Amazon Prime Instant Video - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 337Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 2638 Old 03-12-2015, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,424
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 1727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I thought Amazon was limited to 720p on Roku devices?
Perhaps a recent change on how Roku devices handle Amazon Prime, not sure.

I discussed this issue with others in another thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/184-vi...l#post32443922

I've also noticed that Amazon Prime is also taking an active role in proving more DD+ titles.

I was comparing the older catalog title Explorers (1985) on Amazon Prime and Netflix.

It's a soft looking encode, likely sourced from an old master for the DVD version since it's never been released on Blu-ray, but the sound was 5.1 DD+ on Amazon Prime while it was stereo on Netflix. The version on VUDU is also DD stereo.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies

Last edited by Mr.G; 03-14-2015 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Added VUDU version.
Mr.G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 2638 Old 03-12-2015, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I was curious about Fire TV and I figured it was worth $20 just to see what it was like (and I didn't own any other HDMI streaming sticks). As it turns out it's been fairly handy. I share a home with people who don't have a streaming device and I've been taking it down to the living room to watch movies with them on the 60" Sony on the wall in there. Since it will run on power from the Sony's USB port it's more easily portable than anything else that I own.

Tonight I discovered that it implements HDMI CEC so I don't even have to bring its remote down .
Yeah, I probably should have just gotten it, would have made a nice gift if nothing else.
Keenan is offline  
post #1563 of 2638 Old 03-12-2015, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
Perhaps a recent change on how Roku devices handle Amazon Prime, not sure.

I discussed this issue with others in another thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/184-vi...l#post32443922

I've also noticed that Amazon Prime is also taking an active role in proving more DD+ titles.

I was comparing the older catalog title Explorers (1985) on Amazon Prime and Netflix.

It's a soft looking encode, likely sourced from an upconverted DVD since it's never been released on Blu-ray, but the sound was 5.1 DD+ on Amazon Prime while it was stereo on Netflix.
I'm not sure that looking at network traffic buffering levels is a good indicator of the content's resolution. That link to the Wikipedia page just says that "depending on the device" Amazon does have and/or will have 1080p encodes. Since the Roku does not have a Native output setting it's hard to know what it's sending. Have you checked the Roku forums? If Amazon is now streaming at 1080p on Roku devices I would think that there'd be some noise about over there. Hopefully it's true, but without definitive proof I would not be choosing a Roku as my primary Amazon player.
Keenan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,424
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 1727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I'm not sure that looking at network traffic buffering levels is a good indicator of the content's resolution. That link to the Wikipedia page just says that "depending on the device" Amazon does have and/or will have 1080p encodes. Since the Roku does not have a Native output setting it's hard to know what it's sending. Have you checked the Roku forums? If Amazon is now streaming at 1080p on Roku devices I would think that there'd be some noise about over there. Hopefully it's true, but without definitive proof I would not be choosing a Roku as my primary Amazon player.
If the Roku devices have no way of displaying resolution why would anyone in the Roku forums have any better idea?

Checking download speeds with router software has always been a reliable indicator of HD resolution going back to input on other threads like Netflix and VUDU streaming.

For VUDU HDX you need a reliable 9 Mbps or better, the router capture screen for Amazon Prime showed the 10 minute average download speed as 10 Mbps for the movie - Joe (2014). Whether all movies on Amazon Prime are 1080p is another question, perhaps at this point it's only the newer releases.

On my projection system with a 120" screen it certainly looks like 1080p HD but I understand your reluctance to believe it is.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #1565 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 09:12 AM
Member
 
RRS1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
If the Roku devices have no way of displaying resolution why would anyone in the Roku forums have any better idea?

The moderators are Roku employees and engineers. Users are able to send them pm's (private messages) with questions and comments. They always reply.

I regularly communicate with several of them.

Rob

_

"Life is tough.... It's even tougher if your stupid". > John Wayne <

"Expert: A former drip under pressure". > My Highschool Physics Teacher <

"I've learned that pleasing everyone is impossible, but [ticking] everyone off is a piece of cake". > Unknown Author <
RRS1947 is offline  
post #1566 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
If the Roku devices have no way of displaying resolution why would anyone in the Roku forums have any better idea?

Checking download speeds with router software has always been a reliable indicator of HD resolution going back to input on other threads like Netflix and VUDU streaming.

