LG BH200: Mini-FAQ + Firmware Info (TrueHD 7.1, DTS-HD, 24p) + SD DVD Multiregion! - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 2871 Old 09-04-2008, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrykewy View Post

Thanks - gave it a try, and no difference. It looks like the TrueHD sources on all these discs are 48khz, so that could simply be a difference in the way the two players are outputting PCM, without having any impact on sound quality. Any experts care to weigh in?

In the case of the Nine Inch Nails disc though, the BH200 (at least mine) just seems to be misreading the TrueHD track (track 2) as 2 channel. Also on this disc, the "sound calibration" tool doesn't show up as properly multichannel.

Could just be a problem disc for this player - anyone else have the HD DVD version they could try?

Are you running the original firmware that came with the BH200? It reads like you're running November or January firmware. You need at least the March beta firmware (really the official April) to decode multichannel TrueHD. Doing DTS re-encode to a receiver that accepts PCM over HDMI is a waste unless you are one of those anti-jitter people. (That's another discussion.)
allargon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 2871 Old 09-04-2008, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
WRX_Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrykewy View Post

Thanks - gave it a try, and no difference. It looks like the TrueHD sources on all these discs are 48khz, so that could simply be a difference in the way the two players are outputting PCM, without having any impact on sound quality. Any experts care to weigh in?

In the case of the Nine Inch Nails disc though, the BH200 (at least mine) just seems to be misreading the TrueHD track (track 2) as 2 channel. Also on this disc, the "sound calibration" tool doesn't show up as properly multichannel.

Could just be a problem disc for this player - anyone else have the HD DVD version they could try?

Did you check here:
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1002769

And here:
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1027202

Those might help.
WRX_Rocky is offline  
post #1353 of 2871 Old 09-04-2008, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
gkrykewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

Are you running the original firmware that came with the BH200? It reads like you're running November or January firmware. You need at least the March beta firmware (really the official April) to decode multichannel TrueHD. Doing DTS re-encode to a receiver that accepts PCM over HDMI is a waste unless you are one of those anti-jitter people. (That's another discussion.)

I am running version 0702, SW version BH02080620A. I believe it's the latest version - I followed the full instructions in the OP. It's as if the firmware updates to decode multichannel TrueHD didn't affect this particular disc. As I said, I get 5.1 TrueHD on my other discs (the ones I've tried), albeit with the 48khz caveat.
gkrykewy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 2871 Old 09-04-2008, 09:07 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,086
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9415 Post(s)
Liked: 6101
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrykewy View Post

Question: I just received my BH200, and I'm having a couple of HDMI PCM quirks. I have the player hooked up to a Sony DG910 receiver via HDMI, and I have the BH200 HDMI set to PCM multi-channel.

Two issues I've noticed so far: on the Nine Inch Nails: Beside You In Time HD DVD, the TrueHD track only shows up as 2 channel on the receiver's end (the DD+ shows as 5.1). On the Matrix Reloaded and Harry Potter HD DVDs, it appears that the TrueHD track is functional as 5.1, but on the player's end it shows up as 48khz, whereas I'm pretty sure it showed up as 96 or 192 from my HD-A3 (presently not hooked up). I have the BH200 set to 192 khz max output.

EDIT: Yeah, those TrueHD tracks show on the receiver's end as 96khz from my HD-A3.

Any tips? I updated to firmware 701 via USB, and 702 via ethernet download.

The tracks are not in 96khz on the disc. It was the player that was doing that. I remember my old HD DVD players when I used PCM output doing that too. The TrueHD tracks on those discs are 48khz.

The player will output a true 96khz signal from a pcm 96khz track. It does from the Chris Botti BD

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1355 of 2871 Old 09-04-2008, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
gkrykewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

The tracks are not in 96khz on the disc. It was the player that was doing that. I remember my old HD DVD players when I used PCM output doing that too. The TrueHD tracks on those discs are 48khz.

The player will output a true 96khz signal from a pcm 96khz track. It does from the Chris Botti BD

Thank you - that's very helpful. I guess I'm just down to a disc-specific issue with the NIN disc then.

