LG BH200 Owner Review - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 11:05 AM
Member
 
rp683's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HyPyke, a few questions if I may...

Where did you get this information from:

*The player will re-compress the new formats to DTS on the fly. Never heard of this before. Guess since it does not have 5.1 analog outs this is a compromise. It will send the DTS out the digital output or HDMI. Since my HDMI is going to a new receiver that supports the new codecs and I pass everything to it directly I have no idea how good the re-compression is.

and

is there any way to verify if it is in-fact a profile 1.1 or 2.0?

and

According to you it cannot pass DTS-HD MA via bitstream but according to Cnet's website: Update: This post has been updated to reflect that LG has confirmed that the BH200 can output DTS-HD Master Audio in bitstream format

Could it be your receiver that doesn't decode DTS-HD MA? Just trying to clearify some questions I have, sorry. I appreciate you posting all this information, I'm anxious to get mine.
rp683 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rp683 View Post

HyPyke, a few questions if I may...

Where did you get this information from:

*The player will re-compress the new formats to DTS on the fly. Never heard of this before. Guess since it does not have 5.1 analog outs this is a compromise. It will send the DTS out the digital output or HDMI. Since my HDMI is going to a new receiver that supports the new codecs and I pass everything to it directly I have no idea how good the re-compression is.

and

is there any way to verify if it is in-fact a profile 1.1 or 2.0?

and

According to you it cannot pass DTS-HD MA via bitstream but according to Cnet's website: Update: This post has been updated to reflect that LG has confirmed that the BH200 can output DTS-HD Master Audio in bitstream format

Could it be your receiver that doesn't decode DTS-HD MA? Just trying to clearify some questions I have, sorry. I appreciate you posting all this information, I'm anxious to get mine.


The DTS recompression is in the menu. It asks you how to output the sound and one of the options is to recompress to DTS. This can be sent over the HDMI or SPDIF connections. I am sure this will be detailed in the manual when it is posted to the web.

I didn't say that it could not pass DTS-MA. I said that it could not pass Dolby True-HD. This was announced before the player came out. My receiver can decode it but the player decodes it to PCM 2 channel and sends that instead. This is supposed to be remedied in a firmware update as I understand. I looked for the article I read that in but I can't find it at the moment.

All of the press material says that it supports profile 1.1. I have no way to verify this. I have no profile 1.1 discs.
HyPyke is offline  
post #33 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 01:47 PM
Member
 
rp683's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks for the info, you've been very imformative... Looking forward to mine!
rp683 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Aguapolo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HyPyke, your review sounds pretty negative, but then you say you are happy with the player. I just want a player that is good at playing movies, and it's going to have problems when I load Pirates of the Caribbean, 300, Transformers, etc. If you aren't worried about sound, but simply just being able to watch a movie without issues, is this a good player? My TV doesn't support 24p, and my audio receiver won't support DTS-MA or TrueHD, so those make no difference to me.
Aguapolo17 is offline  
post #35 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
CCDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:


I just want a player that is good at playing movies, and it's going to have problems when I load Pirates of the Caribbean, 300, Transformers, etc.

Yes, I would be very interested to know if it has any problems with some of the Blu-Ray and HD-DVD titles titles that have been a PITA on the HTPC and PDVD. These are "Surf's Up", "Fantastic IV 2", as well as "Transformers" and a few others. Some of this is caused by stupid new DRM, as I understand it. Nice that Hollywood is more concerned about piracy than about letting their paying customers use the product.

For every complex problem there is an answer
that is clear, simple, and wrong.


H. L. Mencken

Galaxy Theater
CCDAstro is offline  
post #36 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aguapolo17 View Post

HyPyke, your review sounds pretty negative, but then you say you are happy with the player. I just want a player that is good at playing movies, and it's going to have problems when I load Pirates of the Caribbean, 300, Transformers, etc. If you aren't worried about sound, but simply just being able to watch a movie without issues, is this a good player? My TV doesn't support 24p, and my audio receiver won't support DTS-MA or TrueHD, so those make no difference to me.

Well, it has a fantastic picture and supports all the interactive features of both formats 'at this point'. I would say that it does not fit the "good all around player" moniker because of the poor standard def DVD quality.

If you can wait for the Samsung, then, by all means, wait. It certainly sounds like the best "all around player" based on:

1. The specs provided by Samsung
2. The preview at hdguru.com

That, plus the fact that the price was already reported to be 799 at Crutchfield (Printed catalog). UPDATE: Apparently, according to another thread they are not honoring this price as it was a mistake. The Samsung may be 999 after all.

If all this holds up there is no doubt, the Samsung is the way to go.

I wanted the player, NOW however.