For VUDU HDX you need a reliable 9 Mbps or better, the router capture screen for Amazon Prime showed the 10 minute average download speed as 10 Mbps for the movie - Joe (2014). Whether all movies on Amazon Prime are 1080p is another question, perhaps at this point it's only the newer releases.

On my projection system with a 120" screen it certainly looks like 1080p HD but I understand your reluctance to believe it is.
You could be 100% correct, it just seems as if that would be something that Roku would want to make an announcement about after having been stuck at 720p for so long. My guess is that it would have required an update to the Amazon app on the Roku, has that happened recently? I confess that I have not checked Amazon on my Roku devices lately, but the last time I did(couple of weeks ago) it did not look as clean and sharp as it does from my TiVo, which is verified to output 1080p/24Hz.

At the end of the day if it looks good that's all that really matters anyway.
Keenan is offline  
post #1567 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
Checking download speeds with router software has always been a reliable indicator of HD resolution going back to input on other threads like Netflix and VUDU streaming.

For VUDU HDX you need a reliable 9 Mbps or better, the router capture screen for Amazon Prime showed the 10 minute average download speed as 10 Mbps for the movie - Joe (2014). Whether all movies on Amazon Prime are 1080p is another question, perhaps at this point it's only the newer releases.

If you measured a 10 minute of 10 Mbps for a title then I'm confident that you were getting a 1080p stream. Amazon 720p used to average around 3 Mbps and from everything I've heard their 1080p is 10 Mbps.

It'd be nice if they'd just mount some version of the common Amazon Instant Video UI on Roku. To see what resolution you're getting you just press DOWN on the remote and it displays it, like this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1568 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
If you measured a 10 minute of 10 Mbps for a title then I'm confident that you were getting a 1080p stream. Amazon 720p used to average around 3 Mbps and from everything I've heard their 1080p is 10 Mbps.

It'd be nice if they'd just mount some version of the common Amazon Instant Video UI on Roku. To see what resolution you're getting you just press DOWN on the remote and it displays it, like this.
Yes, that would be nice.
Keenan is offline  
post #1569 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
That common AIV UI is on my TiVo Roamio and Premiere, my smart TV's app, my PS3 and even my venerable old Panasonic DMP-BDT220 BD player (shockingly added when the product was nearly 2 years old). The top levels of the UI are on Xbox One and Xbox 360 but playback is different on them.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1570 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 05:57 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
That common AIV UI is on my TiVo Roamio and Premiere, my smart TV's app, my PS3 and even my venerable old Panasonic DMP-BDT220 BD player (shockingly added when the product was nearly 2 years old). The top levels of the UI are on Xbox One and Xbox 360 but playback is different on them.
Yeah, my guess at an Amazon resolution increase and UI update is that it would have come with the release of a new device as the Roku must be around 3 years old now? They may be waiting until 4K streaming is sorted out(hardware-wise). Looks like the 1080p is already here though, now we need to UI. Like you, the Roamio is the go-to device for those services, can't beat the 1080p/24Hz output of that device!
Keenan is offline  
post #1571 of 2638 Old 03-13-2015, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
...the Roku must be around 3 years old now?

Roku 3 just turned 2 this month; the first Roku STB will be 7 in May. It will be 2 years since a new product in September.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Like you, the Roamio is the go-to device for those services, can't beat the 1080p/24Hz output of that device!

I heartily agree .
Keenan likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1572 of 2638 Old 03-15-2015, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
CoffeeHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 115
From the Amazon Prime Video website:

Ultra High Definition
Ultra High Definition (UHD) offers a "4K" picture resolution that is four times greater than HD. At this time, Ultra HD playback is supported on the following Amazon Instant Video compatible devices:

Samsung Ultra HD TVs (2014 or later models)
Sony Ultra HD TVs (2014 or later models)
LG Ultra HD TVs (2014 or later models)
Vizio Ultra HD TVs (2014 or later models)
You need a high-speed Internet connection of at least 15 Mbps to watch videos in UHD. You may also need to upgrade the firmware for your compatible Ultra HD TV to the latest version. You'll know you have the latest version if you see an Ultra HD icon on the Amazon Instant Video Home screen. For more information, go to About Updating Your Device Firmware.

