Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 485 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1357Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14521 of 14536 Old 12-18-2019, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I never noticed it until I was up close looking at the panel for any unusual screen issues. It's not noticable at all until you're looking for it. Just curious if anybody else has the same spots in the corners.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post
I've noticed in the 4 corners of my 64" F8500..there are small bubbles in each corner. They are limited to the blank border strip and not onto the screen. Assuming it's just the filter reacting from the heat of the tv. I have about 2000 hours on the set. Is this normal?
I haven't looked/noticed any on my set and I have never heard about anyone else having this phenomen so I would not call it normal.
hove131 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14522 of 14536 Old 12-18-2019, 01:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post
I never noticed it until I was up close looking at the panel for any unusual screen issues. It's not noticable at all until you're looking for it. Just curious if anybody else has the same spots in the corners.
I will take a closer look when I get back home.
rickardl is offline  
post #14523 of 14536 Old 12-18-2019, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
I will take a closer look when I get back home.
No sign of bubbles or deformation of any kind in any corner.
rickardl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14524 of 14536 Old 12-18-2019, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Damn .... guess I just will keep an eye on it

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
I will take a closer look when I get back home.
No sign of bubbles or deformation of any kind in any corner.
hove131 is offline  
post #14525 of 14536 Old 12-26-2019, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys. Not sure if this is the best place to post my question, or if there's a specific thread for troubleshooting, but I'll pay it anyway and you can let me know 😉. I have recently acquired the 60" version of this tv for free, and it is non functional. I'm not very good with electronic circuit boards, but there are no obvious defects (blown caps, burn marks, etc). I have a standby light, and when I turn the tv on, the power light with blink slowly and continuously, and the screen will flicker for a split second, then go blank for a few seconds (10ish), and then it will display HDMI 1 in one corner, and a symbol -:- in the other. At this point, the tv will become unresponsive. Pressing any button on the smart remote, or the spare standard remote I have has no effect. After about 20 or 30 seconds, the tv will power cycle in its own (you can hear a click) , starting the whole process over again. While it's on, the green light on the main board flashes as well. Any suggestions as to what to try/check next?

Thanks in advance.
Aetoc is offline  
post #14526 of 14536 Old 12-30-2019, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
Broxin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Exclamation

Does anyone know a service man that could get a hold of those logic board files?
Surely it would bother noone as this tv is not sold anymore

Would be very nice

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Anyone had this applied and/or know if we can get hold of it anywhere?

SERVICE BULLETIN
PRODUCT:PDP TV
BULLETIN NUMBER: ASC20150408001
BULLETIN DATE: 04/08/2015
MODELS: PN51F8500, PN60F8500, PN64F8500

SUBJECT: Distorted video / flickering in black or dark scenes when Black Optimizer is on
SYMPTOM: The picture gets distorted or displays a ghosting/flickering image in black or dark scenes when the Black Optimizer feature is turned on.
REPAIR: Upgrade the Logic board software. Please follow the steps below.
1. Create a folder named “PDP_LOGIC” in the root directory of a USB thumb drive.
2. Download the proper Logic S/W file. See the below table.
CAUTION: MAKE SURE TO SELECT THE CORRECT FILE FOR EACH MODEL. FAILURE TO DO SO
MAY CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE TV SET.

Model File Name
PN51F8500 Logic_51.bin
PN60F8500 Logic_60.bin
PN64F8500 Logic_64.bin

3. Rename the logic file from LOGIC_xx.bin to LOGIC.bin, and then save it into the PDP_LOGIC folder on the USB drive.
4. Insert the USB thumb drive into the TV’s USB port.
5. Go to Factory Menu → SVC → Upgrade → Logic USB D/L.
6. Press Enter to select Logic USB D/L.
7. Press the right arrow on the remote control to start the upgrade. The value will change to “Upgrading”. Please wait until the process is completely finished. The TV will restart when done.
CAUTION: Do not turn TV off during this process to avoid damage to TV.
8. Note the new logic board version on the top level of the factory menu.

