Discs the LG BH200 has problems with - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some good news...

A Nightmare on Elm Street (Canadia Exclusive) works just fine as does NASA: When we Left Earth.

I should be getting Indy 4 and The Strangers today...so I'll post my results then.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by djos View Post

In Aus we only pay duty on electronics over $1,000 AUD.

I've heard it's about the same in New Zealand. It's amazing how many extra taxes we have in The UK, other countries don't. Such as a TV license. A bloody license just to watch Broadcast TV!

Okay we're not alone with the TV license but even so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

All three films played flawlessly for me

Thanks.
bradavon is offline  
post #963 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope I have had no audio dropouts on anything, then again I just have mine hooked up via HDMI to my Sharp LCD. I have no fancy speaker set ups or receivers.
DCSholtis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,094
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianluvdvd View Post

I am starting to wonder if I made the right choice in getting the BH200 and getting rid of my PS3. After owning it for a few weeks, I haven't run into any issues with the BH200 yet but experienced a couple of problem discs this weekend (and I do have the latest firmware).

These may have been mentioned before but I was having tons of audio drop-outs on Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story. Luckily the movie sucked so I didn't feel too bad about it but it was very obnoxious, especially for a movie with so many musical numbers.

I also tried watching the first disc of Sleeper Cell: Season One (a standard dvd) and it kept having a video stutter every several minutes. Then if you tried to fast forward it, it wouldn't fast forward correctly. It also dropped the audio out of the entire credit opening of the 2nd episode. Weird. I own this disc and it is pristine so it was not a rental/scratched disc issue.

Anyone had issues like this with standard dvds on the BH200?

I've had no issues at all, have played 100+ Pal & NTSC discs. In fact the only disc of the 1200 standard DVDs I have that had compatability issues in my previous DVD player (A Pioneer DV-59AVI) works perfectly in the LG (Disc is UK Brass Eye DVD).

I have about 200 HDDVDs about 7 HDDVDs have HDI Menu issues and all of those except the DVE discs are European releases. I have about 20 Blus so far and no problems at all. I use SPDIF, DTS Recode and 1080I ouptut (My Lumagen can process this to 1080P/24).
Krobar is offline  
post #965 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should say the only disks I had problems with (and they were minor) were Clerks II HD DVD (replacement disc works), T2 German Ultimate Edition (HDi Seems broken on that disc only) and a Rolling Stones dvd (One of the discs on the Four Flicks set kept on spitting out).
DCSholtis is offline  
post #966 of 1091 Old 09-29-2008, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,338
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

A straight forward one, why are you reading more into it than was intended?

Hey, no worries, I just assumed I was going to get skewered for "hoarding" players (see the Onkyo DV-HD805 and various Toshiba HD DVD player threads for examples). It seems that some people were bitter that they missed the opportunity to get HD DVD players at fire-sale prices and decided to take out their frustrations on those who happened to snag more than one (or two, or three).
Schwa is offline  
post #967 of 1091 Old 10-01-2008, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
i got all 4 of mine for $102.46 (a little more than $25 each!). I dont know iif anywon can beat that. And yes, they are brand new!
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #968 of 1091 Old 10-01-2008, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You got a brand new BH200 for $25 - Really? I'm going to have to ask, I presume that's USD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post

Hey, no worries, I just assumed I was going to get skewered for "hoarding" players (see the Onkyo DV-HD805 and various Toshiba HD DVD player threads for examples).

Fair enough. I didn't know some members were bitter. That's petty really. First come, first served. If you're too slow, you've only got yourself to blame.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

T2 German Ultimate Edition (HDi Seems broken on that disc only)

That's iffy on mine too. Have you managed to get the Web content to work? Mine just sits there saying "Loading". I think it says loading, it's in German . Regardless I've left it half an hour and nothing happens.

I cannot say I'm bothered. I bought it for the film plus disc based extras.
bradavon is offline  
post #969 of 1091 Old 10-01-2008, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

You got a brand new BH200 for $25 - Really? I'm going to have to ask, I presume that's USD?