Tip: If you're using a Samsung Ultra HD TV, you might also need to update the Amazon Instant Video widget on your device to access UHD content. A blue "arrow" displays on the Amazon Instant Video icon if an update for the widget is available. To update, select the Amazon Instant Video icon, press and hold OK, and then select Update Apps.
To browse movies and TV shows available in UHD, select the Watch Ultra HD category on the Amazon Instant Video Home screen. Titles offered in Ultra HD feature a "UHD" or "Ultra HD" label and purchase options in the video details.
Note: We’re continuing to expand our selection of Ultra HD movies and TV shows, but not all Amazon Instant Video titles are currently available in this format. We're constantly working to establish and improve our agreements with content owners so we can offer more titles in UHD.
CoffeeHawk is offline  
post #1573 of 2638 Old 03-16-2015, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I wonder if Amazon will tier the prices for UHD content like they do with SD and HD. I'd like to hope that my Amazon version of Raiders can be viewed in 4K/UHD without me paying for it again.
calculon68 is offline  
post #1574 of 2638 Old 03-16-2015, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
I'd like to hope that my Amazon version of Raiders can be viewed in 4K/UHD without me paying for it again.

If they actually make a 4K encode of it at streamable bit rates. They don't even have everything available in 1080p yet. So far you can't rent any of their non-Prime UHD titles, but all of the ones that are Prime can be streamed in UHD without extra charge.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1575 of 2638 Old 03-16-2015, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
After a week, I can accurately say I get HD most of the time on my Fire TV, but NEVER on my 2014 Sony player.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1576 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,094
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3948 Post(s)
Liked: 3659
TiVo Series 3 to lose Amazon Instant, from Zatz Not Funny!

TiVo Series 3 To Lose Amazon Instant
Keenan is offline  
post #1577 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I wonder if they're going to stop supporting downloads altogether, or just downloads in an encoding that the Series3 is capable of playing?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1578 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I'd always assumed the D/Ls were the same regardless of TiVo model. I can't see the difference between Amazon d/ls between the Roamio and the TiVoHD.
calculon68 is offline  
post #1579 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
It's possible that they're dropping the format that they were using for DLs to Series 3 TiVo (some version of Windows Media Video) and moving to support only downloads in H.264, which Roamio and Premiere can handle but not Series 3. Perhaps not enough people are buying/renting titles in that format at this point to justify making and storing that encode. Or whatever--we may never know the true reason. I haven't used my Series3 (the original, with lifetime service) in 2 or 3 years; I should have sold it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1580 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Yeah, I shoulda sold my S3 too, I kept expecting the HDD to drop dead. But it's still soldiers on- eight years running.

According to the discussion on Zatz Not Funny, Amazon's ending the D/L support for Windows desktop too. (I haven't used that once) So it's probably a safe bet that Instant Video Downloads will eventually go away regardless of platform.

What will I fill the Roamio with now?
calculon68 is offline  
post #1581 of 2638 Old 03-18-2015, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I'm sure that the rights holders would prefer that they didn't support downloads, whose DRM can potentially be broken. Dropping it might make their content licensing negotiations easier.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1582 of 2638 Old 03-19-2015, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 8,207
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2376 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I'm sure that the rights holders would prefer that they didn't support downloads, whose DRM can potentially be broken. Dropping it might make their content licensing negotiations easier.
There were some DRM methods that omitted part of the file and when played just went out and got those few small segments. Seemed to work fairly well.

Then we have the encryption on QAM. I don't think that's ever been broken either but I could transfer an encrypted show from my D-VHS player to a computer via Firewire but you couldn't play it back unless you knew how to decrypt each packet. To my knowledge that was never solved.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #1583 of 2638 Old 03-24-2015, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 361
http://www.engadget.com/2015/03/24/a...-hotel-update/

Is the Time Warner Cable app on Fire TV? If so and it will work anywhere with this update that would be huge.
Gary J is online now  
post #1584 of 2638 Old 03-27-2015, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iamian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Zero Theorem finally available for streaming.
iamian is online now  
post #1585 of 2638 Old 05-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My PS3 is out of commision for streaming. Is the Fire TV Stick the only streaming stick that can get 1080p for Prime Instant Video? Trying to find a cheap solution.
ninj4Naoto is offline  
post #1586 of 2638 Old 05-08-2015, 09:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninj4Naoto View Post
My PS3 is out of commision for streaming. Is the Fire TV Stick the only streaming stick that can get 1080p for Prime Instant Video? Trying to find a cheap solution.