By the way, the DVD upconversion on this thing is much better than any previous player I've had.
gkrykewy is offline  
post #1356 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 02:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Peter Galbavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD DVD of NiN plays fine for multichannel TrueHD to my 4308 in bitstreaming mode - I have not tried decoding in player. Which are you doing ?
Peter Galbavy is offline  
post #1357 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
gkrykewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post

My HD DVD of NiN plays fine for multichannel TrueHD to my 4308 in bitstreaming mode - I have not tried decoding in player. Which are you doing ?

Decoding in player (since my DG910 does not decode TrueHD, I have to send via multichannel PCM over HDMI).
gkrykewy is offline  
post #1358 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Peter Galbavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may have time to try mine and see if I get the same discrepancies between discs...
Peter Galbavy is offline  
post #1359 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
gkrykewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post

I may have time to try mine and see if I get the same discrepancies between discs...

That would be very helpful. If you have the same issue, I can add the disc to the BH200 "discs with bugs" thread. If not, I can add my receiver to the BH200 "other weird issues with components" thread
gkrykewy is offline  
post #1360 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 11:22 AM
B72
Senior Member
 
B72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question:


does the LG BH200 have an option to output SD DVDs at 1080p/24 ?
B72 is offline  
post #1361 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by B72 View Post

question:


does the LG BH200 have an option to output SD DVDs at 1080p/24 ?

No. FWIW, my experience with SD-DVD @24p (with an XA2) was not good. Very juddery and in some scenes, unwatchable.

In fact, I'm happy that the BH200 automatically chooses 60p for SD material, while retaining 24p with BD and HD discs.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #1362 of 2871 Old 09-05-2008, 02:10 PM
B72
Senior Member
 
B72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

No. FWIW, my experience with SD-DVD @24p (with an XA2) was not good. Very juddery and in some scenes, unwatchable.

In fact, I'm happy that the BH200 automatically chooses 60p for SD material, while retaining 24p with BD and HD discs.

thanks-

I 've read that SD DVD's at 24fps on the Xa2 made the menus all screwy but haven't heard about problems with movie playback

recently , after reading to much info
I'm able to notice judder and want 120hz - not sure about AMP
B72 is offline  
post #1363 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 12:04 AM
Newbie
 
steveitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased an US BH200 to convert for use in the UK, the Ebay seller had good feedback regarding doing this and sent me the link to this forum before I went ahead and purchased the player.

The firmware update seems to have worked, my Onkyo Amp seems to be picking up TrueHD sounds signal, which I gather would not have happened without the update.

So I come to do the hack RMTM0000 so I can switch my region to play my UK DVD's, but when I place the CDR in data is read but not option is offered to switch region!?!?

I am wondering whether LG have got wise to this and included an extra patch in their Firmware to stop people using the hack..

It is important I get it swtiched over, can anyone help with this please?

Thanks in advance.
steveitsu is offline  
post #1364 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 12:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Unlikely that the FW updates had anything to do with it, I updated mine (inc driver) before attempting to make it multi-region for DVD.

I would suggest that you haven't burnt the CD properly, it is an image file, not a file you just place on a disc.

use "burn image" from the "recorder" menu in nero and it should work fine.

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #1365 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It definitely does work. You're running the June firmware right?

Have you read the extra instructions for making sure the disc was burnt correctly? Also in the Mini-FAQ post (under the SD DVD Hack section). You can also try another disc.

Whenever users have posted before about it not working it's always because the disc wasn't burnt correctly. There's nothing special that needs to be done as such but that usually resolves it.

p.s - Here's the link I meant: https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...9&postcount=84
bradavon is offline  
post #1366 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 02:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Peter Galbavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrykewy View Post

That would be very helpful. If you have the same issue, I can add the disc to the BH200 "discs with bugs" thread. If not, I can add my receiver to the BH200 "other weird issues with components" thread

Yep, I see the same behaviour you do. On the HD DVD of NiN the BH200 reports the TrueHD track as 2CH while the receiver decodes it correctly as 5.1 - switching to PCM MultiChannel in the Setup screen does in fact decode as only 2 channels.

I compared this to LZ's The Some Remains The Same and this is reported and decoded as TrueHD 5.1 - while when bitstreaming the TrueHD track is actually seen by the Denon as 6.1 (!)

I am lucky, my receiver decodes this stuff. Let's hope for a new firmware fix release for those who don't.
Peter Galbavy is offline  
post #1367 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 05:18 AM
Newbie
 
steveitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses.

Got it to work, I was not burning the disk correctly.

