HDMI Cables with ProGrip Connectors - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Joe Fernand
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-23-2019, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
centurymantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI Cables with ProGrip Connectors

We have recently been using HDMI cables from a company called Comprehensive Cable for our conference room installations. They are a bit more expensive than standard cables, but are very well constructed with the primary appeal being the 'ProGrip' connectors that they use. The supposedly withstand 16 lbs of force and can say that they have a very tight fit with little worry of them coming loose. The pricing, available lengths and availability are a bit erratic and all over the map. Does anyone know of another cable manufacturer/brand that uses these same connectors?


https://www.comprehensiveco.com/pro-...3ft-black.html
centurymantra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-23-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,221
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3520 Post(s)
Liked: 2540
Quote:
Originally Posted by centurymantra View Post
We have recently been using HDMI cables from a company called Comprehensive Cable for our conference room installations. They are a bit more expensive than standard cables, but are very well constructed with the primary appeal being the 'ProGrip' connectors that they use. The supposedly withstand 16 lbs of force and can say that they have a very tight fit with little worry of them coming loose. The pricing, available lengths and availability are a bit erratic and all over the map. Does anyone know of another cable manufacturer/brand that uses these same connectors?


https://www.comprehensiveco.com/pro-...3ft-black.html
Why do you need the "ProGrip"? If the cable is well made and installed correctly (no undue strain on the HDMI input) then you shouldn't need them. What length are you using?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-24-2019, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Why do you need the "ProGrip"? If the cable is well made and installed correctly (no undue strain on the HDMI input) then you shouldn't need them. What length are you using?
Otto I disagree. I have one HDMI port on a video card that the weight of the HDMI cable pulls the cable loose. The usual suggested solution is Loctite FUN-TAK mounting putty. Apparently, you have not encountered this problem.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 10-24-2019, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,221
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3520 Post(s)
Liked: 2540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Otto I disagree. I have one HDMI port on a video card that the weight of the HDMI cable pulls the cable loose. The usual suggested solution is Loctite FUN-TAK mounting putty. Apparently, you have not encountered this problem.
No, I have never encountered that issue but I do recognize that it exists for some. I've never had to use heavy gauge cables that would put strain on the input. I guess that's the beauty of active cables or active hybrid fiber cables because the wire gauge is small and exerts almost not strain at all on the input.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-24-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 345
PPC (a Belden brand) had its Perfect Path locking connector as far back as 2012 - didn't make much of an impact on the market. Locking HDMI are great - until you cant unlock them, which can happen with some sockets when you insert the locking connectors.

https://www.ppc-online.com/hdmi-connectivity

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-25-2019, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
centurymantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
PPC (a Belden brand) had its Perfect Path locking connector as far back as 2012 - didn't make much of an impact on the market. Locking HDMI are great - until you cant unlock them, which can happen with some sockets when you insert the locking connectors.

https://www.ppc-online.com/hdmi-connectivity

Joe
Excellent...thanks for the info. I will look into these cables.
centurymantra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off