Panasonic TH-58PE75U - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 553 Old 11-01-2007, 06:36 PM
Member
 
rogercor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thinking of getting this set.

anyone own it?
We need some feedback!!!
rogercor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 553 Old 11-01-2007, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
briang191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogercor View Post

thinking of getting this set.

anyone own it?
We need some feedback!!!

not to jack this post put has anyone noticed that costo.com is now selling pioneer elites and the panny TH-58PZ700U i wonder if they will have these units in the store anytime soon
briang191 is offline  
post #33 of 553 Old 11-01-2007, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ottodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Idaho Springs, CO
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There must be a misprint on the box of this set, it shows 68.7 billion colors, but only the 1080p sets have 68.7.
ottodog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 553 Old 11-01-2007, 11:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,957
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6865 Post(s)
Liked: 6864
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #35 of 553 Old 11-02-2007, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
daehreppans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Panasonic support people told me it is a derivative of the TH-58PZ700. However, it is definitely not 1080p, and has fewer inputs than the TH-58PZ700 as can be seen on the link to the manual for the TH-58PE75U that is pasted earlier in this thread. The TH-58PE75U is a 720p native resolution that will now scale a 1080p input signal. The previous 720p sets didn't specify that capability. Seems to be one key upgrade for this model.
daehreppans is offline  
post #36 of 553 Old 11-03-2007, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have my PS3 outputting 1080p over HDMI to my 60u. Doesn't that confirm that the 60u can accept 1080p?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daehreppans View Post

The Panasonic support people told me it is a derivative of the TH-58PZ700. However, it is definitely not 1080p, and has fewer inputs than the TH-58PZ700 as can be seen on the link to the manual for the TH-58PE75U that is pasted earlier in this thread. The TH-58PE75U is a 720p native resolution that will now scale a 1080p input signal. The previous 720p sets didn't specify that capability. Seems to be one key upgrade for this model.

Gerry S is offline  
post #37 of 553 Old 11-03-2007, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,957
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6865 Post(s)
Liked: 6864
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #38 of 553 Old 11-03-2007, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,957
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6865 Post(s)
Liked: 6864
Quote:
Originally Posted by daehreppans View Post

The Panasonic support people told me it is a derivative of the TH-58PZ700. However, it is definitely not 1080p, and has fewer inputs than the TH-58PZ700 as can be seen on the link to the manual for the TH-58PE75U that is pasted earlier in this thread. The TH-58PE75U is a 720p native resolution that will now scale a 1080p input signal. The previous 720p sets didn't specify that capability. Seems to be one key upgrade for this model.

I think they ment the actual unit is based of the TH-58PH10UK.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #39 of 553 Old 11-07-2007, 05:57 AM
Newbie
 
ataritoday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The box states that the contrast ration is 10,000 to 1, does that help determine what the model is based on ?

I'm trying to decide between this set and Pioneers PDP 6070 (which is a bit more expensive). Can anyone give pro's and con's between the sets ?

I'm a total newbie to the forums, thanks to everyone who posts here, the info has been very helpful.
ataritoday is offline  
post #40 of 553 Old 11-07-2007, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

possibly, depends on the output setting of the playstations 3??

The PS3 is set to output 1080p.
Gerry S is offline  
post #41 of 553 Old 11-07-2007, 07:16 AM
Member
 
bagwell-05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by briang191 View Post

not to jack this post put has anyone noticed that costo.com is now selling pioneer elites and the panny TH-58PZ700U i wonder if they will have these units in the store anytime soon

I don't see it anywhere on the website...link????????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottodog View Post

There must be a misprint on the box of this set, it shows 68.7 billion colors, but only the 1080p sets have 68.7.

I noticed this as well......hummmm.....
bagwell-05 is offline  
post #42 of 553 Old 11-07-2007, 07:21 AM
Member
 
bagwell-05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry S View Post

The PS3 is set to output 1080p.

I think that's a good sign....