Fair enough. I didn't know some members were bitter. That's petty really. First come, first served. If you're too slow, you've only got yourself to blame.


That's iffy on mine too. Have you managed to get the Web content to work? Mine just sits there saying "Loading". I think it says loading, it's in German . Regardless I've left it half an hour and nothing happens.

I cannot say I'm bothered. I bought it for the film plus disc based extras.

That's what I meant by the HDi was broken it seemed.. The Skynet access just sits there forever and does nothing, kind of like the Clerks II menu..lol
DCSholtis is offline  
post #970 of 1091 Old 10-01-2008, 07:29 PM
Member
 
ao7996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

I should say the only disks I had problems with (and they were minor) were Clerks II HD DVD (replacement disc works), T2 German Ultimate Edition (HDi Seems broken on that disc only) and a Rolling Stones dvd (One of the discs on the Four Flicks set kept on spitting out).

When you say Clerks II replacement disc, do you mean you bought another, or Wienstien sent you another copy? (I ask, because I have a Clerks what wont play in my BH200 either)

EDIT: Nevermind, I looked back a page or two and saw you ordered a used copy
ao7996 is offline  
post #971 of 1091 Old 10-01-2008, 11:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ao7996 View Post

When you say Clerks II replacement disc, do you mean you bought another, or Wienstien sent you another copy? (I ask, because I have a Clerks what wont play in my BH200 either)

EDIT: Nevermind, I looked back a page or two and saw you ordered a used copy

Yeah I bought a used copy. Best $5 I ever spent.
DCSholtis is offline  
post #972 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 07:02 AM
Member
 
ao7996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Yes. I found this out last night and confirmed it with two of my BH200 units. This morning I tired it with my third BH200 with the same results. For some reason KB won't work on 1080P24 output but has no problems with 1080P60.

Although I could get the menu to come up in 1080P24 mode by hitting the disc menu button when I had a black screen. But then when it played everything is jerky as if it was only showing half the frames.

What would cause it to have problems like this when set to 1080P24 output?

I actually have a BH200 with film mode ON and am able to play Kill Bill 1&2 at 1080p/24hz on my KDS-55A3000 without issue. The only hiccup is the loading screen, I must press the menu button when the screen is stuck at a black screen about minute or 2 after the disc begins to load.

BTW: this is where firmware 0620 and everything passed through an onkyo 667 (the 2nd cousin of the 606 that comes with the HT-S6100)

Its funny to me how there is even a disclaimer at the beginning of the disc warning that it may take 2-3 minutes to load.
ao7996 is offline  
post #973 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ao7996 View Post

Its funny to me how there is even a disclaimer at the beginning of the disc warning that it may take 2-3 minutes to load.

What! .

I imagine your BD Flash isn't full.
bradavon is offline  
post #974 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 07:13 AM
Member
 
ao7996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nine Inch Nails HD DVD

Just adding to the collection, my BH200 recognizes it as TrueHD 2-Channel as well... but since I have it connected to my Onkyo (667) and is set to pass-through the audio codecs and so far, the Onkyo is recognizing it and decoding it as 5.1 TrueHD (although there are some weird sounds happening in the surround channels during "You Know What You Are").

Everything is connected via HDMI w/ the June firmware (0620), Film mode is on, audio is set to bitstream passthrough at a sample frequency set at 96hz (Onkyo sees this at 48hz however) and is displayed through my Sony KDS-55A3000
ao7996 is offline  
post #975 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Could it just be a labelling error on the disc then?
bradavon is offline  
post #976 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 07:20 AM
Member
 
ao7996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

What! .

I imagine your BD Flash isn't full.

No, I clear it almost every time now as a measure of caution.

I had two pristine Heroes Season 2, Disc 2 discs get recognized in the player as Blu-ray, then get spit out because of a disc error. I sent the first one back to netflix for a replacement... and when my second one did the same (not scratches on either disc) I decided to try anything. Once I cleared the BD storage, it loaded up fine.

