Official Panasonic TC-PxxST60 Series thread - Page 464 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 193Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13891 of 14065 Old 11-15-2017, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
PeeJHooK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
No!!! Those are LCD TV's. You will hate it. The only upgrade is an OLED.
Thanks. I'm definitely interested in an OLED, but I can't justify spending that much on it just yet with HDR/DV still in its infancy. This is why I was considering a budget/value type purchase to tap into the 4K/HDR/DV bandwagon. The 55" x900e is going for $1000 on bf, and the TCL P is already deemed one of the best values available. Maybe "upgrade" was the wrong word to use.

LG OLED55C7P | Vizio M65‑E0 | Sony UBP-X700 | Apple TV 4K | Pioneer VSX-1121
PeeJHooK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13892 of 14065 Old 11-16-2017, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeJHooK View Post
Thanks. I'm definitely interested in an OLED, but I can't justify spending that much on it just yet with HDR/DV still in its infancy. This is why I was considering a budget/value type purchase to tap into the 4K/HDR/DV bandwagon. The 55" x900e is going for $1000 on bf, and the TCL P is already deemed one of the best values available. Maybe "upgrade" was the wrong word to use.
Just so you know, I have a Panny ST60 in the living room & just purchased a Vizio M50-E1 to put in the bedroom. The Vizio performs as well as the Panasonic as long as view straight on, off angle viewing is pretty bad, but if you're viewing straight on, it's a wonderful tv. I went with it over the TCL because of a better screen uniformity & I'm very happy. If you jump to the Vizio P series you'll get a small increase in performance, but the same viewing angle issue. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase. Also, the Vizio's are really accurate out of the box.
PeeJHooK likes this.
cadett is offline  
post #13893 of 14065 Old 11-16-2017, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
PeeJHooK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post
Just so you know, I have a Panny ST60 in the living room & just purchased a Vizio M50-E1 to put in the bedroom. The Vizio performs as well as the Panasonic as long as view straight on, off angle viewing is pretty bad, but if you're viewing straight on, it's a wonderful tv. I went with it over the TCL because of a better screen uniformity & I'm very happy. If you jump to the Vizio P series you'll get a small increase in performance, but the same viewing angle issue. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase. Also, the Vizio's are really accurate out of the box.
Thanks for the insight. I considered the Vizio M series as well, but the deal breaker between that and the TCL P was the lack of a TV tuner, as I will be using it to watch local channels. I hadn't considered screen uniformity, though. Thanks for sharing your input, as I was really curious to know from a fellow ST60 owner what their experience has been either having both the ST60 and a newer 4K HDR, or just moving on from the ST60 to a newer 4K/HDR.
cadett likes this.

LG OLED55C7P | Vizio M65‑E0 | Sony UBP-X700 | Apple TV 4K | Pioneer VSX-1121
PeeJHooK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13894 of 14065 Old 12-10-2017, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: GREECE
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
P42ST60 MLL @ 0.06cd/m2 Is that normal ?
Hi there guys.
I own a 3y old P42ST60 and the MLL definitely gone up. Measured 0.06 cd/m2 with fluctuation to 0.08
The TV is working great but blacks are off. The local Official Repair shop says that TV is working great and that the black level is normal.
Also Panasonic Europe Responded that this measure of 0.06 is acceptable...
Is there anything i can do? Any suggestions? Already tried a Reset in "shippping condition"
i also tried to exchange power boards and A-Board with another P42ST60 none of these solutions worked. I can clearly see the (Reset pulse lines) and the panel has a little of a blue tint. Its not a calibration issue or other settings problem cause i have tried any possible setting in the MAIN MENU and the "Service Menu"
Do you thing that ST60 series also suffers of this "Rising black levels" problem ? Any help ?
Charidemus74 is offline  
post #13895 of 14065 Old 12-10-2017, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
PeeJHooK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charidemus74 View Post
P42ST60 MLL @ 0.06cd/m2 Is that normal ?
Hi there guys.
I own a 3y old P42ST60 and the MLL definitely gone up. Measured 0.06 cd/m2 with fluctuation to 0.08
The TV is working great but blacks are off. The local Official Repair shop says that TV is working great and that the black level is normal.
Also Panasonic Europe Responded that this measure of 0.06 is acceptable...
Is there anything i can do? Any suggestions? Already tried a Reset in "shippping condition"
i also tried to exchange power boards and A-Board with another P42ST60 none of these solutions worked. I can clearly see the (Reset pulse lines) and the panel has a little of a blue tint. Its not a calibration issue or other settings problem cause i have tried any possible setting in the MAIN MENU and the "Service Menu"
Do you thing that ST60 series also suffers of this "Rising black levels" problem ? Any help ?
I noticed the black levels on my ST60 go up as well, especially the black bars on the top and bottom. I noticed it when compared to the newer vizio M and TCL P TV's I just bought. But, I didn't really notice the drop off in the actual picture quality as black and shadow detail are still excellent. I probably just do not have trained eyes to be able to discern it, though, so take it for what it's worth.

