Hdmi cable in wall 4K - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hdmi cable in wall 4K

I’m looking for a hdmi cable for an epson 5040.

I was going to go to with ruipro optic hdmi to run in the ceiling but realized that it’s not advertised as cl2.

Any recommendations?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nstd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nstd View Post
I’m looking for a hdmi cable for an epson 5040.

I was going to go to with ruipro optic hdmi to run in the ceiling but realized that it’s not advertised as cl2.

Any recommendations?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This has come up before. The Ruipro4k cable does use CL2 approved materials but it is still going thru the certification process, which is slow at best. CL2 rating is for high voltage wiring (150v). The idea is to reduce shock, not to reduce smoke or gas. Just install your cabling in an approved conduit, which you should be doing anyway.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
This has come up before. The Ruipro4k cable does use CL2 approved materials but it is still going thru the certification process, which is slow at best. CL2 rating is for high voltage wiring (150v). The idea is to reduce shock, not to reduce smoke or gas. Just install your cabling in an approved conduit, which you should be doing anyway.
that sounds promising. Do you have that on writing somewhere?
Nstd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nstd View Post
that sounds promising. Do you have that on writing somewhere?
The CL2 Ruipro4k cable answer is from a personal communication with Ruipro. I've done some testing for them on their shorter, 4k, hybrid fiber cables.

What is your cable run length?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
The 10m one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nstd is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nstd View Post
The 10m one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hopefully you're running your cable in a conduit because that is the ONLY way to future proof your cabling. The Ruipro8k should be coming out soon and that is intended for HDMI 2.1 devices once they are available.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Would this work as a conduit

https://www.homedepot.com/p/JM-eagle...7496/100117340


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nstd is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nstd View Post
Would this work as a conduit

https://www.homedepot.com/p/JM-eagle...7496/100117340


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sure. As long as you can install elbow connectors so if you need to make a bend in the run, you can keep your bend radius to a minimum. There are also flexible conduits you can use as well like Smurf Tube. 1.5" to 2.0" is a good diameter to use because that leaves you room to add additional cable (like solid core CAT-6, etc). And don't forget to add a pull string for future cable pulls.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Sure. As long as you can install elbow connectors so if you need to make a bend in the run, you can keep your bend radius to a minimum. There are also flexible conduits you can use as well like Smurf Tube. 1.5" to 2.0" is a good diameter to use because that leaves you room to add additional cable (like solid core CAT-6, etc). And don't forget to add a pull string for future cable pulls.
do you just buy one long smurf tube? I imagine the hdmi cable would get stuck in the ribs.
Nstd is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-12-2019, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Nstd is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 09-13-2019, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nstd View Post
That could work as well. You just need to shop around and see what will work best for you. The cable shouldn't get hung up on the ribs if you pull it carefully. Just don't pull the cable from the connector ends because you don't want to damage them. You can attach the body of the cable to another cable or thick pull string and just carefully, and slowly pull the cable through. Just be very mindful of pulling around corners because you don't want to crimp the cable (bend radius). Hybrid fiber cables have a very generous bend radius in general but the gentler the bend the better.

Just keep in mind that no cable is guaranteed to work 100% of the time in any given system because there are other factors that can affect a successful cable run.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 09-16-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1656 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
That's actually split tubing, so that's not ideal.

Look for Carlon Conduit 1.25" or larger that you can use. 1" tubing is the smallest that works with HDMI, so going to 1.25" (or larger!) is the way to go. Carlon conduit in those sizes is readily available at electrical supply stores and (of course) online.

I use 1.25" and 1.5" as well as 2" for runs throughout my home. This is, absolutely, the way to go as it is designed for use in wall. I wouldn't use the split conduit you linked because when you try to pull the cabling it will just pop through the split in the conduit. That's not what you want (IMO) as it will cause headaches down the line.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off