Samsung PN51F5300 â?? What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside - Page 58 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 2013 Old 04-21-2015, 05:05 PM
Member
 
paulcd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
Possibly you have an "A" version whereas I know my recently purchased Samsung is a "B."
Mine is a B, so that's not causing the discrepancy. I'm going to wipe the TV functions on my remote and start over.
paulcd77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 2013 Old 04-24-2015, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay6784 View Post
I toggled the SAPC timer on and off and I could tell no difference. There probably is one, but I couldn't detect it.

APC Speed however, is easily noticeable. Changing it to FAST, from the default of SLOW eliminates those "pops" some of us have noticed during bright-to-dark transitions on a 60hz signal. Unfortunately, this setting will not save when you power off the TV. This is really disappointing to me, as this is the one major annoyance that I have with this television.

Interestingly, the default ABL behavior of the display when sent a 24hz, 25hz or 50hz resolution seems identical to that of the FAST setting when being fed 60hz. This makes me believe that they could have very easily updated the firmware of these sets to allow the 60hz signal to have the same smooth ABL function that these other modes exhibit. Yet I believe this issue has now plagued multiple generations of Samsung plasmas, so I'm guessing there is no hope of an official fix.

It adds to my annoyance that the solution to my issue is just out of reach. If only that setting would save upon exit, all would be resolved!
Hi Joy, arrived on your message after deep googling. Dunno if you'll ever read my message, but i'd like to ask you if you believe the "apc setting" can be the key of my annoying problem of brigtness coming down slowly in a bright-dark transition: the black is grey in the first 2 seconds, then going down.
Unfortunately, as you say, there is no way to set it on fast and is totally useless because you cannot exit from that menu. Anyway i made some tests and I have not seen improvements in my "delayed black" problem. And, it does not seem to be linked to 24, 25 or 60hz, it always happens.
Python357 is offline  
post #1713 of 2013 Old 04-24-2015, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python357 View Post
Hi Joy, arrived on your message after deep googling. Dunno if you'll ever read my message, but i'd like to ask you if you believe the "apc setting" can be the key of my annoying problem of brigtness coming down slowly in a bright-dark transition: the black is grey in the first 2 seconds, then going down.
Unfortunately, as you say, there is no way to set it on fast and is totally useless because you cannot exit from that menu. Anyway i made some tests and I have not seen improvements in my "delayed black" problem. And, it does not seem to be linked to 24, 25 or 60hz, it always happens.
Are you using Dynamic Contrast or an energy saving mode?
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1714 of 2013 Old 04-25-2015, 09:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Are you using Dynamic Contrast or an energy saving mode?
no, anything of those. I forgot to say, I have a 51f8500 not f5300

thanks for your reply
Python357 is offline  
post #1715 of 2013 Old 04-25-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
I heard there was a firmware update that addresses that, but not being an F8500 expert I'm not of much use. Perhaps check out the F8500 threads?
Soulburner is online now  
post #1716 of 2013 Old 04-27-2015, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
dan57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: E Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bad news on my unit (60".) It is two months old. Over the weekend, the picture went out, I heard a buzzing sound, and smelled burning. It is dead. I am wondering if this is a common problem with this issue. I called Samsung for warranty service and I am waiting to hear back from them. Does anyone know if they will come to my house? I certainly hope I don't have to bring this thing in for service.
dan57 is offline  
post #1717 of 2013 Old 04-27-2015, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan57 View Post
Bad news on my unit (60".) It is two months old. Over the weekend, the picture went out, I heard a buzzing sound, and smelled burning. It is dead. I am wondering if this is a common problem with this issue. I called Samsung for warranty service and I am waiting to hear back from them. Does anyone know if they will come to my house? I certainly hope I don't have to bring this thing in for service.
Probably depends on the local service shop. They came out and repaired one of my F4500s at my home, but it was from a local TV repair shop authorized for Samsung warranty repair.

Displays: Samsung PN51F5300BFXA, PN51F4500AFXA, PN51F4500BFXA

Josh128 is offline  
post #1718 of 2013 Old 04-28-2015, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
dan57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: E Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Update. They are coming to my house today to look at the tv. I noticed one more thing. Along with the other issues, I see a small hairline crack in (or actually under) the glass in the upper right-hand corner. This seems to have arisen at the same time as the other symptoms (buzzing, no picture, smell of burning.)
dan57 is offline  
post #1719 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 05:48 AM
Member
 
1989civic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I wonder if the slim bezel makes these tv sets more prone to hair line cracks due to stress? I know on my 51" model, the bezel is very slim. I try to put my hands on both sides of the tv when I swivel it at times, to avoid "micro bending" the screen.
I also wonder if the natural heating/cooling effect of the plasma tv could cause the screen to micro contract/expand, which may have led to that hairline crack.
I have read, in the past, that some of these Samsung sets were prone to cracks appearing out of nowhere and causing issues.
I hope the tech realizes the crack appeared on its own and that you didn't damage it yourself accidentally.
1989civic is offline  
post #1720 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
dan57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: E Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1989civic View Post
I wonder if the slim bezel makes these tv sets more prone to hair line cracks due to stress? I know on my 51" model, the bezel is very slim. I try to put my hands on both sides of the tv when I swivel it at times, to avoid "micro bending" the screen.
I also wonder if the natural heating/cooling effect of the plasma tv could cause the screen to micro contract/expand, which may have led to that hairline crack.
I have read, in the past, that some of these Samsung sets were prone to cracks appearing out of nowhere and causing issues.
I hope the tech realizes the crack appeared on its own and that you didn't damage it yourself accidentally.

