Pioneer 8G 9G Kuro Reset Guide - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post


QAJ
128
068
018
105
063
086
096
143
128

are you sure they are on order from top to bottom?
if so its not one single value that matches my LX5090
the only one that is close is the last if it is the YKNOFSA D?
the others are way off.

for example
if the second one is VOL OFFSET
most Kuros have a value of 140
and you have 068

i have only one suggestion
Dont do the reset with the values from this guide! smile.gif
pg_ice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

are you sure they are on order from top to bottom?
if so its not one single value that matches my LX5090
the only one that is close is the last if it is the YKNOFSA D?
the others are way off.

for example
if the second one is VOL OFFSET
most Kuros have a value of 140
and you have 068

i have only one suggestion
Dont do the reset with the values from this guide! smile.gif

I do not know the order honestly. From Mitch's PM they are in order. Kuro control just gives number in a straight line. Maybe Mitch can identify here that they are in order.

And I won't touch anything just yet smile.gif
ShockFett is offline  
post #63 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Kuro 500M

Build Date: FEB 09
Hours:5870

QAJ
128
113
018
085
063
138
128
149
128

******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**5F

141 Signature Elite

Build Date: Sept 08
Hours:7264

QAJ
128
068
027
105
063
086
096
143
128
******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**61

141 Signature Elite

Build Date: Oct 08
Hours: 6662

QAJ
128
068
018
105
063
086
096
143
128

******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**61
ShockFett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just ran mine on my 600M. Thanks for the instructions Mitch.

This is what I got.

QAJ
VOL SUS 128
VOL OFFSET 068
VOL RST P 018
VOL XPOPS1 105
VOL XPOFS2 063
VOL YKNOFS1 086
VOL YKNOFS3 096
VOL YKNOFS4 143
VOL YKNOFSA 128
******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**61

Raw string below.
QAJ128068018105063086096143128******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**61


I don't think I have the red problem but I do sometimes see redish blacks on an all black screen. But its pretty rare. It is nice to have this guide though just in case.
Walternate is offline  
post #65 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
What does VOL RST P control?

The reason I ask is, both Walter and I share exactly the same numbers except the VOL RST P on my older 141.

VOL RST P 28 (old) VOL RST P 18 (new)

The older (sept. Build). Does have slight red tint. Wonder if there is a connection.
ShockFett is offline  
post #66 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You're right they are the same. My panel has 9014 hours on it. Build date Oct 2008.
Walternate is offline  
post #67 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
trhe only two values i worries about is these
YKNOFS1D 112
YKNOFS3D 124

all the Elites + the 600M. have those set lower than the new recomended settings.
both stu03/wxman/shawn and i had those set higher at default (just like the 500M listed by Shockfett)
we had to lower those to the recomended settings after the reset.

in the case with the Elites and the 600m you have to raise those two alot if you are going for the recomended settings!
thats the problem
i dont know what effect it will have.

so someone just needs to try wink.gif
or if you lower those two at the same amount as we did,but from your default values.
around -25 for YKNOFS1D
around -4 for YKNOFS3D

that should be for the Elites and the 600M
VOL YKNOFS1 061
VOL YKNOFS3 092

the 500M should be safe for a reset with the recomended settings.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

What does VOL RST P control?

no one needs to touch that
i think its a panel specific setting.

but if you raise it you will also raise the blacklevel.
pg_ice is offline  
post #68 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
no one can destroy their tv after the reset.
and you also can't destroy it when adjusting some voltages.

the problem is to find new optimal values for VOL YKNOFS1 and VOL YKNOFS3.

for VOL SUS and YKNOFSA D its no problem to find new settings that works.
i know exactly what they do.

so go for it!
on your own risk smile.gif
pg_ice is offline  
post #69 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
So if I lower VOL RST P black levels will go down? Look at both my 141s. The one with higher VOL RST P has red tint. Think if I lower it to the other one it will darken the panel?


I might do a reset. So from applying the same settings as non elites the elites would be:

around -25 for YKNOFS1D
around -4 for YKNOFS3D

Correct?

Are these number able to go to negative?
ShockFett is offline  
post #70 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
For those who wants to get back the standard blacks without doing the reset.
The easiest and safest way is just to lower YKNOFSA D
Just put up the 5% window and see how low you can get.
Read the test in the guide just for YKNOFSA D
pg_ice is offline  
post #71 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

So if I lower VOL RST P black levels will go down?