..at a Conn's store there was a bluray player outputting 1080p to a 1080p 60" plasma.....I asked the salesman to hook it up to a 60" 768p plasma; the tv had no video until he figured out how to switch the bluray output to 1080i.

so yes, if your tv is 768p then your TV is accepting the 1080p and scaling it to 1080i (as was said above)....which is a good thing.
bagwell-05 is offline  
post #43 of 553 Old 11-07-2007, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
RUSTY PELICAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagwell-05 View Post

I don't see it anywhere on the website...link????????????????

Go to costco dot com, click on "electronics" [upper right-hand side], then click on "television", then click on "plasma", and then click on "50 inch" size ...they have recently added a Pioneer Elite 1080p #110FD to their inventory (which is updated several times a month).

Interesting that a Panasonic 1080p plasma on sale for over a month has now increased by $200.
RUSTY PELICAN is offline  
post #44 of 553 Old 11-08-2007, 08:25 PM
Member
 
srt8-in-largo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ataritoday View Post

The box states that the contrast ration is 10,000 to 1, does that help determine what the model is based on ?

I'm trying to decide between this set and Pioneers PDP 6070 (which is a bit more expensive). Can anyone give pro's and con's between the sets ?

I'm a total newbie to the forums, thanks to everyone who posts here, the info has been very helpful.

No longer on the Costco site. Wonder if it's gone...oh well the 6070 is a great set.
srt8-in-largo is offline  
post #45 of 553 Old 11-08-2007, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUSTY PELICAN View Post

Go to costco dot com, click on "electronics" [upper right-hand side], then click on "television", then click on "plasma", and then click on "50 inch" size ...they have recently added a Pioneer Elite 1080p #110FD to their inventory (which is updated several times a month).

Interesting that a Panasonic 1080p plasma on sale for over a month has now increased by $200.

Retailers can sell outdated, clearanced, or discontinued Pioneer products online.

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #46 of 553 Old 11-10-2007, 09:38 PM
Member
 
swdude12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well if that is so...i believe i will have to pick one up. If my costco still has this tv for sale could i get a price match because its within the 30 days?
swdude12 is offline  
post #47 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hung the tv in my family room last night and I like it. It replaced a 42" panasonic plasma. HD material looks very good. The 4th quarter of the Giants game in HD looked excellent. After the game I hooked up the Toshiba HD-D2 HD DVD player (my 3rd in the house), that I bought with the TV at costco for $169.99. PQ was amazing. I demoed King Kong, Riddick, Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift, Batman, Hot Fuzz...all looked phenomenol. I also hooked up a PS3 temporarily to check out some blu discs with similar results. 5th element looked fantastic. All sources hooked up via HDMI.

Overall it's probably the best bang for the buck on the market right now IMO. For me though, I think it might be a little too big. I have a dedicated theater downstairs with a FP and 106" screen, so I don't know if I need a 58" plasma in my family room. I may return it and get the 50" panny 1080P model. I have 90 days so I'll let it simmer for a awhile before I decide. The tv is VERY heavy....I'd say close to 200lbs.



Here are some pics...
http://gallery.avsforum.com/showfull.php?photo=27115
http://gallery.avsforum.com/showfull.php?photo=27114
Herman is offline  
post #48 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Eddiemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one.
I had a Pioneer 5040 and took it back to Costco with sound problems.
Got the Panny TH-58PE75U same day.

Picture out of the box is very impressive, looks great.
Turned the torch down a bit and brought the brightness up a little.
Picture is very crisp with HD picture(comcast)
I had a phenomenal picture with the Pio and am now tweaking the panny slightly to get a picture I would like.

Sound is ok, no BBE.

Sony DVP-S9000es via component.
Comcast Cable via component.
Linn AV-5103 via S-video.

No VGA which I miss, I will try hooking up my computer via DVI to HDMI.

Running the Burn-in DVD each night.

'When Fascism Comes to This Country, It Will Be Wrapped in the Flag Carrying a Cross'
Sinclair Lewis.
Eddiemc is offline  
post #49 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Eddiemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swdude12 View Post

Its going to be my first plasma... Any more first impressions on this TV? Watch mostly sports, HD stuff and movies... Ill be sitting about 11-12 ft back. They only thing that bothers me about this tv is the silver trim...but whatever.

