What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your 2 channel? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Captain Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Taylors SC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 81
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your 2 channel?

What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your speakers for 2 channel audio?

How do you do it?

Right now I have a pioneer that works great with spotify but crashes Tidal every other song when I'm on wifi so I was wondering what other methods you guys use.

Maybe you dont use your wifi maybe you jack in on aux cable or some other way?

I have a time sensitive problem I need to resolve and your answers may help me decide.


Just wondering how you guys do it?

SVS system 3X SCS-01s L-R & C, / 2X sbs-01s surrounds / 20-39pci sub.. AVR Pioneer - VSX-831
Captain Crunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 12:58 PM
_tk
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Chromecast Audio is the easiest. Too bad they are discontinued now.

Otherwise, a lot of separate DAC's have built-in features specifically for this.
Captain Crunch likes this.
_tk is offline  
post #3 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,033
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3488 Post(s)
Liked: 1970
i use a bluesound node 2 for tidal...or sometimes bluetooth
Captain Crunch likes this.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 01:23 PM
_tk
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
bluetooth
*cringe*


Even on cheapo systems I can tell the difference between a wired connection vs bluetooth.
Captain Crunch likes this.
_tk is offline  
post #5 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,033
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3488 Post(s)
Liked: 1970
Quote:
Originally Posted by _tk View Post
*cringe*


Even on cheapo systems I can tell the difference between a wired connection vs bluetooth.

sometimes I bluetooth to get video on my tv from my laptop or phone...dont know any other way... edit...err not video, the tidal app instead of bluesound node 2 app...sigh brain fart.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP

Last edited by torii; 04-23-2019 at 01:44 PM.
torii is offline  
post #6 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 2,909
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1706 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Crunch View Post
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your speakers for 2 channel audio?



How do you do it?



Right now I have a pioneer that works great with spotify but crashes Tidal every other song when I'm on wifi so I was wondering what other methods you guys use.



Maybe you dont use your wifi maybe you jack in on aux cable or some other way?



I have a time sensitive problem I need to resolve and your answers may help me decide.





Just wondering how you guys do it?

You can use a normal chromecast.

Or wire your phone up using an aux to rca jack.

Hdmi though a computer of some sort would also work.
Captain Crunch likes this.

Leave it at 8 ohms and call it a day :)
Russdawg1 is offline  
post #7 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I actually picked up a package of 2 chromecast audio on ebay this month. they are out there
pjp likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #8 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
brireeves629's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I have an Integra AVR. Their AVR and Int Amps have MQA and Tidal built in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
brireeves629 is offline  
post #9 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 19,149
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8964 Post(s)
Liked: 6134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Crunch View Post
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your speakers for 2 channel audio?

How do you do it?

Right now I have a pioneer that works great with spotify but crashes Tidal every other song when I'm on wifi so I was wondering what other methods you guys use.

Maybe you dont use your wifi maybe you jack in on aux cable or some other way?

I have a time sensitive problem I need to resolve and your answers may help me decide.


Just wondering how you guys do it?
Hard wired connection from my PC.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is offline  
post #10 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Bluesound Node 2i


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paopawdecarabao is offline  
post #11 of 64 Old 04-23-2019, 07:56 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
I actually picked up a package of 2 chromecast audio on ebay this month. they are out there
I did the same thing. Chromecast Audio is awesome in many ways. Do you know what data rate you get with Tidal via Chromecast audio? I have the same question about Spotify premium -- can be up to 320kbps on iPhone, but it's not clear what you get from Spotify Premium through Chromecast Audio.
pjp is offline  
post #12 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Not sure. I use tidal via roon .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #13 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2047 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by _tk View Post
Chromecast Audio is the easiest. Too bad they are discontinued now.



Otherwise, a lot of separate DAC's have built-in features specifically for this.
Or regular Chromecast.
Captain Crunch likes this.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #14 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Aja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by brireeves629 View Post
I have an Integra AVR. Their AVR and Int Amps have MQA and Tidal built in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have the Integra DRC-R1.1 processor. How do you stream Tidal through it? I use Savant, but I can't tell if I'm getting MQA.
Aja1 is offline  
post #15 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
brireeves629's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 83
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your 2 channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aja1 View Post
I have the Integra DRC-R1.1 processor. How do you stream Tidal through it? I use Savant, but I can't tell if I'm getting MQA.


