Panasonic DVD players made region/macrovision free without physical mods (some) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 168 Old 11-29-2003, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bannani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: mulhouse-france
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

my name is Bruno an I am writing to you from France. I intend to buy a RP 91 or rp 82, do not know where to buy it. Since I am living in france I try to find a place to buy it! or someone xould kindly sell me a player?

I was quite impressed by your search?
I also have to make my dvd player region free and macro off since I get one!

Hope reading you soon.

Regards
Bruno
bannani is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 168 Old 12-05-2003, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 136
I post another thread Under "RP56 and DTS". Did anyone out there with the RP56 has similar problem after updating the firmware but "lost" the DTS capability? Any fix?

Thanks.

lenny
dragonbud0 is offline  
post #33 of 168 Old 12-08-2003, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Sango advised me to reset the audio for DTS using the "Action" button on the remote. Duh!

lenny
dragonbud0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 168 Old 02-12-2004, 10:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
just found this thread. it seems to have become way off topic.

if anyone who origionally posted about getting the service disk #2, did you get it and did it work for the rp-91?

if it did i would like to know how to get one and do this to my -91.
whotony is offline  
post #35 of 168 Old 02-13-2004, 06:32 AM
alv
Advanced Member
 
alv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just did the macrovision part on an RP-91 and it worked great. I just reduced the overscan on my set and in the progressive mode I found wavy lines in the top part of the picture (<5% overscan). Turning off the macrovision made them go away.
alv is offline  
post #36 of 168 Old 02-13-2004, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
OARon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by whotony
just found this thread. it seems to have become way off topic.

if anyone who origionally posted about getting the service disk #2, did you get it and did it work for the rp-91?

if it did i would like to know how to get one and do this to my -91.

I'm in the same boat. I followed directions to order the service disk and never got a response.

Any updates on a source?

R
OARon is offline  
post #37 of 168 Old 02-13-2004, 08:45 AM
Member
 
samgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by alv
I just did the macrovision part on an RP-91 and it worked great. I just reduced the overscan on my set and in the progressive mode I found wavy lines in the top part of the picture (<5% overscan). Turning off the macrovision made them go away.

I would love to have access to this service disk as well. Anyone who has it feel generous and share with us?
samgt is offline  
post #38 of 168 Old 02-13-2004, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Chung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
buddies,

CAn RP82 show blacker than black line inside Video Essentials?
Chung is offline  
post #39 of 168 Old 02-16-2004, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
Imp66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using a friend in Australia, I acquired the disc, and received it Saturday. I just tried it on my RP-91 and I have been unsuccessful. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but it seems pretty straight-forward.

Has anyone else had success using this service disk to get region-free capability on the RP-91?
Imp66 is offline  
post #40 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Imp66, what firmware version are you running on your RP91?
mrwilson is offline  
post #41 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
Imp66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware 2.59. FYI, I tried this on two different RP-91's, both with 2.59 firmware, but different mfg dates.
Imp66 is offline  
post #42 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bummer, I was gonna buy another RP91 to do this too.

Is it an original Panasonic disc or a copy? If a copy it has to be on an 'authoring' dvd-r and not a 'general' dvd-r. Big difference.
mrwilson is offline  
post #43 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The official copy Panasonic Service disc is made using the typical stamping process.

In this case, disc must be copied using an authorized burner and media because it's region information which cannot be copied using general purpose(it doesn't pick it up).

Attemping to do so using general purpose and attemping the unlock procedures to your unit, will make your player end up in the Panasonic Service Center for repair because your firmware essentially gets corrupted.
Sango is offline  
post #44 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
Imp66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The disc I used came directly from Panasonic Australia. I have a friend in Australia, so I emailed Panasonic and gave them his address. He then mailed it to me.

ALV posted:
I just did the macrovision part on an RP-91 and it worked great. I just reduced the overscan on my set and in the progressive mode I found wavy lines in the top part of the picture (<5% overscan). Turning off the macrovision made them go away.

I'd like to hear from him/her about how they got it to work.

I mean, if there is something else to do except run the disk, I'd like to know. There are no new options in the menu or anything. Inserting a Region 2 disc gives me the same message as always.
Imp66 is offline  
post #45 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hi Imp66

The Service Disc should work with 2.59 firmware. Maybe you didn't preform it correctly, but there is instructions inside the cover since you have the official disc so you may want to check again. Also I heard firmware 2.59 isn't that good and one of the versions is better preferred - I don't recall but it's 2.50 or something like that, please correct me.

