Discs the LG BH200 has problems with - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 1091 Old 06-01-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks Dave. That's a pity.


There were reports of several Samsung owners have problems with DH4 and The Fantastic Four 2, there were as many happy customers too though. I don't think any LG owners have mentioned it though.


What does the Control Room menu display? Extras, chapters etc . . .

Can you get to it's content through other means (Remote/Title menu)?

The "Control Room" changes audio options. The same option works in the mini menu (The one you get if the menu button is pressed during playback) and you can change audio with the audio button too. Although minor, it is still a disc specific bug.
Krobar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 1091 Old 06-02-2008, 12:25 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by groschuni View Post

I can't seem to get the BH200 to recognize Live Free or Die Hard BluRay at all. It just seeks for a couple of minutes and spits out the disk. I have all the latest updates. Anyone else having problems with this disk?

We rented Live Free or Die Hard (BD) almost 3 months ago and we had no problem playing it in our BH200. That was original firmware, FWIW (March hadn't been posted yet). "Driver" was original too (0701).

Anyone else?
oilblue is offline  
post #423 of 1091 Old 06-02-2008, 11:03 AM
Member
 
DoctorMaustus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears as if the "Watch Season" feature (or whatever the feature is called that allows you to watch an entire season) for the "Damages Season 1" Blu-ray set does not work on the BH200. It seems to lose track of where you are as I was prompted to insert disc 2 when I'd only watched 2 of the 5 episodes on the first disc. Anyone else noticed this issue?

Latest firmware updated.
DoctorMaustus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 12:35 AM
Member
 
groschuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can't seem to read the Die Hard disk. It seems that I have many more problems with BR than with HD-DVD. So far the only disks I have had difficulty with are BR. Is this common? I bought the player used. Do you think that cleaning the lens with a cd cleaner disk will help? I don't get why BRs are such a problem for me when everyone else seems to not have many problems with them. It makes me think that the machine is having problems seeing them. Any ideas?
groschuni is offline  
post #425 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 03:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You could try a CD lens cleaner. I cannot see it doing any harm.

Almost all of the problems have been HD-DVD not BD related.
bradavon is offline  
post #426 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
DetectiveJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just discover that Casino (HD), chapter 7 to 10 freeze up/do not play on the LG. Really don't think it's the disk because the A30 played it no problem. Haven't been able to check it on my Sammy 5K yet.

Anyone else have this problem on the LG with Casino?
DetectiveJ is offline  
post #427 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you tried cleaning the disc? I'll check my Australian Universal HD-DVD tomorrow. It's not an exact comparison to the USA one but it's better than nothing.
bradavon is offline  
post #428 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by DetectiveJ View Post

I have just discover that Casino (HD), chapter 7 to 10 freeze up/do not play on the LG. Really don't think it's the disk because the A30 played it no problem. Haven't been able to check it on my Sammy 5K yet.

Anyone else have this problem on the LG with Casino?

I have an American one. You say Chapter 7 to 10 freezes?
allargon is offline  
post #429 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
To confirm, do you mean Chapters 7, 8, 9 and 10 or just 7 and 10? Anywhere in particular in the problem chapters? If you could let us know the exact time that would be handy.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On my Australian Leaving Las Vegas HD-DVD (another French Studio Canal port) it takes about 20 seconds to start the film when you press Play from the menu. It loads the menu fine then sits there way more than normal with that blue round "egg timer" before the film finally starts. It does this every time you go back and fourth between the menu and film.

As it then works fine I don't consider it a problem.
bradavon is offline  
post #430 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
DetectiveJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Ch 7 freezes, won't skip to next chapter at all.
Had to press "Home" restart the movie, then try to direct access chapters 7, 8 , 9 or 10 from scene selection menu and it won't play. When I direct access 11 or over/ 6 or under, it works no problem.

Can't pop it in right now to find the exact times (the wife is watching her shows).

Let me know what you find when you get a chance.

