Samsung PNxxF4500 Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 159Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,664
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh128 View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity 

I just found out the 51F4500 is 1024x768 and not the typical 1366x768 at the 50" plasma size.

That is totally unacceptable. That's bad enough at 42-43" but at least it always ever was. This seems real shady.


1024 x 768 anamorphic seems bad on paper but the actual picture quality on this bad boy is stunning.  I have the 51" and was watching some OTA HD  French Open broadcasts from a local NBC station yesterday and Im still very impressed by the picture quality of it.  We watch from about 9' away and you dont see any pixels, just a beautiful picture.  The colors, clarity, motion,  brightness, and scaler of this set more than make up for any lack of resolution.  
 
I'm so impressed that I'm now considering getting another one like this rather than the 1080p version for our living room.   We watch mostly DVDs, OTA, and satellite content and the vast majority of that is 720p/1080i which look clean and crisp on this set.  Another neat trick I learned about on this site (cant remember the thread) is that you can almost completely eliminate ABL by jackingthe cell light to 20.  I was running at 16 and noticed some ABL kicking in on the light blue Paris sky during some interviews at the French open when I remembered someone saying that turning up cell light curbs ABL and I tried it.  Watching the same scenes over on the DVR clearly showed that higher cell light completely eliminated the ABL in the
scene I was watching.  Pretty cool.
 
 
For under $500 (the deals are out there) I'm convinced you simply can not beat this package of large screen size and amazing picture. 
Absolutely agree with you. The 51F4500 is an awesome basic TV, and looks fantastic for local antenna reception, or local cable/satellite. Images are sharp and vibrant, and colors really pop. No major screen door effect, and 720p is fine for local broadcasting. And I think it looks better rather than upconverted on the F5300 at 1080p. And while the lower resolution doesn't sound great on paper, it actually appears very nice on this TV. And at $399 for a 51 inch, a much better deal than a higher priced LED with all sorts of issues.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
What is the reason people say you should wait 100-200 hours before calibrating plasmas? BestBuy return policy is only 15 days so when should I calibrate the settings?
You can go ahead with a basic do-it-yourself calibration immediately.

Using it for 100-200 hours before paying for a professional calibration is recommended because the phosphors change over time, with the first 100-200 hours supposedly having the most change compared to any other similar length of time later in the TV's life. You wouldn't want to pay somebody hundreds of dollars to calibrate your set only to have the image look different in a month.

And I'm sure you weren't planning on paying for a professional calibration within the 15-day return period anyway.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #633 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
DDailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by krh77 View Post
i'd say check 22pt's settings in post 597.
Those settings do not work for f4500 - as that is the title of this thread - so beware!
DDailey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 12:11 PM
Member
 
krh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDailey View Post
Those settings do not work for f4500 - as that is the title of this thread - so beware!

you sure about that? his is the 490 model (i believe), but says repeadedly throughout this thread that his settings will work on the 4500.
krh77 is offline  
post #635 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 12:27 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmi4ever View Post
You can go ahead with a basic do-it-yourself calibration immediately.

Using it for 100-200 hours before paying for a professional calibration is recommended because the phosphors change over time, with the first 100-200 hours supposedly having the most change compared to any other similar length of time later in the TV's life. You wouldn't want to pay somebody hundreds of dollars to calibrate your set only to have the image look different in a month.

And I'm sure you weren't planning on paying for a professional calibration within the 15-day return period anyway.
No I wasn't planning on paying for professional calibration.

Just was going to see what calibration settings have worked for others here and try it.
huskydawgs is offline  
post #636 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
22point8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I have the F4900 and its a 3D version of the F4500, so the settings should be the same. The E490 is last years model.

