Bravo D1 is now available! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who is going to be the first to test the waters and tell us all about this little wonder?

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
santellavision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Just Below Woody's Sleeper House
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I order one last night. They opened the 'store' at about 6pm. I'll post a review when I receive it in a couple of days.

I'll be comparing the Bravo D1 using DVI into a Marantz VP12S2. It'll go head-to-head with my Panny RP91 using interlaced component into the state-of-the-art Faroujda processing in the S2. Stay Tuned!
santellavision is offline  
post #3 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Info would be much appreciated. I have the Rp82 and Toshiba 50HDX82 which gaves a great pictures as is. If I can go better I will though. :D

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bernie R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: BFE, USA
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by santellavision
I order one last night. They opened the 'store' at about 6pm. I'll post a review when I receive it in a couple of days.

I'll be comparing the Bravo D1 using DVI into a Marantz VP12S2. It'll go head-to-head with my Panny RP91 using interlaced component into the state-of-the-art Faroujda processing in the S2. Stay Tuned!

Ernie,

do you have another DVI source to compare it to as well?

Bernie
Bernie R is offline  
post #5 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of DVI cable is needed? Is it male to male? Any other specs needed?

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #6 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim Noyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The rear panel DVI out of the V Bravo D1 has a female DVI output.

-Jim Noyd
Noyd Communications Inc.
Representing VIZIO, DVDO,
Puro Sound Labs, 1MORE
Jim Noyd is offline  
post #7 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So that would mean you would use a male/male to connect it to a 36hs500 right?

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #8 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ricbayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the rear panel of the Bravo a female DVI-D dual link? Does the Bravo come with a DVI cable? If Bravo owners need to purchase a DVI cable, PacificCable has a 2 meter DVI-D dual link cable with male connectors for $18 (plus shipping) at:

http://www.pacificcable.com/Picture_...taName=DVIDL-2

Rick
ricbayer is offline  
post #9 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim Noyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It is a standard DVI-D female.

The player does not come with a DVI cable.

-Jim Noyd
Noyd Communications Inc.
Representing VIZIO, DVDO,
Puro Sound Labs, 1MORE
Jim Noyd is offline  
post #10 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
JasonATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered one FedEx 2-day. I hope to report back this weekend. I'll be mating it with my InFocus 7200 projector, via the DVI input. I'm hopeful that I'll see a nice improvement (not that it is at all bad right now). For $200, I figure it is worth a shot. If it doesn't live up to its promise, then the 10% restocking fee is the price I pay for the test.

I look forward to hearing others' experiences.

-Jason
Theater L'Idiot RIP
JasonATL is offline  
post #11 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 11:25 AM
BaN
Senior Member
 
BaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: California
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JasonATL
I ordered one FedEx 2-day. I hope to report back this weekend. I'll be mating it with my InFocus 7200 projector, via the DVI input. I'm hopeful that I'll see a nice improvement (not that it is at all bad right now). For $200, I figure it is worth a shot. If it doesn't live up to its promise, then the 10% restocking fee is the price I pay for the test.

I look forward to hearing others' experiences.
Jason,
Can't wait to read your review. I have a plasma with DVI input and I'm waiting for either the D1 or Samsung 931. I figure if you see a difference with your projector then it should make a difference for plasmas too. Thanks.
BaN is offline  
post #12 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As soon as a 'real' person gives it the thumbs up I'm jumping in. I dont really trust S&V. They give almost everything a good review.

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #13 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
santellavision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Just Below Woody's Sleeper House
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DooDoo, It's $200 bucks! Go for it! If you hate it, send it back. If it's a find, it'll be out of stock for months ;)
santellavision is offline  
post #14 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I guess the earliest review we'll get is thursday. Good stuff. Now using the DVI connection will I be able to watch all DVDs? (pardon my ignorance on copyright issues but I've heard some ramblings)

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
post #15 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 12:44 PM
Moderator
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 22,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 12789
I just ordered one also, 2-day Fed-Ex. Come on DooDoo, jump in, the
litter is fine. :)

Edit: I'll be connecting via DVI to Fujitsu P50XHA10US plasma panel.

Make me grow brainiac fingers, but with more hair!
PooperScooper is offline  
post #16 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 12:50 PM
Moderator
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 22,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 12789
Maximum360: I'm not quite sure, but I believe the D1 will only
output 720p and 1080i to a DVI/HDCP compliant connection or
component if the DVD has Macrovision encoding/protection.
I don't think it's going to ship and do "unprotected" 720p and 1080i
out-of-the-box.

larry

Edit: I can definitely recommend the Pacific Cable DVI cable. I believe
the $100 Monster DVI cable is a bit more flexible, but that's the only
difference.