SD is ok
HD content is very good, sports are excellent.
DVD movies are very good.

You will not be disappoined.

'When Fascism Comes to This Country, It Will Be Wrapped in the Flag Carrying a Cross'
Sinclair Lewis.
Eddiemc is offline  
post #50 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swdude12 View Post

Its going to be my first plasma... Any more first impressions on this TV? Watch mostly sports, HD stuff and movies... Ill be sitting about 11-12 ft back. They only thing that bothers me about this tv is the silver trim...but whatever.

I'm sitting about 14ft back, so you should be ok at 12 ft back. I didn't care for the silver trim either but looking at it on my wall now it actually looks good and matches my decor nicely.
Herman is offline  
post #51 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 11:14 AM
Member
 
swdude12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be there for black friday then for sure. Unless prices go down on Visual apex, which i doubt the are. Sounds like a great deal on a 58" especially for a panasonic. By far the panasonics looked the best at Costco especially compared to the Vizios.
swdude12 is offline  
post #52 of 553 Old 11-12-2007, 11:32 AM
Moderator
Moderator
 
Woodrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 6,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Some posts removed

Please folks, no price, coupon discussion. No retail links, and NO black friday sales discussions.

Also, discussion specific to Costco belongs in the Costco master thread.

Thanks for the cooperation.

W
Woodrow is offline  
post #53 of 553 Old 11-13-2007, 04:53 PM
Member
 
joe55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eddiemc,
Any luck getting your PC up on this display? Using Windows? MCE? What PC output rez?
Thxs, Joe
joe55 is offline  
post #54 of 553 Old 11-15-2007, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Cons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Costco still carrying this 58" Plasma Model 58PE75U on their shelves?

Cons
Cons is offline  
post #55 of 553 Old 11-15-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. My local Costco had 2 of them as of last night.
Herman is offline  
post #56 of 553 Old 11-15-2007, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Cons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herman View Post

Yep. My local Costco had 2 of them as of last night.

Thanks!

Cons
Cons is offline  
post #57 of 553 Old 11-15-2007, 10:21 PM
Member
 
Eddiemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe55 View Post

Eddiemc,
Any luck getting your PC up on this display? Using Windows? MCE? What PC output rez?
Thxs, Joe


Yes, did it last night. Looks really good, even close up.
Windows XP Pro
DVI out from Nvidia GeForce 7800GT video card.

Had to set to underscan and then stretch the screen about an inch horizontal and vertical.

Set the format to 1080p
Res is at 1824 x 1036




'When Fascism Comes to This Country, It Will Be Wrapped in the Flag Carrying a Cross'
Sinclair Lewis.
Eddiemc is offline  
post #58 of 553 Old 11-16-2007, 01:24 AM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Nice. Can I ask what TV stand you're using in that family room?
SlackerX is offline  
post #59 of 553 Old 11-16-2007, 03:21 PM
Member
 
joe55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eddiemc,
Yeah text & graphics on yer screen really does look good!

Thanks for the helpful screen shots to setup PC video output; I assume the Res at 1824 x 1036 is the result of stretching the screen?

Anyway, the PC interface question WAS my last hurdle; I'm pullin' the trigger (in the next week) on this Panny.

Moran taing (many thanks), Joe
joe55 is offline  
post #60 of 553 Old 11-16-2007, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Eddiemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe55 View Post

Eddiemc,
Yeah text & graphics on yer screen really does look good!

Thanks for the helpful screen shots to setup PC video output; I assume the Res at 1824 x 1036 is the result of stretching the screen?

Anyway, the PC interface question WAS my last hurdle; I'm pullin' the trigger (in the next week) on this Panny.

Moran taing (many thanks), Joe

The res was from the computer, nothing I imputed.

The picture looks much better in person, the camera does not do it any justice.

Good luck with the TV you will love it.

'When Fascism Comes to This Country, It Will Be Wrapped in the Flag Carrying a Cross'
Sinclair Lewis.
Eddiemc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off