LG BH200 Owner Review - Page 30 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:44 AM
Member
 
angel2167882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Deux-Montagnes, Qc, Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Forgive my ignorance... although I've been following this thread, it's still unclear to me whether this update allows the bh200 to decode TrueHD and send it via PCM. Can someone clearify?

It does already but only in 2 channels! I think it remain Dolby TrueHD 2 channels over HDMI.

And I tested yesterday in SPDIF primary pass-thru (Harry Potter 5 HD-DVD) and TrueHD 5.1 is output in PCH 2 channels on my receiver (cause SPDIF don't know TrueHD nor PCM 5 channels).

So you want to know if TrueHD can be "downmix" to PCM 5.1 channels? I don't know a receiver that understand that... but maybe it exist?
angel2167882 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Sunnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Testing audio now with my HDMI setup...

Set to Primary pass thru: played Dolby Digital EX on my Onkyo 605 with SD disc (never has before).
Will try HD disc now.

Blu-ray "No Country For Old Men" same setting passed Dolby Diigital EX also (never has before), more testing...

Spider-man 3, Blu-ray, passing Dolby True HD 5.1 same setup!

Live Free or Die Hard, Blu-ray, passes 5.1 DTS Master Lossless Audio same setup! Man, I am getting very happly LG!

American Gangster, DVDHD, passed Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 and would decode with Dloby Digital EX on top of that.

The Patriot, Blu-ray, passes LPCM, uncompressed 5.1, whoops my mistake, that would be LPCM 7.1, not listed on DVD case!

Aeonflux, HDDVD, passes 5.1 DD+ and EX.

The Brave One (Jodie Foster), Blu-ray passes Dolby True HD 5.1.

We Were Soldiers, HDDVD, passes DD+5.1 and DTS HD ES 6.1. Cool.

It looks like we are good here guys! Thank you LG!
Sunnie is offline  
post #873 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:45 AM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG may have rushed out a product, but I am impressed with their follow up. It's nice to see a company fix something.
jonathan777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #874 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
guste's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe someone can test this, since I don't have my player set up yet.

It's my understanding that it internally decode the DTS HD format and will only bitsream, but as far as Dolby goes, I'm wondering if onboard decoding is limited to just Dolby TreuHD, or if it will do Dolby TrueHD AND DD+?

My receiver can handle the bitstream, but I'm just curious as to what the player's capabilities are in this respect.

As far as that name change goes, LGdoubter, maybe LGcheerleader?

**EDIT** I just answered my own question... It does internally decode the DD+.
guste is offline  
post #875 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know when LG will have firmware for 1080p/24 for the BH200?
FremontRich is offline  
post #876 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:48 AM
Member
 
LGdoubter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as that name change goes, LGdoubter, maybe LGcheerleader? [/quote]

I was thinking of changing it to Neal.
LGdoubter is offline  
post #877 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:56 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no VIDEO dropouts either?
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #878 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 11:56 AM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to say 1000 times thanks to the genius at LG !!

The ONE and ONLY long time anticipated firmware just arrived !!

And its true, the LG now gives out a real bitstream with no compromises. Set the LG to "primary pass thru" and you will receive a bitstream of the new HD-audio-formats. Also Dolby True HD goes out the right way (with more than only 2 channels) tested 5 minutes ago with my Denon AVR-4308.

I never had the drop-outs (I had installed the newer European firmware, dated 24th of january 2008) and never had the green lines. But the audio-bitstream-output now really works!!

And finally: my Top Gun HD-DVD - 1 of 100 discs that didn't work - now plays wonderful.

Thanks LG !! I think the BH200 is THE machine to go !! Is there a better Blu-ray Player out ?? I don't think so. Im really, really, happy and excited !!

And yeah, it's true, the hompepage from LG is strange and confusing. No hint which one is the new, and which one the old file

So, go and put the new firmware on your player and be happy !!

Thanks LG !!

But two questions:
Where did you find the point to make downloads direct with the BH200 in future? I did not find this option.
And finally: Does the LG now support discs with Profile 1.1 extras ?? I don't have a disc with PiP or anything else. But would be interesting to see if it also supports now 1.1 profile "things"



@FremontRich

The European version already had the option for 1080p/24 output. I think the US will now also carry this option. I find it under: Others (other options) > 1080p film/movie mode = switch it on for 24p output
AlfaGT is offline  
post #879 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Ven0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fantastic News!