Cheers
steveitsu is offline  
post #1368 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gkrykewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post

Yep, I see the same behaviour you do. On the HD DVD of NiN the BH200 reports the TrueHD track as 2CH while the receiver decodes it correctly as 5.1 - switching to PCM MultiChannel in the Setup screen does in fact decode as only 2 channels.

I compared this to LZ's The Some Remains The Same and this is reported and decoded as TrueHD 5.1 - while when bitstreaming the TrueHD track is actually seen by the Denon as 6.1 (!)

I am lucky, my receiver decodes this stuff. Let's hope for a new firmware fix release for those who don't.

Thank you very much for testing that - I'll add a post to the "discs with bugs" thread.
gkrykewy is offline  
post #1369 of 2871 Old 09-06-2008, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I'll test my Nine Inch Nails HD DVD later this weekend. You guys are using the HD DVD (not the Blu-Ray), right?

I'm happy to report that my April firmware BH200 decoded the 7.1 Dolby TrueHD track on The Nightmare before Christmas and sent it via PCM to my HK AVR-247 w/o issue. C*ckasian HD DVD also plays fine with the April firmware.
allargon is offline  
post #1370 of 2871 Old 09-07-2008, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 1,868
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

No. FWIW, my experience with SD-DVD @24p (with an XA2) was not good. Very juddery and in some scenes, unwatchable.

In fact, I'm happy that the BH200 automatically chooses 60p for SD material, while retaining 24p with BD and HD discs.

Actually, this is not correct. Mine is set on auto and I get 1080/24 from my PJ on SD DVDs.

Living the HT Dream in 4D.
4K HDR Cinema 106"@9ft w/5.4.2 Object Surround Sound and 6 Aura Bass Shakers
larrimore is offline  
post #1371 of 2871 Old 09-08-2008, 12:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
WRX_Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
As I just posted on the problem disk and bitstream audio problems for the BH200, I'll tell you here. I just bought a new Pioneer VSX-03TXH to replace the Onkyo 805 I have (long story, but Onkyo can kiss my . . . . . ). Where the 805 would occasionally mixup the DD+ signal as stereo and give static, every HD DVD disc I tried now with the BH200 (both DD+ and DTS HD) and the new Pioneer gave me static. Tried the A35 and it worked just fine. Argh!
WRX_Rocky is offline  
post #1372 of 2871 Old 09-08-2008, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
JimmytheSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK/USA
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what setting should I have on the LG to get BDs & HD-DVDs (that support it) to output 1080P @ 24Hz?
One thing I have noticed after connecting it to various equipment, is that it appears that the HDMI handshake issue maybe causing problems for some. I had the BH200 connected to a splitter (HDMI 1.1) to feed both tv and PJ. I had video & audio dropouts on both. I removed the splitter and connected it directly to the tv and got annoying clicks on the audio, but without any dropouts. Connected directly to the PJ, no dropouts or issues at all. All I can suggest is those of you experiencing these problems should try various combinations of HDMI wiring to your units and you maybe pleasantly surprised.
JimmytheSaint is offline  
post #1373 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmytheSaint View Post

So what setting should I have on the LG to get BDs & HD-DVDs (that support it) to output 1080P @ 24Hz?
One thing I have noticed after connecting it to various equipment, is that it appears that the HDMI handshake issue maybe causing problems for some. I had the BH200 connected to a splitter (HDMI 1.1) to feed both tv and PJ. I had video & audio dropouts on both. I removed the splitter and connected it directly to the tv and got annoying clicks on the audio, but without any dropouts. Connected directly to the PJ, no dropouts or issues at all. All I can suggest is those of you experiencing these problems should try various combinations of HDMI wiring to your units and you maybe pleasantly surprised.

Set resolution to Auto. Film Mode-On. Your display must have the correct info in the handshake, then 24p is automatic. At least, that is how it works with my Sony A3000 display.

There are many displays that support 24p, but have the wrong info in the handshake. Hopefully you don't have one of those. If you do, you might be out of luck since there is no way to "force" 24p.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #1374 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
RobertF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Regarding the stretch issue with 4:3 SD DVDs, Is this something that could be eliminated with a firmware update? Or is this an intrinsic characteristic of the player that can't be changed?

And can someone describe how exactly the 4:3 SD material is stretched? Is the 4:3 image stretched to 16:9? How objectionable is this? (I understand that opinions will vary on this.)