LG OLED55C7P | Vizio M65‑E0 | Sony UBP-X700 | Apple TV 4K | Pioneer VSX-1121
PeeJHooK is offline  
post #13896 of 14065 Old 12-10-2017, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charidemus74 View Post
P42ST60 MLL @ 0.06cd/m2 Is that normal ?
Hi there guys.
I own a 3y old P42ST60 and the MLL definitely gone up. Measured 0.06 cd/m2 with fluctuation to 0.08
The TV is working great but blacks are off. The local Official Repair shop says that TV is working great and that the black level is normal.
Also Panasonic Europe Responded that this measure of 0.06 is acceptable...
Is there anything i can do? Any suggestions? Already tried a Reset in "shippping condition"
i also tried to exchange power boards and A-Board with another P42ST60 none of these solutions worked. I can clearly see the (Reset pulse lines) and the panel has a little of a blue tint. Its not a calibration issue or other settings problem cause i have tried any possible setting in the MAIN MENU and the "Service Menu"
Do you thing that ST60 series also suffers of this "Rising black levels" problem ? Any help ?
Did you check this thread for the models that suffer from the rising black problem and how to fix it? My V10 suffers from the rising blacks issue. I installed one of Audiodane's PMCv2 boards to fix the problem in my set. Made a big difference.
eaayoung is online now  
post #13897 of 14065 Old 12-24-2017, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Player2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Alternate base/stand

I recently got a sonos playbase and currently have my 60inch TV sitting on it. This is slightly outside the weight limit which made me look at some various stands (not wall mounts).

I was interested in the Sanus Premium Swivel, but it says it only supports weights up to 60lbs. Given the 70lbs nature of this TV I was hesitant to purchase.

Do any of you use this or any other stands.

Thanks.
Player2 is offline  
post #13898 of 14065 Old 12-28-2017, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Julio Castrejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Does anybody know if you can mount the TV to the Panasonic VT60 stand? I want to upgrade the TV stand from the ST60 series to the VT60 series. I want to know if the VT60 stand for a 60" TV will work on my 50" ST60?
Julio Castrejon is offline  
post #13899 of 14065 Old 02-09-2018, 04:25 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Okay Folks...I have a pretty old Panasonic Viera TC-P42ST30, and I am wondering if anyone knows if there was ever a Firmware update that fixed the Floating, or Fluctuating Blacks, and where I might download it?

Also, looking to get another bigger TV soon, and I have been told that the LG OLED 7 series sets are indeed the best out there. When I get enough money saved up, a 55" set will be in my Family Room, and I'm really looking forward to it. The Plasma's were good TV's, but these apparently blow them away as far as Brightness and Blacks go.
The Hornet is offline  
post #13900 of 14065 Old 02-10-2018, 03:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
Okay Folks...I have a pretty old Panasonic Viera TC-P42ST30, and I am wondering if anyone knows if there was ever a Firmware update that fixed the Floating, or Fluctuating Blacks, and where I might download it?

