What are you looking for in a very high end system? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180Likes

post #1 of 433 Old 10-28-2018, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1624 Post(s)
Liked: 420
What are you looking for in a very high end system?

Hi, I am still quite new in hifi. I want to hear from people what in the high end system what are you looking for ( in the sound of cause) that make you willing to pay over say $30K for a system vs some mid fi. What do you hear that you cannot find in the mid level systems?

The reason I ask is I found out me and my friend are looking for completely different thing in a system. I am looking for the sound that surround me, like using headphone where I feel I am in the middle of music with more echo. But my friend looks for separation like he want to hear the singer standing in one position, other instruments in different positions. This is only me and my friend. I want to hear from you guys that have high end system to tell me what is important for you.

Own designed power amp, own designed preamp, JM LAB Spectral 913.1 speakers, Rythmik F12SE sub.
Not hooked up: Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 power amp, Velodyne VA1210 sub, Kef Reference Series center, Kef Bookshelf speaker, Monitor Audio bookshelf speaker, Infinity rear speakers. Acurus 3X200W amp.

Last edited by alan0354; 10-28-2018 at 11:43 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 433 Old 10-28-2018, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 2355 Post(s)
Liked: 2211
I don't let "friends" suggest what I should hear, like, or purchase.
My money... my room.... my personal tastes... my rules.
markrubin, EM3, bluewizard and 5 others like this.

If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
post #3 of 433 Old 10-28-2018, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post