Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels) - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 84 Old 09-04-2015, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,507
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1507 Post(s)
Liked: 1272
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post
Quick Update:

So I decided to patch the 500M and get back the ISF options (lost due to the reset) thanks to Turbe and Cotrolcal. I put D-Nice's numbers in and all is pretty good right now other than some blotchy blacks (only visible if sitting in a dark room looking at a black screen like an OCD patient) and lag or black rain on menus if the screen is black for a while. I am looking at calibration hardware and software right now so I can try and calibrate the unit (and other monitors I have) the correct way. I think I'm still looking for that sweet spot with black levels. Not so much to fool myself that I have an OLED but to get it back as close as possible to factory without the dreaded red tint appearing again.
Just a quick update. Finally had a chance to watch a horror (lots of dark scenes) movie last night and the 500M was wowing me again. The ISF settings really have brought out the best of this panel.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Carver M-500t/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 84 Old 09-28-2015, 08:32 AM
Member
 
filmoreXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 54
It's not often I'm shocked by much in this hobby but tonight after tweaking my KRP500m I am stunned

OLED?

Having returned the LG 9300 for baked in DNR and a myriad of other problems I reluctantly decided to pursue this voltage tweak madness

" bezel blending " blacks is not an exaggeration

With a tiny bias light I can't tell if the TV is even on from normal viewing distance. Too bad Pioneer pulled out of the game

My original values were ( I bought this KRP new and it has 7197 hours on it and I noted the red tint about a year ago)

VOL RST P 34

VOL XKNOFS1 138

VOL XKNOFS3 128

VOL XKNOFS4 149



I changed RST P to 1 and the other voltages as per tubby's first post

Been reading multiple threads in The UK and here and I wonder if anyone knows what these parameters code for?

What does RST P code for ?

If I lower it from 34 to 1 aren't I shooting myself in the foot because in another 7000 hours when the red tint comes back I'll have no room to manoeuvre ?


Kinda feels awkward playing with these parameters when I know diddly squat what they do

And the s1 s3 and s4 voltages how did you guys know what to change them too?

Well done to Eddie , Stu and Pg Ice and all the other experimenters, I hope You guys know what you're doing

My KRP 500m looks like a Panasonic OLED know . Who knows how long the magic will last but D nice's warnings still ring in my head
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	328
Size:	158.1 KB
ID:	965418  

Last edited by filmoreXXX; 09-28-2015 at 08:37 AM.
filmoreXXX is offline  
post #63 of 84 Old 09-28-2015, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmoreXXX View Post
It's not often I'm shocked by much in this hobby but tonight after tweaking my KRP500m I am stunned

OLED?

Having returned the LG 9300 for baked in DNR and a myriad of other problems I reluctantly decided to pursue this voltage tweak madness

" bezel blending " blacks is not an exaggeration

With a tiny bias light I can't tell if the TV is even on from normal viewing distance. Too bad Pioneer pulled out of the game

My original values were ( I bought this KRP new and it has 7197 hours on it and I noted the red tint about a year ago)

VOL RST P 34

VOL XKNOFS1 138

VOL XKNOFS3 128

VOL XKNOFS4 149



I changed RST P to 1 and the other voltages as per tubby's first post

Been reading multiple threads in The UK and here and I wonder if anyone knows what these parameters code for?

What does RST P code for ?

If I lower it from 34 to 1 aren't I shooting myself in the foot because in another 7000 hours when the red tint comes back I'll have no room to manoeuvre ?


Kinda feels awkward playing with these parameters when I know diddly squat what they do

And the s1 s3 and s4 voltages how did you guys know what to change them too?

Well done to Eddie , Stu and Pg Ice and all the other experimenters, I hope You guys know what you're doing

My KRP 500m looks like a Panasonic OLED know . Who knows how long the magic will last but D nice's warnings still ring in my head
Yes you are pretty much out of headroom *IF* the red tint ever comes back, which is why some people elect to reset the pulse meter since a pulse meter reset is akin to dropping rstp to negative values. Too hard to get into specifics but, with reset you can keep RSTP at 18, thereby preserving adjustment headroom, but the panel will look as if RSTP was lowered to like -18 (using arbitrary numbers). At the same time, you will have to adjust other voltages to get them back in line with the panel's age, so it's not worth the trouble doing to at this point in time.

