Official Panasonic S60 Series Discussion Thread - Page 256 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7651 of 7672 Old 02-10-2019, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone have calibration settings on the s60 for a brighter room? Cnets settings are the ones I was using and it was meant for a dim room. Thanks in advance.
Fray90 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7652 of 7672 Old 07-04-2019, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
hey fellas, my 42” and 65” S60 are on 2.05 firmware. Is that the latest? Very oddly the Panasonic website has ghosted the TC-PxxS60 models from the website.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #7653 of 7672 Old 07-04-2019, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Vacation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
hey fellas, my 42” and 65” S60 are on 2.05 firmware. Is that the latest? Very oddly the Panasonic website has ghosted the TC-PxxS60 models from the website.
I believe 2.212 was the latest, but maybe someone else can confirm. You can find it here https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...own_na_01.html

It looks like anything else on their website, as far as manuals, user guides, etc., has been removed.
Vacation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7654 of 7672 Old 07-04-2019, 09:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bruce2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
hey fellas, my 42” and 65” S60 are on 2.05 firmware. Is that the latest? Very oddly the Panasonic website has ghosted the TC-PxxS60 models from the website.

https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...a_2013/na.html
https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...own_na_01.html

2013 Panasonic TX-P42STW60 PDP
2013 Panasonic TX-P42X60E PDP
Bruce2019 is offline  
post #7655 of 7672 Old 07-05-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Thank you, are there patch notes?

Separate issue: I have an aversion to installing final firmwares. I’m on two threads of devices, including expensive Yamaha receivers that mysteriously just stop working xTime after the last firmware while mine is fine on a lower firmware.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #7656 of 7672 Old 07-05-2019, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,646
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1196 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Thank you, are there patch notes?

Separate issue: I have an aversion to installing final firmwares. I’m on two threads of devices, including expensive Yamaha receivers that mysteriously just stop working xTime after the last firmware while mine is fine on a lower firmware.
I never bothered to do the last update since it was non specific and inconsequential. TV has worked just fine all these years.....


Ian
gregleg likes this.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #7657 of 7672 Old 09-26-2019, 07:37 PM
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi Everyone,

I have a Panasonic TC-65PS64 (Costco's version of the S60) with a vertical black section on the right side of the screen. And it has a few multi-colored vertical lines running through it.

Has anyone ever had this same issue?

I have attached a photo of it to this post.

Thanks very much!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1286.JPG
Views:	35
Size:	737.5 KB
ID:	2620416  
mraya77 is offline  
post #7658 of 7672 Old 09-27-2019, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Sushihunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've not seen that on a screen before, but it doesn't look good.


If you are still under warranty, I would take it back to Costco for replacement ASAP.


I am assuming that you see this no matter what video source you are viewing?


Good luck!
Sushihunter is offline  
post #7659 of 7672 Old 09-27-2019, 10:40 AM
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushihunter View Post
I've not seen that on a screen before, but it doesn't look good.


If you are still under warranty, I would take it back to Costco for replacement ASAP.


I am assuming that you see this no matter what video source you are viewing?


Good luck!

Thanks for the reply! Unfortunately, there is no more warranty on this TV. Yes, you are correct - this issue remains on the screen regardless of the video input source.
mraya77 is offline  
post #7660 of 7672 Old 09-27-2019, 11:23 PM
Member
 
Sushihunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's too bad about the warranty.


But seeing as you bought it at Costco, I would take it back to them anyway.
I've found that Costco can be very forgiving on return items, especially if it is not too long out of warranty.
Worth a shot.
Sushihunter is offline  
post #7661 of 7672 Old 09-28-2019, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,214
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushihunter View Post
That's too bad about the warranty. But seeing as you bought it at Costco, I would take it back to them anyway. I've found that Costco can be very forgiving on return items, especially if it is not too long out of warranty.
Worth a shot.
Unfortunately Costco's return policy on TVs is 90 days from date of original purchase.


___________

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7662 of 7672 Old 09-28-2019, 10:46 AM
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah, returning it is not an option, unfortunately. Bought it in early 2014.

I emailed the above photo to three local TV repair techs for their opinions.

