Roku Box Obsolete? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By andyross63
  • 1 Post By solarrdadd
  • 1 Post By mailiang
  • 1 Post By solarrdadd
  • 1 Post By mailiang
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
allga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roku Box Obsolete?

I have an old Roku box connected to my internet router via a WIRED connection, thence via HDMI to my Denon home theater receiver where it is switched and routed to my projector. It works spiffy and has for years. My wants are fairly simple, mostly Netflix and amazon. Just got an email from Roku saying that the box is now obsolete and won't receive future updates, but that it will continue to work, yada yada. So the question is, since I'm happy with what I've got, is there any particular reason to get a new one? If so, do they still make one that takes a wired CAT 5 internet connection? (Call me old-fashioned, but I still have more confidence in wired hookups). I can't seem to find one that talks about anything but wireless. Thanks in advance for any wisdom. . .
allga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 135
The only new Roku's with wired Ethernet is the Ultra.
The old Roku (what model?) may still work for awhile, but some services have been dropping support for older models since they didn't support some forms of encryption or other protection.
You can ask about your old model here:
https://community.roku.com/t5/Roku-L...egacy-products
solarrdadd likes this.
andyross63 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 319
i agree with the above poster. you may/will have to upgrade to a current ultra model and that should be good for some years to come. this way you keep your ethernet connectivity and it should be to be upgraded for years to come.

this is the nature of things, especially things that depend on streaming and encryption/copy protection.

at somepoint everyone will have to upgrade something to get things to work right or to continue working.
mailiang likes this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1220 Post(s)
Liked: 782
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
i agree with the above poster. you may/will have to upgrade to a current ultra model and that should be good for some years to come. this way you keep your ethernet connectivity and it should be to be upgraded for years to come.

this is the nature of things, especially things that depend on streaming and encryption/copy protection.

at somepoint everyone will have to upgrade something to get things to work right or to continue working.


I had an old Roku HD box which eventually made it's way to the Kitchen TV from my Home Theater. I had upgraded to the Roku 3500r's in my bedrooms and then the 3600r to my HT. Recently, I moved the 3600r to the second bedroom and upgraded the HT and and master bedroom to the 3810r plus series. The old trusty HD has been replace with one of my 3500r's and has now be dedicated to my storage closet.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I had an old Roku HD box which eventually made it's way to the Kitchen TV from my Home Theater. I had upgraded to the Roku 3500r's in my bedrooms and then the 3600r to my HT. Recently, I moved the 3600r to the second bedroom and upgraded the HT and and master bedroom to the 3810r plus series. The old trusty HD has been replace with one of my 3500r's and has now be dedicated to my storage closet.


Ian
In my HT, my bedroom and my 2 channel room I have 4K TCL Roku TVs. Now, in my guest bedroom, I have a Roku Ultra. Everything mentioned is wired via Ethernet to my Cat6 gigabit network. So if you want wired and Roku, go ultra.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1220 Post(s)
Liked: 782
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
In my HT, my bedroom and my 2 channel room I have 4K TCL Roku TVs. Now, in my guest bedroom, I have a Roku Ultra. Everything mentioned is wired via Ethernet to my Cat6 gigabit network. So if you want wired and Roku, go ultra.

I prefer the WiFi sticks and I've never had any speed issues from my Asus router.


Ian
solarrdadd likes this.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I prefer the WiFi sticks and I've never had any speed issues from my Asus router.


Ian
that's great news, I responded about wired because the OP wanted something with an ethernet port. having said that, wifi devices and routers/AP have come a long way for continuity of streaming.
mailiang likes this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2431 Post(s)
Liked: 3953
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
i agree with the above poster. you may/will have to upgrade to a current ultra model and that should be good for some years to come. this way you keep your ethernet connectivity and it should be to be upgraded for years to come.

this is the nature of things, especially things that depend on streaming and encryption/copy protection.

at somepoint everyone will have to upgrade something to get things to work right or to continue working.
Keep an eye on Amazon for Ultras refurbished, other than a plain box they're like brand new units. Every Roku I've owned has been a refurb and I've never regretted it.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-03-2020, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2431 Post(s)
Liked: 3953
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
that's great news, I responded about wired because the OP wanted something with an ethernet port. having said that, wifi devices and routers/AP have come a long way for continuity of streaming.
It's as much your proximity to neighbors, number of wi-fi networks nearby, and number of people fighting you for an open channel.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 03-04-2020, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
It's as much your proximity to neighbors, number of wi-fi networks nearby, and number of people fighting you for an open channel.
neither i nor the OP mention having problems with wifi, he simply said it's preferred that the device has ethernet as do i. it's not a question of wifi being good or not, he said he wants to stay wired and is looking for a device that supports that. also, this is an "if" he upgrades, he's trying to put some feelers out about a new streaming device and if he should upgrade; he said he's happy with what he has.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-04-2020, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1220 Post(s)
Liked: 782
Thumbs up WiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
It's as much your proximity to neighbors, number of wi-fi networks nearby, and number of people fighting you for an open channel.
You want to talk about neighbors? I love my WiFi, and I live in a townhouse in NJ!




Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-05-2020, 02:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2431 Post(s)
Liked: 3953
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
You want to talk about neighbors? I love my WiFi, and I live in a townhouse in NJ!




Ian
In apartments you can triple the amount of neighbors.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 03-05-2020, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1220 Post(s)
Liked: 782
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
In apartments you can triple the amount of neighbors.
It's a lot easier to have your devices hardwired in an apartment then in a townhouse with 3 floors. Most of my clients are on the 5ghz band which is much more reliable in terms of bandwidth and interference. (My speed tests have shown the same results from my WiFi that I get directly from my modem.) I reserve the 2.4 ghz band to devices like cell phones, tablets and my ring doorbell security camera, since they require much lower data rates.

Besides, who hard wires a cell phone?🤔



Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 03-05-2020, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2431 Post(s)
Liked: 3953
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
It's a lot easier to have your devices hardwired in an apartment then in a townhouse with 3 floors. Most of my clients are on the 5ghz band which is much more reliable in terms of bandwidth and interference. (My speed tests have shown the same results from my WiFi that I get directly from my modem.) I reserve the 2.4 ghz band to devices like cell phones, tablets and my ring doorbell security camera, since they require much lower data rates.

Besides, who hard wires a cell phone?🤔



Ian
Oh definitely, I have everything hardwired except for the cell phone. Since I work from home a lot these days, the internet connection is mission critical. That fact it makes the streaming run nicely, that's a nice side benefit.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 03-05-2020, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1220 Post(s)
Liked: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Oh definitely, I have everything hardwired except for the cell phone. Since I work from home a lot these days, the internet connection is mission critical. That fact it makes the streaming run nicely, that's a nice side benefit.
I get it. I work from home too.


Ian
tenthplanet likes this.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off