LG BH200 Owner Review - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 2675 Old 11-10-2007, 05:54 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

To tell ya truth i still like the BH 100 even tho it deosnt have full HD-DVD support for exrta features who cares! I want to watch a movie not mess around with extra feature stuff! and not having the analog outputs is a deal breaker for the BH 200. why they deleted that i'll never know. No problems playing discs not that the new firmware is out . I might go buy a few more ;-)

Athanasios

The problem I have is that I have a HDMI receiver that can decode anything the disk is capable of sending it but the BH200 won't pass it to the receiver? Overall, most disks play good or just stutter or lock up occasionally but I have a 7.1 system and would like to be able to use it properly.
elube is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 2675 Old 11-10-2007, 11:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Athanasios,

ya sou vra
JimP is offline  
post #123 of 2675 Old 11-11-2007, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Athanasios,

ya sou vra

Elinas eisai?

Athansios
nashou66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 2675 Old 11-17-2007, 01:29 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed there is a Manual for the BH200 on LG's WS and it is dated 10/18. I'm not sure if it is different to one dated in Sept.
elube is offline  
post #125 of 2675 Old 11-17-2007, 03:16 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
elube
Good find. It's different, just did a quick scan and page 7 was changed to say BD profile 1.1 and 2 by a future firmware. Still no mention of 24 fps. Still no word from LG on my attempts to get my issues corrected or answered (SD video hesitations and 24fps).
echudoba is offline  
post #126 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 09:23 AM
Member
 
PeterShipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone. I just had a chance to skim this thread and thought I'd fill in some info that looks missing.

I was in San Diego a few weeks ago at the LG line show which was a preview of the upcoming 2008 line to key dealers. I had a chance to talk to the product planner that worked on the BH100 and BH200. While I was sitting there one of his guys walked up with a USB flash drive with SEVERAL beta versions of new FW for the BH200.

I don't know specifically when the release dates will be for the firmware, but here's what was discussed:

-The current production firmware (as of 10/29 when we had this discussion) was not final. IE all of you out there with BH200s don't have the final production release.

-1080p/24 is NOT supported but will be in the update. Only problem is it is automatic based on EDID. There is no switch for 60/24.

-They indicated a 24/60 manual option would be in a future release.

-The QDEO processing is not fully utilized in the firmware currently shipping. This would explain reports of poor SD quality. This is one of their top priorities. Those of you out there that understand software video processing know that chip maker's "stock" software does not offer the best performance. It's up to the manufacturer to tweak it for their application. This is the case for LG and the QDEO chip. They are working very hard on it and are confident when the updated FW is released it will be good.

-Firmware updates can be performed with either a USB key or over the Ethernet port. I would assume it will still accept it via DVD disc, USB will be much easier. They said eventually updates would be automatic as long as the player was connected to an Internet connection. The updates they loaded at the show were all done from USB and like I said, they had several versions they were testing.

So for those of you on the fence, I would suggest holding off until "production" firmware is loaded. I was told only about 800 units shipped nationwide and no more have shipped to date since then. I think they realized the firmware needed to be finished. I would expect to see a new FW version when the BH200s are availble in quantity which should be by December.

In general, look to see some cool new products from LG in 2008. The biggest announcement was ISFccc support, and there's more calibration friendly certification coming. They spent several minutes discussing calibration and it’s merits in the general session which was attended by 100s of dealers, most of which are retailers.

Peter Shipp
ISF, HAA, SBCA, CEDIA Certified
[email protected]
PeterShipp is offline  
post #127 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 09:24 AM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update echudoba! I have until the 24th to exchange it. I want to keep it but be assured that all will be corrected. I have watched more BD, HD and SD and haven't had much problems video wise. Like you, I want the 24 fps and all the best sound outputs so we will just have to wait and see. I may get my money back and then turn around and get another one to start a new 30 days!
elube is offline  
post #128 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 09:28 AM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great update PeterShipp!! Was there any talk about the HD versions of DD and DTS being able to pass through and was there a "should be ready no later than" mentioned?
elube is offline  
post #129 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Rygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

Elinas eisai?

Athansios

Nai

trans. Yes i am
Rygar is offline  
post #130 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 02:48 PM
Member
 
PeterShipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elube View Post

Great update PeterShipp!! Was there any talk about the HD versions of DD and DTS being able to pass through and was there a "should be ready no later than" mentioned?

I did not ask about pass through simply because I assumed that would work as it's part of the HDMI 1.2 spec and this unit is 1.3a compliant. I also cant say our experiance since we dont have one yet.