Last edited by 22point8; 06-12-2014 at 12:32 PM.
22point8 is offline  
post #637 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Absolutely agree with you. The 51F4500 is an awesome basic TV, and looks fantastic for local antenna reception, or local cable/satellite. Images are sharp and vibrant, and colors really pop. No major screen door effect, and 720p is fine for local broadcasting. And I think it looks better rather than upconverted on the F5300 at 1080p. And while the lower resolution doesn't sound great on paper, it actually appears very nice on this TV. And at $399 for a 51 inch, a much better deal than a higher priced LED with all sorts of issues.
If anyone can snag the PN51F4500 for $399, that is an absolute STEAL for this size and quality set-- Ive yet to see one that low, but when I do its coming home with me.

Its nice to see someone who agrees with me that 720p broadcasts look better on a 720p(ish) set than upscaled on a 1080p one. Many people dont seem to understand this point. Upscaling (essentially adding blur to the source image) actually reduces image quality far more than downscaling (aka supersampling). Its for this reason that the only advantage a 1080p set holds over a 720p one is when its displaying native 1080p content. This is also why I believe 4K sets are a huge waste of money, as outside of downloading sample 4K videos off the net, there really is no 4K content to watch on them and blu-ray movies look better on a 1080p set than a 4K.
Josh128 is offline  
post #638 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure why my colors aren't popping on my PN43F4500BFXZA. They only pop when I change it from standard to dynamic
huskydawgs is offline  
post #639 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
NTNgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh128 View Post
If anyone can snag the PN51F4500 for $399, that is an absolute STEAL for this size and quality set-- Ive yet to see one that low, but when I do its coming home with me.
In my area, beside Best Buy, local Walmarts have it for $398.
NTNgod is offline  
post #640 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the 43" Samsung Plasma (PN43F4500AFXZA) for a little over 18 hours now.

It looked ok at night, but looking at it during the day is tough to react.

- I have a window behind the TV and a wall of windows on one side.
- From looking at it on front and center, there is not much glare.
- When I look at it from an angle though the glare is awful.

I don't think there is much I can do. Should I trade it in for the Samsung 40" 120Hz LED or get the Samsung 40" 60Hz from Costco since I'd have 90 days to evaluate.
huskydawgs is offline  
post #641 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
I've had the 43" Samsung Plasma (PN43F4500AFXZA) for a little over 18 hours now.

It looked ok at night, but looking at it during the day is tough to react.

- I have a window behind the TV and a wall of windows on one side.
- From looking at it on front and center, there is not much glare.
- When I look at it from an angle though the glare is awful.

I don't think there is much I can do. Should I trade it in for the Samsung 40" 120Hz LED or get the Samsung 40" 60Hz from Costco since I'd have 90 days to evaluate.
Those other TVs aren't going to match the picture quality of the Samsung plamsa. And they're smaller. I would get curtains or something temporary like Redishade to block out the light from the windows.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #642 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 04:07 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmi4ever View Post
Those other TVs aren't going to match the picture quality of the Samsung plamsa. And they're smaller. I would get curtains or something temporary like Redishade to block out the light from the windows.
Well, I have blinds on the windows, but the sun comes through just a tough. Still very glarry
huskydawgs is offline  
post #643 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Well, I have blinds on the windows, but the sun comes through just a tough. Still very glarry
Most blinds leak through way too much light. That's why I mentioned curtains or Redishade, to use instead of or on top of the blinds.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #644 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmi4ever View Post
Most blinds leak through way too much light. That's why I mentioned curtains or Redishade, to use instead of or on top of the blinds.
Well my 2007 samsung LCD looked great in the same room. I'm not going to turn my living room into a dungeon just so I can view the acreen
huskydawgs is offline  
post #645 of 1677 Old 06-12-2014, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Well my 2007 samsung LCD looked great in the same room. I'm not going to turn my living room into a dungeon just so I can view the acreen
In that case, plasma probably isn't for you. Neither are LCDs with glossy glass screens (which seem to be getting increasingly common).
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #646 of 1677 Old 06-13-2014, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Well my 2007 samsung LCD looked great in the same room. I'm not going to turn my living room into a dungeon just so I can view the acreen
Before you bring it back try these settings on your set(dont be afraid of the cell light setting, trust me). After about 2 weeks of easy break in (by just turning it on in the afternoons and letting it run (use cell light 16 or less for the break in, but dont be afraid to try the 18 setting above to see how it looks, even before its broken in).

