Where to find cable / transfers to DisplayPort 1.2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 04-02-2014, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Where to find cable / transfers to DisplayPort 1.2   device transmits the 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2

WhyJoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 04-02-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Wanna say that in English?
Joe Fernand likes this.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 04:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Where to find cable DisplayPort 1.2 ( 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2 )

Now you know where to Find  a cable with a  full standard for video card amd 290

WhyJoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Make it simpler for folk to try and help you out!

List the devices you are hoping to connect – Make, Model and Part number (no abbreviations).

Ideally provide a link to the Products online User Manual.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,372
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
I'm completely at a loss on this. DisplayPort to HDMI adapters haven't changed to my knowledge, and there is only one type of connection. The AMD 290 video chipset cards which have DisplayPort use the same DisplayPort which everything else uses, which means that this adapter, or any similar adapter will work fine to my knowledge:

http://www.amazon.com/Startech-DP2HDMI-DisplayPort-Adapter-Converter/dp/B0017K6BDW

Is there some question that goes beyond this?

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Why  anyone  read?
"Supports PC resolutions up to 1920x1200 and HDTV resolutions up to 1080p "

http://www.amazon.com/Startech-DP2HDMI-DisplayPort-Adapter-Converter/dp/B0017K6BDW

 

 

i ask for :

DisplayPort 1.2   device transmits the 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2

 

Quote:
DisplayPort to HDMI adapters haven't changed to my knowledge

So sellers do not want to sell? Or you do not know something?

 

If there is no difference between the cable
Why has a standard 1.0 or 1.1 or 1.2?
For beauty?

WhyJoin is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
 DisplayPort to HDMI adapters haven't changed to my knowledge

If there is no difference between the cable
Why has a standard 1.0 or 1.1 or 1.2?
For beauty?

 

Read the link you brought 

http://www.amazon.com/Startech-DP2HDMI-DisplayPort-Adapter-Converter/dp/B0017K6BDW

 

  • "Supports PC resolutions up to 1920x1200 and HDTV resolutions up to 1080p"
  • Where a registered supports - DisplayPort 1.2 ( 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2 )  ???
WhyJoin is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
  • " Supports PC resolutions up to 1920x1200 and HDTV resolutions up to 1080p" 

Read  from your link

 

 

Where a registered supports -DisplayPort 1.2 ( 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2 )  ?

Why issued three standards?  DisplayPort 1.0  /1.1 / 1.2 

For beauty?

 

Or maybe the sellers do not want to sell?

WhyJoin is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Again simply list what you are trying to connect – folk will then have an idea what you are trying to achieve.

‘Or maybe the sellers do not want to sell?’
– probably very true, the reality is that DisplayPort is pretty much irrelevant in the Consumer World.

The DisplayPort.org website is a joke.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,372
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
While it is clear English is not your native language, it would be helpful if you understood that DisplayPort++ is what is required for DisplayPort to connect to HDMI devices. The conversion from DisplayPort to HDMI is not a direct connection. It should also be noted that HDMI only supports up to the current limitations of the technology and DisplayPort is not directly cross compatible with all the features which HDMI offers. Most, yes, but not all.

DisplayPort is NOT HDMI, so asking a 'converter' to magically make it so, is not going to get you something. As well, since there are basically no HDMI 2.0 devices on the market, all discussion of DisplayPort would revolve, at most, around HDMI 1.4. From what I've read, most DisplayPort++ to HDMI adapters support the bit rate which HDMI 1.4 supports, but the exclusive HDMI 1.4 features can't be supported.

So, what it is that you are trying to achieve? What are you trying to connect? Why don't you just use the HDMI port on the computer to do what you want? Do you understand that DisplayPort is designed to deliver maximum quality to other DisplayPort products exclusively? If you are trying to force DisplayPort to be HDMI, or vice-versa, you need to accept that it is like shoving the keys for a Honda into the ignition of a Toyota... As much as you may WANT this to happen, it simply isn't designed to work that way.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 04-03-2014, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,372
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhyJoin View Post

Why  anyone  read?
HDMI 1.4 does not support speeds of 17.28 Gbit - that's a DisplayPort speed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhyJoin View Post

i ask for :
DisplayPort 1.2   device transmits the 17.28 Gbit / s in High Bit Rate 2
Then buy DisplayPort devices that are DisplayPort 1.2 and don't look for HDMI adapters.

You still are being extremely unclear about what you are trying to achieve and what you are trying to connect.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 04-04-2014, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
HDMI 1.4 does not support speeds of 17.28 Gbit - that's a DisplayPort speed.

Who wrote HDMI 1.4? I have HDMI 2.0

You're making things ?

 

Quote:
Then buy DisplayPort devices that are DisplayPort 1.2 and don't look forThen buy DisplayPort devices that are DisplayPort 1.2 and don't look for HDMI adapters..

Even adapters HDMI 2.0/ DisplayPort 1.2
Should meet the standards
And you do not get it

WhyJoin is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 04-04-2014, 02:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 333
‘And you do not get it’ – yup, definitely the best tactic when seeking help is to be rude to folk who are trying to help you!