I'd waited forever and I wanted it before Ronin and Blade Runner come out. I wanted to go ahead and start enjoying 1080p movies on my set without having to resort to "other" means (*cough*usenet*cough).

Plus, I took a chance to be on the bleeding edge. Had I paid the full 999, which I was prepared to do at the time, I would be a bit disappointed but I did get what I wanted which was a dual format player that supported all the interactive features. The previous LG did not fit that bill obviously.

Now, the really sticky point in your post was, "being able to watch a movie without issues". Based on my research there is no "safe" bet here. All of the players have their quirks. MANY have needed upgrades to play newer discs and some have been upgraded several times. That is one of the reasons why they all (ok, most) have ethernet jacks. To be honest, you really won't be able to avoid those kinds of problems altogether. The moment a player comes out it "should" be able to support all the discs released up to that point. Beyond that there is no guarantee.

The reason my review sounds negative is because it is not a perfect machine and I was trying to make sure that folks understood the shortcomings. For example, I don't need 5.1 analog outputs because I have a new receiver that supports the new codecs. Analog output are VERY important to those who have slightly older gear. I don't care about standard def DVD playback because I am not giving up my HTPC and it's ability to disable all the disc and player prohibitions and jump straight to the movie, plus it has stellar upscaling and image processing. People who want a do-it-all machine do care.

Right now I am loving being able to watch HDDVD and Blu-Ray movies in 1080p with awesome digital sound. None of the problems I ran into so far have been particularly maddening or frequent enough to be an issue. But, I also knew what to expect out of HDDVD and Blu-Ray in general, as I'd read volumes on the players that were already out.

Hope that clears things up a bit.
HyPyke is offline  
post #37 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCDAstro View Post

Yes, I would be very interested to know if it has any problems with some of the Blu-Ray and HD-DVD titles titles that have been a PITA on the HTPC and PDVD. These are "Surf's Up", "Fantastic IV 2", as well as "Transformers" and a few others. Some of this is caused by stupid new DRM, as I understand it. Nice that Hollywood is more concerned about piracy than about letting their paying customers use the product.

I would love to be able to tell you about them but I don't have any of those discs and don't plan on renting those particular titles. If there is someone with a good rep on this forum who lives in the north ATL area and has those discs I would not be opposed to letting them come over and throw them at my player for a while.
HyPyke is offline  
post #38 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Like others have mentioned, great review, and thanks for the honesty. Even with all its faults, if there's a substantial gap between this guy and the Samsung, I could see getting the LG to "tied me over" until something better comes along. Samsung or otherwise.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #39 of 2675 Old 10-22-2007, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Aguapolo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyPyke View Post


Now, the really sticky point in your post was, "being able to watch a movie without issues". Based on my research there is no "safe" bet here. All of the players have their quirks. MANY have needed upgrades to play newer discs and some have been upgraded several times. That is one of the reasons why they all (ok, most) have ethernet jacks. To be honest, you really won't be able to avoid those kinds of problems altogether. The moment a player comes out it "should" be able to support all the discs released up to that point. Beyond that there is no guarantee.



Well, I currently just have the A2, and have not had ANY issues whatsoever. However, I bought about 11 blu-ray discs when Circuit City and Amazon had the BOGO offer, so now I really want a combo player, and would prefer one with BD 1.1 and 2.0.
Aguapolo17 is offline  
post #40 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Codename_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It looks like this player doesn't have the latest firmware that the release models will have loaded on them. I can't see them shipping out a final product with all the issues mentioned above.
Codename_Falcon is offline  
post #41 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 12:30 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the standard DVD upconvert is non-existant? Was there a choice of how to upconvert?
elube is offline  
post #42 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elube View Post

So the standard DVD upconvert is non-existant? Was there a choice of how to upconvert?

Huh? Yes, it upconverts to whatever res you set in the menu. It just looks terrible regardless of the resolution. See my previous comments about forcing it to 720p and 408p to test. I normally run 1080p. The resolution does not matter with regard to the poor quality.
HyPyke is offline  
post #43 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 01:07 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyPyke View Post

Huh? Yes, it upconverts to whatever res you set in the menu. It just looks terrible regardless of the resolution. See my previous comments about forcing it to 720p and 408p to test. I normally run 1080p. The resolution does not matter with regard to the poor quality.

VERY dissapointing!! I was hoping to have one player do it all and since I have a large SD DVD collection I will have to buy 2 seperate players or wait for the Sammy.
elube is offline  
post #44 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys.

Got a copy of the preliminary manual from LG. I am not allowed to post it but I am going through it now to get any useful info.

So far I did find this:

Quote:
This player supports BD-ROM Profile 2 specification
and BD-ROM Profile 1 version 1.1 specification.

