Discs the LG BH200 has problems with - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1091 Old 08-20-2008, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I am really starting to dislike this June firmware.

Opus Arte's "Die Fledermaus" HD DVD doesn't work. The opening menu champagne loop keeps playing with no way of selecting extras, chapters, play, etc. "A Midsummer Night's Dream" on HD DVD works fine.

The good news is that my brand new copy of Digital Playground's "A$$ Addiction" on HD DVD works flawlessly on the BH200 with June firmware.
allargon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1091 Old 08-20-2008, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
May have found a Bluray bug. Heroes Season 2, if you pause it and wait for the Universal Screensaver and then press menu to resume play there is no sound output (Using SPDIF), if you pause and press play again then the sound comes back. Anyone else notice this problem?
Krobar is online now  
post #723 of 1091 Old 08-20-2008, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Temporarily went back to January for testing -- will stick with April

Works now (Jan):
Hotel Babylon: S1 HD DVD
Shooter HD DVD

Still broken (Jan):
Clerks II HD DVD -- duh
Robbie Williams: Live at the Albert HD DVD -- select anything at main menu -- unplayable
Picture This HD DVD-- any attempt to chapter skip, etc. machine freezes -- have to power down the machine to eject
Die Fledermaus HD DVD -- stuck in opening champagne loop (I could swear this one works with April)

(adult stuff)
Debbie Does Dallas Again HD DVD -- menu stays on the screen
Jesse's Juice HD DVD -- stuck in opening loop
Teagan: Sexual Freak 2 HD DVD -- stuck in opening loop
Intoxicated HD DVD -- stuck in opening loop

Completely broken w/ Jan. (but semi-usable w/ April and June):
La Mome HD DVD-- opening menu does not even appear (difficult to select subtitles and alternate soundtrack w/ April and June)
allargon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 1091 Old 08-20-2008, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
No, "Die Fledermaus" is a problem disc. It doesn't work with April, either. I guess I didn't test it. Either that, or it doesn't like my region hacks.
allargon is offline  
post #725 of 1091 Old 08-21-2008, 07:25 AM
Member
 
bugman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think they are probleme with ALL HD-DVD edited by M6 video In FRANCE on the BH200, menu not appear....with the last firmware !
bugman23 is offline  
post #726 of 1091 Old 08-21-2008, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugman23 View Post

I think they are probleme with ALL HD-DVD edited by M6 video In FRANCE on the BH200, menu not appear....with the last firmware !

Recent BH200 releases seem to be breaking European HDDVD compatability in general.
Krobar is online now  
post #727 of 1091 Old 08-22-2008, 10:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aagstn View Post

I just tested my copy of the US Shooter HD DVD and it does not work with the June Firmware on my player. Same issues as reported before.

Oddly enough Clerks II does work now. I get menus and can start the movie.


Just finished watching Shooter USA HD-DVD and no problem to report.

BH200 (24p, Primary Pass-thru) ---> HDMI ---> Onkyo 705 ---> Panasonic 50PZ800U
rveras is offline  
post #728 of 1091 Old 08-23-2008, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks guys. I've updated the list.

Krobar: Can you re-post about 21 please. Your source link was lost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

Completely broken w/ Jan. (but semi-usable w/ April and June):
La Mome HD DVD-- opening menu does not even appear (difficult to select subtitles and alternate soundtrack w/ April and June)

How is it sem-usable with the April/June firmware? I thought the HD-DVD was broken with all firmware.

I wonder if the Blu-ray disc works?
bradavon is offline  
post #729 of 1091 Old 08-23-2008, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks guys. I've updated the list.

Krobar: Can you re-post about 21 please. Your source link was lost.


How is it sem-usable with the April/June firmware? I thought the HD-DVD was broken with all firmware.

I wonder if the Blu-ray disc works?

21 Bluray - Virtual Blackjack game does not work. Says it is loading for a while and then returns you to the main menu. (June Firmware)
Krobar is online now  
post #730 of 1091 Old 08-23-2008, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks guys. I've updated the list.

Krobar: Can you re-post about 21 please. Your source link was lost.


How is it sem-usable with the April/June firmware? I thought the HD-DVD was broken with all firmware.

I wonder if the Blu-ray disc works?

The La Mome HD DVD is playable with April/June firmware. However, you can't select subtitles/audio tracks from the menu. It's not even playable with January.
allargon is offline  
post #731 of 1091 Old 08-23-2008, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
narcopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western USA
Posts: 1,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

May have found a Bluray bug. Heroes Season 2, if you pause it and wait for the Universal Screensaver and then press menu to resume play there is no sound output (Using SPDIF), if you pause and press play again then the sound comes back. Anyone else notice this problem?

How do you have Heroes Season 2 already?
narcopolo is offline  
post #732 of 1091 Old 08-23-2008, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I imagine the online store shipped it earlier, many do that.
bradavon is offline  
post #733 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 01:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aagstn View Post

I just tested my copy of the US Shooter HD DVD and it does not work with the June Firmware on my player. Same issues as reported before.

Oddly enough Clerks II does work now. I get menus and can start the movie.