The Roku HTML Stick probably does 1080p from Amazon; Roku 3 seems to be doing it, though there's no indicator so it's difficult to be sure. Someone measured a 10 minute stretch as averaging 10 Mbps which it would not do if it were streaming their 720p encode.

They would seem to be the same price on Amazon. Roku, of course, has 2000+ channels of crap, but includes channels for other video rental/purchase services like VUDU, M-GO, Blockbuster and Google Play. I can say that Fire TV Stick implements HDMI CEC and can be controlled by the remote of the Sony panel in the living room here. I don't have a Roku HDMI Stick so I can't speak to that for sure (I do have a Roku 3 and it does not implement HDMI CEC).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1587 of 2638 Old 05-09-2015, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
The Roku HTML Stick probably does 1080p from Amazon; Roku 3 seems to be doing it, though there's no indicator so it's difficult to be sure. Someone measured a 10 minute stretch as averaging 10 Mbps which it would not do if it were streaming their 720p encode.

They would seem to be the same price on Amazon. Roku, of course, has 2000+ channels of crap, but includes channels for other video rental/purchase services like VUDU, M-GO, Blockbuster and Google Play. I can say that Fire TV Stick implements HDMI CEC and can be controlled by the remote of the Sony panel in the living room here. I don't have a Roku HDMI Stick so I can't speak to that for sure (I do have a Roku 3 and it does not implement HDMI CEC).
Thanks.

I decided to try out my dad's old Roku 2 XD and I think it's getting 1080p. O_o Netflix works well too, it seems. I have a different router now running DD-WRT and the bandwidth monitoring is a bit different so I'm not totally sure.

Update: Pretty sure I'm getting 1080p or at least the equivalent bitrate. Watched an episode of The Good Wife and it looked pretty good minus a brief moment of macroblocking. Quite happy that I don't need to buy a new device.

Last edited by ninj4Naoto; 05-10-2015 at 01:17 AM.
ninj4Naoto is offline  
post #1588 of 2638 Old 05-10-2015, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cajieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 4,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I have both the Amazon Fire Stick and the Roku 2. You can definitely see a good bump in rez when playing the FireStick vs the Roku 2. I'm assuming the Amazon is displaying 1080p, and the Roku 2 is showing 720p.

Does anyone know how to stream Starz on the Amazon Fire Stick? Do I actually need a Kindle to do it?
cajieboy is offline  
post #1589 of 2638 Old 05-11-2015, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,424
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 1727
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajieboy View Post
I have both the Amazon Fire Stick and the Roku 2. You can definitely see a good bump in rez when playing the FireStick vs the Roku 2. I'm assuming the Amazon is displaying 1080p, and the Roku 2 is showing 720p.

Does anyone know how to stream Starz on the Amazon Fire Stick? Do I actually need a Kindle to do it?
Assuming your TV provider offers this service:

Quote:
STARZ Play is offered on a variety of devices and platforms. Here's a list of the currently supported devices: Chromecast, Xbox 360, Xbox One, iPhone 3GS, 4, 4S, 5, 5s, 5c, 6, 6+ (running iOS 7.0 or higher), iPad (2nd generation and above), Air, and mini, Kindle Fire HD, Fire Phone, NOOK HD, NOOK HD+ as well as other select Android tablets and phones (running Android OS 4.0.3 / Ice Cream Sandwich or higher). In addition STARZ Play also support Windows, Mac, and Chrome OS.
cajieboy likes this.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #1590 of 2638 Old 05-13-2015, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Amazon Instant Video sucks on my new Sony BD-S1500 Bluray player. My Panasonic ST60 TV has the same modern, front-end Amazon interface as the Sony S1500 BD player, but it loads videos totally differently. The ST60 takes a while to load the video, first with the "Checking connection speed" progress bar and then the "Loading video" progress bar, and then the video begins to play in full HD. The S1500 OTOH has neither progress bar but just a spinning circle, and while it starts up faster, it takes a full minute for it to ramp from sub-SD quality to HD quality. If I press Enter to bring up the controls, there is a grayed "HD" text indicator next to the elapsed time that becomes fully white once HD has been achieved. It's just terrible, and doubly so because seeking back to replay starts it all over again. It seems the TV takes the speed hit before it starts showing video, while the S1500 goes with a horribly bad adaptive approach. The Netflix implementation is SO MUCH BETTER than this Amazon Prime crap. Any ideas?
sawfish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off