Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 402 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1354Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 14510 Old 05-23-2015, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
Yup, but how much of an issue is it? What's for sure is this best possible image is lost without the filter in a lit room.

I imagine all F8500 televisions have DSE to some extent (except for dustinj) but it's probably very minor for most of us to the point of looking almost no existent compared to a LCD television. Then again I don't know as that's my guess by the lack of complaints I read about DSE on this model. Then there those who have come to the conclusion that's it's widespread because they have it and read about others having it.

I can notice it on mine on rare occasions and when running the scroller.
My F8500 has zero DSE. I know this for certain because my Panny GT50 Plasma has it pretty bad. Not nearly as bad as my first Samsung LCD but the Panny is easily noticeable. On the whitest screens I see no DSE on my F8500. I don't understand this whole thing that other poster buying an expensive TV only to pull all the filters off that do nothing but take away the worth of the TV. He might as well have purchased an H5000 or an F5300.
HLdan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 14510 Old 05-23-2015, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinj View Post
my goal was to get to just the glass surface now that its done I really love how it looks. I know people probably think Im nuts for doing this but it is perfect in my gaming and movie room. my wife was like what did you do this time until I turn out the lights and turn it on. If anyone wants more pics of games or bluerays just let me know. just like a car I customized it and made it my own. will this work for everyone? definitely not. be sure because after your done you can't really go back.
No disrespect but pictures of your TV screen are not easy to judge in terms of good, bad or indifferent, especially since you're taking them in a dark space. This goes for any TV screen shots. They all look about the same. It's even difficult to tell an LCD pic from a Plasma pic if the screen is displaying a bright image. I watch my movies in very subdued lighting. I can't sit and watch a movie or play on my PS4 in total darkness every night, or close up curtains to create a black room every time I need to use the TV. As long as you're happy but why didn't you just get an H5000?
HLdan is offline  
post #12033 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 40
SmartHub apps not updating

In SmartHub it says I have 2 updates (e-manual & ad hub). These apps don't seem to want to update even when I try to manually update. Not really a huge issue atm considering I don't really use these features - it's more of an OCD thing and worry that when an actual app (ie. Netflix, Amazon, HBO) needs an update, it won't take. Anyone else come across this?
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12034 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1925
too bad samsung never made the H7000, seems like it would have been perfect for guys like Dustinj

i think i'm with the majority here, that i actually APPRECIATE these filters, and think they are what make the f8500 pretty special. because of the filters, there's pretty much no scenario the f8500 doesn't look fantastic in. Bright room, dark room, doesn't matter. but deep down, i see this as what was wrong with the plasma market at the end. not enough ppl were buying, so not enough models were made, which meant fewer ppl could actually find that 'perfect' model. reminds me a bit of the last time i bought an lcd, and i had to keep returning the LED edgelit ones until i found a CCFL backlit model that was a total piece of garbage. they simply didn't make a 'high end' model that didn't have the worst backlighting ever imagined... if there was a way i could have bought a high end edgelit lcd, and then 'swapped' a CCFL backlight, i would have, haha.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC, PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #12035 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Since I can't find a new 60" display anymore, I do see that Amazon fullfillment carries and ships these displays. Would you guys feel comfortable buying a used one through them that is rated as very good condition? I'm thinking about doing this as I'm not happy with LED and can't afford OLED.

Thanks,
Ken

Last edited by ken6217; 05-24-2015 at 01:30 PM.
ken6217 is offline  
post #12036 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 01:14 PM
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
Since I can't find a new 60" display anymore, I do see that Amazon fullfillment carries and ships these displays. Would you guys feel comfortable buying a used one through them that is teated in very good condition? I'm thinking about doing this as I'm not happy with LED and can't afford OLED.

Thanks,
Ken
Might be worth a shot but 60 inch panels seemed prone to buzzing which could explain why they were returned. But Amazon will take it back if you aren't satisfied so nothing but time would be wasted.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #12037 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I'm debating it. I actually have one already in another room that I never had the buzzing issue.
Ken
ken6217 is offline  
post #12038 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
Since I can't find a new 60" display anymore, I do see that Amazon fullfillment carries and ships these displays. Would you guys feel comfortable buying a used one through them that is rated as very good condition? I'm thinking about doing this as I'm not happy with LED and can't afford OLED.

