Wireless electrical outlets? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By tjambro
  • 3 Post By weavinator
  • 1 Post By pkinneb
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 06-26-2019, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Wireless electrical outlets?

My wife would like me to hang a couple lighted posters on walls that are pretty far from a light switch. I can easily tie into an existing outlet for power, but need a way to turn the outlet on/off.

Any recommendations for a wireless outlet that can be controlled via a smart app and/or a wireless switch, preferably one that looks like a normal switch. I don’t have anything like a smarthub or Alexa or Google Home, so it needs to be able to be controlled without those.

I do have a couple Smarthome 2477 switches lying around. Not looking to necessarily reuse these, so open to anything.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 06-26-2019, 07:10 PM
Member
 
ManMower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
My wife would like me to hang a couple lighted posters on walls that are pretty far from a light switch. I can easily tie into an existing outlet for power, but need a way to turn the outlet on/off.

Any recommendations for a wireless outlet that can be controlled via a smart app and/or a wireless switch, preferably one that looks like a normal switch. I don’t have anything like a smarthub or Alexa or Google Home, so it needs to be able to be controlled without those.

I do have a couple Smarthome 2477 switches lying around. Not looking to necessarily reuse these, so open to anything.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Would something like https://www.amazon.com/Lutron-Wirele...QG0/ref=sr_1_9 do what you want?

The pico remote can be mounted to the wall with a kit (surprise, you get to buy that too) that makes it look just like a normal Lutron switch.

The remote will pair with the dimmer without the need for their hub.
ManMower is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 06-26-2019, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Thanks for the recommendation. I actually don’t have the outlet wired into the wall yet...and I only need on/off, not dimming, but perhaps Lutron has what I need in another product.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
tjambro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: IN
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
Thanks for the recommendation. I actually don’t have the outlet wired into the wall yet...and I only need on/off, not dimming, but perhaps Lutron has what I need in another product.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If the posters will be hardwired and are deep enough you could add a simple toggle or push button switch to the poster box and just turn it on or off as needed. I did just this in my last theater's lobby. I wanted one more poster that couldn't be wired to the existing wall switch so I just installed a small push button switch on the bottom of the case that you couldn't see unless you bent down and looked for it. I tied into the romex for a nearby outlet.
Tom
Tedd likes this.
tjambro is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
impreza276's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Searching amazon for "remote power outlet" returns a ton of results such as this: https://www.amazon.com/Etekcity-Cont...gateway&sr=8-4
impreza276 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 517
I've had excellent luck with these, and they connect directly to your WiFi without requiring a hub setup. They sell a 3-pack, too.

https://www.amazon.com/iDevices-Swit.../dp/B00U31IO3Q

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX. Alexa is a stripper name.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 08:58 AM
Member
 
weavinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I'm a fan of Insteon. You could use either a switched outlet or a plug-in relay with a mini remote mounted to the wall. No hub needed unless you want to control it from your phone.
BIGmouthinDC, pkinneb and sirjaymz like this.
weavinator is online now  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sirjaymz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston<>Anchorage
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by weavinator View Post
I'm a fan of Insteon. You could use either a switched outlet or a plug-in relay with a mini remote mounted to the wall. No hub needed unless you want to control it from your phone.
https://www.smarthome.com/promotions/insteon.html
This is where I get my Insteon gear...


EDIT: They usually have deals during holidays.. like the one coming in a couple of days.

HT1.0 | HT2.05
JVC RS-2000 / Seymour AV Center Stage 130"diag, 2.35 / nVidia Shield
11.2(22).6 Atmos / Denon 7200WA / Denon 6300 / 2x miniDSP2x4HD / DIY treatments
2x NU6000DSP / 2x NU3000DSP / 2x Klipsch R-112SW / 4x UM18-22 / 4x PA-460 / 12x JBL 12"
Klipsch RF-82/RC-64II/RS-42/RS-41/BS-62/CDT3800-C-II
sirjaymz is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 12:00 PM
Member
 
weavinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I usually buy from Smart Home (they're the manufacturer) because they have deals and you earn rewards. I've also found good warehouse deals on Amazon.
weavinator is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-27-2019, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Zimmerman MN
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjaymz View Post
https://www.smarthome.com/promotions/insteon.html
This is where I get my Insteon gear...


EDIT: They usually have deals during holidays.. like the one coming in a couple of days.
I picked some addl needs up yesterday 50% off through 6/28
sirjaymz likes this.

My Theater Build - Full Circle Cinema
pkinneb is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-30-2019, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Has anyone used one of these? GE Remote Switch

Was hoping to take apart the remote switch and mounting it with my other wired switches.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 07-01-2019, 10:41 AM
Member
 
elitemikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Haymarket, VA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a variety of smart stuff in my home. My theater is entirely insteon, but in other ares I have zwave GE devices. I don't have this, but if i wanted a smart outlet I'd do this https://www.amazon.com/GE-Receptacle...gateway&sr=8-3


For ares where I do have switched plugs, i use the plugin modules. My under cabinet lighting was done with plugins instead of replacing the outlet. There are many wifi ones out there. Most good systems require a hub to control the devices. This has nothing to do with voice control.

What you posted may work just fine for your needs. For that price, try it and return it if not.
elitemikes is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 07-01-2019, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mocs123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrillcat View Post
I've had excellent luck with these, and they connect directly to your WiFi without requiring a hub setup. They sell a 3-pack, too.

https://www.amazon.com/iDevices-Swit.../dp/B00U31IO3Q
Do these work with a Harmony Hub? They don't seem to be listed as compatible devices, so I assume not.

7.4.4 Theater Room: JVC-RS46U, Silver Ticket AT 2.35:1 142”, Onkyo RZ830, Anthem PVA-7, Panasonic DBT-110, JBL Studio 270’s, 4 - 15" DIY Sealed Subs

3.1 Living Room: Samsung 64” F8500 Plasma, Anthem MRX 300, Dynaudio Audience 52’s, Dynaudio Audience 122C, NHT SubOne
Mocs123 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 07-01-2019, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mocs123 View Post
Do these work with a Harmony Hub? They don't seem to be listed as compatible devices, so I assume not.
I don't think so, but my Harmony only controls my theater, and I don't have any of these in there, so I haven't tried it.

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX. Alexa is a stripper name.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is online now  
post #15 of 16 Old 07-01-2019, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by elitemikes View Post
I have a variety of smart stuff in my home. My theater is entirely insteon, but in other ares I have zwave GE devices. I don't have this, but if i wanted a smart outlet I'd do this https://www.amazon.com/GE-Receptacle...gateway&sr=8-3
I looked at those, but would probably want some sort of remote switch to control it. Insteon has what would work, but I'd have to spend nearly $200 for my setup (3 lighted posters, 2 switches). The Lutron Caseta looked promising, but the lamp module only is 2-prong and my posters are 3-prong. (Could probably unground the poster boxes if needed)

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 07-02-2019, 10:41 AM
Member
 
elitemikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Haymarket, VA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
I looked at those, but would probably want some sort of remote switch to control it. Insteon has what would work, but I'd have to spend nearly $200 for my setup (3 lighted posters, 2 switches). The Lutron Caseta looked promising, but the lamp module only is 2-prong and my posters are 3-prong. (Could probably unground the poster boxes if needed)
Understandable. I went with the wink hub 2 originally. It allows me to pick just about any device I want except for insteon. I can use a lutron pico remote to turn on any wireless outlet now. I
elitemikes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off