Also, looking to get another bigger TV soon, and I have been told that the LG OLED 7 series sets are indeed the best out there. When I get enough money saved up, a 55" set will be in my Family Room, and I'm really looking forward to it. The Plasma's were good TV's, but these apparently blow them away as far as Brightness and Blacks go.
Here's some info on the patch

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...l#post20799695
whipit is offline  
post #13901 of 14065 Old 02-12-2018, 06:18 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
Okay...Thank you. Looks like I have a bit of reading to do, and to see if there is a Firmware Update, or something else.
The Hornet is offline  
post #13902 of 14065 Old 02-14-2018, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,175
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Castrejon View Post
Does anybody know if you can mount the TV to the Panasonic VT60 stand? I want to upgrade the TV stand from the ST60 series to the VT60 series. I want to know if the VT60 stand for a 60" TV will work on my 50" ST60?
The VT60 and ST60 stands are not interchangeable at all. Not even when both TVs are the same screen size.


.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #13903 of 14065 Old 04-03-2018, 03:49 PM
Member
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Panny 50ST60 Screen Bezel Coming Lose

My Panny 50ST60 the fake chrome screen bezel is lose / coming off in the lower left & right bottom and side. If you're just looking at the TV you don't notice it, but if you touch the TV in those areas you can feel it being lose and basically detached. It's like 4-5" on both bottoms and sides (left & right).

Is anybody else having this problem and what to use to reattach it?

Thanks in advance.
pitterpat is offline  
post #13904 of 14065 Old 04-03-2018, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
seperating bezzle

same TV same issue. it has been occurring for some time. My theory is that the heat is drying out the thin double sided tape used to secure it. i pulled back about 4" of one corner and that is what I think is happening. When separated it flaked off, looks like garlic powder. I've used some blue tac to hold it in place but it isn't a good fix. my belief is that if you want to fix it you will have to take the whole thing off and use some form of high end glue or double sided tape, maybe auto tape (that is what I would try) as i would not want to mess around with glue. i think the hardest part would be cleaning off the old adhesive.

let me know if you come up with a better fix. it was by the way covered by warranty (mine was) but the weeks of leaving it with the lone certified repair person (no in house fix) made up my mind to live with it.
papaslake is offline  
post #13905 of 14065 Old 04-04-2018, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
blueguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reattaching Bezel

Same thing happened to my bezel (the glue or whatever going bad and the corners started to separate). After trying a couple things, all I ended up needing to do was get some of those little "dot" adhesive circles (from 3M or some similar brand). I put them about every 3 inches or so apart where the separation was happening and they've held up well (for many months, or maybe > year now). I can look up exactly what they were if needed, but it made it simple by not having to force the bezel off any more than it already was and just slide the dots in and press down (no removing the old glue or white powder, etc.).
blueguy2 is offline  
post #13906 of 14065 Old 04-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How long do you think these plasmas will last? I'm itching for an upgrade, but don't want to move on from my old panny
iamtaylorsmith is offline  
post #13907 of 14065 Old 04-08-2018, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtaylorsmith View Post
How long do you think these plasmas will last? I'm itching for an upgrade, but don't want to move on from my old panny
On average I would be surprised if they lasted less than 10 years.

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #13908 of 14065 Old 04-08-2018, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 18,417
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8585 Post(s)
Liked: 5784
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtaylorsmith View Post
How long do you think these plasmas will last? I'm itching for an upgrade, but don't want to move on from my old panny
July 2011 build 60" ST; estimated 23,000 hours and still going strong.

Zero issues.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is offline  
post #13909 of 14065 Old 04-08-2018, 02:56 PM
Member
 
zeppfan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Used panny

Just picked up a low-hours 60st60 semi-locally. I’m watching planet earth II on it and I’m just floored. Great picture.