Finally can anyone suggest some good SD test discs to show this effect?

As background, I bought a BH200 about a week ago but I haven't had a chance to set it up yet. I currently have 4:3 CRT but I hope to buy a larger widescreen display in the next year or so.
RobertF is offline  
post #1375 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone interested...

Best Buy in Thousand Oaks, CA had an open box LG 200 with only the AC adapter for $229. No remote in sight...but they may in fact have it.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #1376 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertF View Post

Regarding the stretch issue with 4:3 SD DVDs, Is this something that could be eliminated with a firmware update? Or is this an intrinsic characteristic of the player that can't be changed?

And can someone describe how exactly the 4:3 SD material is stretched? Is the 4:3 image stretched to 16:9? How objectionable is this? (I understand that opinions will vary on this.)

Finally can anyone suggest some good SD test discs to show this effect?

You don't need a test disc. ANY 4:3 disc will do. If you seriously don't have any 4:3 discs, I can mail you a TV show recording or something.

How objectionable? If you don't object to TBS, TNT, Cartoon Network, A&E, Lifetime, Biography, Food Network, History Channel, HGTV or Lifetime Movie Network stretch-o-vision, then you probably won't mind.
allargon is offline  
post #1377 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

You don't need a test disc. ANY 4:3 disc will do. If you seriously don't have any 4:3 discs, I can mail you a TV show recording or something.

How objectionable? If you don't object to TBS, TNT, Cartoon Network, A&E, Lifetime, Biography, Food Network, History Channel, HGTV or Lifetime Movie Network stretch-o-vision, then you probably won't mind.

Any changes to the directors original intent is objectionable to me. This includes cropping from 2.35:1 to 1.78:1 on TV broadcasts...much less making everyone gain 20 lbs by stretchy-vision.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #1378 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
RobertF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

You don't need a test disc. ANY 4:3 disc will do. If you seriously don't have any 4:3 discs, I can mail you a TV show recording or something.

How objectionable? If you don't object to TBS, TNT, Cartoon Network, A&E, Lifetime, Biography, Food Network, History Channel, HGTV or Lifetime Movie Network stretch-o-vision, then you probably won't mind.

Thank you for the helpful advice. Are those broadcast channels stretched even if you're running a 4:3 display as I am?

And I have a ton of 4:3 SD DVD content but I was wondering if the effect is more pronounced on some discs. (And thanks for the offer to send me a disc.)

I think I'll just hook up the player and try some SD discs out. I have a Toshiba HD player that I can use for comparison purposes.
RobertF is offline  
post #1379 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertF View Post

Thank you for the helpful advice. Are those broadcast channels stretched even if you're running a 4:3 display as I am?

And I have a ton of 4:3 SD DVD content but I was wondering if the effect is more pronounced on some discs. (And thanks for the offer to send me a disc.)

I think I'll just hook up the player and try some SD discs out. I have a Toshiba HD player that I can use for comparison purposes.

They are stretched on a 4:3 display even if they are letterboxed by your provider's set top box. (Letterboxed *AND* stretched for the anti-black bar crowd. If you zoom in to remove the letterboxing, it will still be stretched.)

It might not show up for you if you are doing 4:3 over component as the BH200 will default to 480p. If your 4:3 display does HDMI (or perhaps HDCP compliant DVI), please accept my apologies in advance. You might have to set the LG to 16:9 to see the 4:3 issue we are mentioning.
allargon is offline  
post #1380 of 2871 Old 09-09-2008, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
RobertF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

They are stretched on a 4:3 display even if they are letterboxed by your provider's set top box. (Letterboxed *AND* stretched for the anti-black bar crowd. If you zoom in to remove the letterboxing, it will still be stretched.)

It might not show up for you if you are doing 4:3 over component as the BH200 will default to 480p. If your 4:3 display does HDMI (or perhaps HDCP compliant DVI), please accept my apologies in advance. You might have to set the LG to 16:9 to see the 4:3 issue we are mentioning.

Thanks for the additional information. That immediately tells me how I'll want to hook up my BH200.

I actually have two 4:3 Sony CRT displays but only one of them can handle HDMI (via DVI). The other set only has component inputs.

So I'll hook up the BH200 to my HDMI/DVI capable display and check out the stretch effect on some SD DVDs.
RobertF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off