Bricked LG 50PA6500 - forced firmware update failed - options ? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-27-2015, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Bricked LG 50PA6500 - forced firmware update failed - options ?

Hi All,

Short version is:
I forced a firmware update and it seems to have bricked the set.
Looking to see what my options are for repair; replace a board ? which one ? Anything that can be done over the serial port ?

Longer version:
I had a bit too much time on my hands and was trying to resolve some issues with using a Chromecast dongle on my LG 50PA6500.
Decided a firmware update might help. Not sure where I found this version of the firmware, but it was:
GP4_13Y_LM1_ATSC_PDP_MP_RevNo4803_V04.00.03_usb_V2 _SECURED.epk
The set wouldn't recognize it through the normal update menu, so looked up info on the service menu - it saw the file and allowed me
to try and update with it. Failed. Set will turn on and just show an alternating pattern of pink & moss green lines, the power
cable needs to be pulled to turn off.

I'm willing/able to disassemble and replace the components, but have no idea where to start.

Any help or suggestions appreciated, thanks!

Images attached or available here:
http://imgur.com/a/O6j7L
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 - sC4n0cC.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	141.1 KB
ID:	854298   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 - LbT9WLy.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	89.6 KB
ID:	854306   Click image for larger version

Name:	3 - bP1zwcY.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	157.7 KB
ID:	854314  
sbaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-07-2016, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How did you get to the service menu

I cannot get to it on a 50pa6500
Christompa is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-07-2016, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christompa View Post
I cannot get to it on a 50pa6500
Sorry, don't remember how I did it... I'm sure I searched around a bit & found something that allowed me to get there. Was not a good result, still hoping to buy a board to fix the set up at some point... it was a good tv till I mucked with it.
sbaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 10-08-2016, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,933
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3578 Post(s)
Liked: 2768
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbaker View Post
... Not sure where I found this version of the firmware...
I've performed more than a hundred firmware updates on various devices over the years without a single problem. The common denominator is that all firmware updates were found on the support websites of the various device manufacturers. I'm also aware of many different hacked and modified firmware updates floating around the web. So I would just say it's really important to know the source of a firmware update before trying to install it.

Checking the LG website, the official firmware update file has exactly the same name as the one you posted. If you got the update from the LG website then it should be a good one. If you downloaded it from a different site it could be a hacked one. One thing you might want to try if possible is downloading the official LG firmware update and see if you can get it to load from the USB port. Here's a link:

lg.com/us/support-product/lg-50PA6500

Be sure to follow instructions:

Quote:
Step 3. Upgrade TV

a. Make a folder “LG_DTV” on USB drive
b. Save the software in “LG_DTV” folder
c. Insert USB memory drive into USB port on TV
d. Select “Start” if “TV Software Upgrade” Pop-up appears.
e. TV upgrade will start and restart automatically after completed

Note) If current software on TV is same with or newer than that on USB drive, TV Software Upgrade menu won’t be opened. (Some USB memory devices may not be compatible with TV)

Please wait while the update is copied to TV.

※ Don’t remove USB drive while this message is displayed.
※ Do not unplug TV power cord while this message is displayed. Software upgrade is on progress.
※ Do not unplug TV power cord while this message is displayed.

After the upgrade is completed, this message is displayed. TV will restart automatically in 5 sec., then TV is ready to use.
Dave in Green is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-10-2016, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I 'think' it was from an LG site, but might not have been the US one. Happened over a year ago so I'm not too sure... I probably still have the file around somewhere to get a checksum from it if curious. In the state the tv was left though... there are no options for further update attempts, tis truly bricked; just shows the pink & green pattern in the pictures. I did try to see if access was still available via the COMM port with a null modem cable... but even there it seemed to be garbled. Think I need a new main board for the set if going to be able to rescue it. Thanks :-)
sbaker is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-11-2016, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,933
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3578 Post(s)
Liked: 2768
If you can't find a new mainboard, another possibility might be to take your plasma to a TV repair shop that has experience with LG products. It's possible they may have equipment to force a firmware update. The process for a forced firmware update should be the same as with an LG LCD TV, so the repair shop wouldn't even need experience with plasmas. You could call around to find a shop with this capability before loading the plasma into your car.
Dave in Green is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brick , firmware , firmware update , repair , serial io commands

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off