Samsung PN51F5300 â?? What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Energy Saving Feature: I used the Eco Solutions' Energy Saving feature last night. I watch alot of TV late at night when my eyes are more tired. The sceeen is very bright with the cell brightness set at 20 and I do not have any backlighting system set up yet to reduce the eye strain (used to have it on the Philips with Ambilight).

Anyway...it wasn't bad. I had the HIGH setting on, and it made the viewing a bit more easier and enjoyable. Seems excessive to have the same screen brightness in a dark room that I utilize during the day/early evening when I have sunlight and/or lights on.

Anybody else use the Energy Saving feature to reduce screeen brightness ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Yes. I use Low nearly full-time, and High to reduce burn in during other things. That way I never have to change my Cell light setting from 20.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1863 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
yes, i also use echo on low with 19-20 cell light, easier on the eyes.
badmeng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1864 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 10:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Yes. I use Low nearly full-time, and High to reduce burn in during other things. That way I never have to change my Cell light setting from 20.
Great...thanks for the feedback.

Aside from gaming, assuming past the break-in threshold, you should be able to avoid using HIGH -- if you want to. 16:9 + Pixel Protect as a backup if you want to play it safe.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1865 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 10:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post
yes, i also use echo on low with 19-20 cell light, easier on the eyes.
All the time...or just at night ?

It appears that each setting -- LOW, MED, HIGH -- knocks the cell light down by about 5 levels each. Haven't exactly compared actual number changes to the Energy Saving settings, but that's a close ballpark.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1866 of 2013 Old 07-17-2015, 11:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
Great...thanks for the feedback.

Aside from gaming, assuming past the break-in threshold, you should be able to avoid using HIGH -- if you want to. 16:9 + Pixel Protect as a backup if you want to play it safe.
I use it when I'm playing with speaker setup. A/B comparing, testing different settings, etc. The OSD is up for long periods of time, so the High setting really reduces light output, burn in, and energy use (more than 50%).

Last edited by Soulburner; 07-17-2015 at 11:04 PM.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1867 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
[QUOTE=PhilipsPhanatic;35847698]All the time...or just at night ?

All the time
badmeng is offline  
post #1868 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 02:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
I use it when I'm playing with speaker setup. A/B comparing, testing different settings, etc. The OSD is up for long periods of time, so the High setting really reduces light output, burn in, and energy use (more than 50%).
Really ? How long do you have the OSD on ? I think when I did settings the first time it was maybe 5 minutes or so, if that.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1869 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 02:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
Really ? How long do you have the OSD on ? I think when I did settings the first time it was maybe 5 minutes or so, if that.
An hour or more, if I'm A/Bing speakers with music.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1870 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
An hour or more, if I'm A/Bing speakers with music.
What is that exactly ? What are you doing ?

Yeah, an hour is long....besides the Energy Saving feature use Pixel Protec 16:9 for extra protection.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1871 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
An easy way to compare speakers is to connect two different ones to your AVR and switch between them while music is playing. It's also useful while positioning speakers or testing different settings. For this, the screen can be on for quite some time.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1872 of 2013 Old 07-18-2015, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
An easy way to compare speakers is to connect two different ones to your AVR and switch between them while music is playing. It's also useful while positioning speakers or testing different settings. For this, the screen can be on for quite some time.
OK, got it...I just have a simple soundbar and when I hit MENU, INFO, or TOOLS, they are on for 30 seconds or so, tops.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1873 of 2013 Old 09-26-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
SWIVEL ? I have the 60", is the stand made to swivel ? It looks like it moves but I don't want to risk it. I watch the TV during the day from my PC which is about 30-45 degrees in front of the TV to the side, so if I can angle it a bit toward me it's kinda nice.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1874 of 2013 Old 09-26-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Yes, it can swivel.

