AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   Dedicated Theater Design & Construction (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/)
-   -   Room EQ questions for the average joe equipment (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/2926754-room-eq-questions-average-joe-equipment.html)

HalfSpec 10-17-2017 05:44 AM

Room EQ questions for the average joe equipment

Hello

As I approach the final stretch with my budget theater build I find myself questioning how folks here are making their EQ adjustments (questioning how the process is done, not questioning people's decisions) so I wanted to throw this thread up to try and get some clarification on the processes / equipment people are using. I am an electrical engineer, but my career doesn't center around audio, so I'm always a little rusty and if I goof up terms, you have my apologies in advance.

Like a lot people in their 30s, I've owned cars much longer than I've owned a home or a home theater so my experience with car audio predates my theater build by almost 2 decades. I've managed to stay fairly up to date with advances in car audio, especially when it comes to tuning the response of modern systems, so I'm familiar with REW or RTA measurement, and making DSP adjustments to get crossovers set, response time aligned, and ideal curve ~matched in multi speaker setups.