Are these HDMI cables 'ok' - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
  • 1 Post By skylarlove1999
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Are these HDMI cables 'ok'

From all I've read, these cables: https://www.youdoitelectronics.com/v...m-cl3-hdmicp15

Should do just fine for a direct connection from my AVR to a Samsungh 75" Q90R.

If anyone with experience knows otherwise, please drop a reply!

Thanks in advance.
Jim Buza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8,436
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4392 Post(s)
Liked: 2550
the linked hdmi is 18gb cable...I have this and it is for 8k...https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300 LG oled c9 77
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS, Audioengine A2+
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP, Velodyne HGS 12, Velodyne VA1512
torii is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3976 Post(s)
Liked: 2859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Buza View Post
From all I've read, these cables: https://www.youdoitelectronics.com/v...m-cl3-hdmicp15

Should do just fine for a direct connection from my AVR to a Samsungh 75" Q90R.

If anyone with experience knows otherwise, please drop a reply!

Thanks in advance.

The cable is for HDMI 2.0 (18Gbps). If it truly is certified, then the cable packaging will be labeled as Premium High Speed HDMI and come with a QR label for authenticity. 15' is within the maximum range of 25' for certified passive cables.
Jim Buza likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3976 Post(s)
Liked: 2859
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
the linked hdmi is 18gb cable...I have this and it is for 8k...https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

That's a good cable but isn't it passive copper only? The connectors are "certified" but the cable body is copper only, correct?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8,436
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4392 Post(s)
Liked: 2550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
That's a good cable but isn't it passive copper only? The connectors are "certified" but the cable body is copper only, correct?

I dont know, but it has worked flawlessly with my lg tv, firetv and 4k xfinity cable box so far. thus Im happy with it.



Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300 LG oled c9 77
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS, Audioengine A2+
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP, Velodyne HGS 12, Velodyne VA1512

Last edited by torii; 05-14-2020 at 11:50 AM.
torii is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3976 Post(s)
Liked: 2859
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
I dont know, but it has worked flawlessly with my lg tv, firetv and 4k xfinity cable box so far. thus Im happy with it.



Yep. That's copper only, no fiber. But if it works, that's what matters.
torii likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks all,

I'll look for the QR label when I pick it up (Love supporting local! and this little company has been here 'forever' - oh the things I've picked-up wandering their aisles . . .).

If not . . . I'll look to the link above which as said, if known to be functioning well, that's likely 'as good as I need'!

Jim
Jim Buza is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Honey Brook Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2106 Post(s)
Liked: 2205
It is all about the length of your run from AVR/PREPRO to display. What might work at 10-15 probably won't work once you get beyond 20 ft. Very rare that an all copper HDMI cable works beyond 20-25 feet. Fiber optic starting at 20 feet unless you like testing different copper cables and returning them .When a person tells you a cable works for them the next question should always be: how long is your run?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Jim Buza likes this.

Tristan Jones
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
It is all about the length of your run from AVR/PREPRO to display. What might work at 10-15 probably won't work once you get beyond 20 ft. Very rare that an all copper HDMI cable works beyond 20-25 feet. Fiber optic starting at 20 feet unless you like testing different copper cables and returning them .When a person tells you a cable works for them the next question should always be: how long is your run?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Unless I later decide to add a screen and projector in back of room . . . runs are safely below 18'. 15' probably being the right amount to reach connectors at both ends.
Jim Buza is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-14-2020, 08:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,129
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3976 Post(s)
Liked: 2859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Buza View Post
Unless I later decide to add a screen and projector in back of room . . . runs are safely below 18'. 15' probably being the right amount to reach connectors at both ends.

At less than 20', just try a Premium High Speed HDMI cable (with the QR label) and see how it goes. Just make sure you pay attention to the bend radius because you don't want to put any undo strain on the HDMI ports.
Jim Buza likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off