The Serenity Theater (upcoming build) - advice needed - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 08-25-2016, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The Serenity Theater (upcoming build) - advice needed

Within the next few months, I will be purchasing a house that will finally allow me to create a dedicated theater room. Unfortunately, I will be starting with a prefinished space and I will not have the funds available for a complete gut job (for now) in order to do clips and true soundproofing.

I have listed my current plan below along with a few potential issues I think I could run in to. I am brand new to the dedicated space, so I am positive there are things I am thinking will work that won’t or items/issues I am overlooking. Any insight you all could provide would be IMMENSELY appreciated.

The room I will be starting with is a 23’ 3” L x 16’ 5” W x 8’ H bedroom on the second floor (Bedroom 5 in the floorplan below). The plans rattling around in my head at the moment are:
• Build a false wall 24”-30” out from the 16’5” wall (will place a blind over the window to preserve exterior appearance) with bass traps in the corners and acoustic treatments over the entire space behind the wall (including the window to block out any light leak)
• Cut an equipment rack into the 2’8” side of the closet. This will allow me to keep the equipment in the room, but not cause any visual distractions since the equipment will be facing towards the screen wall.
• Either a 120” 16:9 screen or a 115”-125” 2.35:1 screen
• 2 rows of seating (4 seat front row with either a riser and 3-4 seats or bar seating for second row)
• Stick with 7.1 for now and use current equipment (Polk Monitor setup with SVS PC-12NSD sub)
• Matte charcoal gray walls and ceiling (Kendall Charcoal from Sherwin Williams most likely)