To fight the horde....
zeppfan1 is offline  
post #13910 of 14065 Old 04-08-2018, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeppfan1 View Post
Just picked up a low-hours 60st60 semi-locally. I’m watching planet earth II on it and I’m just floored. Great picture.
Congrats,I have a calibrated one.Was watching The Masters OTA the last couple of days.The golf was very nice, the Mercedes commercials were outstanding!

I'm wanting to get an OLED at the end of the year or early next year but not sure how much better 1080 and below content will look compared to the ST60.

By the way I'm in Carmichael.

Zepp fan as well!
zeppfan1 likes this.
markg35 is online now  
post #13911 of 14065 Old 04-10-2018, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
On average I would be surprised if they lasted less than 10 years.
We also have (besides the 60" ST60) a 50" PannyPlasma that's 9+ years old. Perfect. Can't remember model no.
Physically - looks much better than the ugly ST60 just hanging on wall.
snidely is online now  
post #13912 of 14065 Old 05-01-2018, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
samijubal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtaylorsmith View Post
How long do you think these plasmas will last? I'm itching for an upgrade, but don't want to move on from my old panny
I have a 10 year old Panny plasma that still works fine.
samijubal is offline  
post #13913 of 14065 Old 05-05-2018, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Hi folks,

I've noticed that on SOME, but not all, Netflix series season pages, the individual episode data don't populate. Instead I get either a blank area or sometimes, depending how I click around with the remote, three red dots that make it look like it's trying to fetch the data but failing to do so. I'm uploading a picture of the TV showing this going on, on Season 2 of Jessica Jones. Season 1 episode info loads just fine and would display the list of episode names and such.

An obvious solution is "Buy a Roku, and be thankful the plasma screen still works."

But, I like using the built in streaming apps, to the extent I stream (I'm mostly watching BluRay rips or recorded live TV through Emby).

Any idea what's going on here? I would just assume it's a symptom of too old streaming software (Maybe NF changed something on their end), but since some seasons of some series populate fine, that theory doesn't seem to hold true.

Does anyone else see this? Can somebody try loading this example (JJ Season 2) and see if they can pull it up? That would tell me if it's just me or not. I suppose I could sign out of NF to clear whatever database there is, and re sign in, if it's not just me, and see if that clears it.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NFTrouble.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	2399246  

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #13914 of 14065 Old 05-05-2018, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vienna
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 292
I remember the built in apps quite buggy on the ST60.. And of course it is an old software version..


Regarding getting a dedicated app playing device. There is a huge benefit of using nvidia shield (android) as a media player, and that is that you can put the device in 24 mode, and watch Netflix, Amazon Prime, Files from usb in 24p glory, just like from blu ray. No 60hz pull down judder.


I think apple can do it too, but Roku and fire tv and gaming consoles not..


Intern you cannot do much more, then close the app and restart it again when it is hanging.. I have to do this on nvidia shield also from time to time.. Especially amazon prime is quite buggy and no matter what..

Panasonic TX-P42STW60 PDP
Panasonic TX-50GXW804 LCD
Bruce2019 is offline  
post #13915 of 14065 Old 05-05-2018, 09:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
Hi folks,

I've noticed that on SOME, but not all, Netflix series season pages, the individual episode data don't populate. Instead I get either a blank area or sometimes, depending how I click around with the remote, three red dots that make it look like it's trying to fetch the data but failing to do so. I'm uploading a picture of the TV showing this going on, on Season 2 of Jessica Jones. Season 1 episode info loads just fine and would display the list of episode names and such.

An obvious solution is "Buy a Roku, and be thankful the plasma screen still works."

But, I like using the built in streaming apps, to the extent I stream (I'm mostly watching BluRay rips or recorded live TV through Emby).

Any idea what's going on here? I would just assume it's a symptom of too old streaming software (Maybe NF changed something on their end), but since some seasons of some series populate fine, that theory doesn't seem to hold true.