I wasn't confident in it as it wobbles a bit, so I replaced it with a solid (but no swivel) stand from Shop Jimmy.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #1875 of 2013 Old 09-26-2015, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Yes, it can swivel.I wasn't confident in it as it wobbles a bit, so I replaced it with a solid (but no swivel) stand from Shop Jimmy.
Thanks Soul....oh man, I just angled it about 20-25 degrees more towards me and it's SO NICE. BIG DIFFERENCE !! Thanks again !!

I don't have kids and the TV hasn't seemed wobbly to me so I won't worry about it.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1876 of 2013 Old 10-24-2015, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I thought the digital optical output cannot pass thru dd or dts unless its over the air. i have an optical cable from the plasma going into optical in to my sounbar. my dd/dts light on the soundbar never lights up. in the sound menu of the samsung it only gives me PCM. when i turn off the external speakers it gives me the option for dts neo 2.5, i turned that on and now my dd/dts light comes on from my dish receiver or blu ray player and i heard a. vast improvement in sound on the bar, sub, and rear channels, is this the correct setting to have with my setup?
BFJ 96 likes this.
badmeng is offline  
post #1877 of 2013 Old 10-24-2015, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post
I thought the digital optical output cannot pass thru dd or dts unless its over the air. i have an optical cable from the plasma going into optical in to my sounbar. my dd/dts light on the soundbar never lights up. in the sound menu of the samsung it only gives me PCM. when i turn off the external speakers it gives me the option for dts neo 2.5, i turned that on and now my dd/dts light comes on from my dish receiver or blu ray player and i heard a. vast improvement in sound on the bar, sub, and rear channels, is this the correct setting to have with my setup?
Yes it is.

Sent from My Communication Device...
BFJ 96 is offline  
post #1878 of 2013 Old 10-25-2015, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys. I am new here. I really like some of the "settings" suggestion here.
I am sorry if this has been posted, but I didn't have time to read all 65 pages.
I got these setting of plasma tv buying guide. google it. it's still a good site.


Picture Mode: Movie

10p White Balance = ON
Interval Red Green Blue
1 -1 1 -2
2 -2 -2 -2
3 -3 -1 -4
4 -4 0 -3
5 -1 -2 -2
6 -5 -1 -1
7 -7 1 2
8 -1 1 2
9 -5 1 7
10 -3 0 -3

Cell Light 18
Contrast 100
Brightness 48
Sharpness 12
Color 52
Tint G51/R49
Color Tone Warm1
Digital Noise Filter OFF
MPEG Noise Filter OFF
HDMI Black Level Normal
Film Mode OFF
Black Tone OFF
Dynamic Contrast OFF
GAMMA -1 ( I personally prefer gamma on 0 (zero) )
Expert Pattern OFF
RGB Only Mode OFF
Color Space Auto
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement OFF
Motion Lighting OFF
Energy Saving OFF
ECO Sensor OFF
Auto Power OFF OFF

since using 10 point, leave 2 point alone.

Enjoy. I like the settings from page 1, but I think these are better.
They also give reasons why they chose these settings.
note5 is offline  
post #1879 of 2013 Old 10-25-2015, 11:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
*******************.com is site I was talking about.

They also have an LCD version for your next TV since it can't be plasma.

I will go OLED on my next buy. I got my PN51F5300 for $548 from bestbuy 2 weeks before they stopped carrying plasma.

My bedroom TV is the 42" Panasonic TH PX60U plasma. still incredible at 8-9 years old.
note5 is offline  
post #1880 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
34HFX83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hello, does this plasma support real 24p playback by changing display refresh rate in multiples of 24 like... 48hz, 72hz, 96hz ?

50 inch Panasonic Viera ST60 (only used for movies)
50 inch Panasonic Viera G20 (only used for sports & gaming)
46 inch Panasonic Viera G10 (retired)
50 inch Pioneer Elite 111FD (ISF-Calibrated by Chad B) http://hdtvbychadb.com/isf-calibration
34HFX83 is offline  
post #1881 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,296
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34HFX83 View Post
Hello, does this plasma support real 24p playback by changing display refresh rate in multiples of 24 like... 48hz, 72hz, 96hz ?