Make me grow brainiac fingers, but with more hair!
PooperScooper is offline  
post #17 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know I know. I'm just scared...

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #18 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, my 50HDX82 has a DVI connection, will that work?

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
post #19 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
JasonATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by PooperScooper
I'm not quite sure, but I believe the D1 will only
output 720p and 1080i to a DVI/HDCP compliant connection or
component if the DVD has Macrovision encoding/protection.
I don't think it's going to ship and do "unprotected" 720p and 1080i
out-of-the-box.
Question: Are there DVD's that are known not to have Macrovision encoding/protection?

-Jason
Theater L'Idiot RIP
JasonATL is offline  
post #20 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it also available in silver?

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #21 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Silver would be great. I thought my shiny RP82 would be a turnoff but I'm in love with the chrome-type finish now. :D

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
post #22 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
santellavision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Just Below Woody's Sleeper House
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
I don't think it's going to ship and do "unprotected" 720p and 1080i
out-of-the-box.
I thought HDCP only applied to HD content? V's website states...
Quote:
Analog YPbPr video and digital DVI (Progressive or Interlaced) scalable up to 1920x1080i or 1280 x 720p resolutions**

** Macrovision copy protection on 480i, 576i, and 480p outputs
It doesn't say anything about copy protection on 720p or 1080i output. I have a marantz VP12S2 with DVI & HDCP, so it should work either way.
santellavision is offline  
post #23 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys think that this player would produce a better picture by DVI on a direct-view HD set then an xp30 connected by component cables. I know that either way I will have one D/A conversion.

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #24 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
santellavision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Just Below Woody's Sleeper House
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
I know that either way I will have one D/A conversion.
That's not correct. Component is Analog and DVI is digital. DVI doesn't go through A-D & D-A Conversions. It's digital from the disk to the display. So, It should be better... technically. But much depends on the players internal components, power supply etc.

Plus this Sigma Designs EM8500 Decoder chip. Has anybody heard anything on this chip? It says on the Sigma website that it does not have the chroma bug, that's a plus.
santellavision is offline  
post #25 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DooDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought that my set (36hs500) will take the DVI signal and convert it to analog before it displays the picture since its a crt.

If DooDoo said it, IT MUST BE TRUE!!!
DooDoo is offline  
post #26 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim Noyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Available in black only, per the site.

-Jim Noyd
Noyd Communications Inc.
Representing VIZIO, DVDO,
Puro Sound Labs, 1MORE
Jim Noyd is offline  
post #27 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
santellavision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Just Below Woody's Sleeper House
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DooDoo,

Sorry, I though you had a digital projector. Yeah, a RPTV or Direct view set would only be one (Digital DVD-to-Analog

In the case of my Marantz DLP, it would be 3 conversions (Digital DVD-to-Analog Component Cables-back to-Digital Projector.
santellavision is offline  
post #28 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Jasmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just about to pull the trigger on purchasing one of these myself but am curious about a few things first. So, for all of you who have already ordered one, could you Please comment on the following items when you get around to reviewing your players?

1) How well does it play DivX (Mpeg-4) encoded video? Can it scale this video to 720p/1080i as well?

2) In reference to question one, what kind of media does it support DVD+/-R, DVD+/-RW, CD-R/RW, miniDVD, etc?

3) How well does it play back mp3 audio files (granted, not the most important thing about this player)? Does it have as nice a onscreen interface as the Kiss players (that is, 64 characters per title/etc.)?

4) Can it indeed scale the video on the component/analog video output?

5) Is the DVI interface a computer style one (strictly video) or is it DVI-D (I think) that carries both the video and audio streams?

6) What's your impression of the general build quality? Once again, not terribly important for a $200 player but it would be nice if it was built to last a little while (unlike some players I could mention).

7) Finally, and most importantly, what is your impression of the video and sound quality of DVD playback both scaled and not scaled? Of course, please include any info you can gleam such as chroma bug present? scaling artifacts? yadda, yadda, yadda!

Well, I think that's it for now. I'm sure I'll think of some other questions and will ask them later. Thanks for your feedback in advance! :)
Jasmo is offline  
post #29 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 03:31 PM
BaN
Senior Member
 
BaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: California
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I guess it's not going to work with my Pioneer 503CMX plasma because the DVI port on the 5002 card is not HDCP compliant?
BaN is offline  
post #30 of 637 Old 04-15-2003, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The price is going up next week..$300. We'll let you know if it's still a steal.
JimmyR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off