Thanks!
DetectiveJ is offline  
post #431 of 1091 Old 06-03-2008, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Motley Crue-Carnival of Sins [Blu-Ray] I'm getting very slight audio dropouts every so often. Almost like half second drop outs. Not annoying at all but needs to be mentioned.
DCSholtis is offline  
post #432 of 1091 Old 06-04-2008, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Casino: Universal HD-DVD

I was able to play chapters 7, 8, 9 and 10 fine. I wish Universal wouldn't prevent users from changing the time though (i.e - The Display button doesn't work fully on Casino).
bradavon is offline  
post #433 of 1091 Old 06-04-2008, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
DetectiveJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Casino: Universal HD-DVD

I was able to play chapters 7, 8, 9 and 10 fine. I wish Universal wouldn't prevent users from changing the time though (i.e - The Display button doesn't work fully on Casino).

Thanks. I guess this is one disk I'll have to watch on another machine.
DetectiveJ is offline  
post #434 of 1091 Old 06-04-2008, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's worth Allargon double checking as mine is the Aussie HD-DVD. It has different subs/dubs than the USA one so isn't the exact same disc.
bradavon is offline  
post #435 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 07:25 AM
Member
 
DoctorMaustus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

Motley Crue-Carnival of Sins [Blu-Ray] I'm getting very slight audio dropouts every so often. Almost like half second drop outs. Not annoying at all but needs to be mentioned.

I'd be happy with hour-long audio droputs on that disc

I'm sad to say, however, that I think I'm sending my BH200 back. With the chapter skip problem and the DD+ helicopter issue, it's just not good enough.
DoctorMaustus is offline  
post #436 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you mean chapter problems on Watch Season? Is it that big of a deal?

The DD+ issue can be fixed by switching to PCM Multi-Ch or DTS Re-Encode.
bradavon is offline  
post #437 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 09:46 AM
Member
 
DoctorMaustus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Do you mean chapter problems on Watch Season? Is it that big of a deal?

The DD+ issue can be fixed by switching to PCM Multi-Ch or DTS Re-Encode.

Yes, that's correct. No, it's not a huge deal, but a small bug nonetheless.

I realize that the DD+ issue can be "fixed" by switching to a different mode, but I just wish that this issue would be fixed properly by LG. I bought a good receiver with HDMI to take advantage of bitstreaming...

In addition, I've had some chapter skip freezing on several discs. I'll make a list of those and post again.
DoctorMaustus is offline  
post #438 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Fair enough. I just meant for me anyway the first two bugs you mentioned wouldn't bother me enough to send it back.

The chapter skip freezing sounds more annoying though.
bradavon is offline  
post #439 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing to try is giving your discs a wipe, (nothing fancy). I was playing MI:III and it kept freezing at the bridge scene, looked at the disc and it looked pristine but gave it a quick wipe against my shirt and then it played right through the problem part. First time that has happened with my LG.
efjay is offline  
post #440 of 1091 Old 06-05-2008, 11:22 AM
Member
 
DoctorMaustus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Fair enough. I just meant for me anyway the first two bugs you mentioned wouldn't bother me enough to send it back.

The chapter skip freezing sounds more annoying though.

Agreed. The first two issues wouldn't be enough for me to send it back either, but the chapter freezing and all the other minor issues reported here give me pause. If it was a product that was going to be continued to be developed by LG, I wouldn't worry as much. As it stands, I'm not sure how much more support (via firmware downloads) we'll receive.

I'll try the disc wiping. It's just annoying that it has happened to me twice on two separate discs in less than a week of testing. When it happens, I have to power off the unit as it won't respond to any remote commands.
DoctorMaustus is offline  
post #441 of 1091 Old 06-07-2008, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Ubertrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I watched Walk Hard last night, and there were frequent audio dropouts (like, there was no audio for a substantial period). Pausing the disc and restarting it got it to work again.