Does anyone else see this? Can somebody try loading this example (JJ Season 2) and see if they can pull it up? That would tell me if it's just me or not. I suppose I could sign out of NF to clear whatever database there is, and re sign in, if it's not just me, and see if that clears it.

Thanks
We never really have used built in apps. except Netflix. Starting 2 years ago starting making use of Roku - MUCH easier. Use it for Netflix, Amazon and other streaming. Cut the cord last summer.
snidely is online now  
post #13916 of 14065 Old 06-14-2018, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Just got an email from Hulu saying they are ending support of the Panasonic TV app. Probably just the first of several app depreciation s. oh well, five years was a good run for those apps. I will buy a hardwired Roku which will actually solve a few problems, and feedbit into my AVR. I do worry a bit about audio sync issues with Roku but let's see how it goes.

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #13917 of 14065 Old 06-14-2018, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
jp0213x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've been completely happy with my ST60 for the last 5 years. My friend just purchased a c8 LG OLED, great picture and black levels, honestly I didn't see a night and day picture between the ST60 and the C8 in my opinion. Its not making me run out to get an OLED just yet. Maybe I am bit bias but I think ST60 has better picture when it comes to the cable feed, looks much sharper in general on most channels. My friend has the X1 box. I felt the C8 picture varied based on each station. Content looked better on certain stations. Anyone who has last gen calibrated Panasonic plasma and is thinking about getting an C8, in my opinion isn't much of an upgrade in terms of picture quality. If you don't care much for the 4k and HDR, keep your ST60. Outside of the picture quality you do get an upgrade with everything else with OS features and streaming.
Bruce2019 likes this.
jp0213x is offline  
post #13918 of 14065 Old 06-14-2018, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp0213x View Post
I've been completely happy with my ST60 for the last 5 years. My friend just purchased a c8 LG OLED, great picture and black levels, honestly I didn't see a night and day picture between the ST60 and the C8 in my opinion. Its not making me run out to get an OLED just yet. Maybe I am bit bias but I think ST60 has better picture when it comes to the cable feed, looks much sharper in general on most channels. My friend has the X1 box. I felt the C8 picture varied based on each station. Content looked better on certain stations. Anyone who has last gen calibrated Panasonic plasma and is thinking about getting an C8, in my opinion isn't much of an upgrade in terms of picture quality. If you don't care much for the 4k and HDR, keep your ST60. Outside of the picture quality you do get an upgrade with everything else with OS features and streaming.
Completely agree. I plan to keep my ST60 until it either fails or until the OLED prices come down quite a bit. Still loving the ST60 picture on all input sources.

Mark
Panasonic VIERA TC-P60ST60 Plasma, NAD T775 receiver, OPPO BDP-103, AT&T uVerse
Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable w/Ortofon 2M Red cartridge, NAD PP-2 phono preamp
Era D5 front left/right, Era D5 LCR center, Triad in-ceiling Mini 8/LCR surrounds, dual SVS SB12-NSD subs
NCCaniac is offline  
post #13919 of 14065 Old 06-14-2018, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Me too! Love my set. Not too worried about having to get a Roku to stay current on steaming apps. Best picture I have ever seen.

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #13920 of 14065 Old 06-14-2018, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
Me too! Love my set. Not too worried about having to get a Roku to stay current on steaming apps. Best picture I have ever seen.
We have a 60" ST60 in one home. The picture is perfect, but it sure is ugly setting on the wall with a wide, mirrored bezel. We have an old 50" Panny plasma (forget the model number) that not only looks better hanging on the wall that has an equally good picture. It is eight or nine years old.
Since plasma is not made anymore, when that old panel dies, we'll get an OLED. Until 4K becomes more prevalent, will probably just stick with the present protocol.
snidely is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt50 , Sony Bravia Xbr52hx909 52 Lcd Tv Direct Led

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off