There are numerous Threads above and below this one discussing the mess that is HDMI 2.0 and its release and how bandying HDMI Version numbers around means nothing.

WhyJoin indeed!

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 04-04-2014, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WhyJoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
 seeking help is to be rude to folk who are trying to help you!

Write nonsense and again write nonsense, tired 

Does not help anything and you're just yelling and not helping anything

  • Joe Fernand You have many names and you disturbing, try to help others
WhyJoin is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 04-04-2014, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,372
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhyJoin View Post

Who wrote HDMI 1.4? I have HDMI 2.0
You're making things ?

Even adapters HDMI 2.0/ DisplayPort 1.2

Should meet the standards

And you do not get it
For the tenth F#KING TIME...

WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO CONNECT?

Do you have the ability to answer that basic question or are you going to continue to not provide any information whatsoever about what you are attempting to achieve?

HDMI 2.0 is brand new to the market and DisplayPort++ connections are not necessarily designed to support the higher bandwidth of HDMI 2.0. This is, flat out, a mismatch between the DP format and the HDMI format and with the lack of HDMI 2.0 chipsets currently on the market, I would not expect a higher speed rated product for six to twelve months.

I hear that you can buy DisplayPort products right now - you should check them out.
Joe Fernand likes this.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 04-04-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 95
This might answer some of your questions.
Colm is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 04-10-2014, 01:41 PM
 
AVS153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

DisplayPort 1.2   Supports up to 4K Ultra HD and 2560x1600 @60Hz  but on 300MHZ 

Adapter to hdmi 2.0 Still working on  300mhz  

 

hdmi 2.0 Requires  600mhz 

 

So how to bring 4K 60 HZ  to hdmi 2.0 4K 60 HZ  from DisplayPort 1.2  ?

 

They all hdmi 1.4 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Standard-DisplayPort-DP-1-2-to-HDMI-1-4-Adapter-with-Audio-support-3D-Black-/261413508467?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3cdd759573

 

Support HDMI 10Gbps not 17.28 Gbit 

 

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0&_nkw=DisplayPort+1.2+&_sacat=0&_from=R40

Look at all that transmit up to 10.8Gbps at best

AVS153 is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 04-10-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,410
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3146 Post(s)
Liked: 2192
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhyJoin View Post

Who wrote HDMI 1.4? I have HDMI 2.0

I doubt seriously that you have HDMI 2.0 because I don't think the chipsets capable of 18Gbps (HDMI 2.0's maximum bandwidth) are available yet in most, if any, consumer devices presently.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 06:20 AM
 
AVS153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This is a bad answer

What is the link to my question?

If you do not know the answer don't answer

AVS153 is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,372
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS153 View Post

This is a bad answer
What is the link to my question?
If you do not know the answer don't answer
Are you WHYJOIN or are you AVS153?

Why is it you can't answer questions, or won't answer questions?

What equipment are you using?

What equipment are you using?

What equipment are you using?

You've been asked by multiple people, many times, to list what equipment you are using so you can get the best possible answer. So, why not tell everyone: WHAT EQUIPMENT ARE YOU USING?

It may not be possible under DP 1.2 to go to HDMI 2.0. because HDMI 2.0 actually has higher bandwidth capability than DP 1.2 supports.

Or, do you want to go from HDMI 2.0 to DP 1.2? This may not be possible because DP 1.2 doesn't support a conversion from HDMI in that manner easily, and certainly not in the HDMI 2.0 format.

HDMI 2.0 has just started on the market. I think that you will need to wait until there are actually chip sets out there before there will be adapters in place.

But, it sure would be nice if you could let us know what equipment you are using.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 10:58 AM
 
AVS153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
What equipment are you using?

What equipment are you using?

What equipment are you using?

What does it matter to you ?  Owe you nothing

What does it matter to you ? Owe you nothing

What does it matter to you ?  Owe you nothing

 

Quote:
It may not be possible under DP 1.2 to go to HDMI 2.0. because HDMI 2.0 actually has higher bandwidth capability than DP 1.2 supports.

Finally you really understand that you have no idea

 

Quote:
Or, do you want to go from HDMI 2.0 to DP 1.2? 

I wrote explicitly :

Quote:
So how to bring 4K 60 HZ  to hdmi 2.0 4K 60 HZ  from DisplayPort 1.2  ?

AV_Integrated   Do not know do not answer


 

Quote:

But, it sure would be nice if you could let us know what equipment you are using.

 

my equipment None of your business, clear enough .

AVS153 is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 333
my equipment None of your business, your aggression unhelpful and very unlikely to elicit any help from Forum members, clear enough .

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,410
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3146 Post(s)
Liked: 2192
They/he are trolls without a clear understanding of what they want to accomplish or are attempting something that is not quite "kosher". Either way, we should just ignore him/them and possibly have the mods take care of it. We've wasted too much time and space as it is.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 95
This thread reminds me of the old science fiction move Plan Nine from Outer Space. "You see? You see? Your stupid minds! Stupid! Stupid!"
Colm is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 04-11-2014, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,410
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3146 Post(s)
Liked: 2192
biggrin.gif

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off