It's MillerTime Entertainment Room! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 54Likes

post #1 of 62 Old 07-10-2017, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 52
It's MillerTime Entertainment Room!

Wow I am so excited to get this project started! I am roughly 2-3 weeks away from perimeter beginning in the MillerTime Basement Project v2017. This is the first house where I have been able to finish the basement without any demo of existing. I work in the construction industry as a consultant for large commercial projects and have had zero luck getting my framers to jump on my current build all summer until now. Labor shortage in Des Moines, IA has made it tough. The additional waiting time has allowed me to fine tune my low voltage plans and obviously think of more ways to blow my budget haha.

I am starting this thread to track my build and also look to everyone for all the knowledge from this forum.

Goals:
Room size is roughly 18'W x 25'D x 9'-0"H (open to back bar room and open to wine room)
7.2.4 system day 1
Prefer Inwall speakers (really like Triad) but up for suggestion based on my layout for other options than inwall (need to make a decision quick to confirm 2x6 or 2x4 walls for fur out)
This will NOT be a sealed theater room as we like to entertain and will be using this mostly for movie/gaming for bar lounge area
I am considering installing a wall at the "wine room" area to the main room. I will also be RC/Hat channel on ceiling and mineral wool in all trusses and walls for the entire 1600 SF basement remodel.
Fish tank idea under the stair is the 1st thing to be deleted from our budget since I would rather spend the $ on sound for the room