HDMI-connected devices black-out intermittently - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By vertigoelectric
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Unhappy HDMI-connected devices black-out intermittently

My HDMI-connected displays will randomly 'reset', meaning the picture will go black and then come back on after a second or two. The OSD will display when the picture returns, just as it would when changing source or something.

I have two displays that this is effecting. One is an old Sony HDTV that I use a my PC desktop monitor. The other is a newer Vizio 4k in the livingroom, which is currently connected to a PS3 and a PS4. All three connections use HDMI, and all three have this issue.

I've posted on multiple sites asking for help with this and have yet to get any really helpful information. Some people have suggest it being a power issue, but even if it is I have no idea how to fix it.

I'm hoping we can find a solution here. This has been bugging me for a long time. It's particularly annoying when playing a game as losing the picture for even a couple of seconds can be a big issue in that case.

3 different devices, 3 different cables, 2 different displays, same problem. What can cause this to happen?
vertigoelectric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,885
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked: 1996
Poor cables.
The source(s) device.
The TV/monitor.
Or... whatever you have "in between" (AVR, switch, etc.).
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,575
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3237 Post(s)
Liked: 2296
Are you using CEC (single remote control) to control your systems?
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Are you using CEC (single remote control) to control your systems?
No, I am not.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 05:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,116
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1779 Post(s)
Liked: 3556
does this happen on all displays at the same time?

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 04-24-2017, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
does this happen on all displays at the same time?
No. They're not connected in any way. One display is for my PC in my office. The other is in the living room connected to the game consoles. They're completely independent of each other, but the problem is the same.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 02:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,116
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1779 Post(s)
Liked: 3556
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigoelectric View Post
No. They're not connected in any way. One display is for my PC in my office. The other is in the living room connected to the game consoles. They're completely independent of each other, but the problem is the same.
this might end up as separate issues that do not have a common cause

I suggest you try a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) on one setup: plug the source and display into the UPS and see if that resolves the issue: if it does it would confirm you have a power problem

if not, try the other suggestions Ratman offered: please let us know how you make out

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner



Last edited by markrubin; 04-25-2017 at 06:49 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
this might end up as separate issues that do not have a common cause

I suggest you try a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) on one setup: plug the source and display into the UPS and see if that resolves the issue: if it does it would confirm you have a power problem

if not, try the other suggestions Ratman offered: please let us know how you make out
Unfortunately, I do not have a UPS to test with. I've been wanting one for my PC for a long time but I simply cannot afford it. Are there any other ways I can test the power? Also, what UPS do you recommend I try with the PS4? It obviously needs to powerful enough to support the console, but I don't know what the PS4 would require. My parents have a UPS for their PC and I may be able to borrow it for a while to test this issue, as long as it's powerful enough.

I do have a really old house, so perhaps power is the issue after all. I just need to find a reasonable way of testing it.

As for Ratman's "suggestions", I don't find his post very helpful. "The source device"... "The TV/Monitor"... What am I supposed to do with that information? I suppose poor cables could possibly be an issue, but over time I've tried multiple cables and the problem existed with all of them. I also don't have anything between the source devices and the displays. They all use a direct HDMI connection.

At any rate, I still appreciate any help I can get.

Also I was just thinking... if there is an issue with the power at my house, why is it that the only thing I've noticed being affected is HDMI?
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 08:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,116
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1779 Post(s)
Liked: 3556
^^^

the first thing I thought of when I read the thread title was an HDMI handshake issue: that will cause intermittent black-outs as you describe: the remedy is similar to what Ratman suggested: the first step is usually to check/ replace the HDMI cable and be sure the sources and displays are HDMI compatible with each other: if there is nothing in between that should make it easier

None of this is easy, but you have to start somewhere...

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
^^^

the first thing I thought of when I read the thread title was an HDMI handshake issue: that will cause intermittent black-outs as you describe: the remedy is similar to what Ratman suggested: the first step is usually to check/ replace the HDMI cable and be sure the sources and displays are HDMI compatible with each other: if there is nothing in between that should make it easier

None of this is easy, but you have to start somewhere...
Regarding checking/replacing the HDMI cables. How do I know what to replace them with? In other words, when I shop for a new cable, what exactly should I be looking for?

As for the sources and displays being "HDMI compatible with each other", how do I check that?