Where did you purchase your copy of Clerks II?!!
DCSholtis is offline  
post #734 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought another copy of Clerks II from DVD Pacific this time. Figured if it worked for Krobar, hopefully it will work for me, if not I'll just sell it thats all.
DCSholtis is offline  
post #735 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

The La Mome HD DVD is playable with April/June firmware. However, you can't select subtitles/audio tracks from the menu. It's not even playable with January.

Thanks.

I've updated the November, January, March, April and June lists. Talk about a confusing title to work out what works and what doesn't. There are two known pressings (giving different results) and different firmware gives different results too.

Can you check the November, January, March, April and June lists to see if I've got it right please.

Which pressing do you have? The Original or Remastered?
bradavon is offline  
post #736 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 07:38 AM
Member
 
zombi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

May have found a Bluray bug. Heroes Season 2, if you pause it and wait for the Universal Screensaver and then press menu to resume play there is no sound output (Using SPDIF), if you pause and press play again then the sound comes back. Anyone else notice this problem?

I noticed a similar problem with Doomsday, also a Universal disc.

Go ahead, take a Chill Pill.
zombi3 is offline  
post #737 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombi3 View Post

I noticed a similar problem with Doomsday, also a Universal disc.

Confirmed. I have the same problem with Doomsday (USA BD).
Krobar is online now  
post #738 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 03:49 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had a problem with the special features on Wyatt Earp. Everytime I try to play something in the special features section. I get a disc error icon and it ejects the disc. But Im not sure if its the player or disc. Ill hook up one of my HD DVD players shortly and test it.
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #739 of 1091 Old 08-24-2008, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
arromdee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
June 2008 firmware.

If I start playing the movie with the IME on, the movie's regular audio is fully as loud as the IME. Pausing and unpausing causes the regular audio to go off and only the IME audio to stay on. I have not tried any other disks with IME and don't know whether this is a general problem or just the one movie.

I've also managed to pause it in the middle of the regular movie and get no sound; menu sound still works, and I'm wondering if it thinks the IME is on when it's not.

Also, with the IME on there are long stretches of just silence and no IME at all, which I'm not sure is a playback problem, or if the disk was just stupidly made with long stretches of silence.
arromdee is offline  
post #740 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you have the HD-DVD or BD? I presume it's an American disc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallsDeepX View Post

Had a problem with the special features on Wyatt Earp. Everytime I try to play something in the special features section. I get a disc error icon and it ejects the disc. But Im not sure if its the player or disc. Ill hook up one of my HD DVD players shortly and test it.

I presume you have the June firmware and 0702 driver? It's an American disc right?
bradavon is offline  
post #741 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
stpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu-ray or HD-DVD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arromdee View Post

June 2008 firmware.

If I start playing the movie with the IME on, the movie's regular audio is fully as loud as the IME. Pausing and unpausing causes the regular audio to go off and only the IME audio to stay on. I have not tried any other disks with IME and don't know whether this is a general problem or just the one movie.

I've also managed to pause it in the middle of the regular movie and get no sound; menu sound still works, and I'm wondering if it thinks the IME is on when it's not.

Also, with the IME on there are long stretches of just silence and no IME at all, which I'm not sure is a playback problem, or if the disk was just stupidly made with long stretches of silence.

stpat is offline  
post #742 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
arromdee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was Blu-ray.

It's actually a pretty minor problem since I can correct it by pausing (unless the huge stretches of silence are a problem too, and I suspect it's just a poorly designed disk.)
arromdee is offline  
post #743 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 01:39 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Do you have the HD-DVD or BD? I presume it's an American disc?



I presume you have the June firmware and 0702 driver? It's an American disc right?


Yeah sorry. HD DVD (didnt think there was a Wyatt Earp BD yet). American disc. June firmware and 0702 driver.

No update: Havent hooked up my back up player yet.
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #744 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No menu issue with Clerks II HD DVD on my March 08 build.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #745 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallsDeepX View Post

Yeah sorry. HD DVD (didnt think there was a Wyatt Earp BD yet). American disc.

I was asking the guy above who has Batman Begins .

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallsDeepX View Post

June firmware and 0702 driver.

Thanks. I'll update the list.
bradavon is offline  
post #746 of 1091 Old 08-25-2008, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallsDeepX View Post

Had a problem with the special features on Wyatt Earp. Everytime I try to play something in the special features section. I get a disc error icon and it ejects the disc. But Im not sure if its the player or disc. Ill hook up one of my HD DVD players shortly and test it.

Thanks, added. Please update us when you've had a chance to try it in a HD-DVD Player.

FYI there is also a Warner BD too.
bradavon is offline  
post #747 of 1091 Old 08-26-2008, 02:35 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,111
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9434 Post(s)
Liked: 6115
I'll have to check out the Wyatt Earp Hd DVD and Heroes: S2 tonight after I pick up my second BH200.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #748 of 1091 Old 08-26-2008, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
I take it your happy with the 200 huh aaron?

VVG player for a fantastic price.....or is it the other way around?

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #749 of 1091 Old 08-26-2008, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I'll have to check out the Wyatt Earp Hd DVD and Heroes: S2 tonight after I pick up my second BH200.

Heroes Season 2 worked 100% fine for me. Watched all the special features as well.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #750 of 1091 Old 08-26-2008, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Heroes Season 2 worked 100% fine for me. Watched all the special features as well.

Did you try pausing Heroes and then waiting for the Screensaver?
Krobar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off