The first tech said: "Plasma display panel part number, MD65F16C3A, is no longer available, even if it's still available the price alone on the panel is over $2k." I replied and asked him if he thinks it could be anything else, like a bad board or something, and he said "Could be a C driver board but rarely, and that is also no longer available."

Second tech said: "From the photo, it looks like it's going to be a display panel (screen) problem. Normally, whenever there's a bar or lines going through a picture it will be the failure of one section of the panel. This, unfortunately, is too expensive to repair due to the cost of the screen. In most cases, the plasma screens are no longer available due to the age of the TV and the fact that Plasma's are considered outdated."

Third tech said: "It is likely either a buffer board failure or display panel; the latter of which cannot be repaired. We would not know which until we open the television. If it is indeed the buffer board, the repair estimate may be between $300-$500."

So, I would love it if the TV could be fixed at a reasonable price but I am thinking that chances are likely that I am probably going to have to buy a new TV. Looking at OLED.
mraya77 is offline  
post #7663 of 7672 Old 09-28-2019, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Sushihunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sadly, it is cheaper to buy a new TV than it is to have it repaired.


I ran into this about 20 years ago with a Toshiba CRT TV - The tuner went bad, took it to 2 different shops, couldn't get the parts.


On the plus side... New TV!
Sushihunter is offline  
post #7664 of 7672 Old 10-07-2019, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Superdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraya77 View Post
Hi Everyone,



I have a Panasonic TC-65PS64 (Costco's version of the S60) with a vertical black section on the right side of the screen. And it has a few multi-colored vertical lines running through it.



Has anyone ever had this same issue?



I have attached a photo of it to this post.



Thanks very much!
I'm late to this thread, but I almost the exact same failure in my 65s60 around 2 years ago. I tried the buffer boards and it did not help in my case. Panel failure, and I isolated it to a failed chip on one of the ribbon cables. Since it is the very rightmost section that went out, I moved the TV to my workout room and still use it there.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
Superdog is offline  
post #7665 of 7672 Old 10-07-2019, 09:34 PM
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superdog View Post
I'm late to this thread, but I almost the exact same failure in my 65s60 around 2 years ago. I tried the buffer boards and it did not help in my case. Panel failure, and I isolated it to a failed chip on one of the ribbon cables. Since it is the very rightmost section that went out, I moved the TV to my workout room and still use it there.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
Thank you for sharing. Yeah, I checked with a few different TV repair techs and they all said it was the panel and therefore, no solution. Oh well...
mraya77 is offline  
post #7666 of 7672 Old 10-14-2019, 12:26 PM
Member
 
leepoffaith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone interested in a free TC-65PS64 in the Tampa, FL area? Long story short it needs a new or repaired main board TNPH1046 . I have two boards, both of which don't work. It currently powers on but I get a flashing indicator light. This was a fantastic TV, but I already got a new 4K TV and I'm just sick of messing with this one. Once you replace the main board the TV should work fine. Everything else on the TV is in good shape. I hope to give it to someone who will use it and not just part it out since it's such a great TV, but at this point I just want it out of my house!
leepoffaith is offline  
post #7667 of 7672 Old 10-15-2019, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
rsweakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are these possible at all to fix? My wife was cleaning mine and the old ****ty stepstool she was using gave way because of a bad corner. Anyways she lost her balance and the TV tipped over, cracking the display. I loved that TV and hoped to keep it until it died (of natural causes). I can't afford an OLED and you can't find these anymore. I got mine when Best Buy was out of stock a couple years ago. I took their display model.
rsweakley is offline  
post #7668 of 7672 Old 10-15-2019, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,214
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsweakley View Post
Are these possible at all to fix? My wife was cleaning mine and the old ****ty stepstool she was using gave way because of a bad corner. Anyways she lost her balance and the TV tipped over, cracking the display. I loved that TV and hoped to keep it until it died (of natural causes). I can't afford an OLED and you can't find these anymore. I got mine when Best Buy was out of stock a couple years ago. I took their display model.
Once the panel is cracked the TV is a total loss (maybe some boards are salvable/resellable) but you'll never be able to get it repaired.