Thanks,
Ken
Well, if you buy it from Amazon themselves (Amazon WarehouseDeals), and not one of the third party Amazon Marketplace sellers, then if there's anything about the TV you don't like, you can send it back, no questions asked, shipping pre-paid, and opt for a refund or a replacement.
shadowspawn is online now  
post #12039 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I guess another option is the LG 55" curved OLED. They are only $2500 right now. Great contrast. Color isn't 100% accurate though.
ken6217 is offline  
post #12040 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
Since I can't find a new 60" display anymore, I do see that Amazon fullfillment carries and ships these displays. Would you guys feel comfortable buying a used one through them that is rated as very good condition? I'm thinking about doing this as I'm not happy with LED and can't afford OLED.

Thanks,
Ken
Not really.

I'd (Greek saying) sit on my eggs and wait until a new one shows up or for a special on an OLED.
JimP is offline  
post #12041 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Personally, speaking only for myself, I'd be reluctant to take a chance on any OLED these days.


It seems too much like OLED is still in "beta test". Too many suspected, but not proven or dis-proven issues, with things like panel life, uneven pixel aging (blue), etc.

Not to mention that all the OLED panels are 4K, which is still in it's own "beta-test", with some of the standards still to be nailed down, etc.


But that's just me...
shadowspawn is online now  
post #12042 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 09:47 PM
Member
 
punkguins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a floor model PN64F8500 from BB 2 months ago. I used MUTE 1 8 2 PWR and saw 640 (minutes, I presume). Today, I tried MUTE 7 3 7 and the MRT WAS 5200. Can anyone explain the difference? The set was mfg'd Feb, 2013. And, I didn't gave it delivered and installed until May 1.
I contacted Samsung and they claim there is no way to know powered hours. So, are these key sequences real or just ....?

Also, the WI FI keeps dropping when other devices in the same room are good (PCs, iPad).
punkguins is offline  
post #12043 of 14510 Old 05-24-2015, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkguins View Post
I purchased a floor model PN64F8500 from BB 2 months ago. I used MUTE 1 8 2 PWR and saw 640 (minutes, I presume). Today, I tried MUTE 7 3 7 and the MRT WAS 5200. Can anyone explain the difference? The set was mfg'd Feb, 2013. And, I didn't gave it delivered and installed until May 1.
I contacted Samsung and they claim there is no way to know powered hours. So, are these key sequences real or just ....?

Also, the WI FI keeps dropping when other devices in the same room are good (PCs, iPad).
Samsung lied to you...

That would be 5200 hours on the panel which is about right for a display model.

Mute 1 8 2 Power gets you into the service menu which is not a good place to be unless you know exactly what you are doing.

Last edited by Nascar Dog; 05-24-2015 at 09:54 PM.
Nascar Dog is online now  
post #12044 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgcec View Post
The LG OLED is still a work in progress and the F8500 is much better.
I am considering swapping my 51f8500 for an ec930 oled because i am totally fed-up with floating and "delayed" black issues no one in the world seems to recognize... Can you explain better why you consider F8500 better than oled? Consider I'll use oled with a HTPC generating a 3dLUT so I am not intersted in CMS problems. The only Issue would be for me the curve and the motion resolution...

Can anyone tell me if F8500 is 8bit or supporting 10bit?

thanks
Python357 is offline  
post #12045 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python357 View Post

Can anyone tell me if F8500 is 8bit or supporting 10bit?

thanks
It accepts up to 12bit and internally processes in 10bit.
zoyd is offline  
post #12046 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,403
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2233 Post(s)
Liked: 3145
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
It accepts up to 12bit and internally processes in 10bit.
Zoyd, my HTPC's Nvidia gpu has 8, 10, 12 bit options. Should I change it from 8 bit if primary viewing is live/recorded TV via WMC?
bmcn is offline  
post #12047 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1350
zoyd is offline  
post #12048 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,708
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1343 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
Personally, speaking only for myself, I'd be reluctant to take a chance on any OLED these days.


It seems too much like OLED is still in "beta test". Too many suspected, but not proven or dis-proven issues, with things like panel life, uneven pixel aging (blue), etc.

Not to mention that all the OLED panels are 4K, which is still in it's own "beta-test", with some of the standards still to be nailed down, etc.


But that's just me...
No not all OLEDs are 4K. The LG EC9300 2014 model is 1080p, but the new to be released 2015 models are indeed 4K.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12049 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,708
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1343 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
I guess another option is the LG 55" curved OLED. They are only $2500 right now. Great contrast. Color isn't 100% accurate though.
The 55EC9300 OLED from LG as been priced at $2499 recently, and Microcenter and Fry's have had clearance deals at $1999 and $1599. This model may be the best replacement for plasma tech, although it is being replaced with the newer LG 4K OLED models for 2015, and the price is much higher. Another option is the Samsung 55JS8500 4K LED, which is super UHD due to quantom dots or nano crystals. But it is still an edge lit LED, so it has certain drawbacks and characteristics that may not be appealing to plasma fans. I was in HHG yesterday, and the EC9300 on display looked far superior to the JS8500, despite the flaws of in store displays. I really wanted to be impressed with the JS8500, but was rather disappointed. However, the EC9300 was very impressive with great blacks, even in the store.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12050 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I bought the 9300 today from Best Buy. It was new and sealed in the box. Plugged it in and it was DOA. I turned it on and the LG logo illuminated, went to and never any picture. I called them up and they are picking it up on Wednesday and bringing another one.

