddle is offline  
post #8033 of 8186 Old 01-09-2015, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
cdnbum88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you recommend if I currently don't have any issues to download this update on the TV?

cdnbum88 is offline  
post #8034 of 8186 Old 01-09-2015, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would not DL any updates if you don't have an issue.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8035 of 8186 Old 01-09-2015, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Ok guys,

I broke down today and updated my 63/8000 with the 1035 firmware. This is the first update I have done to this set because I have never had any issues until maybe a year ago.

Then I started the logic.bin file.

Plugged in the usb.
Opened factory menu.

I didn't see PDP options, so I went to clone TV to usb. TV started updating "something" or at least that is what it said. (this only took a second) Left that menu and then saw the PDP options. So not sure if I just missed it the first time or what. ( hoping I didn't screw up.)

Went to PDP options downloaded the logic.bin file, TV shut off and then back on.

Since then I have been trying to find new calibration settings and watch for any pink banding at the same time.

So far, I have NOT seen any banding.... I need to review more.

What settings are you guys using?

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8036 of 8186 Old 01-11-2015, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Update, the pink banding is gone.

Thanks everyone.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8037 of 8186 Old 01-11-2015, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
spoonham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My pink banding is gone too!

Hello and thanks to all who put up the file link and the instructions for logic.bin fix. I thought I'd let you know that I installed the logic.bin file with complete success. Approximately 9 or 10 months ago I bumped up the VS voltage from 210 to 213 which eliminated the banding as well. However after coming across the logic.bin file and installing it I decided to open up the back of the set and dial the VS voltage back to 210. Now not a hint of pink is showing. It's been a week scrutinizing the picture and thus far I am calling it "VERY SUCCESSFUL". Now the set (PN63C8000) is running at it's designed 210 volts which will hopefully benefit the panel. Out of curiosity I turned the voltage down to 208 volts to see if I could see any sign of the pink rash, and it still looked pretty good at the lower voltage. Before the logic.bin update when I dialed the voltage down to 208 a severe pink rash was produced. I also downloaded the new software available through the televisions options menu to 1037. The only thing I can determine that may have improved is the "Motion Judder Canceller" seems to have less of a halo effect, not that I watch it more than 5 minutes with it on before or since the 1037 update. I do remember a terrible vapor trail effect when the set was new and now it seems much less noticeable. Maybe this is a side effect of the logic.bin file for that matter. I'm also on my second panel which Samsung replaced with me paying for the labor, this was about 2 years ago. One last thing, does anyone have any idea what this logic.bin fix is actually doing to eliminate the banding? Just curious. I still very much enjoy this TV and hope it lasts a few more years. Nothing beats the plasma picture! RIP Plasma! Not sure what I'd buy today? Thanks for the help!
spoonham is offline  
post #8038 of 8186 Old 01-11-2015, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm glad it helped you also.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #8039 of 8186 Old 01-11-2015, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
luceri84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, this fixed my pn63c8000. I thought I was pretty screwed on this one and was going to have to take the TV apart with board replacements to fix this one and was dreading the experience. I used the hotel mode method with the pn63c8000 file linked in this thread.

Thank you everyone.
dankfoot likes this.
luceri84 is offline  
post #8040 of 8186 Old 01-13-2015, 08:13 PM
Member
 
smpte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did the upgrade from 001035 to 001037 after having fixed my TV with the firmware update. Now the picture is awful and I can't seem to get it back. I don't know what they intended it to do but I don't recommend it. Anyone know a way to get it back to 001035?
smpte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn63c8000 63 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off