LG BH200 Owner Review - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 09:49 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shouldn't any subsequent version of HDMI be backward compatible in terms of displaying video? I think it should be. Same rationale applies to regular RCA and coax cable. Do you think previous generations of consumers would sit back and say "oh darn I wish I bought the .6 version of RCA input on my Magnavox colour tube box rather than than the .5 that i bought last year. Oh well, I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet that I can't watch that Packers- Colts game in glorious colour." Hell no. And the companies were mindful of that concept when they made the sets they did back then. So if it is the case that having an earlier version of HDMI incapacitates you in any way from seeing video because a later version of HDMI dictates it, I will sue and I promise I will get to the Supreme Court. No sweat. OTOH, if my HDMI input on TV is "broken" oh well.
iluvmyjvc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 10:02 AM
Member
 
volleybradt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will let you know what i find out, but what gets me to the HDMI 1.3 issue is that the standards were jumping alot when 1.3 (BH-200) went in and then all of a sudden 1.3a started appearing (Newer models of TVs and Receivers). Wondering if the glitch is somewhat related to the rapid change in specs? By the way backward compatibility yes, but not forward...
volleybradt is offline  
post #393 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 12:15 PM
Member
 
volleybradt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got off the phone with LG....

They are just going to switch out my player with a new one.... Not sure that will solve the problem we have been having... FYI Remember the warranty period for this player is 90 days, so if you are going to make a return or service call on the product LG just switches it out for a new one and doesn't really address the issues we have been having.... Sorry for the bad news, but on a brighter side i included lots of notes with my return and hopefully the engineering staff will take a look at the player!!!
volleybradt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #394 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 01:24 PM
Member
 
twitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dullsville
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual for my plasma states that it oughta control HDMI-equipped hardware provided the two click, so to speak.
Now, when I had the Panny BD30 I could shut it off via Power button on the plasma's remote. Meaning, I was able to power down both devices with a single press of the button.
Guess what ? It ain't happening with the LG machine )))

In life you don't get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.
twitch is offline  
post #395 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,778
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
Just got mine! Off to the lab...

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #396 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,778
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
My 200 came with a build date of December! Anyway, I tried a few different Blu ray titles and HD DVD titles. All worked without issue. I like the way whichever format you are playing the front display logo of it lights up... Nice touch...

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #397 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 07:06 PM
Member
 
twitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dullsville
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt we'd be seeing any '08 build units till spring. Figure the time it'll take to clear '07s, new batch hitting the shore, distribution, retail shelf and on and on.
BTW, LG seems to be amongst few companies that actualy print the month of manufacture on a sticker attached to the outside of the carton.
Thank Gaaaaaawd

In life you don't get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.
twitch is offline  
post #398 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
OrangeKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Formerly Las Vegas, now Portland, OR
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

My 200 came with a build date of December! Anyway, I tried a few different Blu ray titles and HD DVD titles. All worked without issue. I like the way whichever format you are playing the front display logo of it lights up... Nice touch...

Does your unit have the latest firmware or did you have to install it? Mine arrives Feb 5.
OrangeKid is offline  
post #399 of 2675 Old 01-31-2008, 07:20 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get mine tomorrow.
jonathan777 is offline  
post #400 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,778
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
I did not even check. I just got in from Milwaukee and was pretty tired. Plus for some reason I have not been able to unzip the file from LG's site so far. Maybe someone could send it to me? Anyway, if it does have the older version I may be hesitant to do since it worked flawlessly. I still have to crack open the manual but where should it say its current firmware version?

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #401 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
OrangeKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Formerly Las Vegas, now Portland, OR
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I did not even check. I just got in from Milwaukee and was pretty tired. Plus for some reason I have not been able to unzip the file from LG's site so far. Maybe someone could send it to me? Anyway, if it does have the older version I may be hesitant to do since it worked flawlessly. I still have to crack open the manual but where should it say its current firmware version?

The latest firmware can be found here:

http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp

A pdf file gives instructions for installation. As the firmware recently came out I assume it postdates the version that comes on currently shipping units. As I have not received my unit yet I am not sure how to tell what the current firmware version is, but I would guess it would be listed somewhere on one of the setup screens.
OrangeKid is offline  
post #402 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
bluhdgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the instructions to check for the firmware version:
GO TO
SETUP
TV ASPECT
SELECT 16:9
PRESS 1397139 ON THE REMOTE
PRESS ENTER
The firmware version with all the details will appear on the screen.
bluhdgeek is offline  
post #403 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 11:37 AM
Member
 
twitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dullsville
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe, try to provoke the player. Advance chapters in rapid sequence; summon the menu and play around with options; check if stop-resume function works with BR discs.
Tell us what if anything happens

In life you don't get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.
twitch is offline  
post #404 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 12:12 PM
Member
 
twitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dullsville
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluhdgeek View Post

Here are the instructions to check for the firmware version:
GO TO
SETUP
TV ASPECT
SELECT 16:9
PRESS 1397139 ON THE REMOTE
PRESS ENTER
The firmware version with all the details will appear on the screen.


Could anybody interpret what these lines signify ?
Pic posted earlier by Pike


In life you don't get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.
twitch is offline  
post #405 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 12:22 PM
Member
 
bigrockies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrockies View Post

Has anyone reported the problem with Sunshine to LG and if so did they have a response.

I just bought the BH200 and tried to play my one BluRay disc Sunshine and I hit the audio issues and lockup around 4 mins that others have seen, what a pissoff. Now I know why they say BluRay is a POS compared to Hd-DVD. I have to the latest FW (P) and it made ZERO difference.