Thanks. The tech told me he didn't think we caused the damage. (We definitely didn't.) Anyway, Samsung did agree to replace the panel and fix the TV. The tech is coming today to repair under warranty. I will post more after the tech leaves. I think your theory might be right as the crack is right next to the bezel.
dan57 is offline  
post #1721 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: E Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bad news. The technician showed up and replaced the panel, but the panel he had was defective. When he turned the tv on, a large horizontal black streak appeared across the screen. I lobbied for a replacement TV. The tech said he would recommend it. I am not sure if they would even have one, since I think that this is a discontinued model.
dan57 is offline  
post #1722 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 12:54 PM
Member
 
1989civic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan57 View Post
Bad news. The technician showed up and replaced the panel, but the panel he had was defective. When he turned the tv on, a large horizontal black streak appeared across the screen. I lobbied for a replacement TV. The tech said he would recommend it. I am not sure if they would even have one, since I think that this is a discontinued model.

Dan57, that's bad luck! I hope they can find you a new set as a replacement. Hopefully they have some sets in reserve for just such a purpose.
While at work, I googled around and found that over the years, these sudden "out of the blue" cracks have appeared on many Samsung plasma models, not just the ones with the extra inch of screen and super slim bezels.
I was very worried about the 51" version I bought so have been treating it with kid gloves. Still, these cracks do appear out of the blue with no interaction by the owner. Makes me wonder if temperature plays a factor....
One theory seems to be internal heat within the tv is causing the sudden crack to form.
Anyway, I'm very glad to hear that Samsung didn't try to stonewall you, and accepted that the crack is an internal defect and will make good. Seems like they have changed their tune to the better!
I'm looking forward to hearing how this turns out for you. Best of luck.
1989civic is offline  
post #1723 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Was this TV taken from really cold to fully warmed up in a short time? Did it arrive chilled from the weather and not allowed to reach room temp before being turned on?
Soulburner is online now  
post #1724 of 2013 Old 04-30-2015, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: E Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Was this TV taken from really cold to fully warmed up in a short time? Did it arrive chilled from the weather and not allowed to reach room temp before being turned on?
No. Two months old.
dan57 is offline  
post #1725 of 2013 Old 05-01-2015, 03:18 PM
Member
 
1989civic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by koexist View Post
I'm happy to report that it work very well. I used a 7 port powered usb hub and plugged in a 1TB portable WD drive. Tried a few different videos and they all played well. Turning off and on the tv several times to make sure it still detect the drive and it did.
I finally got around to picking up a cheap powered usb hub and it works great with the tv! Zero issues and very dependable. Thanks for taking the time to test yours out first!
1989civic is offline  
post #1726 of 2013 Old 05-03-2015, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I just picked up a 5300 from a Sears store here in California. There is some strange things going on though. I checked the hours on it and it only had 320 hours on the set. It's running firmware 1003 though when you check for an update its says last update 12/ 20/2012. It also proceeds to say there is no update available now. From reading these threads about this TV I was under the impression that 1003 indicated it was a 5300B not 5300A. Yet the back panel says it's an A with the earlier panel. What is going on here? On top of that it pauses and goes black when switching between channels. I did all the trouble shooting for that issue but it still does it. Feeling a little frustrated and bummed right now . I figured since the panel only had 320 hours it had to be a 2014 model.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1727 of 2013 Old 05-03-2015, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1130 View Post
On top of that it pauses and goes black when switching between channels.
Do you have a cable/sat box? If so, have you looked for a resolution setting called "native"? That is often the culprit.
Soulburner is online now  
post #1728 of 2013 Old 05-03-2015, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Do you have a cable/sat box? If so, have you looked for a resolution setting called "native"? That is often the culprit.
Ya tried that no go. Also I have another issue it seems it won't save calibration methods and I did set it to Home use and take it out of Store Demo. I am also now convinced this a refurbished 5300a model. Though I am not complete sure why it would have what some say is 2014 B model firmware. Truth be told at this point I am getting rather frustrated and about ready to take it back.
It seems the only way to really get a B model for sure would to be buying it off an unathurized liquidator on say EBay. All the places that might actually have B models are now pushing over list prices for the sets.
I thought I was lucking out by getting what should have been a low hour 2014 model for the prices they were blowing them out for 6 months ago.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1729 of 2013 Old 05-04-2015, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I sorted out the it remembering calibration settings. Though I am still having the screen pause when switching channels and I am getting white and black pulsing lines on the edges of the letterboxes when I am on non high def channels. I am tempted oTo return it and try and order a new B version from Buydigg if I can get them to drop it to last months price. At least I would wind up with a no hours new version with a Samsung Warranty rather than the Sears warranty because it was an out box set.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1730 of 2013 Old 05-04-2015, 01:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1130 View Post
Though I am still having the screen pause when switching channels and I am getting white and black pulsing lines on the edges of the letterboxes when I am on non high def channels.
To save you some hassle - you are going to see that on a lot of flat panel displays. The reason is you're seeing parts of the screen that you were never intended to see on a tube TV or other display that had overscan. It's nothing to worry about.
Soulburner is online now  
post #1731 of 2013 Old 05-04-2015, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
To save you some hassle - you are going to see that on a lot of flat panel displays. The reason is you're seeing parts of the screen that you were never intended to see on a tube TV or other display that had overscan. It's nothing to worry about.
Ok I can understand that. I just wish I could eliminate the go to black picture pause my old Panasonic Plasma did not do that or if it did not drastically enough for me to notice.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1732 of 2013 Old 05-04-2015, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
I wish I knew what was causing that. I'll keep thinking on it.

