Official Panasonic ST50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 337 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 10106 Old 11-23-2017, 08:06 PM
Member
 
westh2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hdcp 2.2

Does anyone know if the TC-P65st50 is HDCP 2.2 compliant?

New Telus 4k box won't pass through my Yamaha RX-a3060 via HDMI and I get the error "not HDCP 2.2 compliant"

However, when connected directly to the TV HDMI input I have no problem. Cables are high quality and support the latest version of HDMI.

Sure sucks to have such nice new Cable box and I can't use my fancy new Yamaha receiver to switch inputs.
westh2o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 10106 Old 11-27-2017, 10:52 AM
Member
 
stangage70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ST50 and all other 1080p screens that I am aware of are NOT HDCP 2.2 compliant.

I am not familiar with the RX-A3060 or Telus devices, however it would seem that the Yamaha is reporting as a 4K capable device, which requires HDCP 2.2.
There are various ways to configure an HDCP tree or repeater. It is "legal" to re-encrypt the stream with a HDCP 1.4, but the Telus may not be intelligent enough to understand more complicated topologies. Can the Telus be configured for fixed 1080p output? Can the Yamaha be configured for pass-through?
This is not a cable issue.

https://www.digital-cp.com/sites/def...mentations.pdf
stangage70 is offline  
post #10083 of 10106 Old 11-28-2017, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do Panasonic P50ST50 pass through 5.1 audio from HDMI inputs?

I try use this TV + Chromecast, but I can't get Dolby or DTS sound. Can anybody help me?

Sorry for double.
zamboga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10084 of 10106 Old 12-03-2017, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Vann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone.

I recently picked up my TC-P55ST50 that's been sitting in my brother's basement for a few years. Virtually untouched. I imagine it has maybe 100-200 hours of usage at most.

I turn it on via the remote and hear the power supply "click" on and then off. No image on the TV, just 8 red blinks. After a bit of research (aka Google) I discover the "2012 Plasma TV Troubleshooting Guide" and follow the procedures for the "8 Blinks Failure".

I check all of the connections between the SS and SS2 board. Everything seems good. I disconnect the SS33 ribbon from the SS board and the TV still does not stay on. There's now 6 blinks. According to the troubleshooting guide I have a bad "A" board. What luck, the TV has been virtually unused and one of the more expensive parts (aside from the panel) goes bad.

I decide to send it in for repair at seemingly the only place that still works on these TV's, a place called PTS Electronics. After about a week I receive an email stating that the board is fine and there's no problems with it and it may be the SS board that's gone bad. Greeaat. I'm out $60 and have to order another part. Not a huge deal as it appears the SS board's are fairly easy to come by.

So I order an SS board off eBay that's been pulled from a "new cracked display TV" for $20. I got it in the other day and swapped it with my old SS board. Same exact issue. TV does not stay turned on and I get 8 blinks.

Now I don't know what could be wrong. Is it possible the "A" board is in-fact dead and the other guys simply misdiagnosed it? Unfortunately it appears the "A" boards are virtually impossible to get now. No one seems to carry them.

Have any fellow ST50 owners come across a similar issue? Any advice?

Thank you!
Vann is offline  
post #10085 of 10106 Old 04-21-2018, 06:28 AM
Member
 
3In2Out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fleming Island, FL
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vann View Post
Hello everyone.

I recently picked up my TC-P55ST50 that's been sitting in my brother's basement for a few years. Virtually untouched. I imagine it has maybe 100-200 hours of usage at most.

I turn it on via the remote and hear the power supply "click" on and then off. No image on the TV, just 8 red blinks. After a bit of research (aka Google) I discover the "2012 Plasma TV Troubleshooting Guide" and follow the procedures for the "8 Blinks Failure".

I check all of the connections between the SS and SS2 board. Everything seems good. I disconnect the SS33 ribbon from the SS board and the TV still does not stay on. There's now 6 blinks. According to the troubleshooting guide I have a bad "A" board. What luck, the TV has been virtually unused and one of the more expensive parts (aside from the panel) goes bad.

I decide to send it in for repair at seemingly the only place that still works on these TV's, a place called PTS Electronics. After about a week I receive an email stating that the board is fine and there's no problems with it and it may be the SS board that's gone bad. Greeaat. I'm out $60 and have to order another part. Not a huge deal as it appears the SS board's are fairly easy to come by.

So I order an SS board off eBay that's been pulled from a "new cracked display TV" for $20. I got it in the other day and swapped it with my old SS board. Same exact issue. TV does not stay turned on and I get 8 blinks.

