Upgrading Stereo, Would Love Opinions - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By Pacodutaco
  • 2 Post By Paraneer
  • 2 Post By bluewizard

post #1 of 30 Old 01-12-2017, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Upgrading Stereo, Would Love Opinions

Hello,

I'm a music producer/engineer who has good taste in gear for my studio, but when it comes to my home system I've fallen VERY short. Currently, I've got the following:

Rega RP-1 w/ Performance Pack and Ortofon 2M Blue cart
NAD Phono Pre (base model one that was about $150)
Marantz NR1601 receiver
B&W 685 Series I speakers
Receiver is also fed by things like Apple TV, DirecTV, BluRay

Basically, I'm looking to make my setup more audio-centric. I'd like to keep my table as is for now, because it's sounding pretty good, but I need the following:

- A Better phono stage. Currently looking at this one:
Musical Surroundings Phonomena II+

- A Better set of speakers, floorstanding in my case. I'm looking at these:
Dali Opticon 8 (heard its little brother...had poor bass extension but a great image and a pleasing top...they have these at Ahead Stereo in Los Angeles, CA)
Wharfedale Reva 4 (heard these at a shop called Audio Element in Pasadena, CA - they sounded pretty good too, and they were recommended by the salesperson)
Audio Physic Classic 20
Monitor Audio?

- An integrated amp or A/V receiver that's more...2-channel audio oriented. Looking at:
Parasound Halo
Rotel RA1592
Rogue Audio Magnum II (though this is very specific and cool, I'm hoping for perhaps more I/O capability and maybe tone controls. I heard it at Audio Element in Pasadena and it was cool.)