HyPyke is offline  
post #45 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More manual goodness:

Quote:
Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD
capability is limited to 7.1 channels if you use
HDMI (version 1.3) connection for the audio output
of the unit.
Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD
capability is limited to 5.1 channels if you use
Digital Audio or HDMI (version 1.2) connection for
the audio output of the unit.

This would seem to confirm what I'd read earlier, that True-HD will be supported via HDMI eventually.
HyPyke is offline  
post #46 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RE: The manual.

Ok I've gone over it a couple of times and that seems to be it. There is a nice chart at the end that tells you how sound will be output depending on the source format vs. the output method (optical, HDMI, analog).

Basically, to get all the formats at full resolution you need a receiver with HDMI 1.3 and all the codecs. This was expected.
HyPyke is offline  
post #47 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also got my hands on one of the Bose display units. $150 off as is with no remote, box or anything but a line cord. Programmed a harmony remote same as BH100 and got it working. SD seems fine on mine, tried all resolutions. Can't seem confirm if 24p is working with my 6010 Pioneer. BD looks good. All I have is a DVE HD-DVD and the demos work great in 1080p but when I change the DVE disk to output 720p the video seems to pause and start every second but the sound comes through fine. I will need to do further testing with HD-DVD's.

HyPyke, could you tip me on how to come up with a manual.

Ed
echudoba is offline  
post #48 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

I also got my hands on one of the Bose display units. $150 off as is with no remote, box or anything but a line cord. Programmed a harmony remote same as BH100 and got it working. SD seems fine on mine, tried all resolutions. Can't seem confirm if 24p is working with my 6010 Pioneer. BD looks good. All I have is a DVE HD-DVD and the demos work great in 1080p but when I change the DVE disk to output 720p the video seems to pause and start every second but the sound comes through fine. I will need to do further testing with HD-DVD's.

HyPyke, could you tip me on how to come up with a manual.

Ed

Congrats on getting the player.

Regarding the manual, I called the LG support line (1-800-243-0000) and asked them for it and they emailed it to me moments later.

Please run through some SD DVD's for the forum and if you have time report in detail on your opinion so that folks here can get another opinion on the quality. Thanks.
HyPyke is offline  
post #49 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ethanj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Irvine, CA.
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HyPyke,

Have you tried this player with any of the HD DVD PIP like Warner IME or Universal U-Control? If you have, please comment. I'm curious to see if it works.
ethanj is offline  
post #50 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 06:07 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

Hi HyPyke,

Thanks for the review. A couple of quick questions:

1) Any chance you could time an HDDVD and Bluray disc startup from pressing play with the disc in the tray to first seeing video?

For startup times:

Power up to home menu = 34 sec

From inserting in tray to first video:
SD = 28 sec
HD-DVD = 38 sec
BD = 34 sec
echudoba is offline  
post #51 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 09:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,020
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6345 Post(s)
Liked: 6019
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyPyke View Post

RE: The manual.

Ok I've gone over it a couple of times and that seems to be it. There is a nice chart at the end that tells you how sound will be output depending on the source format vs. the output method (optical, HDMI, analog).

Basically, to get all the formats at full resolution you need a receiver with HDMI 1.3 and all the codecs. This was expected.

I see you mentioned DTS HD, but did it mention DTS HD MA?
Ph8te is online now  
post #52 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 09:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

I see you mentioned DTS HD, but did it mention DTS HD MA?

That was covered earlier in the thread. Yes it can.
HyPyke is offline  
post #53 of 2675 Old 10-23-2007, 11:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,020
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6345 Post(s)
Liked: 6019
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyPyke View Post

That was covered earlier in the thread. Yes it can.

Opps
Ph8te is online now  
post #54 of 2675 Old 10-24-2007, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
bboncorr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

I also got my hands on one of the Bose display units. $150 off as is with no remote, box or anything but a line cord. Programmed a harmony remote same as BH100 and got it working. SD seems fine on mine, tried all resolutions. Can't seem confirm if 24p is working with my 6010 Pioneer. BD looks good. All I have is a DVE HD-DVD and the demos work great in 1080p but when I change the DVE disk to output 720p the video seems to pause and start every second but the sound comes through fine. I will need to do further testing with HD-DVD's.

HyPyke, could you tip me on how to come up with a manual.

Ed

we also have to remember the new pioneer plasma tv's are very good at processing SD. i own the 5010FD and it displays SD very well for a HDTV. so if SD is fine for us pioneer owners i wonder what the difference is for lower level HDTV's that dont convert so well.