Keep in mind that since you didn't lower s1, s3 and s4 (or yknofsa d which adjusts those three in unison) you still have a 20 tick reduction headroom with that particular voltage and it provides a more dramatic effect than lowering RSTP.

In short, you should be fine for a really long time.
filmoreXXX likes this.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 84 Old 09-28-2015, 06:31 PM
Member
 
filmoreXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Fair enough

But does anyone know what these parameters code for ?

I mean I had nothing to lose because a red tinted kuro looks terrible but it's a pity no engineers have stated what these parameters code for.

I hope you are right that the red tint doesn't come back , but I seem to recall one fellow other here or AVforums had the red tint come back- can't remember if he did a reset First or just a voltage tweak

Like I said , without these service menu adjustments, being in Australia, without a calibrator like d-nice, I was ready to take my kuro to landfill. Now I'm back in love with it.
filmoreXXX is offline  
post #65 of 84 Old 09-29-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 351
RSTP adjusts the panel's rest pulse while yknofsa d adjust the 3 sub fields (whatever that means). Try lowering yknofsa d from 128 to 108 for even more inkier blacks.
filmoreXXX likes this.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #66 of 84 Old 09-30-2015, 06:25 AM
Member
 
filmoreXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Thanks mv. Has anyone worked out what rest pulse means?
filmoreXXX is offline  
post #67 of 84 Old 01-17-2017, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 22
MY screen is showing alot of clouding after messing with voltages, i think i might just restore values and deal with the red tint. it wasn't that bad.

did anyone else get what looks like clouding after messing with the voltages?

its very annoying seeing all this clouding on a plasma on a all black screen.
Jacinto1023 is offline  
post #68 of 84 Old 01-17-2017, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacinto1023 View Post
MY screen is showing alot of clouding after messing with voltages, i think i might just restore values and deal with the red tint. it wasn't that bad.

did anyone else get what looks like clouding after messing with the voltages?

its very annoying seeing all this clouding on a plasma on a all black screen.
What are your current voltages and what model do you have?

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #69 of 84 Old 01-18-2017, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
What are your current voltages and what model do you have?
Kuro 111FD

Voltages are about 20 values under originals.
Jacinto1023 is offline  
post #70 of 84 Old 01-20-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacinto1023 View Post
Kuro 111FD

Voltages are about 20 values under originals.
Which ones were modified?

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #71 of 84 Old 02-04-2017, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just bought a Elite 101FD with ~14,000 hours in Orange County. Built date is March 2009.

Mad props to makaveddie for the tips he gave me a few weeks ago on reducing red tint and eliminating 3 intermittent sub pixels on my Elite 101FD.

-----
Watching NBA on TNT with this set post-tweak is just bonkers and the motion resolution is second to none (set [I-P mode] to 1 and [Drive Mode] to 3, and [Enhancer Mode] to Natural for 1080i live sources) would not say my 101FD is OLED-like. 101FD is like the bigger and vastly improved Toshiba Theaterwide 34hfx83 CRT I used to have.
makaveddie81 likes this.
34-hfx-83 is offline  
post #72 of 84 Old 02-26-2017, 08:07 AM
Cuk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys

Is anyone who has experience with these settings in and around the West Midlands area? My problem is I don't have a pc! So any help would be good. Seems a shame to be putting up with this red tint if I don't need too

Regards
Cuk is offline  
post #73 of 84 Old 05-10-2017, 04:41 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will those lowered voltage settings also work on 111fd or is there different (newer thread for 111fd?)

I have red tinted blacks and i would like to try this to get rid of them. I'm assuming i will need kuro command not kuro control as it doesn't work on 111fd correct? @makaveddie81

Btw what movie is that pictured and what's the best movie to test black levels. I think i have batman movie but what's best to test this red tint on?