I did not ask about a date. I would not have gotten a definitive answer. I'm sure the majority of the issues I mentioned (24p, QDEO, 1.3) will be supported upon final release, and its not uncommon for firmware to be upgraded once units are in the US but before they are shipped to retailers. I doubt a manual 24p switch will be there for those of you with messed up EDID's.

Peter Shipp
ISF, HAA, SBCA, CEDIA Certified
[email protected]
PeterShipp is offline  
post #131 of 2675 Old 11-18-2007, 03:35 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PeterShipp
Great news, I will hold out for this for sure. My Pioneer 6010 should be OK with the EDID's. I would prefer the ability to force 24p. Do you think the hardware is the same as next months release?

Thanks

Ed
echudoba is offline  
post #132 of 2675 Old 11-19-2007, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now how the heck do we get the latest firmware? They have to have SOMETHING. Even if it's beta. :-/
HyPyke is offline  
post #133 of 2675 Old 11-19-2007, 03:14 PM
Member
 
overtkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Baker City, OR
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has there been any mention if any of the 7.1 surround options will be supported on anything besides PCM? That was one of the most disappointing things listed in the second PDF specifications that the 7.1 options were ALL removed from everything but PCM, and Dolby TrueHD was only 2 Channel.

Thank you for any updates.

overtkill is offline  
post #134 of 2675 Old 11-20-2007, 07:07 AM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got through to a product specialist from LG and they will be getting a firmware revision to me. He confirmed the BH200 supports 24 / 50 / 60 fps. As soon as I get my hands on the update I will upload it to my web site and you can PM me for a link.

I did not ask about audio, I just got my source for my issues so far. Will ask in the future.
echudoba is offline  
post #135 of 2675 Old 11-20-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I wonder if they will bring back analog audio outs with any future versions of the bh200 like lets say the BH207 ? No analog is one reason i wont buy it. I love the analog outs on my BH100

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #136 of 2675 Old 11-21-2007, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Shane Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Tulsa, Ok USA
Posts: 1,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Has there been any mention if any of the 7.1 surround options will be supported on anything besides PCM?

There are DTS MA 6.1 tracks so I would assume yes.
Shane Martin is offline  
post #137 of 2675 Old 11-21-2007, 10:42 AM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There isn't another BH200 in town at any BB to exchange for the one I've got so I am just going to keep it. Watched DH4 last night and had one minor gitch for about a second and that was it! Hopefully the FW you get Echudoba will be at least the one that PeterShipp described in an earlier post.
elube is offline  
post #138 of 2675 Old 11-21-2007, 12:13 PM
 
Mr. Good Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has there been any confirmation that the BH200 will do Dolby True HD(5.1 or 7.1) after a firmware update?
Mr. Good Cat is offline  
post #139 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 07:55 AM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

I finally got through to a product specialist from LG and they will be getting a firmware revision to me. He confirmed the BH200 supports 24 / 50 / 60 fps. As soon as I get my hands on the update I will upload it to my web site and you can PM me for a link.

I did not ask about audio, I just got my source for my issues so far. Will ask in the future.

Any word yet?
elube is offline  
post #140 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 02:11 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got an email from the LG specialist today. He thinks my firmware is the same as he was going to give me (BH02071003D). I am still trying to find out if there is any newer firmware.

He confirmed the BH200 handles all frame rates and gave this quote on the audio question.

"On the audio, 7.1 on PCM multi-channel and primary pass-thru. Dolby TrueHD will do 6 channel with PCM set to Multi-channel and primary pass-thru. The interactive and secondary audio is not included in the output bitstream if HDMI option is set to primary pass-thru."

Hope this will mean somthing to those that have this capiblity.

The rep thinks I may have a defective unit. I can see that for my SD video skips but for 24fps also????

Will update when I here more.
echudoba is offline  
post #141 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 05:04 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

Got an email from the LG specialist today. He thinks my firmware is the same as he was going to give me (BH02071003D). I am still trying to find out if there is any newer firmware.

He confirmed the BH200 handles all frame rates and gave this quote on the audio question.

"On the audio, 7.1 on PCM multi-channel and primary pass-thru. Dolby TrueHD will do 6 channel with PCM set to Multi-channel and primary pass-thru. The interactive and secondary audio is not included in the output bitstream if HDMI option is set to primary pass-thru."

Hope this will mean somthing to those that have this capiblity.

The rep thinks I may have a defective unit. I can see that for my SD video skips but for 24fps also????

Will update when I here more.

Thanks for info echudoba!!
I read somewhere where to find out the FW version but I forgot?

The frame rates are supposed to already be handled or on an later FW?