Btw, I can see what you all mean about the dimples with the set off. I don't see how this wouldn't produce some kind of distortion when the set is on.

Ken
ken6217 is offline  
post #12051 of 14510 Old 05-25-2015, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5497 Post(s)
Liked: 3901
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
I bought the 9300 today from Best Buy. It was new and sealed in the box. Plugged it in and it was DOA. I turned it on and the LG logo illuminated, went to and never any picture. I called them up and they are picking it up on Wednesday and bringing another one.

Btw, I can see what you all mean about the dimples with the set off. I don't see how this wouldn't produce some kind of distortion when the set is on.

Ken
Sorry to hear that. I'm sure your next one will be fine. I see on the BB web site it's listed for $2499. Can't believe the 55 inch 9600 is listed for $5499. No way a 4K version of the same size should cost $3000 more.
wxman is online now  
post #12052 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,463
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1777 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Unfortunately all current OLEDs are curved.
kucharsk is offline  
post #12053 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python357 View Post
I am considering swapping my 51f8500 for an ec930 oled because i am totally fed-up with floating and "delayed" black issues no one in the world seems to recognize... Can you explain better why you consider F8500 better than oled? Consider I'll use oled with a HTPC generating a 3dLUT so I am not intersted in CMS problems. The only Issue would be for me the curve and the motion resolution...

Can anyone tell me if F8500 is 8bit or supporting 10bit?

thanks
Rather than asking you to repeat in detail what you are seeing on your F8500, can you give me a post number?
JimP is offline  
post #12054 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Rather than asking you to repeat in detail what you are seeing on your F8500, can you give me a post number?
Thanks for your interest! I've tried to ask in some different threads :P

for example here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...l#post33285601

(and following posts)

or here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post33376985

(this one is outdated, i've a i1display pro now and actually there is difference with BO off (0,021cd/m2) and on (0,011)
no difference between auto and dark room)

thanks
Python357 is offline  
post #12055 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python357 View Post
Thanks for your interest! I've tried to ask in some different threads :P

for example here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...l#post33285601

(and following posts)

or here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post33376985

(this one is outdated, i've a i1display pro now and actually there is difference with BO off (0,021cd/m2) and on (0,011)
no difference between auto and dark room)

thanks
I noticed the comma in your meter readings. Is this a European model?

What's your brightness setting?
JimP is offline  
post #12056 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
I noticed the comma in your meter readings. Is this a European model?

What's your brightness setting?
Yes, made in hungary, april 2013.

My brightness ranges from 46 to 48 always set to clip the 17-black

I've talked to other 3 owners of 51f8500 here in italy and 2 of them have the same issue (one of those 2 bought in my same shop) , the third says to have never seen it.
Python357 is offline  
post #12057 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1350
zoyd is offline  
post #12058 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Have to measure it, but on ANSI checker I had 0,021cd/m2 black with Vtweak and 0.028cd with [email protected] default
Python357 is offline  
post #12059 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python357 View Post
Yes, made in hungary, april 2013.

My brightness ranges from 46 to 48 always set to clip the 17-black

I've talked to other 3 owners of 51f8500 here in italy and 2 of them have the same issue (one of those 2 bought in my same shop) , the third says to have never seen it.
Try this. With your brightness setting at 46, does this issue seem about the same or less?

I'm guessing that you have dynamic contrast set to "off" and the power savings stuff "off " as well, right?

In your previous post, what is "V" ?
JimP is offline  
post #12060 of 14510 Old 05-26-2015, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I referred to panel voltages Vs and Vsc... Zoyd knows a lot about that. This is just for clarify the level of madness... I opened my TV to try to fix the problem. Changing brightness level will not help believe me, neither lowering cell value... And, of course, dynamic off and power saving off... I think to have the worst level of floating black, that should have been fixed with an old firmware, and if Samsung considers fixed this sh*t it's ridiculous... I started to think my logic board sw did not update for some reason, so I'd like to know what logic sw do you have (from 737 menu)
Python357 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off