14lb Toshiba 39L22U TV - Wall Mount but no studs? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
street9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I know this question has been asked a thousand times in a thousand places but I wanted to get an honest opinion on this specific situation. The wall I want to put this Toshiba TV on apparently has no studs (live in a condo and this is a "party wall"). The TV is extremely light (14.3lbs according to the specs on Toshiba's website- http://www.toshiba.com/us/tv/led/39l22u) but the wall mount says that one of the top bolts needs to be in a stud in the wall. I also got a shelf but have not opened it yet to see if it requires studs or not.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WYVBR0/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005MWTMPU/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My question is- do you think that these devices would stay on the wall (specifically the TV mount of course) with toggle bolts? The only other option I'm aware of is to rearrange the whole room which I was really trying to avoid.

Advice and/or other suggestions are welcome.
street9009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 03:22 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 31,597
Mentioned: 414 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5536 Post(s)
Liked: 5132
sorry the wall has to have something holding up the drywall, take off an outlet cover and try to look at the wall construction.

The best stud finder in my tool kit is a magnet. It will find the screws that hold the drywall to whatever, wood or metal.

BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Yeah, there is no way the wall doesn't have ANY studs, unless of course it's block or something, then put it wherever you want.

Sent from my Droid MAXX via Tapatalk.
dhendriksen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 04:38 PM
Member
 
editor363's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Smallbany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
studs... we don't need no stinkin studs:
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php
editor363 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 05:33 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 31,597
Mentioned: 414 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5536 Post(s)
Liked: 5132
holds up to x lbs on new dry drywall, It gets damp or is exposed to too much humidity and kerplunk
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
street9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

sorry the wall has to have something holding up the drywall, take off an outlet cover and try to look at the wall construction.

The best stud finder in my tool kit is a magnet. It will find the screws that hold the drywall to whatever, wood or metal.


It has metal going horizontally but that's it. There's no wood in it that the stud finder can find. I drilled at the center of one of the horizontal places and punched a hole in the metal, thinking I'd hit the stud and then found out different.
street9009 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-01-2014, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
street9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by editor363 View Post

studs... we don't need no stinkin studs:
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php

Interesting. Never seen those. May give them a shot.
street9009 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-02-2014, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macungie,PA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Metal studs possibly?, If so just use a toggle into one of the metal studs for some extra support.
bluewaves is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off