Yes, I believe it does. 96khz for 24fps.
RWetmore is offline  
post #1882 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
34HFX83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
Yes, I believe it does. 96khz for 24fps.

Also is it true that F5300 is basically the baby F8500 but with no glare/reflection filters, 3D and smaller power supply?

I think I have never watchjed a plasma without a filter. I wonder how does this picture quality look in a pitch black room...

50 inch Panasonic Viera ST60 (only used for movies)
50 inch Panasonic Viera G20 (only used for sports & gaming)
46 inch Panasonic Viera G10 (retired)
50 inch Pioneer Elite 111FD (ISF-Calibrated by Chad B) http://hdtvbychadb.com/isf-calibration
34HFX83 is offline  
post #1883 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,296
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34HFX83 View Post
Also is it true that F5300 is basically the baby F8500 but with no glare/reflection filters, 3D and smaller power supply?

Yes, and doesn't get nearly as bright.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 34HFX83 View Post
I think I have never watchjed a plasma without a filter. I wonder how does this picture quality look in a pitch black room...

A set without a filter looks more transparent in pitch black room than in a room with ambient light. I prefer no filter myself, but most people want it to limit reflections during daytime viewing.
RWetmore is offline  
post #1884 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by note5 View Post
*******************.com is site I was talking about.
They also have an LCD version for your next TV since it can't be plasma. I will go OLED on my next buy. I got my PN51F5300 for $548 from bestbuy 2 weeks before they stopped carrying plasma.My bedroom TV is the 42" Panasonic TH PX60U plasma. still incredible at 8-9 years old.
Wow, surprised any Best Buys still had a 5300 -- did you track it down, get it from a warehouse, or just get lucky ?

I think my parents have a 42" PX60U in their bedroom -- almost 7 years now. Tried to check the hours a few months ago but couldn't get into the SM.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1885 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
Yes, I believe it does. 96khz for 24fps.
How would one know ? I think when I play back Blu-Rays on the Blu-Ray player it converts it because I see 24p when I hit the Samsung INFO function on the remote.

Not sure I have seen anything on cable with 24p.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1886 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
How would one know ? I think when I play back Blu-Rays on the Blu-Ray player it converts it because I see 24p when I hit the Samsung INFO function on the remote.

Not sure I have seen anything on cable with 24p.
Pop in a Blu-ray and go into the TV settings and turn "Film Mode" to Cinema Smooth.

Find a scene with panning. It's easy to see the difference when switching back and forth.
Soulburner is offline  
post #1887 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Pop in a Blu-ray and go into the TV settings and turn "Film Mode" to Cinema Smooth. Find a scene with panning. It's easy to see the difference when switching back and forth.
What's panning ?

Blu-Ray cartoon or actual film best ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1888 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34HFX83 View Post
Also is it true that F5300 is basically the baby F8500 but with no glare/reflection filters, 3D and smaller power supply?
More or less, plus the pentile display on the 5300 is a step-down. But not by much.

I just don't think the glare/reflection filters are that big a deal unless you have tons of light or lights in the room. You can always buy a Glarestopper product if glare is a problem.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1889 of 2013 Old 10-26-2015, 10:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by note5 View Post
Hey guys. I am new here. I really like some of the "settings" suggestion here.
I am sorry if this has been posted, but I didn't have time to read all 65 pages.
Always good to have another reference set, here is the link to Orion's which everybody here swears by. It's Page 28 in another 5300 Thread, I believe others are either a few pages before/after his.

Here's the link:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...l#post27866097
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1890 of 2013 Old 10-27-2015, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,436
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
Always good to have another reference set, here is the link to Orion's which everybody here swears by. It's Page 28 in another 5300 Thread, I believe others are either a few pages before/after his.

Here's the link:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...l#post27866097
And mine is in my sig.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f5300 51 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off