This is on a BH200 bitstreaming TrueHD to a Onkyo 605, FYI.
Ubertrout is offline  
post #442 of 1091 Old 06-07-2008, 04:28 PM
Member
 
munciefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't had a problem yet with any disc (knock on wood). I through in I am Legend last night (which my a-35 would not play the director's cut of) and had no problems. I am watching die hard I right now, and it is playing with no problems. I have the latest firmware and driver.

I have noticed weird issues with menus on the 200, though. Like not having the main menu, and issues with removing the subtitles from my Dutch version of Rescue Dawn (that was resolved by actually getting out the remote, and turning off the subtitles, and programming my harmony to do the same)
munciefan is offline  
post #443 of 1091 Old 06-08-2008, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
skidazle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just loaded Walk Hard (blu ray) and the movie keeps dropping audio in and out all the way through the movie. Anyone else have this problem. It is outputting Dolby True HD to my Denon 3808. All firmware's are up to date.
skidazle is offline  
post #444 of 1091 Old 06-08-2008, 09:46 PM
Member
 
groschuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay. So far my BH200 has not been able to read Live Free or Die Hard or Hairspray. I had to reboot the system with I Am Legend in the drive before it would recognize it, and it has stopped half way through Enchanted and Bridge to Terabithia. I have had no real problems with HD-DVDs, only Blu-Ray. Is it possible that the machine is just broken. It played No Reservations BR all the way through with no problems, as well as Evan Almighty, Spiderman 3 and Fifth Element. This is driving me nuts. I can't enjoy watching the movie for fear the it will stop in the middle and I will never get to see the rest of the film. Should I just send it back to LG for maintenance or toss it and start over?
groschuni is offline  
post #445 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you running the April firmware and 0702 driver? If so try the January firmware, using one of the LG Service Centre links in the Mini-FAQ.

Some discs have been reported to have problems with the April firmware but they work fine in the January firmware. You can see which in the first post of this thread. If you don't have driver 0702 also upgrade to that.

If they don't work with the 0702 driver, plus the April or January firmware maybe it does need sending back. If the January firmware makes no difference you can flash back to the April firmware.
bradavon is offline  
post #446 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by DetectiveJ View Post

I have just discover that Casino (HD), chapter 7 to 10 freeze up/do not play on the LG. Really don't think it's the disk because the A30 played it no problem. Haven't been able to check it on my Sammy 5K yet.

Anyone else have this problem on the LG with Casino?

No problems on my end. It must be your disc. I'm running April firmware with the 702 driver.
allargon is offline  
post #447 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 05:06 PM
Member
 
munciefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by groschuni View Post

Okay. So far my BH200 has not been able to read Live Free or Die Hard or Hairspray. I had to reboot the system with I Am Legend in the drive before it would recognize it, and it has stopped half way through Enchanted and Bridge to Terabithia. I have had no real problems with HD-DVDs, only Blu-Ray. Is it possible that the machine is just broken. It played No Reservations BR all the way through with no problems, as well as Evan Almighty, Spiderman 3 and Fifth Element. This is driving me nuts. I can't enjoy watching the movie for fear the it will stop in the middle and I will never get to see the rest of the film. Should I just send it back to LG for maintenance or toss it and start over?


Just tested live free or die hard on one of my bh200's. No problems reading it or playing it so far.
munciefan is offline  
post #448 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 05:27 PM
Member
 
jimmy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.Anyone have trouble with the Gift import hd dvd?I get Toshibia's little intro than the egg timer just keeps counting.Gave up after 4 mins.This is the first title I've trouble with.Player has no updates yet.Thanks for any help.
jimmy86 is offline  
post #449 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I presume you mean the Japanese HD-DVD of The Gift? What firmware/driver are you currently running?

Can you try upgrading to the 0702 Driver and April firmware, then report back. Once I know what firmware you're running I'll add it to the list. Thanks.
bradavon is offline  
post #450 of 1091 Old 06-09-2008, 06:31 PM
Member
 
jimmy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's the factory settings with a Jan. 08 build date.I'll try cleaning the disc.Equillibrium plays fine.Maybe give update a shot.hopefully won't do to much damage.well post results.
jimmy86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off