I have the capabilities but have not seen it get passed to my rec.

I agree on the defective unit. I've had almost no trouble with SD and the few minor problems I've had were on a couple of new HD DVD titles.
elube is offline  
post #142 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 05:26 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

Got an email from the LG specialist today. He thinks my firmware is the same as he was going to give me (BH02071003D). I am still trying to find out if there is any newer firmware.

He confirmed the BH200 handles all frame rates and gave this quote on the audio question.

"On the audio, 7.1 on PCM multi-channel and primary pass-thru. Dolby TrueHD will do 6 channel with PCM set to Multi-channel and primary pass-thru. The interactive and secondary audio is not included in the output bitstream if HDMI option is set to primary pass-thru."

Hope this will mean somthing to those that have this capiblity.

The rep thinks I may have a defective unit. I can see that for my SD video skips but for 24fps also????

Will update when I here more.

I just confirmed my firmware is the same too.
elube is offline  
post #143 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 07:22 PM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elube View Post


The frame rates are supposed to already be handled or on an later FW?

I have the capabilities but have not seen it get passed to my rec.

LG is implying the firmware we have should do all frame rates. My Pioneer is receiving p60 since when I go into Pure Cinema the advance is grayed out. I am using a direct hook-up with HDMI. I would assume your rec would pass the capability of the TV to the player. The LG requires a handshake before it will send 24p to the TV. If it is easy, you may want to bypass your rec. If it still doesn't work that would confirm two units for sure. I could then pass that on to my contact.

I am in the process of waiting for more answers from LG.
echudoba is offline  
post #144 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post


"On the audio, 7.1 on PCM multi-channel and primary pass-thru. Dolby TrueHD will do 6 channel with PCM set to Multi-channel and primary pass-thru. The interactive and secondary audio is not included in the output bitstream if HDMI option is set to primary pass-thru."

Well this is NOT correct with the current firmware. The player will NOT pass Dolby TrueHD. When set to "pass-thru" it sends 2 chan PCM instead of the bitstream to my ONKYO which will handle Dolby TrueHD. They also took the capability out of the manual that is on the LG site as well so this makes me think he is not up to speed.

There HAS to be a later firmware. Grrrrrrrr.
HyPyke is offline  
post #145 of 2675 Old 11-27-2007, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
um...

I can telnet into my player

user root no pass
HyPyke is offline  
post #146 of 2675 Old 11-28-2007, 06:49 AM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG agreed to send me the firmware they are using anyway. Let hope it is different then what we have.
echudoba is offline  
post #147 of 2675 Old 11-28-2007, 05:14 PM
Member
 
elube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

LG agreed to send me the firmware they are using anyway. Let hope it is different then what we have.

LOL, I finally got my FW disk today. You guessed it, it's for the BH100!
elube is offline  
post #148 of 2675 Old 12-03-2007, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by echudoba View Post

My Pioneer is receiving p60 since when I go into Pure Cinema the advance is grayed out.

I have a PRO-FHD1 and when I enter the menu the PureCinema is also grayed out buy I can select it and make changes to it - can you? If being grayed out means that I am not receiveing 1080p/24 I'm wondering what grayed out but accessible indicates...?

Has anyone gotten any further on the firmware news?
ckelly33 is offline  
post #149 of 2675 Old 12-03-2007, 07:44 AM
Member
 
echudoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post

I have a PRO-FHD1 and when I enter the menu the PureCinema is also grayed out buy I can select it and make changes to it - can you? If being grayed out means that I am not receiveing 1080p/24 I'm wondering what grayed out but accessible indicates...?

Has anyone gotten any further on the firmware news?

Not sure about the PRO-FHD1, I believe it is the same. From the Pioneer threads I learned my 6010's PureCinema will be grayed out (std, smooth, and adv) with a 1080p60 single. Only able to select OFF. And able to select standard, smooth, and advance with a 1080p24. I confirmed this by temporarily selecting PC which will show the frame rate. I also went into the service menu which will show the frame rate.

I am hoping to hear from LG or receive some firmware this week. I do not get prompt replies to my requests for information or status of the firmware from my contact at LG.
echudoba is offline  
post #150 of 2675 Old 12-08-2007, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HyPyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alpharetta, Ga.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware POSTED!!!

It's on LG service site. Basically unzip the file, rename it to LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM, burn it to a DVD OR put it on a USB drive (IN THE ROOT WITH NO OTHER FILES)

Note: You must rename it. I am updating now. I will check sound formats and problems I have had before and report back ASAP.

http://picasaweb.google.com/robyadam...21723605753714
HyPyke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off