I'll be updating mine tonight!
Ven0r is offline  
post #880 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:11 PM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have it in for service because of the video dropout issue. The place has had it for a wekk and a half, and couldn't replicate the video dropout. Now i just wanna know if people who have experienced video dropout have since installed this new firmware, and no video dropouts occur any longer. Just give this hard-working guy a glimmer of hope!
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #881 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:19 PM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i plug the usb flash stick into the bh200, go to setup, and i don't have to go the extra step of plugging in the ethernet cable, or do i still have to plug in the ethernet cable?
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #882 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:32 PM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvmyjvc View Post

i plug the usb flash stick into the bh200, go to setup, and i don't have to go the extra step of plugging in the ethernet cable, or do i still have to plug in the ethernet cable?

Normaly, when you plug in the usb stick, there should come a pop-up which asks "do you want to make the update?" (or something like this).
No ethernet cable necessary.

But, normaly, you don't have to go into the setup menu. There must come a pop-up, once usb is plugged in.

Cheers
AlfaGT
AlfaGT is offline  
post #883 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:35 PM
Member
 
LGdoubter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvmyjvc View Post

i plug the usb flash stick into the bh200, go to setup, and i don't have to go the extra step of plugging in the ethernet cable, or do i still have to plug in the ethernet cable?

Remember it's a zip file -

once you plug in the flash, the update screen will show up and it will ask you if you want to upgrade - I recommed responding with an affirmative - takes about 2 or 3 minutes.
LGdoubter is offline  
post #884 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 12:46 PM
Member
 
jonathan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never had any video drop outs.
jonathan777 is offline  
post #885 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:07 PM
Member
 
hello252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw the 1080p Film Mode Option under the 'Others' Menu. Has anyone confirmed it is now passing 1080p/24?
hello252 is offline  
post #886 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Sunnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FremontRich View Post

Does anyone know when LG will have firmware for 1080p/24 for the BH200?

With this new firmware update there seems to be a new setting under "OTHERS" area of menu, "1080P Film Mode". I don't recall seeing this before, but I don't have a 24 frame setup to test it.
Sunnie is offline  
post #887 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you guys are telling me that this player bitsteams true HD and DTS HD MA now?

no decoding and sending PCM, but actually sending the bitstream?
halfsane is offline  
post #888 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:12 PM
Member
 
LGdoubter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

you guys are telling me that this player bitsteams true HD and DTS HD MA now?

no decoding and sending PCM, but actually sending the bitstream?

correct
LGdoubter is offline  
post #889 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
brewster007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGdoubter View Post

Remember it's a zip file -

once you plug in the flash, the update screen will show up and it will ask you if you want to upgrade - I recommed responding with an affirmative - takes about 2 or 3 minutes.

This is probably a dumb question but I am kinda new to this stuff. If I want to update the firmware using a usb flash plugged into the BH200, do I need to first unzip the file or do I simply put the zip file on the usb flash and let the unit unzip the file. Normally I would unzip the file first on the computer but I was not sure for this. Help appreciated.

Thanks
Brewster
brewster007 is offline  
post #890 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:15 PM
Member
 
LGdoubter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewster007 View Post

This is probably a dumb question but I am kinda new to this stuff. If I want to update the firmware using a usb flash plugged into the BH200, do I need to first unzip the file or do I simply put the zip file on the usb flash and let the unit unzip the file. Normally I would unzip the file first on the computer but I was not sure for this. Help appreciated.

Thanks
Brewster

unzip it first
LGdoubter is offline  
post #891 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by angel2167882 View Post

It does already but only in 2 channels! I think it remain Dolby TrueHD 2 channels over HDMI.

And I tested yesterday in SPDIF primary pass-thru (Harry Potter 5 HD-DVD) and TrueHD 5.1 is output in PCH 2 channels on my receiver (cause SPDIF don't know TrueHD nor PCM 5 channels).

So you want to know if TrueHD can be "downmix" to PCM 5.1 channels? I don't know a receiver that understand that... but maybe it exist?

