Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 577 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 318Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17281 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post
Glad to hear you're pleased with the VT60. Bought my 65VT60 new 6 yrs ago, and it has been used 5-8 hrs daily. During its first 3 weeks, I constantly experimented with a multitude of picture adjustments, and finally settled on THX Cinema mode, and haven't touched it since. It still looks fantastic, as expressed by many visitors to our home over the years. I've been especially impressed by its off-axis picture quality, which is an important feature in our wide family room. Hope it gives you many years of enjoyment.
Thanks. I’ve settled in with THX Cinema, but swap to the THX bright room mode for daytime viewing. I’ll try to set a harmony sequence, but since the TV menu remembers the last setting and doesn’t default to the top of the menu, that could create problems. I’m pleased with the THX modes. I’d like to get it calibrated, but I don’t think I can convince my wife that we should spend more on a calibration than I spent on the TV itself!

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17282 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 07:16 AM
Member
 
cockatiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
Thanks. I’ve settled in with THX Cinema, but swap to the THX bright room mode for daytime viewing. I’ll try to set a harmony sequence, but since the TV menu remembers the last setting and doesn’t default to the top of the menu, that could create problems.

You could have two sequences, Day and Night, where each one assumes you’re in the *other* mode. That would work. Just don’t use them when you’re already in the right mode!
dfkimbro likes this.
cockatiel is offline  
post #17283 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockatiel View Post
You could have two sequences, Day and Night, where each one assumes you’re in the *other* mode. That would work. Just don’t use them when you’re already in the right mode!
Thanks. That's pretty much what I'm thinking. No one else in my family will likely open the settings menu (or notice to change modes for that matter), so I'll just have to make sure I remember to exit the menu from the picture mode.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17284 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
Thanks. That's pretty much what I'm thinking. No one else in my family will likely open the settings menu (or notice to change modes for that matter), so I'll just have to make sure I remember to exit the menu from the picture mode.

Have you tried the PRO modes yet? I've been running them since new and they also allow the pixel orbiter to function where THX mode doesn't. I use DNice's settings on pro2 and my own on pro1.
dfkimbro likes this.
whipit is online now  
post #17285 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
Have you tried the PRO modes yet? I've been running them since new and they also allow the pixel orbiter to function where THX mode doesn't. I use DNice's settings on pro2 and my own on pro1.
No, although I did unlock them. I stuck the CNET settings under custom just to see how it looks and went back to THX after a day or two. I may try D-Nice’s settings in Pro1/Pro2, knowing that isn’t the same as a pro calibration and may be less accurate than the THX modes. If I have a rainy weekend to kill I may cycle through inputting different settings (D-Nice, SillySally, Sound and Vision, etc.).

I’m not watching much that needs the pixel orbiter yet. The network shows I watch are in between seasons and there’s no football yet.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
post #17286 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 06:39 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,172
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
..... My only complaint is that there aren’t any discreet codes for changing the picture mode (cinema, THX, etc.).
How are all your devices connect to the TV? I may have a workaround . . .

Are you routing all your video sources through an AV Receiver/Switcher then sending the signal to the TV via a single HDMI cable to the TV ?

Or are your various devices connected directly to the TV's various HDMI inputs?

___________
dfkimbro likes this.

Randy
Sony XBR-55X900E, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Roamio Pro, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Darbee DVP-5000S, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - https://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #17287 of 17296 Old 06-12-2019, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
How are all your devices connect to the TV? I may have a workaround . . .

Are you routing all your video sources through an AV Receiver/Switcher then sending the signal to the TV via a single HDMI cable to the TV ?

Or are your various devices connected directly to the TV's various HDMI inputs?

___________
Thanks Randy. I’m using a Nakamichi Soundbar as the switcher. It is an Atmos/DTS:X 9.2 surround system with a Shield, HTPC, and blu-ray player routed through it. I’m aware each HDMI input on the TV can have different picture settings, but I’m not willing to give up higher quality surround sound. Since the TV can’t pass high def 5.1 (or higher) over ARC or optical, that’s not an option for me. If the Harmony sequence is too problematic, I may end up adding an HDMI splitter with IR control downstream of the soundbar. That would allow me to use the different HDMI inputs and just swap between then using my Harmony remote.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
post #17288 of 17296 Old 06-13-2019, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,288
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Had my Panny 60VT60 calibrated by Chad last night and it looks fantastic. The display had very little drift and was on the warm side since the last time he calibrated the set 2 years ago.