Hope this helps
-----------

I have taken digital camera shots for of what you get when obtaining the official disc from Panasonic Australia.

http://home.comcast.net/~fu_family/svdisc.zip
Sango is offline  
post #46 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 09:12 PM
Newbie
 
Imp66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SANGO:

Have you actually tried this? After entering the password, both my units go to a black screen, flash the screen a couple of times, then say "READ" on the player for a second, then it goes to the typical DVD screen and says STOP.

Is there anything else that should be happening?
Imp66 is offline  
post #47 of 168 Old 02-17-2004, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hi Imp66

Yes, I have done this before because I've done it to my RP-56 (I've mentioned in the starting post of the thread). The flashing black screen is normal. After it saids "STOP", the modifcation is complete.

Make sure you did the modification in the right order: 3192 then 3193.
If done incorrectly, you have to do it again in the right order because the macrovision will be on again because of the region modification being last.
Sango is offline  
post #48 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 05:41 AM
alv
Advanced Member
 
alv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just followed instructions - too less than one minute. As soon as I finished I tested for the wavy lines and they were gone. I don't have any non region 1 disks so I didn't try to see if that took but I assume it did. I have software version 250. I don't play MP3's so I didn't upgrade to 259.
alv is offline  
post #49 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yeah it's 250 which I think is preferred by members so Imp66, you could reflash to that version and attempt the service disc and see how that goes.

alv - The region should be free now so there is no need to worry since I have R3 dvd and I tested it on my RP-56 to double check when I did my modification using the official disc. Glad to hear you already obtained the disc and modified it =).
Sango is offline  
post #50 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
OARon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the off-topic post but it's been awhile since I looked at firmware upgrades for the RP-91.

Can someone point me towards the ISO. Also, any threads that talk about the reasons people prefer one version over another would be much appreciated.

Thanks
OARon is offline  
post #51 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 08:42 PM
Newbie
 
Imp66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went here:

http://home.cogeco.ca/~hdtvguy/firmcheck.htm

to get the firmware 2.50 (they also have 2.59), but it will not install an older firmware apparently. If anybody has any clues on how to force it, I'd be happy to listen.
Imp66 is offline  
post #52 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonick182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancity, Canuckland
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
haha, i was just curious and clicked into this thread (i dont even have a panasonic DVD player), and guess what...

Im from RICHMOND too!! Small world lol... We should hav a Richmond AVS Meet
sonick182 is offline  
post #53 of 168 Old 02-18-2004, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hmm I guess maybe so! Maybe if you obtain the good Panasonic units then I can be of some assistance! =)
Sango is offline  
post #54 of 168 Old 03-23-2004, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,292
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 715 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Anyone in Toronto have this disc? I have an RP91.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #55 of 168 Old 03-25-2004, 06:49 PM
Member
 
topsound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guangzhou,China
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Sango,

Do you succeed? Is the disk #2 useful?
topsound is online now  
post #56 of 168 Old 03-25-2004, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Sorry, but I don't understand what you're trying to say.
Sango is offline  
post #57 of 168 Old 03-26-2004, 11:00 AM
Member
 
redinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, it looks like the consensus is that the disc doesn't work on the RP-82? I'm sure I know the answer to this - but has anybody gotten it to work on a CP-72? I was going to go beg DrJoe to see if I could borrow his disc, but it doesn't sound like it's worth it now.
redinger is offline  
post #58 of 168 Old 03-26-2004, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Redlinger:

If you read the starting thread, that will tell you if the unit is even capable of using the disc or not.

Sango
Sango is offline  
post #59 of 168 Old 03-27-2004, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Vtb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sango, since i have a denon 1600 i entered into the setup menu, and all i can see is: 'menu perference" with 4 options, "english, french, spanish and other" choosing "other" requires the user to enter a 4 digit password, i didn't have to enter the sequence of number you listed. I believe this to be the avenue to load the disc. So there is no way to make a copy of the disc without the dvd burner you describe, Have you tried using dvd decryptor to rip the files to the hard drive then burn to disc. I am sorry if i am missing something about copying the disc.
blair
Vtb2 is offline  
post #60 of 168 Old 03-27-2004, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sango do you have the part number for service disc 2? I could check with our Panasonic rep to see if they have it under their parts & services division. Thanks.
Furious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off