20276 - Printed on the cable - What does it indicate ? ? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-06-2014, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Question 20276 - Printed on the cable - What does it indicate ? ?

So, I have several HDMI cables attached to my Home Theater set-up, for ROKU, BD Player, and a Laptop.


All of the cables have printed on them "20276".


I just wanted to have someone officially state what the "20276" indicates on an HDMI cable.


Thanks

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-06-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,538
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Got Google? 'ul20276' http://wireandcablemalaysia.blogspot...ification.html

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-06-2014, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3958 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
Just a mfr label.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 12-10-2014, 12:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Yes, thanks.... I see now that 20276 is the UL listed "style" of cable.


I must have had a "google block" that day.


http://data.ul.com/link/stylepage.aspx?style=20276

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-18-2015, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
PaulG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Out There
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Gonna bump this thread up because I have the same markings on an HDMI cable I put in a few years back with my Oppo Blue Ray player. Wondering what it is and weather this cable is high speed or not...


Other markings on the jacket include E224782 AWM STYLE 20276 80c 30V VW-1 Digital Video & Audio Cable


I can't find any record of the purchase (I think it was through Ram Electronics) and I wonder if the cable is high speed or not... will be putting in a new PJ in a couple of months...not 4k but 1080p for sure.


Its roughly a 35-40 foot run.


I'm happy enough to buy a new cable, even long runs aren't that expensive. Plus, there are some old legacy cables running to my PJ that will need to go when I install the new one, so I'll be in the ceiling and walls anyway...just hoping to find out if its NECESSARY to switch to a new HDMI cable as well or not.

Last edited by PaulG; 07-18-2015 at 03:43 PM.
PaulG is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-18-2015, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3958 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
Canned answer is this: any certified high speed hdmi cable will work. The caveat is this: if your runs are over 25' (which is the currently the certified length for passive hdmi cables) then you may want to consider a passive cable with a thicker gauge of cable or go with an active cable with Redmere technology.

If you are going to be creating new cable runs (in-wall) then I strongly recommend using a conduit. Cable specs will be changing over time so installing cable in a conduit will make it so much easier to install new cables when required. If you do that, I would recommend installing a solid core CAT-6(x) cable for future connections.
See The Light likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-22-2015, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3958 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
You were answered in post 6. The markings are probably some mfr marking that have no bearing on the actual cable spec. Replace your cables with ones that you know what their capacity is. It's better to know for sure than to guess, especially if problems occur.

See post 6 for other considerations.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-23-2015, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
PaulG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Out There
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
You were answered in post 6. The markings are probably some mfr marking that have no bearing on the actual cable spec. Replace your cables with ones that you know what their capacity is. It's better to know for sure than to guess, especially if problems occur.

See post 6 for other considerations.
Fair enough - I was answered. You're exactly right...at the reasonable prices of 40 ft. Redmere cables, its worth it to just replace what's there now. When I replace my projector in a couple of months, I'm ging to pull out some legacy cables (component video) that are still connected to my current PJ, so I'll be back in the wall/ceiling anyway. Knowing is always better than guessing. :-)

Thanks!
PaulG is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-23-2015, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3958 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
As a suggestion, if you're pulling cable in-wall it would be best, if possible, to run conduit. That makes it so much easier to replace/add/repair cabling. If you do install conduit, I would strongly suggest running some solid core CAT-6 cable for future use. That way you have, in place, the option to extend an ethernet connection should you need it and more importantly, you can install some sort of active termination (HDBT) at both ends and push audio/video. People always ask about "future proofing" their cable installations and the best way to achieve that is to install solid core CAT-6 actively terminated. HDBT can be a bit more expensive but for an in-wall installation it's really the only way to go. Redmere is great but they do have a chipset in the sink end (tv side) that draws a bit of power so, like any electronic device, then can fail over time.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-01-2015, 06:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,938
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Cable Markings - are relevant to the cable stock used in the cable assembly.

HDMI Certification - is applicable to the Cable Assembly (2x Connectors + relevant length of cable stock).

HDMI Certification is rarely marked on the cable jacket.

Active HDMI - is potentially a problem as UHD and HDR hit the market, the 'active' component (Chip) buried in the send or receive connector is unlikely to support UHD BD/HDR.

A couple of solid core, CAT6 (non-CCA) is, as Otto says, a good backup option!

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-07-2020, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here ya go
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
Cable Markings - are relevant to the cable stock used in the cable assembly.

HDMI Certification - is applicable to the Cable Assembly (2x Connectors + relevant length of cable stock).

HDMI Certification is rarely marked on the cable jacket.

Active HDMI - is potentially a problem as UHD and HDR hit the market, the 'active' component (Chip) buried in the send or receive connector is unlikely to support UHD BD/HDR.

A couple of solid core, CAT6 (non-CCA) is, as Otto says, a good backup option!

Joe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200507-161603_Amazon Kindle_1588891332245.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	781.0 KB
ID:	2722778  
xVx_K1r1t0_xVX_KillMe is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-07-2020, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3958 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
Quote:
Originally Posted by xVx_K1r1t0_xVX_KillMe View Post
Here ya go

You just replied to an almost 5 year old thread Things have changed a bit since then.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Tags
20276 , hdmi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off