To be honest, if the power output from the house can actually cause this type of issue, then I would lean more toward that than the HDMI cables or device compatibility. We're talking about different source devices, cables, and displays all having the same issue. The only common factor is that they're all plugged into the same house (possibly on the same run/breaker). I just need a way to test it. Perhaps I need to figure out how to use a multimeter to test the outlets or something. The problem with using a UPC to test this is that the problem occurs very randomly. It can happen multiple times within minutes, or hours can go by with no problems.

I really do appreciate all of the help. Thank you so much. If anyone has any more ideas or things to check/test, please let me know. In the meantime, I'm going to try to figure out how to test the power.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Oh yeah...

If this is a problem with the source device not getting enough power for the HDMI signal, then shouldn't I be able to "force" the problem by drawing from that power using something else?

For example, I have a window air conditioner that I just plugged into the same power strip as the PS4. With the console and TV on, game running, I turned on the AC unit but there wasn't any problem. I guess I'm misunderstanding the issue.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 09:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,116
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1779 Post(s)
Liked: 3556
I would start with buying one new HDMI cable: for example

https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-...rds=HDMI+cable

and use that to test each of your setups by replacing the existing one at a time: that is the least expensive approach that is most likely to yield results, or to help troubleshoot the issue

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 09:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,116
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1779 Post(s)
Liked: 3556
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigoelectric View Post
Oh yeah...

If this is a problem with the source device not getting enough power for the HDMI signal, then shouldn't I be able to "force" the problem by drawing from that power using something else?

For example, I have a window air conditioner that I just plugged into the same power strip as the PS4. With the console and TV on, game running, I turned on the AC unit but there wasn't any problem. I guess I'm misunderstanding the issue.
well then you helped show power may not be the issue...

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I would start with buying one new HDMI cable: for example

https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-...rds=HDMI+cable

and use that to test each of your setups by replacing the existing one at a time: that is the least expensive approach that is most likely to yield results, or to help troubleshoot the issue
That sounds like a very reasonable idea. I'll see about getting a new cable and testing it out. I'd probably have to try it out for a few days at least... maybe a week.
markrubin likes this.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 04-25-2017, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,885
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked: 1996
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigoelectric View Post
What can cause this to happen?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Poor cables.
The source(s) device.
The TV/monitor.
Or... whatever you have "in between" (AVR, switch, etc.).
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigoelectric View Post
As for Ratman's "suggestions", I don't find his post very helpful. "The source device"... "The TV/Monitor"... What am I supposed to do with that information?
Things to consider suspect.
I just was answering your vague question with a general answer.

How long are the HDMI cables you are currently using?
What are make/model of those cables?
Did the problem(s) just start or was it always there?
Any changes made to configuration that may have contributed to the problem(s)?
What video resolutions are you trying to "push"?
Ratman is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 04-26-2017, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I don't recall the exact lengths of each cable, and they're not very accessible at the moment, but I'm pretty sure they're all less than 10 feet each.
I have no idea what the make/models are.
The problem has been going on for a very long time.
Video resolution used is generally 1080p.

I will try getting a brand new HDMI cable at some point and see if that helps. It might be a while. I can't get one right now.

I appreciate the help and troubleshooting tips. I'll report back when I have more information.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 04-26-2017, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,809
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 335
'My HDMI-connected displays will randomly 'reset' - is there any sort of pattern to this 'random' problem, same time of day, same day of the week etc?

Do both systems go 'off' simultaneously?

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 04-26-2017, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
'My HDMI-connected displays will randomly 'reset' - is there any sort of pattern to this 'random' problem, same time of day, same day of the week etc?

Do both systems go 'off' simultaneously?

Joe
Well, I suppose I could start noting down the times when this occurs. As of this point, though, there's no discernible pattern or 'schedule' to when this happens.

I've also never noticed it happening both in my office and the living room at the same time, but then, I'm usually not in two places at once to notice such a thing.
vertigoelectric is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 04-26-2017, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,575
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3237 Post(s)
Liked: 2296
Do your cables run underneath a carpet by any chance? I'm thinking maybe they've been walked on enough to damage them?
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #20 of 20 Old 04-26-2017, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vertigoelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Do your cables run underneath a carpet by any chance? I'm thinking maybe they've been walked on enough to damage them?
No, nothing like that.
vertigoelectric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Tags
computer , hdmi , ps3 , ps4

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off