Pioneer 5010FD, Samsung 55hu8550, Panny 42PZ85U, Denon 4308, B&W 600's, HSU VTF-3 MK3, harmony 1000, PS4, Xbox One, Sony BDP S350, TiVo Roamio multi room setup
bboncorr1 is offline  
post #55 of 2675 Old 10-24-2007, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
bboncorr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
man now im torn between waiting for the samsung, buying seperate units (A35 and samsung 1400), or just picking up the new L.G.. i'm not concerned with sd dvd's because i know my pioneer will do a great job but what i am concerned with is the samsung going to give a better HD picture or will this L.G. stand the test of time build quality wise.

i think it is going to come down to if the A35 and samsung 1400 can pass the new audio formats over HDMI 1.3. My yamaha rx-v3800 will handle the decoding from there if those players can just send it through.

Pioneer 5010FD, Samsung 55hu8550, Panny 42PZ85U, Denon 4308, B&W 600's, HSU VTF-3 MK3, harmony 1000, PS4, Xbox One, Sony BDP S350, TiVo Roamio multi room setup
bboncorr1 is offline  
post #56 of 2675 Old 10-25-2007, 05:29 AM
Member
 
rp683's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like a plan bboncorr1, but keep in mind that the 1400 is, and probably always be, a BD-ROM profile 1.0! Not sure if that's important to you but it'll be "old technology" once the Samsung 5000 is released.

Also the 1400 has no HQV either, I had one and returned it. I loved the machine but I was within my 30 return policy so I'm holding out for the 5000.
rp683 is offline  
post #57 of 2675 Old 10-25-2007, 09:25 AM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reading HyPyke's review I went to a BB yesterday to get a Xa2 and 1400. They don't stock the Xa2 anymore and didn't have the A35 yet. They wouldn't sell me the BH200 so I went to a second BB. They set up the BH200 for me to see SD on a Pioneer 6010 (close to my Elite 150) and then set up a 1400 and 1200 (reon Chip) so I could compare. I went back and forth and could see no difference in SD PQ. To me, it all needs to be better. So I was able to buy the BH200 less box and manual but for full price.

When I got home I compared it to the $100 pioneer SD upscaling player I bought, to tide me over, and the BH200 seemed slightly darker but PQ didn't seem any different. I have it hooked to a vsx94TXH Pioneer receiver. We then watched Transformers on HD DVD and there are where the problems began. Slight periodic sound studdering followed by mid movie lock ups and more studdering. My wife ran here workout video (SD) this morning and said it locked up too.
My TV does 24fps also and I didn't find any choice to force it or otherwise. The only different thing the tv shows is "36bits". I will try a BD and some others and let you know how those are.
elube is offline  
post #58 of 2675 Old 10-25-2007, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might have to rent Transformers just to see if I have problems as well. Even though I think that watching the film makes the baby Jesus cry and I consider Michael Bay's direction of said film to be an act of audience terrorism I may still have to take one for the team.

There is definitely no "force" option for 24p at all.

I assume, elube, that your manufacturing date is October as well?

The code sequence to view the firmware version on the BH100 does not seem to work on the BH200. I may call support tonight to see if I can squeeze it out of them.

It is good to hear that the SD DVD is not as bad for some people as it was for me. It might be that I am just "HTPC spoiled."
HyPyke is offline  
post #59 of 2675 Old 10-25-2007, 01:25 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyPyke View Post

I might have to rent Transformers just to see if I have problems as well. Even though I think that watching the film makes the baby Jesus cry and I consider Michael Bay's direction of said film to be an act of audience terrorism I may still have to take one for the team.

There is definitely no "force" option for 24p at all.

I assume, elube, that your manufacturing date is October as well?

The code sequence to view the firmware version on the BH100 does not seem to work on the BH200. I may call support tonight to see if I can squeeze it out of them.

It is good to hear that the SD DVD is not as bad for some people as it was for me. It might be that I am just "HTPC spoiled."

Yeah, the story sucked but the SEs were outstanding.

I had to peel a yellow "license"? sticker back to see the date and it was Oct.

Let me know what you find out on the firmware update if any.

I haven't had a chance to see any other titles yet as I have been working.

Any chance of sending me the manual via email? If not, I can get it how you did.

Thanks in advance
elube is offline  
post #60 of 2675 Old 10-25-2007, 01:32 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is October also, sure would be nice to see the firmware version. I also could not get in with the BH100 code sequence.

Watch SD DVD with 1080p output so my 5010FD would not do any processing. PQ was outstanding but did have video hesitations about every 10 minuets. Very slight. I will try 480p on the next one.

24p does not seem to be working with the 6010. I have calls and email into tech support with LG and Pioneer. Got the BH200 manual from LG support but they do not have a spec sheet yet. Neither BH100 or BH200 manuals mention 24p but the BH100 spec sheet does. They really need a way to force 24p output.
echudoba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off