But back to the Kill Bill disclaimer... I'll take a pic of it and upload it later for those who haven't seen it.
ao7996 is offline  
post #977 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
themaninblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if this has alread been mantioned, but the UK Bluray of "Rambo" doesn't play - which is odd because the Rambo bluray is for all regions!

I have the BH200 imported from America, and I have changed the settings. It plays other Region B blurays from Australia, so I can't understand why I'm getting a region error message for a bluray dvd that's for all regions.
themaninblack is offline  
post #978 of 1091 Old 10-02-2008, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 84
The standard-def MGM Midnite Movies combo disc of DUNWICH HORROR/DIE MONSTER DIE will not play the "B" side (DIE MONSTER DIE). It loads with the MGM logo screen okay, but then blanks out while loading the menu (which never appears), freezes and shuts off.

I tried 2 different copies with the same result, and both play fine on the Xbox 360.

Go figure.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #979 of 1091 Old 10-03-2008, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The UK Rambo is Region B. The USA one is Region Free. Sony unusually decided to region lock it. See here:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b

Quote:
Originally Posted by DM2006RI View Post

The standard-def MGM Midnite Movies combo disc of DUNWICH HORROR/DIE MONSTER DIE

Surely they've not spelt midnight that way? It's as bad as "Nite club".

I'll add it to the list btw.
bradavon is offline  
post #980 of 1091 Old 10-03-2008, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a single hiccup with Indiana Jones 4 on my LG 200 (well, except the movie was a bit lame).
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #981 of 1091 Old 10-03-2008, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

The UK Rambo is Region B. The USA one is Region Free. Sony unusually decided to region lock it. See here:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b


Surely they've not spelt midnight that way? It's as bad as "Nite club".

I'll add it to the list btw.

Thanks. And they DO spell it "Midnite"
DM2006RI is offline  
post #982 of 1091 Old 10-03-2008, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM2006RI View Post

The standard-def MGM Midnite Movies combo disc of DUNWICH HORROR/DIE MONSTER DIE will not play the "B" side (DIE MONSTER DIE). It loads with the MGM logo screen okay, but then blanks out while loading the menu (which never appears), freezes and shuts off.

Have you got a link for this? I cannot find it anywhere.
bradavon is offline  
post #983 of 1091 Old 10-03-2008, 04:03 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I'll have to pick up Madagascar and check it out.


I had no problems with Madagascar when I played it the other day on the BH200.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #984 of 1091 Old 10-06-2008, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Aguapolo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Madagascar did not load on my BH200. I sure hope there is a fix on that.
Aguapolo17 is offline  
post #985 of 1091 Old 10-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Member
 
satblaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No go on Madagascar here also but It will play on my LG pc drive with power dvd

hhhhdvd 614+ Watch RED, Love RED, Bleed RED, Account in the RED Turn Blu only when I have too!
satblaster is offline  
post #986 of 1091 Old 10-06-2008, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Omen collection plays just fine.

A big WTF on Madagascar for Aaron. No luck loading on either my LG's...hmm.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #987 of 1091 Old 10-07-2008, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
RobertF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have any additional success/failure reports with Kill Bill 1 and 2?
RobertF is offline  
post #988 of 1091 Old 10-07-2008, 06:42 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertF View Post

Does anyone have any additional success/failure reports with Kill Bill 1 and 2?


Mine plays fine on all three of my BH200s as long as I have it set for 1080P60 output.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #989 of 1091 Old 10-07-2008, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CHITOWN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertF View Post

Does anyone have any additional success/failure reports with Kill Bill 1 and 2?

KB 1 and 2 work s fine when 24fps is disabled. Otherwise I could not even get to the main menu when 24fps is engaged.
rded is offline  
post #990 of 1091 Old 10-08-2008, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Doesn't clearing the BD flash fix it?
bradavon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off