When I pull up my Source options and choose NET, Tidal is one of the options. I use the Integra Control app. I think that Integra doesn’t advertise as MQA but rather they call it hi-res audio. It is MQA though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pjp likes this.

Last edited by brireeves629; 04-24-2019 at 08:12 AM.
brireeves629 is offline  
post #16 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 08:18 AM
_tk
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Or regular Chromecast.
Then you have to convert from HDMI to whatever input your 2-channel amp has.

Chromecast Audio gave you a choice of 3.5mm (via the onboard DAC) or mini-toslink to the DAC of your choice.
Captain Crunch likes this.
_tk is offline  
post #17 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Aja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by brireeves629 View Post
When I pull up my Source options and choose NET, Tidal is one of the options. I use the Integra Control app. I think that Integra doesn’t advertise as MQA but rather they call it hi-res audio. It is MQA though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey, this worked and I confirmed that it's MQA, thanks!
brireeves629 likes this.
Aja1 is offline  
post #18 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
brireeves629's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aja1 View Post
Hey, this worked and I confirmed that it's MQA, thanks!


Good to hear! I have really enjoyed Tidal on my Integra. For me it is a huge audible difference compared to AirPlay.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
brireeves629 is offline  
post #19 of 64 Old 04-24-2019, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 121
a usb dac hooked up to a pc that way the dac gets the power from usb and not the wall.

This is a good one for cheap that i use...
https://www.amazon.com/Signstek-Coax...gateway&sr=8-3
Captain Crunch likes this.

Last edited by stngray72; 04-24-2019 at 02:50 PM.
stngray72 is offline  
post #20 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2047 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by _tk View Post
Then you have to convert from HDMI to whatever input your 2-channel amp has.



Chromecast Audio gave you a choice of 3.5mm (via the onboard DAC) or mini-toslink to the DAC of your choice.
It’s trivially easy to buy an HDMI DAC converter or splitter that outputs 2 channel digital or analog.

Since the CC Audio has been discontinued, but the CC is still sold, my suggestion stands.
Captain Crunch likes this.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #21 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Aja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by brireeves629 View Post
Good to hear! I have really enjoyed Tidal on my Integra. For me it is a huge audible difference compared to AirPlay.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Absolutely an improvement! Curious how you set your Integra for audio preference? I have it set on "direct" because I prefer to eliminate as much of the Integra as possible. What do you do?

I will say that the Integra control app with Tidal isn't that great. I wish it was more like the actual app interface.
Captain Crunch likes this.
Aja1 is offline  
post #22 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
brireeves629's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aja1 View Post
Absolutely an improvement! Curious how you set your Integra for audio preference? I have it set on "direct" because I prefer to eliminate as much of the Integra as possible. What do you do?



I will say that the Integra control app with Tidal isn't that great. I wish it was more like the actual app interface.


I listen either to stereo or all channel stereo.

I know what you mean about the app. I have found it easiest to create playlists in the Tidal app, then choosing the playlist through the Integra app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
brireeves629 is offline  
post #23 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 12:36 PM
_tk
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
It’s trivially easy to buy an HDMI DAC converter or splitter that outputs 2 channel digital or analog.

Since the CC Audio has been discontinued, but the CC is still sold, my suggestion stands.
You'd be better off paying a slight premium for a CC Audio on ebay though. Once you figure in the cost of the CC, a decent HDMI to analog converter, you'd have more plugs, more wires and more cost. And I'm not sure if sound would be any better as the DAC in the CC Audio wasn't horrible.

The market is ripe for a CC Audio replacement. I don't think people realized how nice and easy those things really were.
pjp likes this.
_tk is offline  
post #24 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I did my cc audio with rca to marantz sr 8002 i have in a small room and works great..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pjp likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #25 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 01:46 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by _tk View Post
You'd be better off paying a slight premium for a CC Audio on ebay though. Once you figure in the cost of the CC, a decent HDMI to analog converter, you'd have more plugs, more wires and more cost. And I'm not sure if sound would be any better as the DAC in the CC Audio wasn't horrible.

The market is ripe for a CC Audio replacement. I don't think people realized how nice and easy those things really were.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
I did my cc audio with rca to marantz sr 8002 i have in a small room and works great.
Truer words were never spoken. I love, love, love Chromecast Audio -- have it on a tube-based two channel system, a theater system, and (soon to be) a deck system. Better sound quality than bluetooth, you control it with the convenience of your phone as a remote, and (unlike bluetooth) you can walk away with your phone and it just keeps on playing. Also (although I haven't tried this yet), you can group CA's to play the same content for whole-house audio or partial house audio. I'm using the optical out on one CA into a DAC and that works great also.

