The Rush Creek Theater - Build Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes

post #1 of 104 Old 02-07-2019, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The Rush Creek Theater - Build Thread

Update 1 5/9/19 : Initial Planning Complete : See Post #94

Initial Post

Hi everyone, I am currently in the process of building a new home theater in my lookout style basement, in a year-old house. I built a theater room in my old house, so I have some experience, but it was several years ago and it only turned out ok.

So here is my situation we built this house my wife agreed that I should finally get to have the home theater I want (Within reason). Now I have been wanting to get started since I moved in, but life gets in the way. That brings me to why I need to start work now..
I work from home, and my office is in a upstairs bedroom , 5 months ago we had a beautiful baby girl who currently sleeps in our bedroom and the only place for her to go is my office, so if I ever want to sleep again, I need to move my office downstairs(side note: I’m so tired).

So I did a few thing right when we built the house..
1. I did not let the build finish the basement. There are no wall built or framed out, and I can get into the ceiling.
2. I made sure the basement was laid out in a correct orientation.
3. I paid a whopping $2000 dollars to have them add 2 extra course of brick, giving me over 9’ of ceiling height. ~112’’

Now I will admit the room is not perfect fit, but it’s pretty darn good IMHO..

So a couple of rough ideas.
1. Ceiling mount Projector with screen.. 130’’ – 150’’
2. Dolby ATMOS 5.1.2/4 or 7.1.2/4 but of course wiring for a 9.1.4.
3. For Speakers, I have small children so, in-wall or on-wall/Ceiling speakers might be a good idea.
4. One note.. Maybe I can’t afford all the coolest stuff now(see note about baby) but I want make sure that in 5 years when I can, my theater can be upgraded.