Samsung PN51F5300 â?? What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 2013 Old 02-02-2015, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
Quote:
Originally Posted by montanaman View Post
I hope that works for your 64". The Amazon description says for TV's 37-55"...?
And it says 60" if you scroll down. And if you look at the measurements given, there is 26" of room at the top adjustment point

Assuming the diagram is correct. We'll see.
Soulburner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 2013 Old 02-02-2015, 02:06 AM
Senior Member
 
montanaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Big Sky Country
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Assuming the diagram is correct. We'll see.

That is a nice stand with the glass base. And you did check the measurements. That is a good price and the ShopJimmy stand I have is very well made.

Is it more fun to use the equipment or talk about it on AVS?
montanaman is offline  
post #1563 of 2013 Old 02-04-2015, 11:01 PM
ADU
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Now I read somewhere about the pink tint/push/hue on all white screens. My tv has it very mild around the edges but very very faint. And I definitely cant tell while watching normal content. So is this normal for plasmas? What causes it?
Already much discussed elsewhere, but my guess is poor voltage regulation in the panel due to its energy efficient design.

ADU
ADU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 2013 Old 02-04-2015, 11:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Already much discussed elsewhere, but my guess is poor voltage regulation in the panel due to its energy efficient design.
Ok makes sense. Probably doesnt help that im using standard mode which has the energy star next to it. Haha. Its actually not as bad as I first thought. I can barely notice it and the wife doesnt see it at all. Who knows. But I know one thing. Im in love with this tv and the price I paid for it.
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #1565 of 2013 Old 02-04-2015, 11:05 PM
ADU
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1688
Quote:
Originally Posted by hailjack View Post
Do users typically run with Eco mode off to get the best picture performance?
If you leave the Eco Sensor control turned ON, the TV will change brightness depending on the room light (which is something most users don't like). There's also a Motion Lighting option in the Standard Picture Mode which will reduce the screen's brightness when static images are left on screen, which can help reduce the chances of burn-in. But I think most people also turn that off.

The Energy Saving options in the Eco Solution menu configure the range of brightness in the Cell Light control. Turning Energy Saving OFF will give the widest range of Cell Light adjustment, and highest contrast ratio. If you feel that the image is too bright with Cell Light set to maximum and Energy Saving Off, you can either lower the Cell Light control, or switch to a higher Energy Saving setting to reduce the screen brightness. (You could also lower the Contrast control, but that will reduce the quality of the shading. So I don't recommend it.)

Some people don't like the fluctuations in brightness that can occur at lower Cell Light settings. Using a higher Energy Saving setting might be a way around that.

ADU

Last edited by ADU; 02-06-2015 at 08:59 PM.
ADU is offline  
post #1566 of 2013 Old 02-05-2015, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
Quote:
Originally Posted by montanaman View Post
That is a nice stand with the glass base. And you did check the measurements. That is a good price and the ShopJimmy stand I have is very well made.
I have the stand assembled but I'll have to wait to find some extra hands to help me put the TV on it. But by my measurements it looks like I'll have only millimeters of clearance with my 64". Will update soon...

Last edited by Soulburner; 02-05-2015 at 02:39 AM.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1567 of 2013 Old 02-06-2015, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
To follow up on my recent stand purchase:

http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B009SD010O/

It will work with the 64" H5000, with ZERO room to spare.

So rest assured it will fit the 51"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150206_132651-1_1423251626515.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	126.5 KB
ID:	530321   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150206_063047-1_1423251645842.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	110.5 KB
ID:	530329   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150206_130905-1_1423251664696.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	530337  

Last edited by Soulburner; 02-08-2015 at 03:05 AM.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1568 of 2013 Old 02-06-2015, 10:36 PM
Member
 
