Speaker selector channel to power 2nd amp? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By m. zillch
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-02-2020, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaker selector channel to power 2nd amp?

I have an unusual audio setup in my barn/shop. The hub consists of an adcom gfa 555 going int a gfs 6 channel selector. I have a 2nd adcom amp I would like to add 50 ft away in my shop but it only has rca inputs. Can I just run a line out converter on a set of speaker leads from the selector to get signal the the 2nd amp? Is there any specific model i will need based on a high wattage signal? Thanks!

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-02-2020, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6426 Post(s)
Liked: 4631
I guess theoretically it would work but I have to ask why not just split the signal arriving at the first GFA-555 amp with simple Y-cables and send that RCA split off to the 2nd amp? That would be a cleaner more direct path.

Remember the rule Rane teaches us when it comes to Y cables: it is safe to split an output to send two signals but not a good idea to split an input so it can receive two sources. What I am proposing adheres to the rule.
hhawk likes this.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-03-2020, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really want the 2nd amp to be selectable as one of the zones on the GFS. So the first amp runs through the selector then distributes signal to 6 zones. One of which will be the 2nd GFA. Powering a different room with more demanding speakers. Hopefully that makes sense. I pretty much always stream compressed music so not to worried about a small loss of Fidelity, I just don’t want to fry anything.

So is the a special line out converter needed to handle potential higher wattage?
G-force is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-03-2020, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6426 Post(s)
Liked: 4631
This is an example of a high power LOC, line out convertor, which can accept up to 400 watts. It is typically used in automotive sound so to use it at home you'd need either a 12V battery or a power supply, however it uses very little current to a simple 12V DC wall wart transformer would work to power it.

https://www.amazon.com/AudioControl-.../dp/B00IIL0LW0
m. zillch is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-03-2020, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love audiocontrol’s stuff, but really dont want to complicate things with 12v unless absolutely necessary.

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-03-2020, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may need to rethink this as it may not be possible. If I send a 50+ watt high level signal to the rca inputs im afraid something disasterous might happen. Somebody has to have come up against this scenario i would imagine.

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-03-2020, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6426 Post(s)
Liked: 4631
I have no experience with this one but as I understand it no electricity is needed and it takes high power ins.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Jensen-Tran...-/400666311152

I think they make more than one. I don't know what the differences are so you are on your own. Good luck.

Last edited by m. zillch; 05-03-2020 at 09:01 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-04-2020, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I have no experience with this one but as I understand it no electricity is needed and it takes high power ins.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Jensen-Tran...-/400666311152

I think they make more than one. I don't know what the differences are so you are on your own. Good luck.

That looks promising. I’ll give them a call. Thanks!

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-22-2020, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These guys arent taking calls due to the pandemic

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-22-2020, 09:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6426 Post(s)
Liked: 4631
Well that was just a random link. I'd assume there's more than one vendor of the product.
More info: https://www.jensen-transformers.com/product/sp-2sx/
m. zillch is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-25-2020, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
G-force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Well that was just a random link. I'd assume there's more than one vendor of the product.
More info: https://www.jensen-transformers.com/product/sp-2sx/

Thats who I am talking about. I called Jensen direct. Apparently corona can go through a phone now. Who knew?

President and active member of the A.D.F.F. (Anti-Dakota Fanning Foundation)
G-force is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 2-Channel Audio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off