NEC new plasma thread!!! - 42xr4, 50xr5, 61xr4 - Page 156 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 4664 Old 11-25-2015, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 61XR4 is now 9.5 years old. I just checked on the hours counter in the service menu and it is over 22,000!

Still looks fabulous.
jvincent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 4664 Old 11-25-2015, 08:40 AM
Member
 
peters4n6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvincent View Post
My 61XR4 is now 9.5 years old. I just checked on the hours counter in the service menu and it is over 22,000!

Still looks fabulous.
didn't realize one could check the hours. is that a special menu or something i can easily access with my remote?
peters4n6 is offline  
post #4653 of 4664 Old 11-25-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's in the service menu, but service menu codes aren't allowed to be posted in the forum.
jvincent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4654 of 4664 Old 03-16-2016, 06:14 PM
Member
 
peters4n6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvincent View Post
It's in the service menu, but service menu codes aren't allowed to be posted in the forum.
Finally checked my service menu. 7491 hours! (i watch more in my bedroom on a different tv)
peters4n6 is offline  
post #4655 of 4664 Old 08-24-2018, 12:59 PM
Member
 
peters4n6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by peters4n6 View Post
Finally checked my service menu. 7491 hours! (i watch more in my bedroom on a different tv)
TV still won't die! 12-1/2 years old and picture still awesome.
wblynch and Bruce2019 like this.
peters4n6 is offline  
post #4656 of 4664 Old 08-24-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 42
My nephew is still using my NEC. I had it on the wall for 13 years before he took it. No idea how many hours
wblynch is offline  
post #4657 of 4664 Old 08-31-2018, 10:47 AM
Member
 
sakaike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakaike View Post
50XR5A from around 2005 still going great. Has migrated from the family room to the master bedroom (now), but soon to be relegated to the guest bedroom. Being replaced in the master by a Pioneer 1080P 50", which in turn was replaced in the family room last year by a Panny 65VT50.
Almost five years later and this thing won't die! Has been in the guest bedroom mentioned above for a few years and gets regular use. Would love to get lower electricity consumption, better picture and eliminate the space heater effect by replacing with an OLED, but none of those factors are enough to push me over the edge.
sakaike is offline  
post #4658 of 4664 Old 06-22-2019, 10:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I picked up the 50XR5 second hand a few days back and this thread has been a godsend.

Using a Crestron HD to downscale to 1080p signals to 1366x768 (primarily Netflix) and display 720p signals at 1:1 (letter and pillar boxed).

There is only one LCD now left in the house (my PC monitor) and I intend to replace that with a Sony OLED PVM.
NutmegAbuser is offline  
post #4659 of 4664 Old 06-24-2019, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Disabling the “limit pc” setting in the service menu take this TV from very good to absolutely breathtaking.

I can’t believe this panel only has four and half thousand hours on it. What a steal for $35!!!
NutmegAbuser is offline  
post #4660 of 4664 Old 06-25-2019, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CruelInventions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago-ish
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1231 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
... Brings back memories when NEC was still a real player in the consumer panel market.
CruelInventions is offline  
post #4661 of 4664 Old 09-09-2019, 10:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If you are using a DVDO VP30 etc to drive this TV you will need a device like the Dr HDMI configured with a custom EDID otherwise you will not get true 1:1 output.

The issue as far as I can tell is with the format the DVDO outputs. It appears to output HDMI RGB 444 when it needs to be DVI RGB 444.
NutmegAbuser is offline  
post #4662 of 4664 Old 09-16-2019, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutmegAbuser View Post
If you are using a DVDO VP30 etc to drive this TV you will need a device like the Dr HDMI configured with a custom EDID otherwise you will not get true 1:1 output.

The issue as far as I can tell is with the format the DVDO outputs. It appears to output HDMI RGB 444 when it needs to be DVI RGB 444.
It’s a shame I can’t private message XR5 owners, there were numerous ppl in this thread who never managed to figure out how to drive their display at 1:1 native resolution.
NutmegAbuser is offline  
post #4663 of 4664 Old 09-17-2019, 01:52 AM
Member
 
MinkyMomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutmegAbuser View Post
If you are using a DVDO VP30 etc to drive this TV you will need a device like the Dr HDMI configured with a custom EDID otherwise you will not get true 1:1 output.

The issue as far as I can tell is with the format the DVDO outputs. It appears to output HDMI RGB 444 when it needs to be DVI RGB 444.
My 50XR4 is still going strong as my primary TV, despite my fervent hope that it would finally give me an excuse to go bigger, but back when I had a VP30 Pro (which I've since sold), I had no trouble using it to get beautiful 1:1 output (1080i @ 1365x768)...

UPDATE: Unlike my 50XR4, my memory's going bad--I had a VP50Pro.

Last edited by MinkyMomo; 09-17-2019 at 02:09 AM. Reason: Added ref to native resolution;
MinkyMomo is offline  
post #4664 of 4664 Old 09-19-2019, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinkyMomo View Post
My 50XR4 is still going strong as my primary TV, despite my fervent hope that it would finally give me an excuse to go bigger, but back when I had a VP30 Pro (which I've since sold), I had no trouble using it to get beautiful 1:1 output (1080i @ 1365x768)...

UPDATE: Unlike my 50XR4, my memory's going bad--I had a VP50Pro.
The XR4 may not have the same problem as the XR5. The same issue persists even when using a VP50Pro (I have a VP30 and VP50 Pro).
NutmegAbuser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 235 7 1 Channel Audio Video Surround Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off