LJ11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My plasma seems to have an issue. Massive empty pixels until the plasma gas heats up and then it fills the pixels up. I've seen it when you first buy one but not after having the tv for a few months. Happens the first 30-50 seconds I turn the tv on. Anyone else experiencing this? Any tips, or should I call samsung and get it swapped. Not a big deal, goes away and usually only happens when I power it on after not having done so for a few days.
LJ11 is offline  
post #1569 of 2013 Old 02-07-2015, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ11 View Post
My plasma seems to have an issue. Massive empty pixels until the plasma gas heats up and then it fills the pixels up. I've seen it when you first buy one but not after having the tv for a few months. Happens the first 30-50 seconds I turn the tv on. Anyone else experiencing this? Any tips, or should I call samsung and get it swapped. Not a big deal, goes away and usually only happens when I power it on after not having done so for a few days.
Yes! I have had the set (PN51F5300) for one week now and like it a lot but have also noticed this, was pretty bad yesterday when I turned it on. It looks like thin black bars of various sizes horizontally arranged on the screen when first turned on, then they gradually disappear. It doesn't happen every single time. Last night it was quite bad though. I have owned 2 PDPs, a Panny and a Kuro and have never seen this before. Been hoping it is a new (Samsung) plasma TV thing and will go away with time. TV is Oct 2014 build with FW 1006. Using Orion's settings with Eco mode set to low as I watch in darkened bedroom and prefer the brightness dimmed a bit. I really don't want to give this set up, the merchant I bought it from no longer lists it so feel lucky to have purchased when I did.
Egan is offline  
post #1570 of 2013 Old 02-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Member
 
LJ11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egan View Post
Yes! I have had the set (PN51F5300) for one week now and like it a lot but have also noticed this, was pretty bad yesterday when I turned it on. It looks like thin black bars of various sizes horizontally arranged on the screen when first turned on, then they gradually disappear. It doesn't happen every single time. Last night it was quite bad though. I have owned 2 PDPs, a Panny and a Kuro and have never seen this before. Been hoping it is a new (Samsung) plasma TV thing and will go away with time. TV is Oct 2014 build with FW 1006. Using Orion's settings with Eco mode set to low as I watch in darkened bedroom and prefer the brightness dimmed a bit. I really don't want to give this set up, the merchant I bought it from no longer lists it so feel lucky to have purchased when I did.
Myu 2nd one is a Sept build, same firmware as yours. My May build had this happen when I first turned the TV on, never happened again however.
LJ11 is offline  
post #1571 of 2013 Old 02-11-2015, 02:13 PM
Member
 
hailjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anyone having issues accessing the 1006.0 firmware? I tried two different browsers and the page wont load.
hailjack is offline  
post #1572 of 2013 Old 02-11-2015, 07:27 PM
ADU
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1688
Quote:
Originally Posted by hailjack View Post
Anyone having issues accessing the 1006.0 firmware? I tried two different browsers and the page wont load.
Do you have pop-ups blocked? I tried the DL, and there's a pop-up disclaimer that you have to accept before beginning the DL.

ADU
ADU is offline  
post #1573 of 2013 Old 02-11-2015, 07:33 PM
ADU
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,840
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1688
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ11 View Post
My plasma seems to have an issue. Massive empty pixels until the plasma gas heats up and then it fills the pixels up. I've seen it when you first buy one but not after having the tv for a few months. Happens the first 30-50 seconds I turn the tv on. Anyone else experiencing this? Any tips, or should I call samsung and get it swapped. Not a big deal, goes away and usually only happens when I power it on after not having done so for a few days.
Where are you seeing the dark pixels? Are they mostly occurring in the center of the screen, or around the edges and corners (esp. upper corners), or are they pretty evenly distributed?

ADU
ADU is offline  
post #1574 of 2013 Old 02-11-2015, 10:48 PM
Member
 
LJ11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Where are you seeing the dark pixels? Are they mostly occurring in the center of the screen, or around the edges and corners (esp. upper corners), or are they pretty evenly distributed?
Bottom Center, I'll take a video tomorrow and upload.
LJ11 is offline  
post #1575 of 2013 Old 02-12-2015, 06:00 AM
Member
 
hailjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Do you have pop-ups blocked? I tried the DL, and there's a pop-up disclaimer that you have to accept before beginning the DL.