I was aware of the 2channel decoding (should have mentioned that in my post). So those of us with receivers that don't decode DTH and DTS-MA are still SOL except on LPCM BDs?
5harkology is offline  
post #892 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
brewster007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGdoubter View Post

unzip it first

Thanks!!

brewster
brewster007 is offline  
post #893 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:34 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FremontRich View Post

Does anyone know when LG will have firmware for 1080p/24 for the BH200?

I set my tv to pc and it said 1920x1080 24hz. Not sure if it's the same as 24fps?

Anyway, the codecs work on pass thru!!!

The green line is gone!!!!

Not sure on the drop outs yet as I don't have time to watch a full movie but will tonight.

My only other issue is that my driver version is only 0695 and I can't get it to connect to the internet? I do that thru network connections, right?
elube is offline  
post #894 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:42 PM
Member
 
angel2167882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Deux-Montagnes, Qc, Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, looks like LOTS if not ALL the issues are fixed now... WOW!!

I'll be the guinea-pig tonight for testing SPDIF audio downmix

5harkology: I'm wondering how TrueHD 5.1 will downmix over SPDIF? Prior firmware did TrueHD 5.1 -> PCM 2.0 on my Yamaha receiver thru SPDIF... As far as I know, there is NO lossless multi-channel codec on "old" SPDIF receiver.

For DTS-HD-MA, I'm pretty sure it will remain the same and pick only the DTS-Core and play as regular DTS 5.1/6.1 (at least it remain multichannel)
angel2167882 is offline  
post #895 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Sunnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elube View Post

I set my tv to pc and it said 1920x1080 24hz. Not sure if it's the same as 24fps?

Anyway, the codecs work on pass thru!!!

The green line is gone!!!!

Not sure on the drop outs yet as I don't have time to watch a full movie but will tonight.

My only other issue is that my driver version is only 0695 and I can't get it to connect to the internet? I do that thru network connections, right?

I believe they are relatively the same. 60fps=60Hz and 24fps=24Hz, but I could be wrong.
Sunnie is offline  
post #896 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elube View Post

I set my tv to pc and it said 1920x1080 24hz. Not sure if it's the same as 24fps?

Anyway, the codecs work on pass thru!!!

The green line is gone!!!!

Not sure on the drop outs yet as I don't have time to watch a full movie but will tonight.

My only other issue is that my driver version is only 0695 and I can't get it to connect to the internet? I do that thru network connections, right?

Yes.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #897 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
hawkeye3.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

I was aware of the 2channel decoding (should have mentioned that in my post). So those of us with receivers that don't decode DTH and DTS-MA are still SOL except on LPCM BDs?

According to Osofast on 3 March:

Quote:


Dolby TrueHD 7.1ch decoding (PCM output)
Able to decode & output 7.1ch via HDMI as PCM output for Dolby TrueHD source.
(BH200 R/C & 3rd Gen. OK)
*bitstream output is enabled in 3rd Gen. ONLY

So don't give up on player decoding just yet. I am thinking they were able to include bitstream output as well, rather than deferring that to the next model as indicated above.

We should know soon as more members upgrade and start experimenting. I know I'll be digging deep on this tonight.

Looks like I picked a good time to grab a used BH200 and join the party, this player will generate a lot of buzz now.
hawkeye3.1 is offline  
post #898 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkeye3.1 View Post

According to Osofast on 3 March:



So don't give up on player decoding just yet. I am thinking they were able to include bitstream output as well, rather than deferring that to the next model as indicated above.

We should know soon as more members upgrade and start experimenting. I know I'll be digging deep on this tonight.

Looks like I picked a good time to grab a used BH200 and join the party, this player will generate a lot of buzz now.

Yes, Osofast is referring to the BH300.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #899 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 02:49 PM
Member
 
hello252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the BH200 now decode (internally) TrueHD and pass it as PCM to a PCM (non TrueHD) receiver in 7.1?
hello252 is offline  
post #900 of 2675 Old 03-18-2008, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello252 View Post

Will the BH200 now decode (internally) TrueHD and pass it as PCM to a PCM (non TrueHD) receiver in 7.1?

It looks that way, as long as you use HDMI not SPDIF.
bradavon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off