Now I don't know what could be wrong. Is it possible the "A" board is in-fact dead and the other guys simply misdiagnosed it? Unfortunately it appears the "A" boards are virtually impossible to get now. No one seems to carry them.

Have any fellow ST50 owners come across a similar issue? Any advice?

Thank you!
Do these sets have any value anymore? I've owned mine since 2012, it's been a great TV. That being said, I got the bug and bought a 65" oled.

Was going to just give my in laws the st50 50 as their Samsung plasma has some lines through it, but didn't know if there was a market for them. Really wish I had somewhere to put it, as I love the Tv.
3In2Out is offline  
post #10086 of 10106 Old 04-21-2018, 06:31 AM
Member
 
3In2Out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fleming Island, FL
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry didn't mean to quote you.
3In2Out is offline  
post #10087 of 10106 Old 08-28-2018, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
purbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Anyone know what ampage the USB ports on the side put out?

I'm wondering if I get an Amazon Firestick and plug it in on the side if it will work with those USB adapters that will plug into the side USB port.
purbeast is offline  
post #10088 of 10106 Old 08-29-2018, 01:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by purbeast View Post
Anyone know what ampage the USB ports on the side put out?

I'm wondering if I get an Amazon Firestick and plug it in on the side if it will work with those USB adapters that will plug into the side USB port.

I have a Firestick plugged into my 65VT60 and it works fine using the ARC or Optical out for sound. I'd think the 50 series would work the same.
whipit is offline  
post #10089 of 10106 Old 02-03-2019, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Luno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My P55ST50 will soon be 7 years old. It is working just as brilliantly as it had the day I purchased it! I have gone to great lengths to take care of it, and am the only one who ever touches it.

It gets little to no use during the day and when not in use, it's unplugged from the wall (avoid power-surges).

As long as I have owned it, whenever I watch sports or letterbox movies, I always pop in a movie that fills the entire screen and let it play for about 5 minutes to avoid burn-in. This TV, being 7 years old, has absolutely no burn-in.

Not sure what I'll do when it goes. I friggin' love my Panasonic Plasma TV. My single regret (and I was very close to doing it) was not purchasing the Samsung F8500 and putting it in storage.

Should something happen to this tv, heaven forbid, my next set will probably be an OLED or the Sony X900f. Friends have these sets, but if I had a choice, I'd keep my plasma any day!
jeff1967 and Jbhur212 like this.
Luno is offline  
post #10090 of 10106 Old 02-03-2019, 10:22 AM
Member
 
bchboy1206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Ga
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luno View Post
My P55ST50 will soon be 7 years old. It is working just as brilliantly as it had the day I purchased it! I have gone to great lengths to take care of it, and am the only one who ever touches it.

It gets little to no use during the day and when not in use, it's unplugged from the wall (avoid power-surges).

As long as I have owned it, whenever I watch sports or letterbox movies, I always pop in a movie that fills the entire screen and let it play for about 5 minutes to avoid burn-in. This TV, being 7 years old, has absolutely no burn-in.

Not sure what I'll do when it goes. I friggin' love my Panasonic Plasma TV. My single regret (and I was very close to doing it) was not purchasing the Samsung F8500 and putting it in storage.

Should something happen to this tv, heaven forbid, my next set will probably be an OLED or the Sony X900f. Friends have these sets, but if I had a choice, I'd keep my plasma any day!
I have had mine around 5-6 years and it has been great! I had the upgrade bug but there was nothing out there that made me want to upgrade. It will be a sad day once this one passes!!!
jeff1967 likes this.
bchboy1206 is offline  
post #10091 of 10106 Old 02-04-2019, 07:25 AM
Member
 
hidef1099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Watched the Super Bowl on my Panasonic plasma yesterday. Beautiful picture as ever!
hidef1099 is offline  
post #10092 of 10106 Old 02-04-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidef1099 View Post
Watched the Super Bowl on my Panasonic plasma yesterday. Beautiful picture as ever!
Amen Brotha! I fixed and sold a 65VT25 from 2010 to a friend. I hooked him up with just some basic internet settings. I was over his house a couple weeks ago watching a boxing pay per view and that thing was stunning. I said you still like the tv and he just smiles.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #10093 of 10106 Old 02-05-2019, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
jeff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Talking

My ST50 has been an absolute marvel. Still love the picture quality. The only thing that compares is expensive OLED (which I would love to have, but can't justify).

Also, I am a big fan of 3D. And I am not willing to give up my 3D in favor of UHD/4K.

Over the years, I have bumped the brightness up a notch or 2, but still only running at about 60% so still plenty of room there as the tv ages.