Thanks. Yeah, I saw that. I acknowledged it, and it then attempts to redirect me to the download page but in Chrome I get the 'Cannot Load' page and the same in IE. Weird.
hailjack is offline  
post #1576 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 670
This is what I see when I turn on the TV, at times it's much more extensive. You can see the black lines across "Netflix" and "Pluto". They are actually all over the screen. They disappear within a minute or so and then the picture is flawless, but have never seen this before in a plasma so remain a bit concerned.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01616.JPG
Views:	190
Size:	142.7 KB
ID:	543609  
Egan is offline  
post #1577 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,422
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2643 Post(s)
Liked: 2352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egan View Post
This is what I see when I turn on the TV, at times it's much more extensive. You can see the black lines across "Netflix" and "Pluto". They are actually all over the screen. They disappear within a minute or so and then the picture is flawless, but have never seen this before in a plasma so remain a bit concerned.
And this happens on more than one source? (cable, Blu-ray, etc.). If so, this is a major issue.
DavidHir is offline  
post #1578 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
That is really odd. I wonder if the clearing of it tracks with temperature, like it "warms up". Or maybe there is a voltage that is too low at startup, due to manufacturing variances. That should have been caught at the factory though.

Can you run a long, heavy duty extension cord from another part of the house just to rule out the possibility of an issue with the circuit?
Soulburner is offline  
post #1579 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
And this happens on more than one source? (cable, Blu-ray, etc.). If so, this is a major issue.
Have only been using Amazon Fire TV stick with this TV, it's in the bedroom.

I do see the lines on the Samsung logo though when I first turn on the TV.

Last edited by Egan; 02-13-2015 at 03:32 PM.
Egan is offline  
post #1580 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
That is really odd. I wonder if the clearing of it tracks with temperature, like it "warms up". Or maybe there is a voltage that is too low at startup, due to manufacturing variances. That should have been caught at the factory though.

Can you run a long, heavy duty extension cord from another part of the house just to rule out the possibility of an issue with the circuit?
I keep my house rather cool in the winter, bedroom will be below 60 degrees by the time I go to bed, maybe that is the issue? Because it does gradually go away in about a minute. My house is only a few years old and a couple years ago an electrician did a whole house inspection as part of a yearly warranty contract so doubt it's a voltage issue, and this TV is replacing a Panasonic plasma that had no issues like this.
Egan is offline  
post #1581 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 644
I've had a 51F5300 for at least 2 years(I think longer-not sure), and I've never seen that on any source.
I'm using it right now for the monitor to type this.

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #1582 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 09:14 PM
Member
 
LJ11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yup, that's exactly what I see. Lasts about 30 seconds, and it's gone for pretty much the rest of the day.

I think it's probably a voltage issue like Soulburner mentioned. I may have to call Samsung.

Made a quick video below, it's awful, but you guys get the point. Gone in about 30 seconds.


Last edited by LJ11; 02-13-2015 at 09:29 PM. Reason: Included Video
LJ11 is offline  
post #1583 of 2013 Old 02-13-2015, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
I'd be curious to see if it still does it if you increase the room temperature.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1584 of 2013 Old 02-14-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Last night turned it on and no lines at all, bedroom was 60 degrees.
Egan is offline  
post #1585 of 2013 Old 02-14-2015, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does the Pn51f5300 A or B model have Anti glare or anti reflective coating of any sorts? Or is it just glass?
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #1586 of 2013 Old 02-14-2015, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Does the Pn51f5300 A or B model have Anti glare or anti reflective coating of any sorts? Or is it just glass?
no ar
badmeng is offline  
post #1587 of 2013 Old 02-14-2015, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post
no ar
Ok so its basically just glass Right? I need to clean the fingerprints off the screen that my daughter did. Haha. And I dont want to mess anything up
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #1588 of 2013 Old 02-15-2015, 08:52 AM
Member
 
*grelvis*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Microfiber cloths work perfectly for me.
StinDaWg likes this.
*grelvis* is offline  
post #1589 of 2013 Old 02-15-2015, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is the ABL more aggressive on standard mode than on movie or dynamic? Ive noticed on standard mode cell light 17,18,19,20 it doesnt get brighter on a bright screen. Also does anyone know why the standard mode has the energy sign next to it?
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #1590 of 2013 Old 02-15-2015, 09:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,475
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Is the ABL more aggressive on standard mode than on movie or dynamic? Ive noticed on standard mode cell light 17,18,19,20 it doesnt get brighter on a bright screen. Also does anyone know why the standard mode has the energy sign next to it?
I think your second question is probably answered by your first

I don't use standard mode so I'm not really sure. I'm calibrated in Movie mode so that's where mine stays. See if it acts the same in Movie mode.
Soulburner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f5300 51 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off