Not that much
pg_ice is offline  
post #72 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post


around -25 for YKNOFS1D
around -4 for YKNOFS3D

Correct?

Are these number able to go to negative?

I meant that you should lower them by 25 and 4

you can see why i wrote
Not for the Elites in the guide smile.gif
pg_ice is offline  
post #73 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

For those who wants to get back the standard blacks without doing the reset.
The easiest and safest way is just to lower YKNOFSA D
Just put up the 5% window and see how low you can get.
Read the test in the guide just for YKNOFSA D

I will have to try this for sure, thank you.
ShockFett is offline  
post #74 of 2691 Old 01-12-2014, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

I meant that you should lower them by 25 and 4

you can see why i wrote
Not for the Elites in the guide smile.gif

Oh ok.

Yup but together we will figure this out hopefully. smile.gif
ShockFett is offline  
post #75 of 2691 Old 01-13-2014, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Mitch,

Any changes with the 101 to report?

What issues do you see?
What has improved?
ShockFett is offline  
post #76 of 2691 Old 01-13-2014, 04:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Mitch,

Any changes with the 101 to report?

What issues do you see?
What has improved?

I've just been watching tv lately, just to run the hours up a bit. I do see magenta sparkles rarely at the top of the screen when it switches to white. I also think I have some black crush, but it might just be from watching heavily compressed tv shows off my hard drive. I put in a Harry Potter movie and it seemed pretty good. I think it may be more of an adjustment needed to my ISF profiles than the tv. I'm having it recalibrated on the 25th.

The only other things I've noticed is that outlines of things (like switching menus that highlight one part of a list) go a bit jagged as they scroll. I am going to hook it back up tonight and adjust things a bit.

Improvements are still the black level. I do get those reddish-black in-between screens when it changes sources or handshakes, but I've read that is normal. It's black when it matters. The centre burn in seems a bit better now. I remember reading in the service manual about a value for this, but I haven't seen it mentioned here that anyone has adjusted it.

MitchPope is offline  
post #77 of 2691 Old 01-13-2014, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchPope View Post

I've just been watching tv lately, just to run the hours up a bit. I do see magenta sparkles rarely at the top of the screen when it switches to white. I also think I have some black crush, but it might just be from watching heavily compressed tv shows off my hard drive. I put in a Harry Potter movie and it seemed pretty good. I think it may be more of an adjustment needed to my ISF profiles than the tv. I'm having it recalibrated on the 25th.

The only other things I've noticed is that outlines of things (like switching menus that highlight one part of a list) go a bit jagged as they scroll. I am going to hook it back up tonight and adjust things a bit.

Improvements are still the black level. I do get those reddish-black in-between screens when it changes sources or handshakes, but I've read that is normal. It's black when it matters. The centre burn in seems a bit better now. I remember reading in the service manual about a value for this, but I haven't seen it mentioned here that anyone has adjusted it.

Thank you Mitch. Please keep us posted. I'm going to wait to see if I want to tackle this according to how well your panel performs.
ShockFett is offline  
post #78 of 2691 Old 01-13-2014, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I think I have sorted a few things out. I upped my VOL SUS to 142 from 128 and that got rid of the magenta sparkles in the top centre of my screen. I then raised YKNOFSA D to 143 from 128 to clean up the edges around moving images. I think it raised my black level a little bit, so I will probably revisit that one. I still have a yellow tinge to the middle of my screen on a 100% white field, but it seems a tiny bit better from raising VOL SUS I assume.

From reading through the service manual, it seems that VOL OFFSET, RST P, YNOFS1, 3 and 4 are specific to the panel. That should be why there is such a variance between sets. The other values match the default ones in the manual.