I truly hope this tv lasts for many more years!

Panasonic TC-P55ST50 Plasma 55"
Oppo BDP-203 Blu Ray, Toshiba A30 HD DVD
Onkyo RZ-900 Receiver (7.1 Config)
Klipsch R28F, RC64ii, RS400, RB600, R-12SW Sub
Mac Mini/PS3/Wii, Harmony Smart Control
jeff1967 is offline  
post #10094 of 10106 Old 02-05-2019, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post
My ST50 has been an absolute marvel. Still love the picture quality. The only thing that compares is expensive OLED (which I would love to have, but can't justify).

Also, I am a big fan of 3D. And I am not willing to give up my 3D in favor of UHD/4K.

Over the years, I have bumped the brightness up a notch or 2, but still only running at about 60% so still plenty of room there as the tv ages.

I truly hope this tv lasts for many more years!
Isn't a similar sized OLED TV the same price that you paid for your ST50 whenever you originally bought it? I have a GT50 and I can get a 55" OLED for the same price I paid for the GT50 in 2012.
RandyWalters and jeff1967 like this.
OriginalFake is offline  
post #10095 of 10106 Old 02-06-2019, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jeff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by OriginalFake View Post
Isn't a similar sized OLED TV the same price that you paid for your ST50 whenever you originally bought it? I have a GT50 and I can get a 55" OLED for the same price I paid for the GT50 in 2012.
If we are talking about street prices / msrp, then yes you are correct ( within a couple hundred anyway).
But what I can’t justify is replacing a near perfectly functioning tv that I really enjoy. 👍

Panasonic TC-P55ST50 Plasma 55"
Oppo BDP-203 Blu Ray, Toshiba A30 HD DVD
Onkyo RZ-900 Receiver (7.1 Config)
Klipsch R28F, RC64ii, RS400, RB600, R-12SW Sub
Mac Mini/PS3/Wii, Harmony Smart Control
jeff1967 is offline  
post #10096 of 10106 Old 02-06-2019, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,174
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post
If we are talking about street prices / msrp, then yes you are correct ( within a couple hundred anyway).
But what I can’t justify is replacing a near perfectly functioning tv that I really enjoy. 👍

If anyone wants to improve image of your ST50, consider getting a DarbeeVision DVP-5000S (the newer version with the S at the end and a better remote). It greatly improved the softness issue on my GT50 (a common complaint on the VT50/GT50/ST50 models). The older model works about as well, but the remote sucks. I gave that one to a friend for his Pioneer 6020 and it improved his PQ too.

Ebay has used ones, And Monoprice has a good price if you prefer a new one (Amazon too):

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=14914



One of my Posts about it:


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-p...l#post22350130




Darbee Thread:


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/37-vi...rblet-247.html

__

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 02-06-2019 at 07:28 AM.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #10097 of 10106 Old 02-06-2019, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Nice to hear people are still enjoying this fine plasma. I've had my 55 in the living room since they first came out and it has been flawless. I, too, have been using DarbeeVision since it came out and it really does make a nice difference. The remote does stink but I live with it. Did buy one of the newer units for my 77C8 (replaced my Panasonic 65PZ850U which is also still perfect, now in my nephew's living room) in my HT for 1080 content. That design is a very nice improvement and far easier to use. Makes me wish Panasonic made a 77” display AND sold them in US. Would have bought one instantly.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #10098 of 10106 Old 02-13-2019, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm considering purchasing a used ST50 for very cheap (it seems that none of the HDMI ports work, but the tuner, streaming, and component inputs still work) Is this still a good buy in 2019? I'm looking for a very accurate display, I'm less concerned with 4k.
marlowja is offline  
post #10099 of 10106 Old 02-13-2019, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,174
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlowja View Post
I'm considering purchasing a used ST50 for very cheap (it seems that none of the HDMI ports work, but the tuner, streaming, and component inputs still work) Is this still a good buy in 2019? I'm looking for a very accurate display, I'm less concerned with 4k.

What is a streaming input?



And doesn't the ST50 only have one Component input?



The onboard Smart Apps may not be getting updated anymore. The Netflix App on my GT50 will not longer connect, and when i try to update it the TV locks up. It's not a problem since i don't use the onboard Apps (we have a Roku on one of the HDMI inputs).


Personally, i would not buy any used TV that has broken HDMI inputs but if you're sure you don't need HDMI and the TV is say $100 or less then it might be worth it. Aside from the softness issue on all the 50 series models, the picture quality is otherwise very good. Good black levels and contrast ratio.