My Manufact date is 2009, Feb...will have to check hours i service menu.


Can you post an example of the range you referring to in this sentence
"When adjusting voltages, make sure you do it at the same amount/distance between them up or down inside the adjustment range"

Last edited by stewieHD; 05-10-2017 at 06:18 PM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #74 of 84 Old 05-10-2017, 10:47 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried this program and i can connect. I can enter Informational menu with FAY command
I issue second command to get into Service menu with command FACS01 and it fails with ERRor. Anyone had this issue? @makaveddie81

and since i'm not in service menu but informational menu there is no Panel -1 adj +


Kuro Control

5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Connecting to COM1...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Connect Succeeded
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command ISN...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = XXX
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command failed
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command OSDS01...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = OSDS01
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command INP...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = INPS83
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command QST...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = ERR
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command failed
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Index was outside the bounds of the array.
5/10/2017 11:19:21 PM Sending Command FAY...
5/10/2017 11:19:22 PM Command reply = FAY

5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Sending Command FACS01...
5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Command reply = ERR
5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Command failed

5/10/2017 11:20:01 PM Exiting...

Last edited by stewieHD; 05-11-2017 at 09:50 AM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #75 of 84 Old 05-11-2017, 09:53 AM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I clicked on that link for Kuro Command Program from @makaveddie81 but i don't have access to it.
Anyone can make this available to me please @makaveddie81 @ShockFett @hitman @pg_ice @tubby497
stewieHD is offline  
post #76 of 84 Old 05-11-2017, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
I clicked on that link for Kuro Command Program from @makaveddie81 but i don't have access to it.
Anyone can make this available to me please @makaveddie81 @ShockFett @hitman @pg_ice @tubby497
Check your PMs

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #77 of 84 Old 12-09-2017, 03:08 PM
Member
 
lessblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my 500m doesn't seem to have a red tint issue yet. but i am wondering is someone could help me with info on getting and applying the ISF patches which i never did many years ago. i will use this tv till it absolutely dies.
lessblue is offline  
post #78 of 84 Old 12-08-2018, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, just adjusted al the settings like instructed. Good to see that the red tint is completely gone and there again is no difference between the screen turned on without images and off. Thanks for the advice. One question: tried some of the masks but couldn’t find the black level mask with the percentages. Where can I find it? Thanks!
Bas Aukes is offline  
post #79 of 84 Old 12-29-2019, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer KRP-500A

Hello!
I am proudly owner of Pioneer KURO Plasma KRP-500A and I want to fix the red tint with your help. In my case, where should I connect the RS232 cable, to the Media Receiver (KRP-M01) OR to the Panel (KRP-500P)? I tried both, but everytime when I try to connect to KuroControl program it says: 12/29/2019 9:07:21 PM Connecting to COM3...
12/29/2019 9:07:22 PM Connect Succeeded
12/29/2019 9:07:22 PM Sending Command ISN...
12/29/2019 9:07:24 PM The operation has timed out.
12/29/2019 9:07:24 PM Sending Command OSDS01...
12/29/2019 9:07:26 PM The operation has timed out.
12/29/2019 9:07:26 PM Sending Command INP...
12/29/2019 9:07:28 PM The operation has timed out.
12/29/2019 9:07:28 PM command returned unexpected format
12/29/2019 9:07:28 PM Sending Command QST...
12/29/2019 9:07:30 PM The operation has timed out.
12/29/2019 9:07:33 PM Sending Command PON...
12/29/2019 9:07:35 PM The operation has timed out.
12/29/2019 9:07:35 PM Sending Command QST...
12/29/2019 9:07:37 PM The operation has timed out.