I got a note from LG today about the issues with the BH200 that I reported to them with Sunshine in particular. They said to take it to the nearest service center so it sounds like they want everyone to return their units cause they are defective.
bigrockies is offline  
post #406 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 12:28 PM
Member
 
bigrockies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Additional serious problems identified with the BH200. I've identified two additional issues with the BH200. If you produce a regular (RED) based DVD in BluRay HD format which is possible with many editors this days, you will likely notice some serious issues that make it very hard to play on BH200. Discs that are encoded with Mpeg2 I have found stutter constantly and don't work hardly at all. Discs encoded in AVC suffer from random sound issues where the soundtrack will get behind the video by a number of seconds and stutter at times.

What's interesting is I also have the LG SuperBlu PC drive and it plays both types of discs flawlessly. It also plays Sunshine flawlessly. This the identical drive in the BH200, what is different is the software. On the PC, PowerDVD is the software doing the playback, and it is 1.1 profile certified. This clearly points the Gigantic Finger of Shame at the crappy and unacceptable software (wake and smell the Burning ROM LG Engineers) in the BH200. I am thinking of returning the unit but haven't made the final decision yet but I certainly would not recommend the unit to anyone.
bigrockies is offline  
post #407 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 12:36 PM
Member
 
bigrockies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twitch View Post

Could anybody interpret what these lines signify ?
Pic posted earlier by Pike

One thing it clearly indicates is the unit is running under Linux. Squashfs refers to compressed file system used in Linux. Most of these entries (the long strings) are path names in this file system.
bigrockies is offline  
post #408 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 03:34 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, far the picture looks great, I put in Ratatouille and had no issues...except a really annoying clicking noise that has never occurred before with my speakers. I am using a MainstageHD in th front and rear. It is attatched to the BH200. Anyone else have that issue? It only happens when I skip scenes and then press play.
jonathan777 is offline  
post #409 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 03:38 PM
Member
 
twitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dullsville
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrockies View Post

If you produce a regular (RED) based DVD in BluRay HD format which is possible with many editors this days, you will likely notice some serious issues that make it very hard to play on BH200.


This one went right over my head

In life you don't get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.
twitch is offline  
post #410 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 03:54 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, so hear is the deal. The clicking sound went away when I put it back to the default settings. But I'm confused. Are the default settings for surround sound or just stereo??
jonathan777 is offline  
post #411 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,778
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
I have not had any clicking issues or any issues at all. Knock on wood of course...

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #412 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 04:41 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The default setting IS surround....I think. I put my ear to the back speakers and it seemed doing 5.1... You see, the mainstage is a virtual surround system but can be upgraded to 6.1 in the rear speakers. You just by another mainstagehd and you have a fully concealed system. I don't think it sounds like 2.0 stereo. I'm pretty darn sure it sounds like before. The instructions say:

Primary Pass through: Select if you connect this unit's digitial audio out AND hdmi out to a device with LPCM, DOLby Digital and dts.

The optical is going to my front mainstage hd, and my hdmi is going into my tv. So, that means I would uses the default, right?
jonathan777 is offline  
post #413 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 05:20 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked at the settings. When playing harry potter it says it's playing at 5.1 surround. Sweet. It works. So far, this player works brilliantly. Everything I put in it plays. I haven't even done the upgrade. Like as Ratatouille plays great, and so does all the harry potters (some are in hd-dvd and others are on blu-ray).
jonathan777 is offline  
post #414 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
bpade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine just arrived. So far, the previews on the Spiderman 3 disc look great.

Atlas just shrugged!
bpade is offline  
post #415 of 2675 Old 02-01-2008, 08:23 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The upconversion is VERY good. I'd go further to say that it's better than my ol' hd-xa2. At least on my set up.
jonathan777 is offline  
post #416 of 2675 Old 02-02-2008, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrockies View Post

One thing it clearly indicates is the unit is running under Linux. Squashfs refers to compressed file system used in Linux. Most of these entries (the long strings) are path names in this file system.

Yeah, older firmware allowed you to telnet into the player. It is def linux. They have closed that hole however.
HyPyke is offline  
post #417 of 2675 Old 02-02-2008, 11:46 AM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished watching Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone on Blu-ray. No video or audio dropout. I also watched half of Bourne Ultimatum with no video or audio dropout.

So my questions is...do I need the upgrade or is mine already upgraded?
jonathan777 is offline  
post #418 of 2675 Old 02-02-2008, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
topsy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there much difference between the BH100 and BH200???
topsy05 is offline  
post #419 of 2675 Old 02-02-2008, 05:03 PM
Member
 
bigrockies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New major problem with the BH-200 possibly.

I've got a library of older movies that were original shot in 4:3 like most movies in the 50's and earlier. But when I play them on the BH200 it always plays in 16:9 which is totally incorrect. They should be played with sidebars to avoid distorting or cutting off the picture. I haven't any way to prevent this. Can someone else confirm this or advice on what to do to correct. This is really annoys me that the player can't do this extremely basis DVD playback correctly, unbeliveably bad really.
bigrockies is offline  
post #420 of 2675 Old 02-02-2008, 06:17 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrockies View Post

New major problem with the BH-200 possibly.

I've got a library of older movies that were original shot in 4:3 like most movies in the 50's and earlier. But when I play them on the BH200 it always plays in 16:9 which is totally incorrect. They should be played with sidebars to avoid distorting or cutting off the picture. I haven't any way to prevent this. Can someone else confirm this or advice on what to do to correct. This is really annoys me that the player can't do this extremely basis DVD playback correctly, unbeliveably bad really.

There is a setting choice for screen layout in the BH200 menu under display if I remember correctly. I can also change the format on my tv.
elube is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off