AVS Forum banner
7K views 43 replies 7 participants last post by  jstrimel 
#1 ·
Hey Guys,

Just upgraded houses a few months ago and the new one had a 14' x 14' light controlled media room above the garage so the decision has been made (with a bit of gentle persuasion on the wife) to renovate this space and turn it into a dedicated HT with a final dimension of 18' 6" x 14' x 10' (In the center). I have that knee wall situation where I actually have 2 different angels on either side. This has proven challenging to create symmetry. I am a rookie and this is my first attempt at creating this type of space but with all the incredible builds documented on this forum as well as the great folks that don't mind offering their opinions I feel pretty good about ending up with something myself and my wife are going to love.

Budget $30K

Here is my attempt at a layout which seems to change like the wind the more I read the posts in this forum. Plan on doing 1 row of 4 at around 11-12' for seating then putting a couple bean bags on the floor in front of that.

Equipment List -

Seymour Center Stage XD 120"W 2.35 AT Screen (Edit 7/24) " I saw the light!"

Middle Atlantic SRSR-4-30 30U Rack

Panasonic AE8000 / JVC RS46 / JVC RS4810 - Need the lens memory option, will be a game time decision.

Klipsch RF 82 II (L, C, R)

Klipsch RS 52 II (LS, LR, RS, RR)

Leaning towards HSU ULS-15

Marantz SR7008 Receiver (Will drive the C and surrounds)

Marantz MM7025 Amp ( Will drive the L, R)

Panamax M5400-PM Conditioner

Oppo BDP-103

Dune Player

And the typical cable box, PS3 (4 soon) and some form of media server TBD.