Can you please help me?
Thank you very much!
Best regards.
rari.paunescu is offline  
post #80 of 84 Old 12-29-2019, 10:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rari.paunescu View Post
Hello!
I am proudly owner of Pioneer KURO Plasma KRP-500A and I want to fix the red tint with your help. In my case, where should I connect the RS232 cable, to the Media Receiver (KRP-M01) OR to the Panel (KRP-500P)?
Connect the cable to the media box but you are using the wrong program.
Kuro control only works with the monitors 500M/PRO-101FD.

use Kuro Command instead
i oly have 2 posts so i cant post links but google "Kuro Command" and you will find it.
Bejas is offline  
post #81 of 84 Old 12-30-2019, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejas View Post
Connect the cable to the media box but you are using the wrong program.
Kuro control only works with the monitors 500M/PRO-101FD.

use Kuro Command instead
i oly have 2 posts so i cant post links but google "Kuro Command" and you will find it.
Hello!
Thank you very much for your answer regarding my topic on how to remove red tint for my Pioneer KRP-500A.
I tried to use the KURO Command program connected to the Media Receiver, but every time when I send a command nothing happens. I was able to connect to COM3, but every time when I try to send a command like "FAY" or "FACS01" nothing happens.
I also looked on the Service Manual of the Media Receiver, on how to enter in the Service Factory Menu and it says that:

"Before entering Factory mode of the PDP, make sure that the "HD AV Converter" setting on the PDP menu is set to "Disable."
If it is set to "Enable," change it to "Disable" then enter Factory mode.
To confirm the "HD AV Converter" setting on the PDP menu, proceed as follows:
Select HOME MENU, Option, then HD AV Converter in HDMI Control Setting.
Note: If "HD AV Converter" is set to "Enable," the video/audio signals will not be displayed/output even if external equipment
is connected via input connectors other than INPUT 4 of the PDP."

And I looked all night on how to do that and I didn't find an answer.
Can you please help me?
Thank you!
rari.paunescu is offline  
post #82 of 84 Old 12-30-2019, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I can only think of two problems
Either the cable is wrong
it must be an straight through rs232 cable not an Null Modem.
Or you dont have any video signal to the tv.
the tv must be on with an video signal not on standby.

To enter the service menu on the 500As you just send FAY
FACS01 is for the 500M/PRO-101FD
Bejas is offline  
post #83 of 84 Old 01-02-2020, 02:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I successfully managed to enter in the Service Menu and to change the voltages (VOL YKNOFS1 D, VOL YKNOFS3 D and VOL YKNOFS4 D) and now I really have the OLED blacks with no red tint. It's really AMAZING and almost unbelievable how is seeing now. I can only say: "seeing and hearing like never before"!

Now the only think that I need to fix is the "black rain" that appeared after I adjusted the voltages.
The "black rain" looks exactly like the 10th picture posted on AVS Forum by pg_ice on the "Pioneer 8G 9G KURO reset guide" forum. (I don't have enough credits to post links/images)

Any idea on how to fix the "black rain"?

Thank you very much!
rari.paunescu is offline  
post #84 of 84 Old 01-02-2020, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rari.paunescu View Post
I successfully managed to enter in the Service Menu and to change the voltages (VOL YKNOFS1 D, VOL YKNOFS3 D and VOL YKNOFS4 D)
Now the only think that I need to fix is the "black rain" that appeared after I adjusted the voltages.
you get black rain because you have reduced those voltages.
those three voltages controls pixel response.
black rain is just slow pixel response.

Only adjust blacks with the RSTP voltage.
to get blacks close to 0 with faster pixel response you have to do an reset.
RSTP is already set high internally and you cant control it.
the only thing you can do is to set RSTP to 001 in the servicemenu.
But internally RSTP is probably around 030 to 040 depending on how many hours that tv has.
Doing a reset zeros out the internal RSTP raise and you get much more headroom to lower it in the service menu.
i hope you get it

And on 9G Kuros you dont adjust VOL YKNOFS1 D, VOL YKNOFS3 D and VOL YKNOFS4 D individually.
you adjust VOL YKNOFSA D as it controls those three voltages
VOL YKNOFSA D is only adjusted after a reset not before.

Last edited by Bejas; 01-02-2020 at 04:08 PM.
Bejas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off