________

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #10100 of 10106 Old 02-13-2019, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
What is a streaming input?



And doesn't the ST50 only have one Component input?



The onboard Smart Apps may not be getting updated anymore. The Netflix App on my GT50 will not longer connect, and when i try to update it the TV locks up. It's not a problem since i don't use the onboard Apps (we have a Roku on one of the HDMI inputs).


Personally, i would not buy any used TV that has broken HDMI inputs but if you're sure you don't need HDMI and the TV is say $100 or less then it might be worth it. Aside from the softness issue on all the 50 series models, the picture quality is otherwise very good. Good black levels and contrast ratio.





________
Hi there, thanks for the input - yeah it's $125. I meant onboard apps for "streaming input", apparently the Netflix app still works. I was thinking of possibly getting a Roku stick that I'd connect to an HDMI to Component adapter. Even though most of my viewing is OTA and streaming, I think I might pass on this. If there are those HDMI issues at play, who knows what else could go wrong.
RandyWalters likes this.
marlowja is offline  
post #10101 of 10106 Old 02-14-2019, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlowja View Post
Hi there, thanks for the input - yeah it's $125. I meant onboard apps for "streaming input", apparently the Netflix app still works. I was thinking of possibly getting a Roku stick that I'd connect to an HDMI to Component adapter. Even though most of my viewing is OTA and streaming, I think I might pass on this. If there are those HDMI issues at play, who knows what else could go wrong.
You didn't say what size ST50 it is. A replacement A main board goes for a little under $200 on Ebay. Hypothetically if it's a 65", offer $100 and then slap a working A board in and then you would have an exceptable buy at $300.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #10102 of 10106 Old 02-14-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
You didn't say what size ST50 it is. A replacement A main board goes for a little under $200 on Ebay. Hypothetically if it's a 65", offer $100 and then slap a working A board in and then you would have an exceptable buy at $300.
Hi there - it's 50in. I can't really accommodate anything larger than that in my space. Are the A-boards something I can easily do myself without soldering etc, or is it more intensive?
marlowja is offline  
post #10103 of 10106 Old 02-14-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlowja View Post
Hi there - it's 50in. I can't really accommodate anything larger than that in my space. Are the A-boards something I can easily do myself without soldering etc, or is it more intensive?
Yes all the boards are easy to change. Plug and play. The most important thing when buying a replacement board is to make sure it's an exact replacement. Match up the board number and the suffix number. Often the same model may have different suffix numbers. In this case a 50" would not be a good investment given the price for an A board. The A board is always the most expensive board in a Plasma.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #10104 of 10106 Old 03-27-2019, 04:50 AM
Member
 
CEAyuso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southern MD, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Yes all the boards are easy to change. Plug and play. The most important thing when buying a replacement board is to make sure it's an exact replacement. Match up the board number and the suffix number. Often the same model may have different suffix numbers. In this case a 50" would not be a good investment given the price for an A board. The A board is always the most expensive board in a Plasma.
I know this is dated but I used this company last year when lightning took out our board: http://www.ptselectronicsinc.com/. It took me a while to find the correct board number but I think they helped me identify it. $125 and less than a 2 week turnaround.
Test Ickles likes this.
CEAyuso is offline  
post #10105 of 10106 Old 05-03-2019, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
Erik Masters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there!
Longtime plasma tvs user here.
I need some help.

I want to purchase TV for my parents and found 50ST50 for excellent price.
But it's bit faulty and on bright scenes,esp. commercials with lots of white it's purple,while in movies it looks great.
It looks similar to purple snakes on old plasmas,but never seen this on ST50 or newer plasma.
Is there something I can do to alievate it,through service menu or something? Or do I need to swap one of the boards in the back?
Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ST50.png
Views:	21
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	2562096   Click image for larger version

Name:	ST50_02.png
Views:	17
Size:	135.5 KB
ID:	2562098  

Last edited by Erik Masters; 05-03-2019 at 05:14 PM.
Erik Masters is offline  
post #10106 of 10106 Old 05-03-2019, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Masters View Post
Hi there!
Longtime plasma tvs user here.
I need some help.

I want to purchase TV for my parents and found 50ST50 for excellent price.
But it's bit faulty and on bright scenes,esp. commercials with lots of white it's purple,while in movies it looks great.
It looks similar to purple snakes on old plasmas,but never seen this on ST50 or newer plasma.
Is there something I can do to alievate it,through service menu or something? Or do I need to swap one of the boards in the back?
Thanks.
Changing VSUS to high in the service menu might fix that but I would stay away.
Test Ickles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55st50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60st50 Plasma Tv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off