MitchPope is offline  
post #79 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchPope View Post

I still have a yellow tinge to the middle of my screen on a 100% white field, but it seems a tiny bit better from raising VOL SUS I assume.

try raising VOL SUS even more to 160-170
if that doesnt cleans up the white image then you need to take the backplate off and adjust one voltage regulator
i have a guide for that to smile.gif

the yellow tone in the center is from uneven wear.
less picture changes in the middle of the screen for 5 years makes this appear.
i had it on mine to with 19k hours
pg_ice is offline  
post #80 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

For those who wants to get back the standard blacks without doing the reset.
The easiest and safest way is just to lower YKNOFSA D
Just put up the 5% window and see how low you can get.
Read the test in the guide just for YKNOFSA D

I lowered YKNOFSA D:

Before:128
After:80

No reset, adjustment only to YKNOFSA D. What a difference, thankd you pj ice. Can you guys help me understand the 5% white part? I used my ipad to atv with airplay to put it on my screen. I am not totally sure what I am looking for. So far I don't see any artifacts or magenta.

I do know this information though. I have two spare main boards. I swapped them one time to see what would happen. The board that had 100 hours on it from a set with 6500. I did get a lot of artifacts and tearing. Not sure if this information helps. But, there was no reset on what the new boards changed. Im thinking of doing a reset then putting a new board in with 100 hours to see what would happen. Maybe wont have to adjust volts IDK.
ShockFett is offline  
post #81 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Can you guys help me understand the 5% white part? I used my ipad to atv with airplay to put it on my screen. I am not totally sure what I am looking for.

sounds great
you have just repaired an old engine.
i still recomend to change it to a brand new (do the reset) wink.gif

read the blacktest in the guide for the 5% window.
just watch if you can see any glow in the black parts of the screen in a totally dark room.
pg_ice is offline  
post #82 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

sounds great
you have just repaired an old engine.
i still recomend to change it to a brand new (do the reset) wink.gif

read the blacktest in the guide for the 5% window

Thank you! smile.gif The part I don't understand is what GLOW means? I see the 5% white at any setting. I just don't quite understand.
ShockFett is offline  
post #83 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Thank you! smile.gif The part I don't understand is what GLOW means? I see the 5% white at any setting. I just don't quite understand.

ok
can you see the tv itself?
or do you only see the 5% window?
pg_ice is offline  
post #84 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

ok
can you see the tv itself?
or do you only see the 5% window?

Do you mean can I drop the setting so far the blacks faid into the bezel?

I see three shades.

Bezel
Panel
5% white
ShockFett is offline  
post #85 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Do you mean can I drop the setting so far the blacks faid into the bezel?

yes but maybe not know
you need to to do the reset to get even lower.

just remember to put back YKNOFSA D to 128 before the reset.

what kuro do you have?
pg_ice is offline  
post #86 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

yes but maybe not know
you need to to do the reset to get even lower.

just remember to put back YKNOFSA D to 128 before the reset.

what kuro do you have?

Ok, dropped it lower and I see artifacts now. I understand what you mean by glow.

141 Im doing now.

I have another 141 and a 500m
ShockFett is offline  
post #87 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

I can drop it that low. But what am I looking for ? "glow"

141 Im doing now.

I have another 141 and a 500m
He means can you see any light emanating from the black portion of the screen. A slight glow once your eyes adjust would mean that your pixels aren't completely black yet.

MitchPope is offline  
post #88 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

I can drop it that low. But what am I looking for ? "glow"

141 Im doing now.

I have another 141 and a 500m

ok on the 500m you should not get any glow at all with the 5% window.

for the elites i dont know
they seems to have higher blacks at default.

yes Glow
if you see something glowing on the panel where it should be black.
black is black
black has no glow to it wink.gif

Exact Mitch!
pg_ice is offline  
post #89 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Ok, dropped it lower

lower than 80 is low!
you need to go down to the basement to look for the panel wink.gif
if you do the reset you will have the same deep blacks with YKNOFSA D at 128 as you have now at 80

i have YKNOFSA D at 120 after the reset
no glow
completely black with a 5% window
pg_ice is offline  
post #90 of 2691 Old 01-14-2014, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

lower than 80 is low!
you need to go down to the basement to look for the panel wink.gif
if you do the reset you will have the same deep blacks with YKNOFSA D at 128 as you have now at 80

i have YKNOFSA D at 120 after the reset
no glow
completely black with a 5% window

smile.gif I just dropped it to 72. Everything looks great. I wont ruin anything will I?

Once I get a ZT ill do a reset wink.gif
ShockFett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite Kuro Pro 1150hd 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off