Eco Sensor/Mode: OFF

Preset: Standard
Cell Light : 18
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 45
Color: 50
Sharpness: 50
Tint : R50/G50

Advanced:
Dynamic Contrast : Low
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
Color Space: Native

On my 51" 4500 set, these settings POP yet look natural for me for OTA HD content. For gaming setup, use same settings except for Sharpness, turn it to 100. Bright sunlight is like kryptonite for all emissive display technologies, CRT or plasma. That said, even with some decent sun coming in in our bedroom I find this set looks great. In dimmed or dark rooms it looks spectacular. Give these a try before you return.
Steven L likes this.

Last edited by Josh128; 06-14-2014 at 05:59 AM.
Josh128 is offline  
post #647 of 1677 Old 06-13-2014, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,664
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
I'm not sure why my colors aren't popping on my PN43F4500BFXZA. They only pop when I change it from standard to dynamic
Standard Mode is best with some tweaking. Go in Picture menu. Turn Cell Light up to 20. Brightness down to 30. Contrast 96. Dynamic Contrast on High. Colors at 50 or 53. Gamma at 0 or -1. And I like Sharpness at 85, although you can leave it lower. And in Picture Options, Color Tone at Standard or Warm 1. Leave Energy Saving and Eco Sensor turned off. And Black Level at Darker or Darkest. With Brightness turned way down, and Cell Light turned all the way up, colors should really pop. These TVs are very bright, so to get that pop effect, the Brightness should be turned down to avoid washing out the colors.
tylerSC is offline  
post #648 of 1677 Old 06-13-2014, 06:40 PM
Member
 
krh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Standard Mode is best with some tweaking. Go in Picture menu. Turn Cell Light up to 20. Brightness down to 30. Contrast 96. Dynamic Contrast on High. Colors at 50 or 53. Gamma at 0 or -1. And I like Sharpness at 85, although you can leave it lower. And in Picture Options, Color Tone at Standard or Warm 1. Leave Energy Saving and Eco Sensor turned off. And Black Level at Darker or Darkest. With Brightness turned way down, and Cell Light turned all the way up, colors should really pop. These TVs are very bright, so to get that pop effect, the Brightness should be turned down to avoid washing out the colors.
have you tried 22pt's settings? how do these differ when watching the end product? thx.
krh77 is offline  
post #649 of 1677 Old 06-14-2014, 09:00 AM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh128 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Well my 2007 samsung LCD looked great in the same room. I'm not going to turn my living room into a dungeon just so I can view the acreen
Before you bring it back try these settings on your set(dont be afraid of the cell light setting, trust me). After about 2 weeks of easy break in (by just turning it on in the afternoons and letting it run (use cell light 16 or less for the break in, but dont be afraid to try the 18 setting above to see how it looks, even before its broken in).

Eco Sensor/Mode: OFF

Preset: Standard
Cell Light : 18
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 45
Color: 50
Sharpness: 50
Tint : R50/G50

Advanced:
Dynamic Contrast : Low
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
Color Space: Native

On my 51" 4500 set, these settings POP yet look natural for me for OTA HD content. For gaming setup, use same settings except for Sharpness, turn it to 100. Bright sunlight is like kryptonite for all emissive display technologies, CRT or plasma. That said, even with some decent sun coming in in our bedroom I find this set looks great. In dimmed or dark rooms it looks spectacular. Give these a try before you return.
Wow, increasing the cell light really makes a big difference! The picture is getting better. I think there are a few more setting that I need help with. Here's what I have so far for Standard:

Picture Mode: Standard
Cell Light: 18
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 50
Color: 50
Tint (G/R): G50/R50
Picture Size: 16/:9

Advanced Settings
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0


Settings I Need Help With:

