Section of screen has gone black - Panasonic TC-65PS64 (Costco version of the S60) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-20-2019, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Question Section of screen has gone black - Panasonic TC-65PS64 (Costco version of the S60)

Hi Everyone,

I have a plasma Panasonic TC-65PS64 (the Costco version of the S60) and a few days ago, a vertical black section on the right side of the screen appeared. And it has a few multi-colored vertical lines running through it. Does anyone know what is likely causing this? Is it worth fixing?

I have attached a photo of it to this post.

I bought the TV in early 2014.

Thanks very much
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1285.JPG
Views:	34
Size:	749.4 KB
ID:	2618084  

Last edited by mraya77; 09-21-2019 at 09:52 AM.
mraya77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-21-2019, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,265
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 396
If you're lucky it could just be an internal cable connection issue. You could try re-seating the ribbon cables inside one by one, trying TV again for each one, and see if you have some luck. But if you're not comfortable and unfamiliar with basic safety procedures for going into the back of the set, it might not be a good idea. Hopefully some other AVSers will have some suggestions.
RWetmore is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-21-2019, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thank you, RW. Yeah, I have zero experience in repairing or even just opening up a TV but I am open to possibly doing it, if I feel confident enough and know exactly what I should look for and do.
mraya77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 11-05-2019, 12:20 PM
Member
 
talasila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have the exact same issue with my TC-65PS64. Ordered a replacement c1 buffer board off ebay ($12) and will attempt a fix this weekend.
talasila is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-05-2019, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by talasila View Post
Have the exact same issue with my TC-65PS64. Ordered a replacement c1 buffer board off ebay ($12) and will attempt a fix this weekend.
Interesting. Please let us know how it goes. Thanks!
mraya77 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-08-2019, 04:13 PM
Member
 
talasila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraya77 View Post
Interesting. Please let us know how it goes. Thanks!
I swapped out the C1 buffer board with a new one and cleaned the ribbon cables - but the problem persists. Looks like it's the panel unfortunately.

On the bright side, if it had to break there's no better time than around Black Friday!
talasila is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-08-2019, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mraya77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by talasila View Post
I swapped out the C1 buffer board with a new one and cleaned the ribbon cables - but the problem persists. Looks like it's the panel unfortunately.

On the bright side, if it had to break there's no better time than around Black Friday!
Thanks very much for the update. Sorry it didn't work out. For my S64, I was told by several local technicians that it's a screen problem and there is no feasible solution. So, I ended up getting about 5.5 years out of that TV. I have a Panasonic plasma ST50 that is about 7.5 years old running perfectly, a basic plasma Samsung that is about 5.5 years old running perfectly, and a basic Vizio LED that is about 7.5 years old running perfectly (and the ST50 and the Vizio have WAY more viewing hours than the S64 did). So, I am disappointed I didn't get more life out of the S64, especially because it was a lot of money for me and it was the living room TV. So, I ended up replacing the S64 with an LG OLED B8, which I just hooked up a few days ago. Yeah, you're right - if there ever was a time to buy a TV, this is a pretty good time!

Last edited by mraya77; 11-08-2019 at 07:49 PM.
mraya77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off