As much as I love Chromecast Audio, I'm not sure what bit rate you get out of it for either Tidal or Spotify Premium. Spotify Premium will go up to 320kbps on a smartphone when you select extreme mode, but there are no sound quality controls when streaming through CA and it isn't clear what the default bit rate is (my ears say it's less than 320kbps for Spotify Premium, I don't have Tidal, so can't comment on that). I wish my DAC displayed bit rate, then I would know, but it does not.

Last edited by pjp; 04-25-2019 at 01:50 PM.
pjp is offline  
post #26 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,033
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3488 Post(s)
Liked: 1970
the app that comes with my bluesound node 2 allows all sorts of music servers to include you name it...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	415.3 KB
ID:	2558164  

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is offline  
post #27 of 64 Old 04-25-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your 2 channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
the app that comes with my bluesound node 2 allows all sorts of music servers to include you name it...


That looks great but bluesound big difference between cca pricewise. Have streaming tidal Etc also to marantz via roon aswell as to oppo in main room.. thru pc or phone.cca is in other room


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
torii likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #28 of 64 Old 04-27-2019, 05:30 PM
Member
 
adjutant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paopawdecarabao View Post
Bluesound Node 2i


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Same here. I can’t imagine it sounding any better. I LOVE the audio quality. Never had a drop off
adjutant is offline  
post #29 of 64 Old 04-28-2019, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2047 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
What's the best way to get Tidal and spotify to your 2 channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
Truer words were never spoken. I love, love, love Chromecast Audio -- have it on a tube-based two channel system, a theater system, and (soon to be) a deck system. Better sound quality than bluetooth, you control it with the convenience of your phone as a remote, and (unlike bluetooth) you can walk away with your phone and it just keeps on playing. Also (although I haven't tried this yet), you can group CA's to play the same content for whole-house audio or partial house audio. I'm using the optical out on one CA into a DAC and that works great also.
As much as I love Chromecast Audio, I'm not sure what bit rate you get out of it for either Tidal or Spotify Premium. Spotify Premium will go up to 320kbps on a smartphone when you select extreme mode, but there are no sound quality controls when streaming through CA and it isn't clear what the default bit rate is (my ears say it's less than 320kbps for Spotify Premium, I don't have Tidal, so can't comment on that). I wish my DAC displayed bit rate, then I would know, but it does not.
All true, it is useful for more than just “adding wi-fi audio capability to non-wireless speakers.” I don’t know the specs, but you can enable “high quality audio” on a CCA in teh Google Home app; “high quality audio” is enabled automagically if you use the TOSlink connection. Both my 1gen CC and CCA send PCM to my AVR and the AVR doesn’t indicate bitrate. :-\

You can group a CCA with other speakers in Google Home, but that capability was extended to all but the first gen of Chromecasts last year. The CCA, for the same $35, was an economical way to provide multiroom wi-fi playback to older speakers, absolutely agree with others on that. I got one for $15 over the holidays from Google, I now wish i’d bought a few.…

Quote:
Originally Posted by _tk View Post
You'd be better off paying a slight premium for a CC Audio on ebay though. Once you figure in the cost of the CC, a decent HDMI to analog converter, you'd have more plugs, more wires and more cost. And I'm not sure if sound would be any better as the DAC in the CC Audio wasn't horrible.
The market is ripe for a CC Audio replacement. I don't think people realized how nice and easy those things really were.
Perhaps, but if the cost of a CCA from some vendor exceeds a Chromecast and DAC from Monoprice ($15 when I was considering one last year), then I’m skeptical. An HDMI CC can be repurposed, while a CCA is pretty much single purpose. YMMV.
pjp likes this.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 04-28-2019 at 06:26 AM. Reason: tapatalk line spacing bug :(
ChromeJob is offline  
post #30 of 64 Old 04-28-2019, 07:25 AM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
I don’t know the specs, but you can enable “high quality audio” on a CCA in teh Google Home app; “high quality audio” is enabled automagically if you use the TOSlink connection.
Good info in your post. Do you know where the high quality audio setting is in the Google Home app? I only see "Equalizer" and "Group delay correction" as sound options on the CCA (and only "Group delay correction" on my regular (non-audio) Chromecast).
pjp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 2-Channel Audio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off