RGB Only Mode: Off (Do I need to select Off, Red, Green, Blue?)
Color Space: Native (If I select Custom, I can set the Red, Green, Blue, Yellow, Cyan, Magenta)
  • Red, Green, Blue
White Balance: R-Offset, G-Offset, B-Offset, R-Gain, G-Gain, B-Gain = all 25
10P White Balance: Off (I can't select any other option---selection is greyed out)
Gamma: 0
Expert Pattern: Off
Motion LIghting: Off

Picture Options
Color Tone: Standard (Cool, Standard, Warm1 and Warm2 are the options)
Digital Clean View: Auto (Off, Low, Medium, High, Auto are the options---auto vizualization selection is greyed out)
MPEG Noise Filter: Auto (Off, Low, Medium, High, Auto are the options)
HDMI Black Level: Normal (It's greyed out so I can't select any other option)
Film Mode: Off (It's greyed out so I can't select any other option)
Black optimizer: Auto (Off, Dark room, Bright room and Auto are the options)
huskydawgs is offline  
post #650 of 1677 Old 06-14-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
krh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what is "film mode"? it seems sometimes i can select it and change it, and other times it is grayed out? does it depend on source?

seems i can change it when watching tv through my set top box, but its grayed out when i use roku....
krh77 is offline  
post #651 of 1677 Old 06-16-2014, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Well I took the plunge and ordered another 51" F4500 from Best Buy at $399 w/free delivery. Cant really beat that deal. They also have the 51" F5300 for $549, also a good deal, just not quite as good as the $529 offer of last year. I was waffling as to whether I should have gotten the 5300 or not, but my bedroom F4500 has impressed me so much I decided it would be a sufficient replacement TV for my living room, which currently has a 36" 4:3 JVC CRT. After having some time with both sets, the F4500 PQ is head and shoulders above the 2013 50X60 Panny plasma I also have.

The geek in me really wanted to give the F5300 a go, but the price of the 4500 won me over. The reality is I'll still be watching much more 720p content than 1080p content, and my wife gave me dirty looks when I told her I'd like yet another set (3rd within a years time), so I decided $435 total was more palatable than $600. I'll put the savings toward a proper entertainment center/console because the new set wont fit in my current EC that houses the JVC. At these prices I suspect the F4500 model is knocking on heavens door-- they must REALLY be having problems moving these plasmas to have deals like this about.

Last edited by Josh128; 06-16-2014 at 04:45 PM.
Josh128 is offline  
post #652 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 05:06 AM
Member
 
awarsoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh128 View Post
Well I took the plunge and ordered another 51" F4500 from Best Buy at $399 w/free delivery. Cant really beat that deal. They also have the 51" F5300 for $549, also a good deal, just not quite as good as the $529 offer of last year. I was waffling as to whether I should have gotten the 5300 or not, but my bedroom F4500 has impressed me so much I decided it would be a sufficient replacement TV for my living room, which currently has a 36" 4:3 JVC CRT. After having some time with both sets, the F4500 PQ is head and shoulders above the 2013 50X60 Panny plasma I also have.

The geek in me really wanted to give the F5300 a go, but the price of the 4500 won me over. The reality is I'll still be watching much more 720p content than 1080p content, and my wife gave me dirty looks when I told her I'd like yet another set (3rd within a years time), so I decided $435 total was more palatable than $600. I'll put the savings toward a proper entertainment center/console because the new set wont fit in my current EC that houses the JVC. At these prices I suspect the F4500 model is knocking on heavens door-- they must REALLY be having problems moving these plasmas to have deals like this about.
BB sales folks told me the that these plasmas are the most returned tv for them (maybe just that store) due to the slight SDE that is perceived when comparing it to the tvs next to it on the wall.
awarsoca is offline  
post #653 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 05:09 AM
Member
 
awarsoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Downloaded firmware from Samsung and slapped it on USB drive. TV asks if I want to update from USB but then says no new file found. TV firmware says 1003 so I know that the 1017 and 1027 are newer. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong /c:
awarsoca is offline  
post #654 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by awarsoca View Post
Downloaded firmware from Samsung and slapped it on USB drive. TV asks if I want to update from USB but then says no new file found. TV firmware says 1003 so I know that the 1017 and 1027 are newer. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong /c:
I did the same thing trying to update the firmware on my plasma. You probably have the 2014 model that is a 4500BFXZA. Version 1003 is the current firmware.
jer88 is offline  
post #655 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by awarsoca View Post
BB sales folks told me the that these plasmas are the most returned tv for them (maybe just that store) due to the slight SDE that is perceived when comparing it to the tvs next to it on the wall.
The screen door effect is a non-factor when watching television at the proper viewing distance. I've been so pleased with the 43" that I bought a 51" last week. For spending under a grand for two plasmas, I couldn't be happier with the picture quality.
jer88 is offline  
post #656 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
awarsoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer88 View Post
I did the same thing trying to update the firmware on my plasma. You probably have the 2014 model that is a 4500BFXZA. Version 1003 is the current firmware.
Many thanks, thought I was going crazy on something simple LOL
awarsoca is offline  
post #657 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
awarsoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer88 View Post
The screen door effect is a non-factor when watching television at the proper viewing distance. I've been so pleased with the 43" that I bought a 51" last week. For spending under a grand for two plasmas, I couldn't be happier with the picture quality.
Trying to figure out where I'd put the 51 if I got it. Could replace the 46 LCD in the bedroom but then that TV would have to be put somewhere and I am not sure the Minister of Finance herself would approve anyway (c;
jer88 likes this.
awarsoca is offline  
post #658 of 1677 Old 06-17-2014, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by awarsoca View Post
BB sales folks told me the that these plasmas are the most returned tv for them (maybe just that store) due to the slight SDE that is perceived when comparing it to the tvs next to it on the wall.
That doesn't make sense. If the customers' problem is seeing SDE when comparing against other TVs in the store, they simply wouldn't buy the SDE-laden TV in the first place.

EDIT: ... unless they mean the plasmas are what the store most often returns to the manufacturer because of slow sales, not the customers returning it to the store.

Last edited by hdmi4ever; 06-17-2014 at 06:11 PM.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #659 of 1677 Old 06-20-2014, 04:56 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmi4ever View Post
That doesn't make sense. If the customers' problem is seeing SDE when comparing against other TVs in the store, they simply wouldn't buy the SDE-laden TV in the first place.

EDIT: ... unless they mean the plasmas are what the store most often returns to the manufacturer because of slow sales, not the customers returning it to the store.
Is there a free or cheap calibration disk you recommend for my 43" Samsung plasma?

Also I had the tv for about a week. What's the fear in having my cell light up to 18?
huskydawgs is offline  
post #660 of 1677 Old 06-21-2014, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Is there a free or cheap calibration disk you recommend for my 43" Samsung plasma?

Also I had the tv for about a week. What's the fear in having my cell light up to 18?
Shouldnt be much to worry about, but the plasmas are supposedly a little more susceptible to IR/burn in during the break in /aging period (first 200 hours or so).

I think you'll be fine at 18, just be more vigilant about long standing logos on the screen or paused images during the break in period. If you are really concerned though, when you are not watching the set, just leave it on ( a non-logo touting channel) and turn the cell light down a few ticks till your past the break in period.

Also, just a quick tip on the 4500 plasmas-- dont freak the first time you spot a bit of IR, its a perfectly normal occurence in some instances ( like having a guide on screen for a few minutes then switching to a dark, full screen program). In these types of instances, if it happens at all, it completely clears in about a minute or so. Remember, IR is not burn-in!

Last edited by Josh128; 06-21-2014 at 05:18 AM.
Josh128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
F4500 , firmware update , Samsung Pn42b450 42 Inch 720p Plasma Hdtv , samsung pn43f4500 , Samsung Pn60e550 Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off