This information is published for experienced repair technicians only and is not intended for use by the public. It does not contain warnings to advise non-technical
individuals of possible dangers in attempting to service a product. Only experienced professional technicians should repair products powered by electricity. Any
attempt to service or repair the product or products dealt with in this information by anyone else could result in serious injury or death. Information provided in this
bulletin is subject to change or update without notice.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Black%20Optimizer%20ServiceBulletin_ASC20150408001.pdf (192.9 KB, 9 views)
Broxin is offline  
post #14527 of 14536 Old 01-05-2020, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Anybody compared an F8500 to a Panasonic VT60 or ZT60?
avsforumrocks is offline  
post #14528 of 14536 Old 01-06-2020, 12:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsforumrocks View Post
Anybody compared an F8500 to a Panasonic VT60 or ZT60?

https://www.soundandvision.com/content/value-electronics-hdtv-shootout-and-then-there-were-three-hdtv-scores
avsforumrocks likes this.
rickardl is offline  
post #14529 of 14536 Old 01-06-2020, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Nice. Is the F8500 a lot less reliable than the Panasonics? If so is there a fix?
avsforumrocks is offline  
post #14530 of 14536 Old 01-06-2020, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsforumrocks View Post
Nice. Is the F8500 a lot less reliable than the Panasonics? If so is there a fix?
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-p...s-turning.html
Usually DIY fixable if you can solder.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #14531 of 14536 Old 01-10-2020, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 112
What is your opinion on leaving the 64F8500 on standby or cutting the power completely while not in use?
Ever since I did the capacitor soldering, my wife insists on pulling the plug after setting it to standby but
I wonder if that could have shortened the life of the power supply board (which died for me two weeks ago)?
rickardl is offline  
post #14532 of 14536 Old 01-10-2020, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
What is your opinion on leaving the 64F8500 on standby or cutting the power completely while not in use?
Ever since I did the capacitor soldering, my wife insists on pulling the plug after setting it to standby but
I wonder if that could have shortened the life of the power supply board (which died for me two weeks ago)?
I don't know for sure if pulling the plug can shorten the life of anything; I am a bit suspicious that it can, because electronic components don't really like being hard power cycled. But don't take that as truth, because I a not that qualified.


What I am pretty sure of, is that you do NOT need to unplug the TV, ever. My understanding (from this forum) is that the root of the capacitor problem is heat. The F8500 runs really hot, and Samsung used ceramic caps that were not rated for the level of heat that develops inside the unit.


Idling in standby is not hot.
hpp8140 likes this.
shadowspawn is offline  
post #14533 of 14536 Old 01-13-2020, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Well, since these sets don't have a hard power on/off button, I suspect they are only designed for going to/from standby mode and might not tolerate a hard power cycle each day for 7-8 years.
rickardl is offline  
post #14534 of 14536 Old 01-14-2020, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
mesaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey I have firmware 1112
Should I leave it alone. Only connected to net day of setup , but I know black levels decreased, after even the earliest FW updates. Anyone familiar with FW numbers let me know if I'm in a good place, or should I update?
mesaman is offline  
post #14535 of 14536 Old 01-14-2020, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
mesaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaman View Post
Hey I have firmware 1112
Should I leave it alone. Only connected to net day of setup , but I know black levels decreased, after even the earliest FW updates. Anyone familiar with FW numbers let me know if I'm in a good place, or should I update?
BTW I have no issues with buzzing or panel noise. And I mean none. No lighting issues either.
mesaman is offline  
post #14536 of 14536 Old 01-15-2020, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
What is your opinion on leaving the 64F8500 on standby or cutting the power completely while not in use?
Ever since I did the capacitor soldering, my wife insists on pulling the plug after setting it to standby but
I wonder if that could have shortened the life of the power supply board (which died for me two weeks ago)?
Probably not but be sure to blame it on her.
Test Ickles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off