Before > After
Gamma: 2.22 > 2.3
Color Temp: 6303K > 6516K
DeltaE 2000: 2.59 > 0.49
DeltaE ICtCp240: 1.6 > 0.36
Max fL: 40.5 > 51.7
DeltaE 2000 Color: 1.57 > 1.06
Percent709 uv: 96.5 > 96.7
cockatiel and whipit like this.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #17289 of 17296 Old 06-13-2019, 06:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 297
How much different does the calibration look versus THX Cinema? Is it noticeable? I’ve considered a calibration, but it’s not cheap and I’ve been very happy with THX Cinema.
B T C is offline  
post #17290 of 17296 Old 06-14-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
How much different does the calibration look versus THX Cinema? Is it noticeable? I’ve considered a calibration, but it’s not cheap and I’ve been very happy with THX Cinema.
If you are considering do it because there is nothing like putting a meter on a set (calibration paid or done yourself) and knowing the display is dialed in on white balance, gamma, color accuracy, color temperature, etc.
mbroadus likes this.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #17291 of 17296 Old 06-15-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,288
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
How much different does the calibration look versus THX Cinema? Is it noticeable? I’ve considered a calibration, but it’s not cheap and I’ve been very happy with THX Cinema.

THX Cinema is good for a preprogrammed mode but it will look a little different on each display because not each display will look the same coming off the assembly line.

This is the 3rd time Chad has calibrated my panel and it looks better than the other times. No sure why, maybe because the gas or pixels are more stable or aged or mature, who knows. I’ll put it like this, the difference is when watching a movie using a nice set of tower speakers that has no sub, you know and want the extra 15-20 Hz impact boom that the sub provides, calibration gives you that little extra accurate color, texture and dimension.

I was considering buying an OLED panel but after having the Panny fine tuned, I’ll hold off for while. At least until 77” displays drop below $4k.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #17292 of 17296 Old 06-15-2019, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
THX Cinema is good for a preprogrammed mode but it will look a little different on each display because not each display will look the same coming off the assembly line.

This is the 3rd time Chad has calibrated my panel and it looks better than the other times. No sure why, maybe because the gas or pixels are more stable or aged or mature, who knows. I’ll put it like this, the difference is when watching a movie using a nice set of tower speakers that has no sub, you know and want the extra 15-20 Hz impact boom that the sub provides, calibration gives you that little extra accurate color, texture and dimension.

I was considering buying an OLED panel but after having the Panny fine tuned, I’ll hold off for while. At least until 77” displays drop below $4k.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Check Ebay. 77C8 below 4k now.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #17293 of 17296 Old 06-16-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,288
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Check Ebay. 77C8 below 4k now.

Thanks but No way I’m buying a $4k tv on eBay! I prefer the Sony A9G and will probably wait until Black Friday or super bowl to purchase. My most pressing need is dual subs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro

Last edited by mbroadus; 06-16-2019 at 07:56 AM.
mbroadus is online now  
post #17294 of 17296 Old 06-16-2019, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,288
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Delete

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #17295 of 17296 Old Yesterday, 09:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks but No way I’m buying a $4k tv on eBay!
It's not that scary actually. I bought my 65B6 this way and saved hundreds. Just have to buy from a seller with 100% feedback, read the feedback of others and then check the return policy for defective items. Good sellers are usually 30 days on defective.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #17296 of 17296 Old Today, 02:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,288
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
It's not that scary actually. I bought my 65B6 this way and saved hundreds. Just have to buy from a seller with 100% feedback, read the feedback of others and then check the return policy for defective items. Good sellers are usually 30 days on defective.

I’ve bought and sold many items on eBay and have never had a problem but still not going to purchase unless from an authorized dealer.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Oppo UDP-205, Bluesound Node 2i, Focal Aria 936/CC900
MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off