• 1 Post By dmbmay98
  • 2 Post By ack_bk

post #1 of 26 Old 10-12-2018, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Design Ideas for Basement

I recently purchased a new home with a finished basement. My previous home had a general media room with a projector but I would like to do a dedicated room this time around. I will probably hire a contractor since I am not handy. I am just getting started with looking into this, so I do not have a ton of details yet.

A few background notes, the previous owner did a half-baked theater in this area so it is semi-setup. There is a riser setup already and conduit in the wall to run cabling from the riser to the projector above. The area I am looking at is under the morning room, so no bedrooms or second floor are above it. I care more about functionality than looks. I want to get 80% of there but do not want to push the budget. I already have a lot of the equipment needed for the room (the projector, speakers, subwoofer, receiver, uhd player).

Attached are some photos of the room. The dimensions with the rolling wall are 14' 8" W X 16' L X 7' 9" H. I am thinking of framing the wall the screen will go on past the rolling door but I need to move the air intake. There is an unfinished area next to this room but it only goes about a foot in.

My thoughts are that I would double up on the ceiling drywall with 5/8" and use Green Glue. Since the side walls are next to cement, I was not sure if I should double those up. I would put the front speakers in the wall and have the center speaker behind the screen. My current surround speakers are pretty big speakers, I am debating get new ones for in wall along with ceiling speakers for a 5.1.4 setup. I do not believe there is enough room behind the seats for 7.1.4.

My equipment info;
1. JVC RS400
2. Revel F208 Fronts
3. Revel C205 Center
4. Ascend CBM170se Surrounds
5. SVS PB2000 Subwoofer