I replaced my 55ST60 with a Sony 55X900E LCD TV that i'm very happy with (it surpasses the ST60 in most PQ categories, but black levels and contrast are not quite as good (but still very good nonetheless). I don't feel the need to go OLED unless the X900E dies, but i can see myself keeping this one for a long time. And i still have my 55ST60 on standby . . .

Oh another option is to look for a used S60 or ST60 on Craigslist (last year i almost bought a 50" ST60 for $200 when i thought my 50GT50 was dying. Prices on used Plasmas are pretty low nowadys. VT60 would be quite a bit more but you can still find good used deals.


.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...

Last edited by RandyWalters; 10-15-2019 at 09:20 PM.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7669 of 7672 Old 10-16-2019, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
rsweakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Once the panel is cracked the TV is a total loss (maybe some boards are salvable/resellable) but you'll never be able to get it repaired.

I replaced my 55ST60 with a Sony 55X900E LCD TV that i'm very happy with (it surpasses the ST60 in most PQ categories, but black levels and contrast are not quite as good (but still very good nonetheless). I don't feel the need to go OLED unless the X900E dies, but i can see myself keeping this one for a long time. And i still have my 55ST60 on standby . . .

Oh another option is to look for a used S60 or ST60 on Craigslist (last year i almost bought a 50" ST60 for $200 when i thought my 50GT50 was dying. Prices on used Plasmas are pretty low nowadys. VT60 would be quite a bit more but you can still find good used deals.


.
Oh well, that's what I figured. Man what a great TV to lay to rest. I'm looking into the new TCL 6 series with quantum dots. I think I'd still go for a used plasma if I can find one. I'm currently in Hawaii, so the market is small. I'll be moving back to TX in a few months, so maybe then. I don't really care about 4K, because I'll be watching the TV from my bed, which is over 4 feet away from the TV. Come to think of it, it may have been the VT60 I had. Now I can't remember. It was the one that CNET gave 5 stars to.

*Edit - Nevermind, it was the ST60*

Last edited by rsweakley; 10-17-2019 at 01:19 AM.
rsweakley is offline  
post #7670 of 7672 Old 11-08-2019, 02:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello,

I have a P42s60 that just went blank one day with a 3 blink code....beforehand it was just fine with an excellent picture. I then put it in storage and bought more sets.

The thing is that I would stiklk like to bring this set back to life, though I am having the hardest time trying to find a mainboard for it at a reasonable price. I bought one mainboard a few months ago and it had the same poroblem as the defective board (I did all of the troubleshooting which led me to the A Board).

Are there any good sources out there that have surplus / good used A-boards / Main boards for the model S60? And ALSO, I did read where this particular board is repairable.....if I could locate a shop that can repair this mainboard that woud be even better as I have TWO of these boards....

Any help would be appreciated in saving this plasma from the recycle bin......

Thanks!
thebigguy1 is offline  
post #7671 of 7672 Old 11-08-2019, 03:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigguy1 View Post
Hello,

I have a P42s60 that just went blank one day with a 3 blink code....beforehand it was just fine with an excellent picture. I then put it in storage and bought more sets.

Any help would be appreciated in saving this plasma from the recycle bin......

Thanks!

I have a training manual for some panny's. It says the number 1 suspect is the A board and the number 2 is the P board. This is info for a ST50 but it may be the same as yours. Finding a power board to try may be an option here.



Here's the snippet from the PDF:



P15V from the P board, Missing P15V, P15V is not been generated by the P board. Wrong diagnostic by the A board


Here's a place for board repairs or they may have one ready to go in stock: https://www.ptselectronicsinc.com/
whipit is offline  
post #7672 of 7672 Old 11-08-2019, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,214
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigguy1 View Post
..... I did read where this particular board is repairable.....if I could locate a shop that can repair this mainboard that woud be even better as I have TWO of these boards....Any help would be appreciated in saving this plasma from the recycle bin......
The 42S60 is a rare bird, and is probably the best 42" Plasma ever made. I hope you can save it.

I listed some known board repair places in this post:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-p...l#post56362988


_______________________________________

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off