I have DirecTV, so there's always a pause anyway, so I don't know if I would be able to tell.
Soulburner is online now  
post #1733 of 2013 Old 05-04-2015, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
I wish I knew what was causing that. I'll keep thinking on it.

I have DirecTV, so there's always a pause anyway, so I don't know if I would be able to tell.
Ya it could be a Direct TV thing except this seems a little longer. The people at Sears did not even give me the right remote it turns out. It works but it was probably an LED TV remote as it does not look like the 5300 remote in pictures. I am just perplexed about the software because everything says its a 5300A . I thought for sure with only 320 hours on it had to be the 2014 model.
This is why I am thinking about calling Buydigg and trying to negotiate a $599 shipped price on a in the box B model. There is one other place that has new damaged box but no damage to the set 5300B models for sale too. Except they are not an authorized Samsung dealers . So I would have to look into seeing. If Samsung would honor the manufactures warranty. Those are actually going for pretty good prices.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1734 of 2013 Old 05-05-2015, 12:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I may be wrong it wouldn't be the first time, but I thought one of the guys that repairs tvs said that some models panels was prone too cracking from physical mishandling.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #1735 of 2013 Old 05-06-2015, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Are the B versions really that much better than the A versions? Reason I ask is I could get a new in the box B version from a damaged freight buyer/ retailer for around $500-600 delivered. They do have a 14 day money back satisfaction guaranteed policy and the box is just kinda messed up the set is fine. It would probably not have the Samsung warranty as they are not a authorized Samsung dealer.

Otherwise this set does look good.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1736 of 2013 Old 05-09-2015, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1130 View Post
Are the B versions really that much better than the A versions?
Yes, the contrast/black level is much better.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #1737 of 2013 Old 05-09-2015, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there any firmware update available past 1003?

I searched and could not find anything.
beergut1 is offline  
post #1738 of 2013 Old 05-10-2015, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
Yes, the contrast/black level is much better.
Well I just found an open box B model at a Best Buy in Culver City and I am getting it for less than the A model I picked up. Which is still in the 30 day return window. So it will be getting returned to Sears.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1739 of 2013 Old 05-11-2015, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by beergut1 View Post
Is there any firmware update available past 1003?

I searched and could not find anything.
Actually 1006 is on Samsungs download page. At least it was last time I checked.
Dave1130 is offline  
post #1740 of 2013 Old 05-16-2015, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Josh128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Just wanted to chime in again-- its been almost a year since I got my 51F5300 BFXZA and while at first I wasnt so floored with it over my F4500, over the past year Ive come to appreciate it for the magnificent picture it produces.

Like everyone here, Ive played with settings and have settled on what I produced using the AVSHD and WOW discs, along with "Auto" colorspace. I used "Native" colorspace on all my sets for a long time, but when I switched to "Auto", everything just looked so much more natural.

I watch a lot of OTA HD, Netflix, and Blu-Rays on the set. In particular, OTA HD looks spectacular, especially shows like the EXCELLENT "Nature" series on PBS.

While I still prefer the F4500s for gaming, as most of my gaming is retro stuff without the use of external processors, the F5300 is simply a fantastic home theatre set.

I cant fathom why production was ceased on plasmas-- my folks and my in laws both have LED/LCD sets and they dont even begin to compare to the PQ of these plasmas.
W3Rman likes this.

Displays: Samsung PN51F5300BFXA, PN51F4500AFXA, PN51F4500BFXA

Josh128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f5300 51 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off